National Park Regulations

For everybody’s enjoyment and safety

Laws are designed to protect you, the visitor, and also the Park for enjoyment by future generations. It is your responsibility to be aware of the laws. If you have any questions please contact the Park Information Centre.

National Parks are unique places and therefore require unique rules and persons to enforce them. Park Wardens are Federal Officers responsible for the protection of the National Park, and preservation and maintenance of public peace. Their primary responsibility is enforcement of the National Parks Act, however, they also enforce Criminal Code, liquor and highway Regulations among others.

Breaking the law in a National Park can result in eviction, a ticket or in more serious instances, arrest. Canadian National Park offences can carry heavy fines and could result in jail time or restitution. For some offences, such as poaching or pollution, fines can be in excess of $250,000.

All Canada National Parks Act offences result in automatic court appearances.

To view or download the National Park Regulations brochure, visit our brochure page!

What you need to know about...

Area Closures and Restrictions

Area Closures and Restrictions
There are a number of outdoor activities that require a permit. Check with the info centre prior to engagement of non-traditional, unusual or commercial activities. Occasionally, area closures and other restrictions are required to protect Park resources and for visitor safety considerations. Closures are enforceable by law. These closures will be posted at the trailhead, access points, Park offices and Visitor Centres. Info on closures will also be available online.

Camping
Camping is permitted in designated campgrounds only. Camping in roadside pullouts, trailheads and day-use-areas is not permitted. The locations of campgrounds can be found in the National Park Mountain Guide. The permit holder for the campsite is responsible for the site, including cleanliness, noise levels and actions of visitors.

Alcohol
Consumption of alcohol within the Park is permitted only at registered campsites, private residence or licensed premises. Alcohol is prohibited at beaches, day use areas, cook shelters and trails. During certain periods of the year, campgrounds may have temporary liquor bans in effect identified through notices. It is your responsibility to be aware of the rules regarding alcohol consumption.

Day Use Areas © B. Covey

Boating
Use of gas engines on any waterbody in Jasper is prohibited. Electric motors are permitted on Talbot, Maligne, Pyramid and Patricia Lakes only. Any type of inflatable is considered a vessel when it is used for navigating and each occupant/passenger requires a life vest and safety equipment. Drinking and boating is illegal, similar to drinking and driving.

Day Use Areas
Day use areas, such as beaches and picnic sites, are open from 0800 hrs to 2300 hrs. They are not for camping or partying at night. Liquor is prohibited at all day use areas. Fires are only allowed where designated fire boxes are available.

Fire
Bush party sites and random fires pose a serious threat to the Park. Fires are only permitted in a proper fire receptacle. No random fires are permitted in the Park. Do not collect deadfall or cut branches for fires. Use provided firewood only. Never leave a fire unattended and put it out before you leave.

Pets must be kept on a leash at all times

Off Road Driving
Vehicles must remain on hardened surfaces, paved and gravel roads. The use of quads, snowmobiles, dirt bikes, or other off-road vehicles is prohibited. Scooters are considered motor vehicles for these purposes and are not permitted on trails or areas closed to motor vehicle traffic.

Noise and Park Enjoyment
It is an offence to interfere with others quiet enjoyment of a park during any part of the day or night. This includes loud music and shouting in campgrounds, and/or in day use areas. Visitors should be aware that quiet hours are enforced between 2300 and 0700 hrs in all campgrounds.

Pets
All domestic animals must be kept on a leash at all times. Be considerate of your neighbours and do not leave your animal tied up and unattended. If left unattended, the animal may be impounded. Allowing your pet to chase any wild animal in the Park is an offence. Pets are not permitted in some areas. Look for notices at trailheads and info centres to find out where these restrictions are.

Wildlife Viewing © R. Gruys

Wildlife Viewing
It is illegal to entice, pet or attempt to pet, harass or feed wild animals in the park. Pursuing animals with cameras is considered harassment. Animal behaviour is unpredictable and could result in injury if they are not given enough space. Obstructing traffic is an offence and a hazard to other motorists. Pull over in designated pullouts only for viewing wildlife.

Natural Objects
It is illegal to collect plants, animals, animal parts including antlers, fossils and natural objects. If you believe you have found something significant, leave the item in place and report your finding to the nearest Parks centre. Please leave these natural items for others to enjoy as well.

Hunting - Firearms
Firearms and Hunting are not permitted in National Parks. If you are carrying a firearm through to another destination it must be unloaded and securely encased. Firearms include slingshots, bows, bb guns, cross bows and paintball guns. Hunting carries serious offences in a National Park. Fireworks are also not permitted.

We need your help

If you see something suspicious, do not hesitate. Record the following information and report it, 24/7 to Jasper Dispatch 780-852-6155 or drop this information off at any Parks Canada info centre.

