Common menu bar links

Bears in the Mountain National Parks

Management in Action

Lake Minnewanka Area Trails: Group Access

Lake Minnewanka in Banff National Park
Lake Minnewanka, Banff National Park

Lake Minnewanka is on the edge of one of three “core areas” for grizzly bears in Banff National Park. These core areas contain critical bear habitat, and a concentration of female grizzlies live and raise their cubs here. Female grizzly bears are dependent upon an important food source, buffaloberries, which grow in abundance here. Surprise bear encounters involving cyclists have occurred along the Minnewanka Trail.


Seasonal Trail Restriction: July 10 - September 15

Lake Minnewanka Seasonal Trail Restriction
Lake Minnewanka Seasonal Trail Restriction

Group Access

*Group Access legally requires people to travel in a tight group of four or more.*

Group Access applies to:  Lake Minnewanka Trail (from Stewart Canyon Bridge to the East Park Boundary), Aylmer Pass Trail, Aylmer Lookout Trail

  • Hikers - Must hike in tight groups of 4 or more, and carry bear spray at all times.
  • Cyclists - Cycling is not permitted along the Lake Minnewanka Trail.
  • Dogs - Dogs are not permitted beyond Stewart Canyon Bridge.

Note: There are other cycling and hiking opportunities within Banff National Park. Refer to the park’s cycling and hiking brochures for detailed trail information. Please check the Trail Conditions Report for current trail conditions and Bear Updates for wildlife activity.

Those who do not comply will be charged under the National Parks Regulations; maximum fine $25 000.

THANK YOU for respecting this seasonal trail restriction and for contributing to the long-term health of Banff’s grizzly bear population.

Background

Concentrations of female grizzly bears in Banff National Park © Parks Canada
Concentrations of female grizzly bears in Banff National Park

Over an eight-year period (1998 - 2005), five bear attacks occurred in two locations in Banff National Park—Allenby Pass near Bryant Creek, and on the Aylmer Pass trail near Lake Minnewanka. Both locations are in or near a “core area” and contain seasonally important grizzly bear habitat. The key attraction is an abundance of an important food source for grizzlies: buffaloberries. All of the bear attacks resulted from hikers travelling alone or in a small group who surprised female grizzlies with cubs along these trails during berry season. Surprise bear encounters involving cyclists have also occurred along the Minnewanka Trail.

Measures are in place to proactively manage visitor access to smaller selected areas where the attacks have occurred, to both protect visitors and minimize disturbance to bears feeding on berries.

Did you know?

... that in order for grizzly bears to store enough fat reserves, they eat up to 250,000 buffaloberries per day? That is the same as you eating 60 hamburgers!

Buffaloberries and grouseberries are a key food source for grizzly bears. Buffaloberries are usually ripe from mid-July through September, followed by grouseberries which can last well into October. Grizzly bears on the Eastern Slopes of the Rockies are food-stressed and depend heavily on berries to put on weight for hibernation. During berry season, hikers, trail runners and cyclists can easily surprise bears that are preoccupied with feeding on berry bushes.

Banff National Park is committed to contributing to maintenance of a non-declining and viable population of grizzly bears in the regional landscape. High female grizzly bear survival is key to sustaining grizzly bear populations into the future. By allowing female bears and cubs to make more efficient use of high quality habitat with fewer disturbances at critical times of the year, these management strategies will directly contribute to the conservation of grizzly bears.  

Staying Safe

While all of Banff National Park is bear country, if you’re hiking in a "core area", you’re REALLY in bear country.

Prepare - carry bear spray & know how to handle an encounter
Be aware - slow down, look ahead & watch for tracks, droppings, and diggings
Let bears know your there - travel in a group & make noise

Plan Ahead

Les ours dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

La gestion à l’ œuvre

Sentiers du secteur du lac Minnewanka : accès en groupe

Lac Minnewanka, parc national Banff
Lac Minnewanka, parc national Banff

Le lac Minnewanka borde l’une des trois « zones de concentration » de grizzlis dans le parc national Banff. Ces zones renferment un habitat essentiel pour les ours, et un grand nombre de grizzlis femelles y habitent et y élèvent leurs petits.


