Common menu bar links

Fundy National Park of Canada

Caribou Plain, a cross-section through Fundy’s forest ecosystems with a thick evergreen stand, leafy hardwood groves, streamside alder thickets, and a bog. Small lakes add to the diversity of the scenery.
Fundy National Park's Caribou Plain is one of the Fundy Biosphere Reserve's Amazing Places.
© Parks Canada / C. Reardon

Fundy Biosphere Reserve

Biosphere reserves are areas designated by UNESCO to serve as models for demonstrating a balanced relationship between humans and the biosphere. One of the requirements for designation of a biosphere reserve is that the proposed area must contain a legally protected core area, such as a park or wilderness reserve. Fundy National Park serves as the core area for the Fundy Biosphere Reserve.

The Fundy Biosphere Reserve includes an area of over 430,000 hectares of the upper Bay of Fundy coast, stretching from St. Martins to the Tantramar Marsh near Sackville, NB and inland to Moncton, NB. The Bay of Fundy and its adjacent landscape forms a unique region in its geological formations, terrestrial and marine ecosystems, cultural heritage, as well as a variety of rural communities and urban areas. It compares with more than 531 unique landscapes in 105 countries in the world that have been recognized as UNESCO Biosphere Reserves.

Biosphere Reserves in Canada and Parks Canada

Maintaining and restoring the ecological integrity of Canada’s national parks is an important part of the Parks Canada mandate. Activities in surrounding areas can significantly affect the integrity of park ecosystems. National parks serve as the core area of eight of the 15 biosphere reserves that have been designated to date in Canada.

Collaborative efforts among people and organizations within the biosphere reserve serve to promote the sustainability of local economies and communities, as well as the conservation of the ecosystems in which they are located.

Useful links

Parc national du Canada Fundy

La plaine du caribou, lieu idéal pour voir les types d’écosystèmes forestiers de Fundy tels un épais peuplement de conifères, des bosquets de feuillus, des fourrés d’aulnes près des cours d’eau et une tourbière. Des petits lacs agrémentent aussi le paysage.
La plaine du caribou, au parc national Fundy, est l'un des lieux fantastiques de la Réserve de biosphère de Fundy.
© Parcs Canada / C. Reardon

Réserve de biosphère de Fundy

Les réserves de la biosphère sont des aires désignées par l'UNESCO qui servent de modèles et sont un exemple de rapport équilibré entre les humains et la biosphère. Pour qu’elle soit désignée comme telle, la réserve doit comporter une aire centrale protégée juridiquement, par exemple un parc ou une réserve naturelle. Le parc national Fundy constitue l’aire centrale de la réserve de la biosphère de Fundy.

La réserve de la biosphère de Fundy est une aire de plus de 430 000 hectares qui longe la partie supérieure de la baie de Fundy. Elle s’étend de St. Martins jusqu’aux marais de Tantramar, près de Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick) et se prolonge à l’intérieur des terres jusqu’à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick). La baie de Fundy et ses environs constituent un territoire unique qui se démarque du fait des formations géologiques et des écosystèmes terrestres et marins qu’on y trouve, de son patrimoine culturel et du voisinage pittoresque de collectivités rurales et de zones urbaines variées. Ce territoire se compare avantageusement aux quelque 531 emplacements uniques, répartis dans 105 pays, que l’UNESCO a reconnus comme réserves de la biosphère.

Réserves de la biosphère au Canada et Parcs Canada

Le maintien ou la restauration de l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux est un élément important du mandat de Parcs Canada. Les activités menées dans les régions avoisinantes peuvent influer fortement sur l'intégrité des écosystèmes des parcs. Les parcs nationaux constituent l’aire centrale de 8 des 15 réserves de la biosphère désignées jusqu’à maintenant au Canada.

La collaboration entre les gens et les organisations établis dans la réserve de la biosphère favorise la viabilité des économies locales, ainsi que la conservation des écosystèmes dans lesquels elles sont situées.

Liens utiles