  • Date
  • Time Occurred
  • Location (road, trail day use area)
  • What happened (offence believe occurred)
  • Licence (include province)
  • Vehicle Description (make, model, color)
  • Number of Persons, age, description (gender, race, hair, height, clothes)
  • Identifying Features (dents, stickers)
  • Other notes

Please report any activity such as fishing offences, vehicle off-roading, littering or polluting, removal of artefacts, damage to plants, poaching, feeding and harassment of animals and public liquor use.

Your information and participation contributes to the protection of this special place for all visitors. Your information will remain anonymous. If you are willing to assist further please provide your name, address, and phone number.

Report violations

780-852-6155 or toll free 1-877-852-3100

This is only a summary of some common regulations governing National Parks and has no legal status.

For a complete listing of the Canada National Parks Act and Regulations visit: www.pc.gc.ca


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Règlements du parc national

Pour l’agrément et la sécurité de tous

Les lois en vigueur visent à protéger les visiteurs et le parc, afin que les générations futures puissent en profiter pleinement. Il vous incombe de les connaître. Si vous avez des questions, n’hésitez pas à prendre contact avec le Centre d’information du parc.

Les parcs nationaux sont des endroits uniques en leur genre. Ils ont donc besoin de règlements particuliers et de personnes qui en assurent l’application. À titre d’agents de la paix fédéraux, les gardes de parc sont responsables de la protection du parc national et du maintien de l’ordre. Ils sont chargés d’abord et avant tout de l’application de
la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, mais ils assurent également le respect du Code criminel ainsi que de la réglementation sur l’alcool et la sécurité routière, entre autres.

Ceux et celles qui enfreignent la loi dans un parc national du Canada sont passibles d’expulsion, de contravention ou, dans les cas les plus graves, d’arrestation. Les contrevenants se voient infliger de lourdes amendes ainsi qu’une peine d’emprisonnement ou un dédommagement. Certaines infractions, telles que le braconnage ou la pollution, peuvent donner lieu à des amendes de plus de 250 000 $.

Les infractions à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada se traduisent automatiquement par une comparution devant un tribunal.

Pour consulter ou pour télécharger le dépliant Règlements du parc national, visitez notre page des dépliants!

Ce que vous devez savoir…

Fermetures de secteur et restrictions

Fermetures de secteur et restrictions
Il vous faut un permis pour pratiquer certaines activités de plein air. Consultez le Centre d’information avant d’entreprendre des activités non traditionnelles ou inhabituelles, ou encore des activités commerciales. Il arrive que Parcs Canada doive interdire l’accès à un secteur ou imposer d’autres restrictions pour protéger les ressources du parc et assurer la sécurité des visiteurs. Les ordonnances de fermeture ont force exécutoire. Elles sont affichées au point de départ des sentiers, aux points d’accès, aux bureaux du parc et aux comptoirs de renseignements. Les fermetures sont également annoncées en ligne.

Camping
Le camping est autorisé seulement dans les campings désignés. Il est interdit de camper dans les voies d’arrêt en bordure de route, au point de départ d’un sentier ou dans une aire de fréquentation diurne. Vous trouverez l’emplacement des campings dans le Guide des montagnes. Le titulaire du permis de camping est responsable de son emplacement (y compris de sa propreté), des niveaux de bruit et des actions de ses invités.

Alcool
Dans le parc, l’alcool est autorisé uniquement dans les emplacements où les campeurs sont inscrits, les résidences privées et les débits de boisson. Il est interdit sur les plages, dans les aires de fréquentation diurne, dans les abris-cuisines et sur les sentiers. Pendant certaines périodes de l’année, il arrive que les campings soient frappés d’une interdiction relative à l’alcool. Le cas échant, Parcs Canada en fait l’annonce par voie d’avis. Il vous incombe de connaître les règles régissant la consommation d’alcool.

Aires de fréquentation diurne © B. Covey

Navigation de plaisance
Il est interdit d’utiliser un moteur à essence sur les plans d’eau du parc. Les moteurs électriques sont autorisés uniquement sur les lacs Talbot, Maligne, Pyramid et Patricia. Tous les types de pneumatiques sont considérés comme des bateaux lorsqu’ils servent à la navigation. Chaque occupant ou passager doit porter un gilet de sauvetage et de l’équipement de sécurité. La navigation en état d’ébriété est illégale, au même titre que la conduite d’un véhicule avec facultés affaiblies.
Sommaire du règlement sur la pêche

Aires de fréquentation diurne
Les aires de fréquentation diurne, telles que les plages et les aires de pique-nique, sont ouvertes au public de 8 h à 23 h. Il est interdit d’y camper ou d’y faire la fête pendant la nuit. L’alcool est interdit dans toutes les aires de fréquentation diurne. Les feux sont autorisés uniquement aux endroits où des foyers ont été fournis.

