Common menu bar links

Kouchibouguac National Park

A group of friends throwing snow in the air at the bottom of the tobogganing hill.

Special Events

Starting this January, pick up your observation rally booklet at Pijeboogwek and challenge yourself! Go at your own pace, either skiing, snowshoeing or walking. It may take you a few tries to find all the answers, but there is plenty of time. Complete the rally by March 20 and you will have a chance to win prizes!

Winter Programming 2015-2016

DateEvent
December 16 Kouchibouguac’s Annual Christmas Bird Count
Take part in Kouchibouguac’s 46th Annual Christmas Bird Count. It’s a great way to combine your love of bird watching and winter fun. Meet at the park administration between 8 and 9 am. Bring your binoculars and your bird books!
January 10 Nature Pop Quiz (1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.)
Take a break at Patterson shelter and challenge your comrades with this Pop Nature quiz. The daily subject is a surprise! Each Pop Nature quiz will last around 15 minutes and will be repeated as needed throughout the afternoon. Small prizes will be awarded.
January 23 Moonlight Snowshoe Outing (7 p.m. - 9 p.m.)
Camilla, a Park volunteer, will lead you on a magical night trek from the foot bridge to Middle Kouchibouguac shelter, 3 km in total. Meet at Pijeboogwek parking lot at 6:45 to then drive to the foot bridge on Route 117. Give yourself enough time to purchase your entry permits and rent your snowshoes, if needed. Bring your headlamp and a good snack!
February 7 Geocaching 101 (11 a.m. - noon)
This one hour workshop will teach you all that you need to know about this modern treasure hunt. Meet at Pijeboogwek shelter for 11 a.m. End your training with a nice cup of hot chocolate.
Nature Pop Quiz (1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.)
Take a break at Patterson shelter and challenge your comrades with this Pop Nature quiz. The daily subject is a surprise! Each Pop Nature quiz will last around 15 minutes and will be repeated as needed throughout the afternoon. Small prizes will be awarded.
February 14 Cupid’s Trail of Hearts leads to Patterson! (1 p.m - 4 p.m.)
Your adventure begins as soon as you arrive at Pijeboogwek. There, you will discover winter camping, along with Cupid’s Mission (starting at 11:30 a.m.). Then, take the cross country or snowshoes trail that leads to Patterson where Valentine’s Day activities and surprises will be sure to entertain young and old.
February 20 Under the Crescent Moon — Snowshoe Outing (7 p.m. - 9 p.m.)
Camilla, a Park volunteer, will lead you on a magical night trek from the foot bridge to Middle Kouchibouguac shelter, 3 km in total. Meet at Pijeboogwek parking lot at 6:45 to then drive to the foot bridge on Route 117. Give yourself enough time to purchase your entry permits and rent your snowshoes, if needed. Bring your headlamp and a good snack!
February 28 Boules de neige Ski Bang Boom (1 p.m. - 4 p.m.)
The Boules de neige cross-country ski club invites young skiers and their families for an afternoon filled with activities, challenges, and fun. From Pijeboowek waxing hut, head out to Patterson shelter for loads of laughter. Details will be made available by mid-January.
March 5 - 13 Winter cycle and get your fill of fresh air!
NEW! A new 16 km trail will be groomed during March Break (5-13) along the Parkway between Pijeboogwek and La Source shelters to accomodate Fat Bikes. We will soon be announcing special activities to be held during that week.
March 8 A Celebration of Women! (7 p.m. - 9 p.m.)
Happy International Women’s Day! Join us for some healthy snacks at Patterson Shelter and plunge into the rich and vibrant past of women who have left their mark on the area. The group departure is planned from Pijeboogwek at 6:30 p.m. The total distance is 4 km if you are skiing, close to 6 km if you are snowshoeing.
March 11 - 12 Hoo! Hoo! Hoo’s there ? (7 p.m. - 9 p.m.)
Discover the night life of owls. Put on your ski boots and join us for a relaxed ski outing surrounded by the tranquility of winter nights. Meet at Pijeboogwek shelter and bring your headlamps along with a snack. (In English on March 11, in French on March 12)
March 19 - 20 Egg Hunt
On March 19 and 20, take part in a Park Egg Hunt! A hare has left clues along the route to Patterson. If you follow the right path, you will find eggs…and maybe tasty surprises! This is a self-guided activity. Upon your arrival at the Park entrance, speak with the attendant at Pijeboogwek shelter. They will give you the information you need.

Parc national Kouchibouguac

A group of friends throwing snow in the air at the bottom of the tobogganing hill.

Événements spéciaux

Dès janvier, obtenez votre feuillet de rallye auprès du préposé à Pijeboogwek et relevez le défi, individuellement ou entre amis. Il vous faudra peut-être quelques sorties, en ski, en raquettes et à pied, pour trouver toutes les réponses mais soyez rassurés, vous avez jusqu’au 20 mars pour compléter le défi et courir la chance de gagner de beaux prix !