Restriction saisonnière sur les sentiers : Du 10 juillet au 15 septembre

Restriction saisonnière sur les sentiers du lac Minnewanka
Restriction saisonnière sur les sentiers du lac Minnewanka

Restrictions relatives à l’accès en groupe

* L'ordonnance d'accès en groupe oblige les randonneurs à se déplacer en groupe serré de quatre personnes ou plus. *

L'ordonnance s'applique aux secteurs suivants : Sentier du Lac-Minnewanka (depuis le pont du canyon Stewart jusqu'à la limite est du parc), Sentier du Col-Aylmer, Sentier du Point-de-Vue-Aylmer

  • Randonneurs - Les randonneurs doivent marcher en groupes serrés d’au moins quatre personnes et transporter du gaz poivré en tout temps pendant la période visée.
  • Cyclistes - Les vélos ne sont pas autorisés sur le sentier du Lac-Minnewanka pendant la période visée.
  • Chiens - Les chiens ne sont pas autorisés au-delà du pont du canyon Stewart pendant la période visée.

Nota: Le parc national Banff offre diverses autres possibilités aux cyclistes et aux randonneurs. Les dépliants sur le cyclisme et la randonnée du parc contiennent de l’information détaillée sur les sentiers. Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur l’état des sentiers et l’activité faunique, consultez le Rapport sur l’état des sentiers en ligne ou passez au Centre d’acceuil.

Les contrevenants feront l’objet de poursuites en vertu du Règlement sur les parcs nationaux; l’amende maximale est de 25 000 $.

MERCI de bien vouloir respecter cette restriction saisonnière et contribuer à la santé à long terme des grizzlis du parc national Banff

Contexte

Concentrations de grizzlis femelles dans le parc national Banff © Parcs Canada
Concentrations de grizzlis femelles dans le parc national Banff.

Pendant une période de huit ans (de 1998 à 2005), Parcs Canada a enregistré cinq affrontements ours-humains dans deux secteurs du parc : dans le col Allenby, près du ruisseau Bryant, et sur le sentier du Col-Aylmer, près du lac Minnewanka. Ces deux endroits se trouvent à l’intérieur ou à proximité d’une « zone de concentration » et font partie de l’habitat saisonnier du grizzli. Les ours y sont attirés surtout en raison de la présence d’une source de nourriture importante, les baies de la shépherdie du Canada. Toutes les attaques se sont produites lorsque des randonneurs se déplaçaient seuls ou en petit groupe, et qu'ils ont surpris une femelle qui se trouvait dans un sentier en compagnie de ses petits durant la saison des baies. Des rencontres surprises ont également eu lieu entre des cyclistes et des ours le long du sentier du Lac-Minnewanka.

Parcs Canada a pris des mesures pour gérer de façon proactive l’accès des visiteurs à certains des endroits où les attaques ont eu lieu, en vue de protéger les visiteurs et de réduire à un minimum les perturbations causées aux ours qui se nourrissent de baies.

Le saviez-vous?

... Pour emmagasiner des réserves de graisse suffisantes, le grizzli mange jusqu’à 250 000 baies par jour. C’est l’équivalent de 60 hamburgers

Les baies de la shépherdie du Canada et l’airelle à tige mince représentent une source de nourriture importante pour les grizzlis. Les fruits de la shépherdie sont habituellement mûrs à partir de la mi-juillet et pendant tout le mois de septembre. Quant à l’airelle à tige mince, elle peut avoir des fruits jusqu’au mois d’octobre. Comme les sources de nourriture sont limitées sur les versants est des Rocheuses, les grizzlis comptent beaucoup sur les petits fruits pour se faire des réserves de graisse en préparation de leur l’hibernation. Pendant la saison des baies, il est facile pour les randonneurs, les coureurs et les cyclistes de surprendre des ours qui sont affairés à se nourrir dans les buissons de baies.

Le parc national Banff est résolu à contribuer au maintien d’une population stable et viable de grizzlis à l’échelle régionale. La survie future de l’espèce passe par une augmentation du taux de survie des femelles. Ces stratégies de gestion contribueront directement à la conservation du grizzli en réduisant les perturbations à un minimum et en permettant aux femelles et à leurs oursons de faire un usage plus efficace des secteurs les plus riches de leur habitat pendant les périodes cruciales de l’année.

Votre sécurité

Bien que l’ensemble du parc national Banff est « le pays des ours », si vous circulez dans un « secteur clé », vous êtes VRAIMENT au pays des ours.

Soyez prêts
– transportez du gaz poivré et sachez vous défendre si vous rencontrez un ours
Soyez aux aguets
– regardez loin devant et restez à l’affut des pistes, des excréments et des trous creusés
Faites en sorte que les ours savent où vous êtes
– déplacez-vous en groupe et faites du bruit

Planifiez à l’avance