Common menu bar links

Fundy National Park of Canada

A park interpreter making a presentation on Alma Beach, at low tide.
Guided walk on Alma Beach
© Department of Tourism and Parks, Province of New Brunswick

World's Highest Tides

Aerial view of the Alma Wharf at low tide. The dramatic impact and size of the tides can be seen in the rise and fall of the local fishing fleet tied to the wharf in Alma, at times sitting on the ocean floor.
© Parks Canada

One of the most important draws for visitors to the region and to Fundy National Park is to experience the tides and the tidal flats of the Bay of Fundy. The effects of the tides on the shoreline and the local weather are easily seen and experienced from the park.

At Fundy National Park, the difference between high and low tide can be as much as 12 metres. At the head of the bay, the tide can rise 16 metres, the height of a four-story building.

Walking on the bottom of the bay is a favourite pastime of visitors. This is, of course, best done at low tide in the intertidal zone!

At Alma Beach at the time of low tide, you can walk more than a kilometre from the high tide line across the tidal flats to the water's edge. Fundy's interpreters welcome you to guided walks along the coast.

More Information


Useful Links

Parc national du Canada Fundy

Une présentation par un interprète du parc, à la plage Alma, lors de la marée basse.
Marche guidée sur la plage d'Alma.
© Ministère du tourisme et des parcs, Province du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Les plus grandes marées du monde

Vue aérienne du quai d'Alma, lors de la marée basse. C’est en observant la montée et la descente de la flottille de pêche attachée au quai, à Alma, et qui repose parfois sur le fonds de l’océan, que les répercussions et l’amplitude des marées paraissent des plus spectaculaires.
© Parcs Canada

Si un grand nombre de visiteurs sont attirés par la région et par le parc national Fundy, c’est pour y découvrir les marées et les replats de marée. Il est facile d’apercevoir et de découvrir les effets des marées sur le rivage et les conditions météorologiques locales à partir du parc.

Dans le parc national Fundy, la différence entre la marée haute et la marée basse, c'est-à-dire l'amplitude, est parfois de 12 mètres. Dans le fond de la baie, elle peut atteindre 16 mètres, soit la hauteur d'un édifice de quatre étages.

Marcher au fond de la baie est un passe-temps de prédilection des visiteurs. Évidemment, cette activité est pratiquée à marée basse dans la zone intertidale!

À la plage d'Alma, à marée basse, on peut parcourir plus d'un kilomètre sur l'estran à partir de la ligne de marée haute jusqu'au bord de l'eau. Les interprètes de Fundy vous invitent à participer aux promenades guidées le long de la côte.

Informations additionelles


Liens utiles