Programmation hivernale 2015-2016

DateÉvénement
16 décembre Recensement annuel des oiseaux de Noël de Kouchibouguac
Combinez l’amour des oiseaux et les joies de l’hiver en participant au 46e Recensement annuel des oiseaux de Noël ! Rendez-vous à l’administration du parc entre 8h et 9h, le matin du décompte. Apportez vos jumelles et votre livre d’oiseaux !
10 janvier Quiz pop nature (13 h 30 à 15 h 30)
Faites la pause à l’abri Petit-Large et défiez vos camarades dans un quiz pop nature sur le sujet du jour ! Petites surprises à gagner ! Le quiz pop nature est d’une durée d’environ 15 minutes et sera répété au courant de l’après-midi selon la demande.
23 janvier En raquettes au clair de lune (19 h à 21 h)
Venez faire un tour en raquettes en soirée avec Camilla, bénévole, à partir du pont-piéton jusqu’à l’abri Middle Kouchibouguac, soit 3km aller-retour. Départ de Pijeboogwek à 18 h 45 pour ensuite conduire jusqu’au pont-piéton sur la route 117. Le départ à partir du pont-piéton est prévu pour 19 h. Prévoyez le temps nécessaire pour l’achat du permis d’entrée ainsi que la location de raquettes, au besoin. Apportez vos lampes frontales et une bonne collation!
7 février Initiation à la géocachette (11 h à 12 h)
Découvrez en quoi consiste cette chasse au trésor moderne avec un atelier d’initiation d’environ une heure. Rendez-vous à l’abri Pijeboogwek pour 11 h. Le tout se terminera avec un bon chocolat chaud.
Quiz pop nature (13 h 30 - 15 h 30)
Faites la pause à l’abri Patterson et défiez vos camarades dans un quiz pop nature sur le sujet du jour ! Petites surprises à gagner ! Le quiz pop nature est d’une durée d’environ 15 minutes et sera répété au courant de l’après-midi selon la demande.
14 février La piste des cœurs de Cupidon mène à Patterson! (13 h à 16 h)
Votre aventure débute à votre arrivée à Pijeboogwek où vous découvrirez le camping d’hiver, ainsi que votre « Mission Cupidon » (à partir de 11 h 30). Prenez ensuite le sentier de ski de fond ou de raquette qui mène à Patterson où des activités et des surprises de St-Valentin amuseront petits et grands.
20 février En raquettes sous le croissant de lune (19 h à 21 h)
Venez faire un tour en raquettes en soirée avec Camilla, bénévole, à partir du pont-piéton jusqu’à l’abri Middle Kouchibouguac, soit 3km aller-retour. Départ de Pijeboogwek à 18 h 45 pour ensuite conduire jusqu’au pont-piéton sur la route 117. Le départ à partir du pont-piéton est prévu pour 19 h. Prévoyez le temps nécessaire pour l’achat du permis d’entrée ainsi que la location de raquettes, au besoin. Apportez vos lampes frontales et une bonne collation!
28 février Boules de neige Ski Bang Boum (13 h à 16 h)
Le Club de ski de fond Boules de neige invite les jeunes skieurs et leurs familles à une après-midi remplie d'activités, de défis et de plaisir! De l'abri de fartage Pijeboogwek, prenez la direction de l'abri Patterson et venez vous amuser! Les détails seront disponibles vers la fin-janvier.
du 5 au 13 mars Prenez l'air en vélo l'hiver!
NOUVEAUTÉ! Une nouvelle piste de 16 km à partir de la route du parc entre les abris Pijeboogwek et La Source sera offerte pendant la semaine de relâche du mois de mars (5 - 13) pour le Fat Bike. Nous annoncerons prochainement plus de détails sur les activités offertes pendant cette période.
8 mars À la santé des femmes! (19 h à 21 h)
Bonne journée internationale de la femme! Venez déguster des grignotines santé à l’abri Patterson et plongez dans un passé riche et vibrant en découvrant la contribution de femmes qui ont laissé leur marque dans la région. Un départ de groupe est prévu à 18 h 30 à partir de Pijeboogwek. La distance de 4 km en ski de fond, et près de 6 km en raquettes.
11-12 mars Hou-hou-hou sont les hiboux? (19 h à 21 h)
Chaussez vos bottes de ski et venez découvrir la vie nocturne des hiboux ! Rendez-vous à l’abri Pijeboogwek pour une sortie en ski en toute douceur, dans la noirceur ! Apportez vos lampes frontales et une bonne collation. Présentation en anglais le 11 mars, et en français le 12 mars.
19-20 mars Chasse aux œufs
Les 19 et 20 mars, participez à une chasse aux œufs au parc! En route vers Patterson, un lièvre a laissé des indices. Si vous suivez la bonne piste, vous trouverez les œufs et peut-être de petites surprises sucrées! Cette activité est autoguidée. À votre arrivée au parc, informez-vous auprès du préposé, à l’abri Pijeboogwek.