Gros Morne National Park of Canada

The North Rim Traverse

The North Rim Traverse can be done on its own, starting at the boat dock at the eastern end of Western Brook Pond and ending at Snug Harbour. Hikers can also plan their trip to continue on with the Long Range Traverse, extending their trip by several days. The Snug Harbour trail is an offshoot of the Western Brook Pond trail. (Plan, prepare, & equipment)

The North Rim & Long Range Traverses

All UTM coordinates use NAD 83. They are accurate to approximately 40 metres.

Campsite 1: Snug Harbour

Coordinates: 21U 442356 5513796

A well-used site, Snug Harbour has grassy areas for tents, a pole for food hanging, and an outdoor toilet. It has a wonderful pebble beach with views of the cliffs of Western Brook Pond.

Route: Snug Harbour to Long Pond

To get to the North Rim from Snug Harbour, walk to the end of the beach. There is a sign marking the start of the trail up the hill. (N 49.77399°, W 057.79552°) The trail eventually splits (N49.77843°, W057.78481°). The easier right branch climbs somewhat steeply before breaking into an area of open scrub and tuckamore (thick stunted spruce). If you take the left track, you will climb more gradually before emerging in a moose meadow (an open boggy area). There are several paths through this section. Eventually you will rejoin the main trail (N49.77692°, W057.77681°). This climbs steadily to the top of the north rim of Western Brook Pond. A side trip to the edge of the cliffs will reward you with spectacular views. Continue on to the campsite at Long Pond.

Campsite 2: North side of Long Pond

Coordinates: 21U 449777 5512197

Campsite 3: Pond 6 hours NE of Western Brook Pond

Coordinates: 21U 454729 5507890

A small pond approximately six hours from Western Brook Pond. There are no facilities. Practice low impact camping. Store your food away from your site. From here continue on to Campsite 2 of the Long Range Traverse.

The North Rim Traverse

Campsite 1: Western Brook Pond

Coordinates: 21U 452380 5507076

This site is located just in from the dock where hikers are dropped off by the Western Brook Pond boat tour. It is very sheltered but is often “buggy.” There are picnic tables and an outhouse, but no tent platforms.

Route: Western Brook Pond to Campsite 2

As you travel up the gorge, stay close to the brook. You will see sections of trail. These are largely animal trails and tend to disappear. There is no maintained trail. Depending on the water level, you will cross the brook several times. There is never any need to go very far from the brook. Eventually you will arrive at a waterfall. From this point on, stay to the right, or south, side of the brook, and climb the steep section to get above the falls. Next choose a path that takes you to your left (NNE) until you emerge onto the big rock slab that leads to the top. There are several ways to reach the top of the gorge. The easiest passes the north side of the ridge at the far eastern end of the gorge. You will be rewarded with a great view before heading north to campsite 2.

Campsite 2: Pond 6 hours NE of Western Brook Pond

Coordinates: 21U 454723 5507890

A small pond approximately six hours from Western Brook Pond. There are no facilities. Practice low impact camping. Store your food away from your site.

Campsite 3: North side of Long Pond

Coordinates: 21U 449777 5512197

Campsite 4: Snug Harbour

Coordinates: 21U 442356 5513796

A well-used site, Snug Harbour has grassy areas for tents, a pole for food hanging, and an outdoor toilet. It has a wonderful pebble beach with views of the cliffs of Western Brook Pond..

Parc national du Canada du Gros-Morne

Traverse North Rim

La traverse North Rim peut être empruntée à part : on partira de l’embarcadère à l’extrémité est de l’étang Western Brook pour aboutir à Snug Harbour. Les randonneurs peuvent aussi planifier leur itinéraire pour relier ce parcours à celui de la traverse Long Range, ce qui allongera l’expédition de plusieurs jours. Le sentier de Snug Harbour est un embranchement du sentier de l’étang Western Brook. (Planification, préparation et équipement)

Traverses Long Range et North Rim

Toutes les coordonnées UTM sont basées sur le Système de référence nord-américain de 1983 (NAD83). Elles sont exacts à environ 40 mètres.