Feux
Les soûleries en forêt et les feux allumés hors des foyers désignés représentent une menace grave pour le parc. Les feux ne sont autorisés que dans les foyers prévus à cette fin. Il est interdit d’en allumer ailleurs dans le parc. Abstenez-vous de ramasser du bois mort ou de couper des branches pour alimenter un feu. Utilisez le bois à brûler fourni. Ne laissez jamais un feu de camp sans surveillance et éteignez-le avant de partir.

Animaux de compagnie doivent être en laisse en tout temps

Conduite hors-route
Les véhicules doivent demeurer sur les surfaces durcies, les routes asphaltées ou les chemins de gravier. Les véhicules tous terrains à quatre roues, les motoneiges, les motos enduros et les autres véhicules hors-route sont interdits. Les scooters sont considérés comme des véhicules à moteur et ne sont pas autorisés sur les sentiers ou dans les secteurs fermés à la circulation automobile.

Bruit et satisfaction des visiteurs
Le jour comme la nuit, le chahut dans les campings et les aires de fréquentation diurne constitue une infraction. La musique forte et les cris en font partie. Le couvre-feu est en vigueur de 23 h à 7 h dans tous les campings.

Animaux de compagnie
Les animaux de compagnie doivent être en laisse en tout temps. Respectez vos voisins, et évitez de laisser votre animal attaché et sans surveillance, sous peine de mise en fourrière. Il est illégal de laisser votre animal de compagnie pourchasser des animaux sauvages dans le parc. Les animaux de compagnie sont interdits dans certains secteurs. Consultez les avis affichés au point de départ des sentiers et aux comptoirs de renseignements pour connaître les secteurs visés par ces restrictions.

Observation de la faune @ R. Gruys

Observation de la faune
Il est illégal d’attirer, de caresser ou de tenter de caresser, de harceler ou de nourrir des animaux sauvages dans le parc. Le harcèlement comprend la poursuite d’un animal avec un appareil photo. Les animaux sauvages sont imprévisibles, et ils pourraient vous blesser si vous envahissez leur espace. Il est illégal et dangereux pour les autres automobilistes d’entraver la circulation. Rangez-vous dans les voies d’arrêt désignées pour observer la faune.

Objets naturels
Il est illégal de ramasser des plantes, des animaux, des parties d’animaux (y compris des bois), des fossiles et d’autres objets naturels. Si vous croyez être tombé sur un objet important, laissez-le à l’endroit où vous l’avez trouvé et signalez votre découverte au comptoir de renseignements le plus proche. Il est important de laisser ces objets là où ils se trouvent, pour que d’autres puissent en profiter à leur tour.

Chasse et armes à feu
Les armes à feu et la chasse sont interdites dans les parcs nationaux. Si vous transportez une arme à feu à une autre destination, vous devez la décharger, l’envelopper et la déposer dans un lieu sûr pour traverser le parc. Les armes à feu comprennent les frondes, les arcs, les armes à balles BB, les arbalètes et les armes pour jeux de guerre aux balles de peinture. La chasse dans un parc national représente une infraction grave. Les feux d’artifice sont également interdits.

Nous avons besoin de votre aide

Si vous remarquez des agissements suspects, n’hésitez pas. Consignez les renseignements suivants et transmettez les au Service des gardes (accessible 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept) en composant le 780-852-6155 ou en vous rendant à un comptoir de renseignements de Parcs Canada.

  • Date
  • Heure de l'accident
  • Endroit (route, sentier, aire de fréquentation diurne)
  • Ce qui s'est passé (infraction soupçonnée)
  • Numéro de la plaque d'immatriculation (y compris la province émettrice)
  • Description du véhicule (marque, modèle, couleur)
  • Nombre, âge et description des suspects (sexe, race, couleur des cheveux, taille, vêtements)
  • Particularités du véhicule (bosselures, autocollants)
  • Autres commentaires

Signalez toute activité non autorisée, par exemple les infractions liées à la pêche, la conduite horsroute, l’abandon de détritus ou la pollution, l’enlèvement d’artefacts, l’endommagement de la végétation, le braconnage, le nourrissage et le harcèlement d’animaux ainsi que la consommation d’alcool en public.

Vous contribuerez ainsi à la protection de ce joyau dans l’intérêt de tous les visiteurs. Les renseignements que vous fournissez seront traités en toute confidentialité. Si vous êtes disposé à fournir toute autre forme d’aide, veuillez également nous fournir votre nom, votre adresse et votre numéro de téléphone.

Signalez toute infraction

780-852-6155, ou 1-877-852-3100 (sans frais)

Le présent dépliant n’est qu’un résumé des principaux règlements régissant les parcs nationaux et n’a aucun statut légal.

Pour consulter la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et ses règlements, visitez le www.pc.gc.ca


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).