Common menu bar links

Gros Morne National Park of Canada

Backcountry ski huts

The Gros Morne Cooperating Association , in cooperation with Parks Canada, has established two secluded backcountry ski huts for your winter adventure pleasure. Users of the backcountry huts should be experienced winter wilderness travelers or be guided by experienced wilderness leaders. There are no marked trails or routes that take you right to these huts.

The huts are located in the backcountry far from highways, telephone communication, or medical facilities. It is essential to be properly equipped and prepared for emergencies. Do not underestimate the seriousness of a winter overnight trip . The most common error is leaving the trailhead late in the day . Use the suggested clothing and equipment list for backcountry skiing to ensure you have all the necessities before you leave.

How do I book?

Call the Gros Morne Co-op at (709) 458-3605/3610. A credit card is required to make a booking. If your plans change, cancelling at least one week prior to your trip departure date will ensure a 100% refund.

The season for backcountry skiing is from January to April, depending on snow conditions.

Huts accommodate 12 people with a minimum booking of 2 people.

What does it cost?
$30 per person, per night or $180 for exclusive use, regardless of the number.
 


Hut Facilities and Services
Hut Size
two storey (approximately 90 square metres)

sleeping loft upstairs


Lighting
propane lights


Cooking
2 propane stoves (each stove has 4 burners and an oven)


Kitchen
sinks with drains, tables, benches, cutlery, dishes and pots to accommodate 12 people.


Heat
wood stove (axe and wood is supplied)


Water
snow and/or brook (boil for drinking)


Toilet

Baker’s Brook – outdoor toilet
Southwest Gulch – indoor flush toilet with septic field

 






Bakers Brook Hut

Nestled on the wooded shoreline of Bakers Brook Pond Fjord

Located in a sheltered spruce and fir forest beside Bakers Brook Pond, this hut's backdrop is the spectacular mountain scenery of the Long Range. For over half of the journey into this hut you travel along the marked (and often tracked) Baker's Brook ski trail . This is an excellent base-camp for further exploration of the gentle terrain of the coastal lowlands and is a recommended backcountry ski trail for your first overnight ski trip. For the more experienced and adventurous skiers and snowshoers with appropriate equipment, it is an excellent staging area for exploration of the fjord and the mountains.

Difficulty
novice - intermediate


Distance
8.5 km (parking area to hut)


Time
3-4 hours (one way)


Elevation
90 m


Hazards specific to this area
Bakers Brook Pond ice, whiteouts, avalanches (in mountainous areas )

Map & Coordinates
Gros Morne 12 H/12, UTM coordinates E 0437800 N 5499900








Southwest Gulch Hut

A remote backcountry experience and thrilling ski terrain!

Southwest Gulch is located in the Tablelands region, where the terrain ranges from the steep snow-filled bowls to the woods of Crow Mountain in the east. This mountainous region within Gros Morne National Park offers challenging ski terrain, best suited to the skilled, experienced skier and wilderness traveller.

Backcountry Ski Hut, Gros Morne National Park
Backcountry Ski Hut, Gros Morne National Park
© Parks Canada / Michael Burzynski / GMNP Slide # P5-260, 1998

The hut is tucked into the hillside surrounded by tall spruce and fir trees, offering protection from winter winds and a magnificent view of the Tablelands. The suggested routes to and from the hut are steep in sections and require the ability to control speed. If you choose to ski to the top of the Tablelands or to other high points in the area the views of fjords and Bonne Bay are breathtaking and the ski terrain is endless!

The ability to identify hazards (including avalanche terrain) and selecting routes best suited to the abilities within your group are essential to completing this trail to the backcountry ski hut.

Difficulty
advanced


Distance
7- 8 km (depending on route)
Time
3 - 5 hours (one way)


Elevation
360 m
Hazards specific to this area
Exposed ski terrain, prone to high winds and whiteout conditions. Avalanche potential.


Map & Coordinates
Lomond 12 H/5, UTM coordinates E 0432300 N 5474600





Route descriptions:

There are two suggested routes to this hut. The Tablelands route is a gradual climb over open terrain however it is exposed and should only be attempted in good visibility . The Birchy Head route is more sheltered, however it is a snowmobile route and the trail is narrow and steep in sections.

Back

Parc national du Canada du Gros-Morne

Refuges de ski en arrière pays

En coopération avec Parcs Canada, la Gros Morne Cooperating Association a aménagé deux refuges de ski en région sauvage pour vous permettre de vous livrer à votre loisir hivernal préféré. Les utilisateurs des refuges en région sauvage doivent avoir de l'expérience des excursions en hiver ou se faire accompagner de guides expérimentés dans l'arrière-pays. Le parcours qui mène à ces huttes n'est pas balisé.

