Common menu bar links

Parks Mountain Safety Facebook Page Parks Mountain Safety Twitter

Parks Canada Mountain Safety Program

Search and Rescue

In all of the Mountain National Parks Mountain Safety Specialists are prepared to respond 24/7 to a wide variety of emergencies all year round. Mountain Safety Specialists are all professionally trained search and rescue operation leaders. Other members of Parks Canada’s personnel are also trained to assist during search and rescue operations. They include a trained avalanche dog and his handler, who is also highly trained.

Mountain Safety Specialists prepare an accident victim for helicopter transport to the hospital. Mountain Safety Specialists prepare an accident victim for helicopter transport to the hospital.
© Parks Canada

Cell, Sat and SPOT

Calls from land lines and most often cell phones are received first by trained staff at the Parks Canada dispatch offices of the responding national park. While some cell phone reception is available at most front country areas, cell phone reception cannot be expected in many backcountry areas throughout the Mountain National Parks. While satellite phones and personal locator beacon devices such as SPOT can be useful, they cannot be relied upon absolutely. All backcountry travellers should be familiar with the abilities and limitations of the devices they chose to carry. They should also be prepared to carry out self-rescue and to keep themselves and their partners warm and sheltered during the time it takes for a rescue team to reach them.

Emergency?

Do you know what number to call if you find yourself in an emergency situation?
If you have a satellite phone, the Parks Canada emergency number is 403.762.4506. Or, dial 911 and tell the operator which Mountain National Park, and that you need assistance from the Park Rescue Team. Be ready to tell them:

  • Where? Your exact location (mountain, route, river, hut, glacier, etc.)
  • What? Type of emergency; number of victims; seriousness and type of injuries.
  • Who? Your name, phone number you are calling from (including area code).
  • When? Time of the accident.

Dispatch will then connect you directly to the rescue leader who will ask you specific questions regarding the emergency.

Would you know how to signal to a helicopter overhead that you need help?

Need help? Yes. No. Arm signals.

When the helicopter approaches, signal and stay in position (do not wave your arms).

Search

When a call is received, dispatchers ask questions to gain as much information as possible about the nature of the emergency, including the sex, age, name, location and injuries suffered by an accident victim. In the case of a missing person, they will inquire about the person’s car and location, such as a trailhead, and potential hike, climbing route, ski tour or river the person might have been headed for. The more information the dispatcher is able to collect, the more information can be relayed to the search and rescue team.

Rescue

Mountain Rescue Specialists are trained to respond to a wide variety of scenarios by land, by helicopter or by jet boat. If a person has suffered an injury in an easy-to-reach-location not far from a trailhead, the rescue team will likely choose to respond with a four-person crew rolling a stretcher equipped with fat, dirt trail-friendly tires. In the case of a serious injury or a medical emergency, such as a heart attack, a paramedic will likely accompany the team.

Parks Canada rescue service members respond to an easily accessed accident. Parks Canada rescue service members respond to an easily accessed accident.
© Parks Canada

When the team is called to respond to a site that is not close or relatively easy to access, they will choose to travel by helicopter to reach the victim, and to transport them to safety or to hospital. If the victim is in a particularly inaccessible location, such as a steep cliff or deep canyon, a helicopter long-line system is deployed. First the rescuer is lowered to the victim, who is then packed on a specially designed stretcher which is attached to a cable connected to the helicopter, and slung to safety. Helicopter rescues are often more practical and efficient than land-based rescues, since they require less manpower – only two rescuers, rather than four – for a shorter period of time. A shorter rescue time is very often in the best interest of the victim, who can be transported to hospital more quickly.

Unfortunately, from time to time Mountain Rescue Specialists are required to recover bodies of deceased persons.

A Visitor Safety Specialist brings an injured climbers partner down to a staging area. This photo is from a live rescue on Cascade Waterfall near Banff. A Visitor Safety Specialist brings an injured climbers partner down to a staging area. This photo is from a live rescue on Cascade Waterfall near Banff.
© Parks Canada

Facebook - Parcs sécurité montagne @Parcssecuritemtn

Programme de sécurité en montagne de Parcs Canada

Recherche et sauvetage

Dans tous les parcs nationaux des montagnes, des spécialistes de la sécurité en montagne ayant suivi une formation professionnelle en direction d’opérations de recherche et sauvetage sont prêts à répondre à un large éventail de situations d’urgence jour et nuit, tous les jours de l’année. D’autres membres du personnel de Parcs Canada ont aussi été formés pour aider aux opérations de recherche et sauvetage. Parcs Canada peut même compter sur une équipe formée d’un chien d’avalanche et de son maître, qui a aussi reçu une formation approfondie.

