Common menu bar links

Kouchibouguac National Park of Canada

Information Bulletins / News Releases


Electrical Power Returns to All Sectors of Kouchibouguac National Park

KOUCHIBOUGUAC, NEW BRUNSWICK, July 8, 2014 — Parks Canada advises that electrical power is now reestablished in all sectors of Kouchibouguac National Park, including the South Kouchibouguac Campground, the Kellys Beach area and the Ryans sector.

Work to repair and clean trails, and evaluations of the storm’s impact on several coastal structures, such as the floating wharves at Ryans, will continue today. In the interest of visitor safety, certain trails will remain closed to conduct clean-up and repair work.

Please visit www.reservation.pc.gc.ca or call 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783) regarding campground reservations.

For more information, please call the Parks Canada national information line at 1-888-773-8888. (Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-866-787-6221) or call Kouchibouguac National Park directly at 1-506-876-2443.

Kouchibouguac National Park advisory following Post Tropical Storm Arthur

KOUCHIBOUGUAC, NEW BRUNSWICK, July 6, 2014 – Parks Canada advises that certain trails in Kouchibouguac National Park will remain closed today in order to conduct cleaning and repairs following the passage through the area of Post Tropical Storm Arthur. Trails that are closed are marked with yellow tape.

Visitors planning camping activities in the park are also advised that electrical services are not available in the South Kouchibouguac Campground at this time. Coordination of repairs to power lines is currently underway and will be reestablished as soon as possible.

Visitors are asked to contact Kouchibouguac National Park directly (1-506-876-2443) for more information on trail openings or the status in the park’s campground.

Please visit www.reservation.pc.gc.ca  or call 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783) regarding campground reservations.

The Endangered Piping Plover has Returned to Kouchibouguac National Park

KOUCHIBOUGUAC (NEW BRUNSWICK), June 23, 2014 — The endangered piping plover has once again returned to its breeding grounds on the beaches of Kouchibouguac National Park. During the breeding season from mid-April to August, piping plovers are extremely vulnerable to disturbances caused by dogs or human activities which may result in birds abandoning their breeding territories and nests.

Parks Canada is taking measures to ensure that the piping plover has a successful breeding season in 2014. So far, nine nests are established on the park’s beaches. A section of Kellys Beach is currently closed to the public to protect a pair of breeding piping plovers and their nest. The closed area is located on a marked section of Kellys Beach between the high water mark and the crest of the dune. Although this section of the beach is closed, there is still lots of space for the public to enjoy the salty water and warm sand of the park. The other nests are located on more remote beaches with little or no human activity. Once chicks have taken flight, Parks Canada will re-open the closed areas. Domestic animals, particularly dogs, are not permitted on Kouchibouguac National Park dunes.

A piping plover banding research program is currently underway at Kouchibouguac National Park and other beaches of the Atlantic region. Parks Canada is asking for the public’s assistance to report any sightings of the piping plover wearing a black band on one of his legs at the park’s Visitor Reception Centre. To volunteer to monitor piping plovers at the park or to become a Piping Plover Guardian, please call 506-876-2443. Parks Canada wishes to thank the public for its understanding and collaboration on this important conservation matter.

Through initiatives like these, Parks Canada is supporting Canada's National Conservation Plan by taking practical actions to conserve Canada’s lands and waters, restore its ecosystems, and connect Canadians to nature.

The Mi’gmag and Wolastoqiyik of New Brunswick and Parks Canada Sign a Five-Year Agreement
for Free Entrance to National Parks 

MONCTON (NEW BRUNSWICK), June 21, 2014 —  In celebration of National Aboriginal Day, a new vehicle identifier program for free entry for First Nations into Parks Canada places in New Brunswick was launched today. The Mi’gmag and Wolastoqiyik of New Brunswick now have entry without charge to Kouchibouguac and Fundy national parks, as well as all national historic sites administered by Parks Canada in New Brunswick thanks to a five-year agreement recently signed between the Assembly of First Nations’ Chiefs in New Brunswick and the Parks Canada Agency.

This agreement was concluded through the collaborative efforts of the New Brunswick First Nations Advisory Committee for Parks Canada, created in 2010.

The Parks Vehicle Identifier Program will ensure that common objectives in historical and natural resource conservation are met. It also supports the key pillars of the recently announced National Conservation Plan to conserve and restore our lands and waters and to connect Canadians to nature.

Parks Canada manages a network of 44 national parks, 167 national historic sites and four national marine conservation areas, while setting the stage and inviting Canadians and people from around the world to engage in personal moments of inspiring discovery at Canada’s treasured natural and historic places.

