Common menu bar links

Kouchibouguac National Park

Illuminated wigwam under the night sky
Wigwam at Callanders Beach under the night sky
© Doug Currie

Dark Sky Preserve

Dark Sky Preserves are designated by the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada and are established to reduce artificial light glare, increase the visibility of the night sky, and reduce energy consumption to benefit all life on Earth. Dark Sky Preserves promote the protection of nocturnal habitat for present and future generations and they encourage public enjoyment and awareness of the cultural heritage of the night sky.

"New Brunswick's dark sky ocean paradise and one of the most magical astronomy parks in North America" - Skynews
The milkyway seen above trees Parks Canada Agency protects more dark skies than any other agency or jurisdiction in the world.
© Parks Canada

By declaring Kouchibouguac National Park a Dark Sky Preserve, Parks Canada is committed to protect and preserve the night sky by applying strict lighting guidelines to reduce light pollution. The guidelines are tailored to protect ecosystems, reduce energy consumption and maintain dark skies.

Specific activities include:

  • Reducing energy consumption by adjusting, retrofitting or eliminating light fixtures;
  • Improving nocturnal ecology by returning the dark night to birds, bats, insects and amphibians;
  • Promoting and delivering new programs on astronomy and other dark sky themes.

Parks Canada worked closely with the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada to have Kouchibouguac National Park declared a Dark Sky Preserve. Founded in 1868, the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada is Canada's leading astronomy organization bringing together over 4,000 enthusiastic amateurs, educators and professionals.

More information

Parc national Kouchibouguac

Illuminated wigwam under the night sky
Wigwam à la plage Callanders sous le ciel étoilé
© Doug Currie

Réserve de ciel étoilé

Les réserves de ciel étoilé sont désignées par la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada et sont établies pour rendre l’éclairage artificiel moins éblouissant, accroître la visibilité du ciel nocturne et réduire la consommation d’énergie, et ce, dans l’intérêt de tous les êtres vivants. Elles favorisent la protection des habitats nocturnes pour les générations actuelles et à venir et elles incitent la population à apprécier le ciel nocturne et la sensibilisent à l’important patrimoine culturel qui y est relié.

« Le pardadis maritime du ciel étoilé du Nouveau-Brunswick, l'un des parcs d'astronomie les plus magiques en Amérique du Nord » - Skynews
La voie lactée au dessus d'une forêt L’Agence Parcs Canada protège plus de ciels étoilés que tout autre organisme ou administration au monde.
© Parcs Canada

En désignant le parc national du Canada Kouchibouguac réserve de ciel étoilé, Parcs Canada s’engage à protéger et à préserver le ciel nocturne en appliquant des lignes directrices strictes en matière d’éclairage en vue de diminuer la pollution lumineuse. Les lignes directrices sont conçues pour protéger les écosystèmes, réduire la consommation d’énergie et préserver le ciel étoilé.

Les mesures particulières comprennent les suivantes :

  • la réduction de la consommation d’énergie en réajustant, en modernisant ou en éliminant des dispositifs d’éclairage;
  • l’amélioration de l’écologie nocturne en rétablissant la noirceur pour les oiseaux, les chauves souris, les insectes et les amphibiens;
  • la promotion et l’exécution de nouveaux programmes sur l’astronomie et d’autres thèmes liés au ciel étoilé.

Parcs Canada a collaboré avec la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada dans le but de faire désigner le parc national du Canada Kouchibouguac réserve de ciel étoilé. Fondée en 1868, la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada est l’organisme d’astronomie le plus important au Canada. Il rassemble plus de 4 000 amateurs, éducateurs et professionnels passionnés.

Plus d'information