Common menu bar links

Gros Morne National Park of Canada

A Green Inheritance

Gros Morne National Park has quite a diversity of plant life, with over 700 species of flowering plants and 400 species of bryophytes (mosses, liverworts and hornworts), plus an estimated 400 species of lichens. This remarkable diversity is due to the wide range of habitats provided by bedrock types, soil development, exposure, altitude range, and proximity to the ocean.

On the hills, conditions are cooler, windier, and moister than on the lowlands. Hiking from the seashore up onto the Long Range Mountains is a bit like travelling into the past, to a time when Newfoundland was covered with Arctic plants and animals. From seashore to highland tundra there are many unusual niches in the park for you to explore!

Rare plants are usually found in rare habitats, and Gros Morne National Park, like the rest of the Great Northern Peninsula, has no shortage of either. Check out the information on rare plants found at Port au Choix and L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic sites! You can also read about the research project on the mountain fern on the Long Range Highlands of Gros Morne National Park.

Please help us ensure that our nature and our past will always have a future by resisting the temptation to pick flowers. Rare plants become rarer if they are unable to produce seeds! Demonstrate respectable behavior by staying on established trails and stairways so as not to trample and kill our plants; recovery can take decades!

Shoreline: Wind, Waves, and Spray

Salt spray, wave erosion, and drying winds assault plants living along the seashore. Coastal plants protect themselves with waxy coatings, fleshy leaves, flexible stems, and compact growth. Sand dunes have developed at Shallow Bay and Western Brook beach.

Coastal Tuckamore at Berry Head, GMNP
Coastal Tuckamore at Berry Head, GMNP
© Parks Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1617-021, L-104, 1991
Coastal Tuckamore

Buffeted by storms and onshore winds, coastal white spruce and balsam fir trees develop into a contorted tuckamore forest. Salt spray and desiccation kill exposed buds. Growth occurs only on the protected side of these trees, so they seem to lean away from the sea as they grow.

Krummholz und Kampf

Krummholz are trees dwarfed by climatic conditions. Treeline marks the highest point at which normal tree growth can occur. In Gros Morne, treeline is at about 500 metres above sea level. This is sometimes called the kampf or struggle zone.

Lowland bog near Green Point, GMNP
Lowland bog near Green Point, GMNP
© Parks Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1617-037, W-247(s), 1989
Lowland Bogs

Sphagnum moss builds bogs. The moss grows on wet soils, and pumps out acid to obtain nutrients. As the moss blanket spreads, the low oxygen content of the soil slows decay. Thick peat mats slowly accumulate.

Riverine Thicket

The richest and deepest soils accumulate along streams. Spring floods deposit sand, silt, and organic matter on terraces and in beaver ponds. These become gardens of wildflowers. Thickets of speckled alder cling to river banks, and waist-high grasses sway in wet meadows.

Larch scrub on Tablelands, GMNP
Larch scrub on Tablelands, GMNP
© Parks Canada / Rob Hingston / 1172-095, G2-533
Larch Scrub

This is an open forest of twisted larch trees rooted in mucky soil. Beneath the larch grow shrubby dwarf birch and sweet gale.

Balsam Fir Forest - Wave Forest

In places, a wave-like pattern of dead and living balsam fir trees stand out. This wave forest is probably created by wind damage and subsequent fungal attack of roots. Over the years, waves of dead trees and regrowth progress slowly uphill.

Balsam Fir Forest- Lowlands

Balsam fir with white spruce and white birch, as mature stands and successional scrub after logging.

Forest of alpine Balsam Fir in Long Range Mountains, GMNP
Forest of alpine Balsam Fir in Long Range Mountains, GMNP
© Parks Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1172-002, F4-114, 1992
Balsam Fir - Highland Forest

This is a mountain valley forest of well-spaced, old balsam fir trees. Their tops are wind pruned, and their lower branches are bowed downward by the weight of snow.

Heath Barrens

Dense tangles of shrubs such as sheep laurel, blueberry, Labrador tea, and rhodora blanket the lowlands. In Newfoundland, the term "barrens" is used to denote any land not covered in forest.


Sedge meadows (Fens) on the Tablelands, GMNP
Sedge meadows (Fens) on the Tablelands, GMNP
© Parks Canada / James Steeves / 1172-098, G2-401, 1989
Sedge Meadows

Sedges dominate these wet meadows. The soil is waterlogged peat, and the turfy expanses are punctuated with pools called flashets. Sometimes flashets form step-wise down a hillside, like terraced rice paddies.