Quick Facts 

  • The New Brunswick First Nations Advisory Committee for Parks Canada meets 3 to 4 times per year to share information, increase awareness and ensure the interests of the First Nations are considered in park management decisions. 
  • The committee is composed of 2 representatives of the Assembly of First Nations’ Chiefs, 2 elders, 2 representatives from Fundy National Park and 2 representatives from Kouchibouguac National Park, along with advisors and staff from the Assembly of First Nations’ Chiefs in New Brunswick.

Quotes

“This Government values our relationship with First Nations across Canada. This project is an example of how collaborative partnerships can increase awareness of First Nations’ history in New Brunswick, while strengthening the relationship between First Nations and government."
The Honourable Bernard Valcourt, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and Member of Parliament for Madawaska-Restigouche

“The Vehicle Identifier will be issued to all Mi’gmag and Wolastoqiyik individuals who possess a valid AANDC ‘Status Card’ or Band Membership Card. The passes can be obtained through local band offices, the Assembly office in Fredericton and at the parks’ offices.”
Chief George Ginnish, Assembly of First Nations’ Chiefs in New Brunswick, Mi’gmag co-Chair

Associated Links 

http://www.chiefsnb.ca/ 
http://www.pc.gc.ca/pn-np/nb/kouchibouguac.aspx 
http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/nb/fundy.aspx

Online Camping Reservations for Kouchibouguac National Park Coming Soon!

Reserve your site as of April 11, 2014!

KOUCHIBOUGUAC NATIONAL PARK (NEW BRUNSWICK), Monday, April 7, 2014 – There's an excited buzz these days at Kouchibouguac National Park with the upcoming launch of the online campground reservation system on April 11, 2014. This year is the first time the Côte-à-Fabien campground will be included in the reservation system. At the South Kouchibouguac campground, which has been on the system for a few years, campers can reserve specific sites based on their preferences.

The South Kouchibouguac campground is undergoing major upgrades with the addition, for the first time, of all three services (water, sewer and electricity) to over a quarter of its sites. The work will be completed by early summer 2014 and also includes the addition of electricity to some formerly unserviced sites.

The Kouchibouguac National Park camping experience provides today's visitors with the experience they want and expect.

Quick Facts

  • The South Kouchibouguac campground has 311 sites: 71 sites with 3 services (water, electricity and sewer), 98 sites with electricity, and 142 unserviced sites.
  • The Côte-à-Fabien campground offers 32 unserviced sites.
  • The ban on bringing firewood into the park (for campfires) remains in effect for 2014. Visitors can buy firewood on site.

Quotes

"With a revamped camping experience at Kouchibouguac National Park, we hope to see greater numbers of campers. Visitors will enjoy the same professional service as before and an even better camping experience."

Robert Moreau, Superintendent, Parks Canada, New Brunswick North Field Unit

"Everything is in place for the April 11 launch of the 2014 online reservation for Kouchibouguac National Park and the Agency as a whole. For the first time, Côte-à-Fabien campground users will be able to reserve their favourite site in advance."

Camilla Vautour, Visitor Experience Manager, Kouchibouguac National Park

Associated Links

Reservations: www.reservation.parkscanada.gc.ca
Information: www.parkscanada.gc.ca/kouchibouguac

Parc national du Canada Kouchibouguac

Bulletins d'information / Communiqués


L'électricité est rétablie au parc national Kouchibouguac

KOUCHIBOUGUAC (NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK), le 8 juillet, 2014 — Parcs Canada avise sa clientèle que l’électricité est rétablie dans tous les secteurs du parc, incluant le terrain de camping South Kouchibouguac, le secteur de la plage Kellys et le secteur Ryans.

Le nettoyage se poursuit dans certains sentiers du parc, et on est encore à évaluer l’impact sur quelques structures côtières, tels que les quais flottants à Ryans. Afin d’assurer la sécurité des visiteurs et à titre de précaution, Parcs Canada gardera fermé certains sentiers afin d’effectuer le nettoyage et les réparations.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les réservations de camping, prière de visiter le site Web www.reservation.pc.gc.ca ou de composer le 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements veuillez composer le numéro de la ligne nationale de renseignements de Parcs Canada, 1-888-773-8888, ou celui du téléimprimeur (TTY), 1-866-787-6221 ou encore vous pouvez téléphoner directement au parc national Kouchibouguac au 1-506-876-2443.