Les refuges sont situés dans l'arrière-pays, loin des routes, des communications téléphoniques et des services médicaux. Il est essentiel pour tous d'arriver préparés à assurer leur sécurité en cas d'accident ou de panne d'équipement. Ne sous-estimez pas les dangers d'un séjour hivernal de plus d'un jour dans la nature. L'erreur la plus courante consiste à se mettre en route trop tard dans la journée . Vous devez être munis d'un équipement adéquat et fiable, apporter des vêtements chauds, de la nourriture et des provisions de secours. Lisez la liste de vêtements et d'équipement à apporter pour votre excursion dans l'arrière-pays.

Réservations

Pour réserver, appeler la Gros Morne Co-op au (709) 458-3605/3610. Vous aurez besoin d'un numéro de carte de crédit. Si vous devez modifier vos projets et nous en avisez au moins une semaine avant la date prévue pour le départ de l'excursion, nous vous rembourserons 100 % du montant versé. La saison de ski en arrière pays dure de janvier à avril (selon les conditions de neige).

Les refuges peuvent loger jusqu'à douze personnes. Réservation minimum de 2 personnes.

Coût
30 $ par personne/nuit ou 180 $ pour utilisation exclusive, quel que soit le nombre.



Installations et services
Grandeur
Deux étages (environ 90 mètres carrés)

Loft pour dormir à l'étage supérieur


Éclairage
Lampes au propane


Cuisine
Deux poêles au propane (quatre éléments et un four chacun), éviers avec renvois d'eau, tables, bancs, coutellerie, vaisselle et casseroles pour 12 personnes


Chauffage
Poêle à bois (hache et combustible fourni)


Eau
Neige fondue ou ruisseau (faire bouillir avant de consommer)


Toilettes

Ruisseau Bakers - Toilette intérieure à chasse avec dispositif d'épandage souterrain

Ravin Southwest - Toilette extérieure




Refuge du ruisseau Bakers

Rivage boisé du fjord de l'étang Bakers Brook

Bien abrité dans une forêt d'épinettes et de sapins au bord de l'étang Bakers Brook, ce refuge est dominé par le paysage majestueux de la chaîne des monts Long Range. Plus de la moitié du trajet emprunte la piste de ski de fond du ruisseau Baker , bien balisée et souvent fréquentée. Le refuge est un excellent point de départ pour l'exploration des plaines côtières. Si vous n'en êtes qu'à votre première expérience de ski de plus d'un jour, c'est ce refuge que nous vous recommandons. Si vous êtes des skieurs chevronnés, ce refuge est superbe pour les excursions sur le fjord et dans les montagnes.

Niveau de difficulté
débutant - intermédiaire


Distance
8,5 km du stationnement au refuge


Durée
de 3 à 4 h (sens unique)


Dénivellation
90m


Dangers
Glace sur l'étang Bakers Brook, voiles blancs, avalanches dans les secteurs montagneux.


Carte et coordonnées
Gros-Morne 12 H/12, coordonnées UTM E 0437800 N 5499900





Refuge du ravin Southwest

Région sauvage reculée et sensations fortes pour le skieur!

Le ravin Southwest est une vallée coincée à l'ouest par les Tablelands dénudées et tourmentées et à l'est par les forêts du mont Crow. Cette région montagneuse du parc national du Gros-Morne présente de solides difficultés et conviendra au skieur chevronné qui n'en est pas à sa première expédition dans l'arrière-pays.

Refuges de ski en arrière pays au parc national du Gros-Morne
Refuges de ski en arrière pays au parc national du Gros-Morne
© Parcs Canada / Michael Burzynski / Collection PNGM # P5-260, 1998

Le refuge se cache à flanc de colline, entouré d'une épaisse forêt de sapins et d'épinettes, et donne sur un magnifique panorama des Tablelands. Le parcours suggéré présente un relief ondulé et des sections abruptes, qui exigent du skieur la capacité de contrôler sa vitesse. Les personnes qui se rendront jusqu'au sommet des Tablelands ou d'autres montagnes de la région y trouveront des points de vue saisissants sur Bonne Baie et d'immenses territoires où skier!

La capacité de reconnaître les dangers, y compris les reliefs propices aux avalanches, et le parcours le plus approprié aux capacités de tous les membres de votre groupe est également vital.

Niveau de difficulté
Supérieur


Distance
7 à 8 km (selon le parcours)


Durée
3 à 5 h (aller seulement)


Dénivellation
360m


Dangers
Terrain exposé, sujet aux vents forts et aux voiles blancs. Risques d'avalanche.


Carte et coordonnées
Lomond 12 H/5, coordonnées UTM E 0432300 N 5474600





Description des parcours

Pour atteindre ce refuge, deux itinéraires sont recommandés. Celui des Tablelands présente une ascension graduelle en terrain découvert; exposé aux éléments, il ne doit être emprunté que dans des bonnes conditions de visibilité. L'itinéraire de Birchy Head est plus abrité; cependant, il emprunte une piste de moto-neige qui est étroite et escarpée par endroits.Précédent