Tundra

Wiry ankle-high shrubs are interspersed with mounds of diapensia and mats of creeping crowberry, bearberry, moss and lichens. A thin layer of black peaty soil overlies a veneer of sand on top of bedrock. Wind erosion is strong, causing soil blowouts.

A field of frost shattered rock on Big Level, GMNP
A field of frost shattered rock on Big Level, GMNP
© Parks Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1584-045, R5-151
Felsenmeer

These fields of frost-shattered rock are sorted into patterns by cycles of freezing and thawing. Colourful lichens encrust the rocks, and tiny shrubs grow in the sandy soil at the centre of the stone rings.


Shag Cliff from Norris Point, Bonne Bay, GMNP
Shag Cliff from Norris Point, Bonne Bay, GMNP
© Parks Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1584-067, G6-81(s)
Cliffs

Many rare mosses grow on cool, north-facing cliffs in the Long Range. Small trees, shrubs, and other plants also struggle to live in the meagre soil of crevices.

Serpentine Barrens

Rock barrens of peridotite rock with sparse dwarf trees and shrubs, cushion plants and unusual arctic-alpine plants of the Tablelands.

Black Spruce Forest and Scrub

Black spruce and balsam fir forest, mainly on boggy ground of sphagnum mosses with a shrub layer of sheep laurel.

Intertidal Salt Marsh

Salt tolerant herbaceous plants of intertidal mud flats. Samphire dominates the lower marshes and salt marsh sedges dominate the upper marshes.

Parc national du Canada du Gros-Morne

Un patrimoine de verdure

Le parc national du Gros-Morne a une flore d'une diversité remarquable, le plus récent relevé fait état de 700 espèces de plantes à fleurs, de 400 espèces de bryophytes (mousses et hépatiques) et d'environ 400 espèces de lichens. Ce foisonnement est attribuable à la vaste gamme d'habitats créés par les types de substratum rocheux, la formation des sols, l'exposition aux éléments, l'altitude et la proximité de l'océan.

En montagne, il fait plus froid, il vente davantage et il y a plus d'humidité que sur les terres basses. Une randonnée de la côte jusqu'au sommet des monts Long Range ressemble un peu à un voyage dans le passé, à une époque où Terre-Neuve était peuplée de plantes et d'animaux Arctiques. Entre le littoral et les hautes terres, le parc offre de nombreuses niches peu ordinaires pour votre découverte!

Les plantes rares fréquentent habituellement les habitats peu communs, et Gros-Morne, tout comme le reste de la péninsule Northern, ne manque ni des unes, ni des autres. Regardez des plantes rares de lieux historiques nationaux Port au Choix et L'Anse aux Meadows . Vous pouvez aussi lire le projet de recherche de la thélyptère de quelpart dans les hautes terres des monts Long Range du parc national du Gros-Morne.

L'avenir de nos milieux naturels dépend de vous, veuillez résister à la tentation de cueillir les fleurs. Les plantes rares deviennent plus rares si elles n'ont pas la chance de produire des graines! Veuillez adopter un comportement respectueux et demeurer sur les sentiers. Apprécier à sa juste valeur la nature fragile et adopter un comportement approprié et respectueux. La végétation peut prendre des décennies à se remettre du piétinement!

Le littoral: vent, vagues et embruns

Les plantes du rivage connaissent les assauts des embruns salés, des vagues et des vents asséchants. Pour se protéger, elles ont des revêtements cireux, des feuilles charnues et des tiges flexibles, et elles poussent en buissons compacts. Il y a des dunes de sable à la plage de baie Shallow et à la plage de Western Brook.

Tuckamore côtier à Berry Head, PNGM
Tuckamore côtier à Berry Head, PNGM
© Parcs Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1617-021, L-104, 1991
Tuckamore côtier

Secoués par les tempêtes et les vents du large, les épinettes blanches et les sapins baumiers de la côte ne dépassent pas le stade de forêt rabougrie qu'on appelle tuckamore . Les embruns salés et l'assèchement tuent les bourgeons exposés. Seul le côté abrité des
arbres arrive à croître, ce qui leur donne l'air de vouloir s'écarter de la mer.


Krummholz et Kampf

On appelle krummholz les forêts d'arbres rabougris par les intempéries. La ligne des arbres marque l'altitude la plus élevée où les arbres peuvent croître normalement. À Gros-Morne, cette limite se situe à environ 500 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer : on parle alors de zone de kampf (ou de combat).