Avis suivant le passage de la tempête post tropicale arthur au parc national Kouchibouguac

KOUCHIBOUGUAC (NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK), le 6 juillet, 2014 – Parcs Canada avise sa clientèle que certains sentiers dans le parc national Kouchibouguac demeureront fermés aujourd’hui afin de permettre un nettoyage et des réparations suite au passage de la tempête post tropicale Arthur. Ces sentiers sont marqués avec des rubans jaunes.

Les visiteurs qui planifient un séjour dans les terrains de camping du parc sont également avisés que le service d’électricité n’est toujours pas rétabli dans le camping South Kouchibouguac à ce moment. Les travaux de réparations aux lignes électriques sont amorcés et nous souhaitons un rétablissement du service d’électricité dans les plus brefs délais.

Nous demandons à nos clients de s’adresser directement au parc national Kouchibouguac (506-876-2443) afin d’avoir plus d’information au sujet des l’état des sentiers ou encore le rétablissement du service électrique au terrain de camping.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les réservations de camping, prière de visiter le site Web www.reservation.pc.gc.ca ou de composer le 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783).

Le pluvier siffleur, une espèce en voie de disparition, est de retour au parc national Kouchibouguac

KOUCHIBOUGUAC (NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK), le 23 juin 2014 — Le pluvier siffleur, une espèce en voie de disparition, est de retour dans ses aires de reproduction sur les plages du parc national Kouchibouguac. La présence de chiens ainsi que l’activité humaine sur les plages perturbent le pluvier siffleur pendant sa période de reproduction. De la mi-avril au mois d’août, ces activités peuvent même causer l’abandon de nids et la fuite du territoire de reproduction par les pluviers siffleurs.

Parcs Canada prend des mesures afin d’assurer le succès de la saison de reproduction du pluvier siffleur en 2014. Jusqu’à présent, neuf nids sont déjà établis sur les plages du parc. Une zone à proximité d’un de ces nids, situé à la plage Kellys, est présentement fermée au public afin de protéger les pluviers siffleurs et leur nid. La zone concernée est située entre le niveau des hautes eaux et la crête de la dune. Malgré la section fermée de la plage, les visiteurs pourront toutefois continuer de profiter des eaux salées et du sable chaud de ce magnifique parc. Les autres nids sont établis sur des plages plus difficiles d’accès où l’activité humaine est peu ou pas présente. Parcs Canada rouvrira les zones fermées dès que les oisillons pourront voler. Les animaux domestiques, surtout les chiens, sont interdits sur les plages des dunes côtières du parc national Kouchibouguac.

Parcs Canada fait appel à l’aide du public. Une étude de baguage des pluviers siffleurs est présentement en cours au parc national Kouchibouguac et sur les autres plages de la région de l’Atlantique. Si vous apercevez un pluvier siffleur portant une bague noire sur une patte, veuillez nous faire part de vos observations au Centre d’accueil du parc. Si vous voulez devenir bénévole pour la protection du pluvier siffleur ou participer au programme de Gardien du pluvier siffleur, composez le 506-876-2443. Parcs Canada vous remercie de votre compréhension et de votre collaboration à cette importante mesure de conservation.

Par le biais d’initiatives semblables, Parcs Canada appuie le Plan national de conservation du Canada en prenant des mesures concrètes pour conserver les terres et les eaux du Canada, restaurer ses écosystèmes et rapprocher la population canadienne de la nature.

Les Mi’gmags et les Wolastoqiyiks du Nouveau-Brunswick signent avec Parcs Canada une entente quinquennale leur donnant accès gratuitement aux parcs nationaux

MONCTON (NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK), le 21 juin 2014 — À l’occasion de la Journée nationale des Autochtones, Parcs Canada a lancé aujourd’hui un nouveau programme de cartes d’accès de véhicule permettant aux membres des Premières nations d’entrer dans les aires protégées de Parcs Canada au Nouveau-Brunswick sans avoir à payer. Ce programme s’inscrit dans une entente quinquennale signée récemment par l’Assemblée des Chefs des Premières nations du Nouveau-Brunswick et l’Agence Parcs Canada pour donner aux Mi’gmags et aux Wolastoqiyiks de la province un accès gratuit aux parcs nationaux Kouchibouguac et Fundy ainsi qu’aux lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada au Nouveau Brunswick.

Cette entente est le fruit des efforts concertés du Comité consultatif des Premières nations du Nouveau Brunswick, que Parcs Canada a mis sur pied en 2010.

Le programme de cartes d’accès de véhicule permettra d’assurer l’atteinte d’objectifs communs en matière de conservation des ressources historiques et naturelles. Il appuie également les piliers essentiels du Plan national de conservation récemment annoncé, de conserver et de restaurer les terres et les eaux et de rapprocher les Canadiens et Canadiennes de la nature.

