Common menu bar links

Gros Morne National Park

Discovery Centre

The Discovery Centre
Visit the Gros Morne Discovery Centre in Woody Point for a closer look at the forces of nature that have shaped the land and the people of this place. Interactive exhibits help you explore the park’s geology, plant and animal life, marine story and human history. Watch the park film, visit the Art Gallery, and pick up a souvenir from the Tuckamore Shoppe.

Explore the Discovery Centre Explore the Discovery Centre
© Parks Canada
Discovery Centre - Open Daily (9:00 - 5:00), June 17 to September 7 (9:00 - 6:00)
Discover the inside workings of the earth and learn about the plants, animals and cultural history of Gros Morne. Exhibits, art gallery, daily activities and more!


Discovery Activities - Tuesday and Thursday (2:00)
These short, hands-on activities for all ages amuse and challenge as they reveal the stories of Gros Morne National Park. Parks Canada guides will open your eyes to some exciting discoveries to be made in the national park.


Art Gallery
This year, the Discovery Centre Art Gallery is hosting the exhibit Boundary|Time|Surface by former Artist in Residence, Sydney Lancaster. Inspired by the Green Point geological site, the artist working with geologist John Waldron has created a body of work “which explores human efforts to understand and divide up geologic time. This exhibition conveys an appreciation of the scale of human experience in relation to the vast extent of time and space represented in Gros Morne National Park.”


Artist in Residence Program
Artists spend three to six weeks in Gros Morne National Park, exploring, photographing, sketching and participating in the park’s interpretive program. By creating work from their experiences in the park, artists reveal meanings and relationships that complement the scientific and educational perspectives presented by park staff. While at the Gros Morne Discovery Centre check out the art gallery and ask park staff about upcoming public programs by the current Artist in Residence.
Artist in Residence Program schedule.

Parc national du Gros-Morne

Centre de découverte

The Discovery Centre
Visitez le Centre de découverte du parc national du Gros-Morne à Woody Point pour voir de près les forces de la nature qui ont façonné ce territoire unique et ses habitants. Des expositions interactives facilitent votre découverte de la géologie du parc, de sa flore et de sa faune, de son histoire maritime et de son histoire humaine. Regardez un court film sur le parc, visitez la galerie d’art et repartez avec un souvenir acheté à la boutique Tuckamore Shoppe.

Centre de découverte Centre de découverte
© Parcs Canada
Centre de découverte - Ouvert tous les jours (de 9h à 17h), du 17 juin au 7 septembre (de 9h à 18h)
Découvrez les rouages intérieurs de la Terre et familiarisez-vous avec les plantes, les animaux et l’histoire culturelle du parc. Expositions, galerie d’art, activités quotidiennes et plus encore!


Activités de découverte - 14h00 mardi et jeudi
Ces courtes activités interactives destinées à un public de tout âge amusent et poussent au questionnement. Proposées par les guides de Parcs Canada, elles révèlent quelques unes des histoires fascinantes du parc et elles vous invitent à poursuivre vos découvertes dans le parc national.


Art Gallery
Cette année, la galerie d’art du Centre de découverte présente l’exposition Boundary|Time|Surface de l’artiste en résidence Sydney Lancaster. Inspirée par le site géologique de Green Point, l’artiste, travaillant en collaboration avec le géologue John Waldron, est parvenue à créer un ensemble explorant les efforts humains à vouloir comprendre et diviser le temps en périodes géologiques. L’exposition met en relation la brève expérience humaine face aux immenses concepts de temps et d’espace représentés au parc national du Gros Morne.


Programme d’artiste en résidence
Divers artistes passent chaque été de trois à six semaines au parc national du Gros Morne à explorer, photographier, dessiner et à participer aux programmes d’interprétation du parc. Suite à leurs expériences dans le parc, les artistes en résidence créent des œuvres partageant un sens et une connexion au lieu qui viennent complémenter les explications scientifiques et pédagogiques présentées par le personnel du parc. Lors de votre passage au Centre de découverte, visitez la galerie d’art du parc, et renseignez-vous quant aux prochains programmes présentés au public par les artistes en résidence du moment.