Les spécialistes de sécurité en montagne préparent une victime pour un transport héliporté à l'hôpital. Les spécialistes de sécurité en montagne préparent une victime pour un transport héliporté à l'hôpital.
© Parcs Canada

Téléphones cellulaires, téléphones satellites et dispositifs SPOT

Le personnel qualifié des services de répartition de Parcs Canada reçoit les appels provenant de lignes terrestres et, le plus souvent, de téléphones cellulaires, appels qu’ils redirigent vers le parc national concerné. Les téléphones cellulaires fonctionnent dans la plupart des secteurs de l’avant-pays, mais on ne peut s’y fier dans de nombreux secteurs de l’arrière-pays de tous les parcs nationaux des montagnes. Bien que les téléphones satellites et les radiobalises individuelles de repérage comme les dispositifs SPOT puissent être utiles, ils ne sont pas entièrement fiables. Les explorateurs de l’arrière-pays doivent bien connaître les capacités et les limites des appareils qu’ils décident d’apporter. Ils doivent aussi être en mesure de procéder eux-mêmes au sauvetage d’un membre du groupe et apporter le matériel nécessaire pour se garder au chaud et à l’abri au cas où ils devraient attendre une équipe de secours.

Que faire en cas d’urgence?

Savez-vous quel numéro composer en situation d’urgence?
Si vous disposez d’un téléphone satellite, faites le 943.762.4506 pour joindre Parcs Canada. Vous pouvez également composer le 911, mentionner à la téléphoniste dans quel parc national de montagne vous vous trouvez et indiquer que vous avez besoin de l’aide de l’équipe de sauvetage du parc. Soyez prêt à fournir l’information suivante :

  • Emplacement exact (montagne, parcours, rivière, refuge, glacier, etc.).
  • Situation (type d’urgence, nombre de victimes, gravité et type des blessures).
  • Votre nom et le numéro de téléphone d’où vous appelez (y compris l’indicatif régional).
  • Heure de l’accident.

Le centre de répartition vous mettra directement en contact avec le chef de sauvetage, qui vous posera des questions précises sur la situation.

Savez-vous comment signaler à un hélicoptère que vous êtes en détresse?

Avez-vous besoin d'aide? Oui ou Non? Signaux de bras.

Lorsqu’un hélicoptère s’approche, mettez-vous en position de signalement et ne bougez plus. Évitez de faire des mouvements avec vos bras.

Recherche

Lorsqu’il reçoit un appel, le répartiteur pose des questions pour amasser le plus d’information possible sur la nature de l’urgence, y compris le sexe, l’âge, le nom, l’emplacement et les blessures des victimes, le cas échéant. Si une personne est portée disparue, il demande une description de sa voiture et vérifie où elle devait aller (point de départ, itinéraire de randonnée ou de ski, parcours d’escalade ou rivière qu’elle aurait pu emprunter). Plus le répartiteur amasse d’information, plus il est en mesure d’en transmettre à l’équipe de recherche et sauvetage.

Sauvetage

Les spécialistes du sauvetage en montagne sont formés pour répondre à tout un éventail de situations, que ce soit par voie terrestre, par hélicoptère ou par bateau à propulsion hydraulique. Si une personne blessée se trouve dans un endroit facile d’accès à proximité du point de départ d’un sentier, on envoie habituellement une équipe de sauvetage de quatre personnes avec une civière munie de pneus tout terrain. En cas de blessure grave ou d’urgence médicale, par exemple une crise cardiaque, un ambulancier paramédical accompagne l’équipe.

Les membres du service de secours de Parcs Canada répondent à un accident facilement accessible. Les membres du service de secours de Parcs Canada répondent à un accident facilement accessible.
© Parcs Canada

Lorsque le sauvetage doit avoir lieu dans un endroit éloigné et difficile d’accès, l’équipe de sauvetage se rend jusqu’à la victime en hélicoptère et l’amène en lieu sûr ou à l’hôpital. Dans les endroits particulièrement inaccessibles, comme les falaises escarpées ou les canyons profonds, le système de câbles de halage de l’hélicoptère est déployé. Un sauveteur est d’abord descendu jusqu’à la victime, puis celle-ci est attachée sur une civière spécialement conçue reliée à l’hélicoptère par des câbles permettant de hisser la victime. Les sauvetages par hélicoptère sont souvent plus pratiques et plus efficaces que les sauvetages par voie terrestre puisqu’ils sont plus rapides et ne nécessitent que deux sauveteurs plutôt que quatre. Moins le sauvetage prend de temps, plus la victime peut être transportée à l’hôpital rapidement.

Malheureusement, il arrive que des spécialistes du sauvetage en montagne doivent récupérer les corps de personnes décédées.

Un spécialiste de la sécurité des visiteurs mène le partenaire d’un grimpeur blessé à une zone de rassemblement. Cette photo a été prise lors d’une opération de sauvetage à la chute Cascade près de Banff. Un spécialiste de la sécurité des visiteurs mène le partenaire d’un grimpeur blessé à une zone de rassemblement. Cette photo a été prise lors d’une opération de sauvetage à la chute Cascade près de Banff.
© Parcs Canada