Parcs Canada invite les visiteurs du Canada et de l’étranger à venir vivre des moments de découverte inspirants en explorant les trésors naturels et historiques de son réseau de 44 parcs nationaux, de 167 lieux historiques nationaux et de quatre aires marines nationales de conservation.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Comité consultatif des Premières Nations du Nouveau-Brunswick se réunit de trois à quatre fois par année pour échanger de l’information, faire du travail de sensibilisation et veiller à ce que les intérêts des Premières nations soient pris en compte dans les décisions de gestion des parcs.
  • Le comité est composé de deux représentants de l’Assemblée des Chefs des Premières Nations, de deux aînés, de deux représentants du parc national Fundy et de deux représentants du parc national Kouchibouguac ainsi que de conseillers et de membres du personnel de l’Assemblée des Chefs des Premières nations du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement accorde de l’importance à sa relation avec les Premières nations. Ce projet est un exemple qui démontre comment des partenariats peuvent accroître la compréhension de l’histoire des Premières nations au Nouveau-Brunswick, tout en renforçant la relation entre les Premières nations et le gouvernement. »
L’honorable Bernard Valcourt, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien et député de Madawaska—Restigouche

« La carte d’accès de véhicule sera remise à tous les Mi’gmags et à tous les Wolastoqiyiks qui détiennent un certificat de statut valide d’AADNC ou une carte de membre de bande. Les gens peuvent se procurer la carte d’accès au bureau de bande local, au bureau de l’Assemblée à Fredericton et aux bureaux des parcs. »
Chef George Ginnish, coprésident mi’gmag de l’Assemblée des Chefs des Premières nations du N.-B.

Liens connexes 

http://www.chiefsnb.ca/ (en anglais seulement) 
http://www.pc.gc.ca/pn-np/nb/kouchibouguac.aspx 
http://www.pc.gc.ca/fra/pn-np/nb/fundy.aspx

Les réservations de camping en ligne pour bientôt au parc national Kouchibouguac!

Réservez votre site dès le 11 avril!

PARC NATIONAL KOUCHIBOUGUAC (NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK), le lundi 7 avril 2014 – Le parc national Kouchibouguac est en pleine effervescence avec l'ouverture prochaine, le 11 avril 2014, du système de réservation des sites de camping en ligne. À compter de cette année, le camping Côte-à-Fabien sera inclus dans ce système de réservation. Au camping de South Kouchibouguac, qui fait partie du système de réservation depuis quelques années, des sites spécifiques peuvent être réservés selon la préférence des campeurs.

Le camping South Kouchibouguac est en voie de connaître une grande modernisation avec l'ajout, pour la première fois, des trois services (eau, égouts et électricité) à plus du quart de ses sites. Ce projet sera complété au début de l'été 2014. Les travaux de modernisation comprendront aussi l'ajout du service d'électricité à certains des emplacements qui n'offraient jusque là aucun service.

L'expérience de camping au parc national Kouchibouguac offre aux visiteurs d'aujourd'hui l'expérience qu'ils souhaitent et à laquelle ils s'attendent.

Les faits en bref

  • Le camping South Kouchibouguac compte 311 emplacements (71 sites avec les 3 services (eau, électricité, égouts), 98 sites avec électricité, et 142 sites sans services).
  • Le camping Côte-à-Fabien propose 32 emplacements tous sans services.
  • L'interdiction d'importation du bois de chauffage (pour les feux de camps) reste en vigueur pour 2014. Les visiteurs peuvent acheter leur bois sur place.

Citations

« Avec le renouvellement de l'expérience de camping au parc national Kouchibouguac, nous espérons voir une augmentation du nombre de campeurs. Le visiteur retrouvera le même service professionnel que par le passé, et une expérience de camping enrichie. »

Robert Moreau, directeur, Parcs Canada, Unité de gestion du nord du Nouveau-Brunswick

« Tout est en place pour le lancement, le 11 avril, du système de réservation en ligne de 2014 pour le parc national Kouchibouguac, et pour l'ensemble de l'Agence. Pour la première fois, les utilisateurs du camping de la Côte-à-Fabien auront l'occasion de réserver à l'avance leur site favori. »

Camilla Vautour, gestionnaire de l'expérience du visiteur, parc national Kouchibouguac

Liens connexes

Réservations : www.reservation.parcscanada.gc.ca
Informations : www.parcscanada.gc.ca/kouchibouguac