Gros Morne National Park of Canada

Weather

The weather in Gros Morne is unpredictable. There are significant differences between weather conditions in low-lying areas along the coastal plain and the higher elevations of the Long Range Mountains. Be prepared for the worst. Hypothermia can easily occur on backcountry trips if you are not properly equipped.

Spring arrives late in Newfoundland. Many hiking trails remain partially snow-covered well into May. The summit of Gros Morne Mountain is closed annually until 1 July.

July and August bring warmer and drier conditions. The average daytime temperature ranges between 16–25 °C (61–77 °F), with a drop of at least 5° during the night. Depending on the winds, temperatures can change quite suddenly. At high elevations, it can be 2–4° cooler and 10° cooler with a wind-chill. The prevailing winds are from the southwest, and the Gulf of St. Lawrence adds moisture to the strong onshore winds. On average, there is precipitation every two days during the summer.

The weather during September and October is often pleasant. Expect snow at higher elevations by late September. Near the end of October, the weather becomes more unsettled and wetter as winter begins to set in.

Winter brings temperatures ranging from −10–0 °C (14–32 °F) with a 10° drop of temperature at higher elevations. There is significant snowfall in the area: 4–4.5 m (13–15 ft) on average with up to 10 m at higher elevations. January, February, and March are good months for cross-country skiing. In years of high snowfall, snow conditions may permit backcountry skiing into late April and early May.

Parc national du Canada du Gros-Morne

Météo

Le climat est toujours imprévisible au Gros-Morne. On y relève d’importants écarts de conditions entre les plaines littorales et les hauts plateaux des monts Long Range. Les randonneurs en arrière pays mal équipés peuvent facilement être victimes d’hypothermie, alors il vaut mieux toujours se préparer au pire.

Le printemps est souvent tardif à Terre-Neuve, et plusieurs de nos sentiers de randonnée sont encore couverts de neige en mai. Le sommet du Mont Gros-Morne est fermé chaque année jusqu’au 1er juillet.

Juillet et août présentent des conditions plus chaudes et sèches. Les températures diurnes moyennes vont de 16–25 °C (61–77 °F), pour chuter d’au moins 5 degrés durant la nuit. Selon le vent qu’il fait, la température peut changer sans préavis. En haute altitude, il peut faire de 2–4 degrés plus froid (10 degrés si on tient compte du refroidissement éolien). Les vents dominants sont du sud-ouest, et les vents violents du golfe du Saint-Laurent amènent de l’humidité avec eux. Durant l’été, on relève une forme quelconque de précipitation à tous les deux jours en moyenne.

Les conditions du temps en septembre et en octobre sont souvent très agréables. Toutefois, dès la fin de septembre, vous devrez vous attendre à rencontrer de la neige en altitude. Vers la fin d’octobre, le climat devient plus instable et humide à l’approche de la saison hivernale.

Durant l’hiver, le mercure oscille entre −10 et 0 °C (14–32 °F) au niveau de la mer, et sera inférieur de dix degrés en montagne. La région est couverte d’une neige épaisse : de 4–4.5 m (13–15 ft) en moyenne, et jusqu’à 10 m (33 ft) sur les hauteurs des monts Long Range. Janvier, février et mars sont ordinairement les mois les plus propices au ski de fond. Durant les années où il y a beaucoup de neige, il arrive que les conditions permettent les excursions en arrière pays jusqu’à la fin d’avril et au début mai.