Bogue de basse terre près de Green Point, PNGM
Bogue de basse terre près de Green Point, PNGM
© Parcs Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1617-037, W-247(s), 1989
Bogues des basses terres

Les bogues sont le produit de la sphaigne, une mousse qui dégage des acides organiques pour obtenir des éléments nutritifs. La décomposition est ralentie par le faible contenu d'oxygène dans le sol humide, si bien qu'un épais tapis de tourbe finit par s'accumuler.


Taillis riverains

C'est le long des cours d'eau qu'on trouve les sols les plus fertiles et les plus profonds. Les crues du printemps déposent du sable, du limon et des matières organiques sur les terrasses et dans les étangs de castors. Ces milieux se transforment en parterres de fleurs sauvages. Des buissons d'aulne rugueux s'accrochent aux berges des rivières, et de hautes herbes ondulent au vent dans les champs humides.

Broussailles de mélèzes aux Tablelands, PNGM
Broussailles de mélèzes aux Tablelands, PNGM
© Parcs Canada / Rob Hingston / 1172-095, G2-533
Broussailles de mélèzes

Il pousse ici une forêt clairsemée de mélèzes tordus enracinés dans un sol boueux. Sous les mélèzes, on remarque des buissons de bouleaux nains et de myriques baumiers.


Sapinière - La forêt ondulante
Forêt de sapin baumier aux monts Long Range, PNGM
Forêt de sapin baumier aux monts Long Range, PNGM
© Parcs Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1172-002, F4-114, 1992

À certains endroits, on observe un motif alterné des sapins baumiers morts et des sapins baumiers vivants; cette formation en vagues est probablement imputable aux vents violents et à l'infection subséquente des racines par des champignons. Avec le temps, des vagues d'arbres morts et de nouvelles pousses escaladent lentement le flanc des collines.

Sapinière - Les basses terres

Forêt mature et forêt secondaire (y compris zones de régénération arbustive après coupe) dominées par le sapin baumier auquel est mêlé de l'épinette blanche et du bouleau blanc.

Sapinière - Forêt de hautes terres

Cette forêt de vallée est peuplée de vieux sapins bien espacés. Leurs cimes sont taillées par le vent et leurs branches inférieures ont ployé sous le poids de la neige.


Landes d'éricacées

D'épais fourrés d'arbustes comme la kalmia à feuilles étroites, le bleuet, le lédon du Groenland et le rhododendron du Canada tapissent les basses terres.

Les carex dominent les prairies humides aux Tablelands, PNGM
Les carex dominent les prairies humides aux Tablelands, PNGM
© Parcs Canada / James Steeves / 1172-098, G2-401, 1989
Cariçaie

Les carex dominent ces prairies humides au sol tourbeux imbibé d'eau, parsemées de nombreux petits étangs qui s'étagent parfois à flanc de colline comme sur les terrasses de rizières.

Toundra

Des arbustes courent au ras du sol, parmi les touffes de diapensies et les tapis rampants de camarine, d'arctostaphyle, de mousse et de lichen. Une faible couche de sol tourbeux est séparée du substrat rocheux par un mince placage de sable. La forte érosion éolienne creuse par endroit des cuvettes dans le terreau.

Un champ de roches gélives sur Big Level, PNGM
Un champ de roches gélives sur Big Level, PNGM
© Parcs Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1584-045, R5-151
Felsenmeer

Ces champs de roches gélives sont organisés en motifs par les cycles de gel et de dégel. Des lichens aux couleurs vives encroûtent les pierres et de minuscules arbustes trouvent à pousser dans le sol sablonneux au centre des cercles de pierre.


Shag Cliff de Norris Point, Bonne Baie PNGM
Shag Cliff de Norris Point, Bonne Baie PNGM
© Parcs Canada / Michael Burzynski / 1584-067, G6-81(s)
Falaises

Plusieurs mousses rares poussent sur les falaises froides exposées au nord des monts Long Range. De petits arbres, des arbustes et d'autres plantes arrachent à peine de quoi subsister du sol ingrat des crevasses.

Lande de serpentine

Lande rocheuse parsemée de bosquets rabougris de coussinets de mousses et plusieurs plantes arctiques-alpines rares des Tablelands.

Pessière noire

Forêt et arbustaie dominées par l'épinette noire, à laquelle est mêlée du sapin baumier, surtout sur la tourbe de mousses de sphaignes, strate arbustive à kalmia à feuilles étroites.

Marais salant intertidal

Herbacaie tolérant l'eau saumâtre dans la zone intertidale. La salicorne d'Europe caractérise les étendues vaseuses de basse marée et la cariçaie domine la limite supérieure.