Emplacement de camping 1 : Snug Harbour

Coordonnées : 21U 442356 5513796

Ce terrain fréquenté propose des zones gazonnées où planter des tentes, une perche pour y accrocher les aliments et des latrines. De sa jolie plage de galets, on a une vue imprenable sur les falaises de l’étang Western Brook.

Parcours : Snug Harbour à l’étang Long

Pour atteindre le sommet de North Rim à partir de Snug Harbour, se rendre au bout de la plage où un panneau indique le début du sentier (49,77399° N 57.79552° O). Le sentier se divisera aux coordonnées 49,77843° N 57.78481° O. L’embranchement de droite, plus facile, grimpe assez abruptement avant d’aboutir dans une zone dégagée d’arbustes bas et de tuckamore (épais taillis d’épinettes rabougries). L’embranchement de gauche escalade plus graduellement avant de déboucher sur une tourbière à orignaux (un marécage boueux). Plusieurs sentiers traversent cette zone pour aboutir au sentier principal (49,77692° N 57.77681° O). Celui ci grimpe régulièrement jusqu’au sommet de la bordure nord (North Rim) de l’étang Western Brook. Un court détour jusqu’au rebord des falaises sera récompensé par des panoramas spectaculaires. De là, on marchera jusqu’au terrain de camping de l’étang Long.

Emplacement de camping 2 : rive nord de l’étang Long

Coordonnées : 21U 449777 5512197

Emplacement de camping 3 : étang à 6 heures au NE de l’étang Western Brook

Coordonnées : 21U 454729 5507890

Situé au bord d’un petit étang, à six heures de l’étang Western Brook, ce terrain n’est pas aménagé. Prière de pratiquer un camping écologique. Il est recommandé de conserver ses aliments à bonne distance des tentes. De cet endroit, mettre le cap sur l’emplacement de camping 2 de la traverse Long Range. Long Range Traverse.

Traverse North Rim

Emplacement de camping 1 : étang Western Brook

Coordonnées : 21U 452380 5507076

Ce terrain est situé un peu en amont du quai où les randonneurs sont déposés par le bateau d’excursion de l’étang Western Brook. Il est très abrité, mais souvent infesté de moustiques. On y trouvera des tables de pique-nique et des latrines, mais pas de tablier de tente.

Parcours : étang Western Brook à étang Little Island

En remontant la gorge, il importe de rester près du ruisseau. À l’occasion, des sections de sentier semblent disparaître; comme le sentier n’est pas entretenu, il faut compter avec les passages des marcheurs et des animaux, qui n’empruntent pas toujours le même chemin. Selon le niveau du ruisseau, il faudra le traverser à gué plusieurs fois. Après un gué, observer avec attention où le sentier recommence : il n’est jamais nécessaire de beaucoup s’éloigner du ruisseau. Une fois à la cascade, il faut rester à la droite, autrement dit au sud, et escalader la section abrupte pour arriver au-dessus. De cet endroit, choisir un sentier qui conduit légèrement vers la gauche (NNE), jusqu’à ce qu’on atteigne une immense dalle de pierre qui aboutit au sommet. Il y a diverses façons d’atteindre le point le plus élevé, mais le plus passe du côté nord de la crête, à l’extrémité est de la gorge. On y sera accueilli par un panorama spectaculaire, avant de mettre le cap sur l’emplacement de camping 2.

Emplacement de camping 2 : étang à 6 heures au NE de l’étang Western Brook

Coordonnées : 21U 454723 5507890

Situé au bord d’un petit étang, à six heures de l’étang Western Brook, ce terrain n’est pas aménagé. Prière de pratiquer un camping écologique. Il est recommandé de conserver ses aliments à bonne distance des tentes.

Emplacement de camping 3 : rive nord de l’étang Long

Coordonnées : 21U 449777 5512197

Emplacement de camping 4 : Snug Harbour

Coordonnées : 21U 442356 5513796

Ce terrain fréquenté propose des zones gazonnées où planter des tentes, une perche pour y accrocher les aliments et des latrines. De sa jolie plage de galets, on a une vue imprenable sur les falaises de l’étang Western Brook.