Bears in the Mountain National Parks

Bear Management

The Black Bear

Historical Range | Current Status | Threats | Biology | Habitat | Social Behaviour 


Black bear and cubs in Kootenay National Park
J. Williams

Historical Range

In North America, the black bear (Ursus americanus) once ranged throughout forested areas across most of North America, from the east coast to the west coast and from Alaska to Mexico.

Current Status

Today, black bears still exist in about 60% of their historical range. They can be found in most non-urban areas of British Columbia and throughout Alberta with the exception of the southeast corner of the province. Black bears evolved in forest ecosystems; as a result, their current distribution is largely influenced by the amount of undisturbed forest cover available to them. A very general population estimate suggests there may be up to 600,000 black bears in North America and more than 380,000 in Canada. Due to their relatively robust numbers, black bears are not a Species at Risk in Canada.
Within the four contiguous Rocky Mountain national parks, population estimates are:

  • Banff National Park: 20-40
  • Jasper National Park: 90
  • Yoho National Park: 20-50
  • Kootenay National Park: 30-50

Threats

Black bears are wary of animal predators including grizzly bears, other black bears, and wolves. Their biggest threat? Human activity. Habitat fragmentation, habituation, and road and railway strikes take their toll on the black bear population in the mountain parks.


Black bear killed by a vehicle

H. Morrison

Biology

In comparison with many animals found in the mountain parks, black bears have low reproductive rates. The age of first reproduction ranges from 3-4 years. A female can produce young every 2-3 years. Black bears can give birth to 1-5 cubs in a litter, but 2 is the norm.

Mating takes place in June and July. If the female is able to find good quality forage over the summer, the embryo will implant in the uterus in the fall due to a process called delayed implantation. Bears in the mountain parks are food-stressed at the best of times; ensuring they have secure habitat where they can access as much natural food as possible is vital to their success. If the female has built up enough fat reserves to get her through the winter, cubs will be born in the den in late January or February. The cubs weigh about 300 g (just over ½ lb) at birth and gain up to 2 kg (5 lb) before they emerge from the den in mid-April or early May.

Black bear offspring typically remain with their mothers for a year or longer, depending on the tolerance level of the mother. Bears that survive to become mature adults can live 20-30 years; however, most die at a much earlier age.
 

Female black bear with offspring

Habitat

Black bears are adapted to forest environments where they can retreat to safe cover and climb trees if threatened. In the mountain parks, black bears have had to adapt to the presence of people. You are likely to see them in the montane valley bottoms along roadsides or near campgrounds, where openings in the forest cover promote vegetation growth. 

 

Black bear in a tree

G. Peregoodoff

Food:

For bears in the mountain parks, it’s all about food. Black bears are omnivores, eating a combination of plants and meat. Plants are their main dietary source, providing up to 85% of their intake. In late summer and fall, berries provide crucial nutrition as bears feed around the clock in preparation for winter denning. Black bears eat many of the same foods that grizzly bears do, but because they have short claws, they do not rely as heavily on calories that require serious digging—like roots and ground squirrels.


Spring/Early Summer

Late Summer/Fall

Dandelions  

Buffaloberry

Poplar buds/catkins

Crowberry

Grasses and sedges

Bearberry

Clover

Grouseberry

Horsetail (equisetum)

Currant berries

Overwintered berries

Blueberry/huckleberry (west of Great Divide)

Deer, elk, moose calves

Whitebark pine nuts

Small animals

Sarsaparilla

Fish

Mushrooms

Carcasses of winter-killed ungulates

Insects

 

Small animals

 

Fish

 

Carrion

 

Carcasses of elk weakened or injured during the fall rut


 

Black bears are also scavengers, taking advantage of whatever food they find: carcasses, grain spilled on railway tracks, fruit and seeds from backyard trees and bird feeders, your barbeque or picnic lunch, or garbage. This is why it is so important for us to exercise good management of bear attractants and store food and garbage properly in the parks. Bears that become hooked on human food sources may become a risk to public safety and may have to be destroyed.


Buffaloberry

J. Millen

   

Cinnamon black bear eating buffaloberries
A. Athwal

Shelter:

Black bears survive food-scarce mountain winters by denning for up to six months of the year. They prefer forest habitats and search for treed locations in valley bottoms. A suitable site may be under a tree stump, log or rock, or in a hole dug in a hillside. Female black bears will line their dens with grass, twigs and leaves.

Space:

A black bear's home range can cover up to 200 km2 and often overlaps with the territories of other bears. Female cubs establish their territories in the vicinity of their mother, but male cubs usually travel or disperse farther away. Black bears prefer to stick to areas with forest cover rather than open habitat when travelling.

As more grizzly bears disperse to higher elevations in the spring and early summer as green-up progresses, black bears tend to move to lower elevations to avoid grizzlies and feed on berries. For black bears, motor vehicle collisions are the leading cause of human-caused mortality in the mountain parks. In Banff National Park, black bears have become adept at using both wildlife overpasses and underpasses to cross the busy Trans-Canada Highway. However, their ability to climb trees also enables black bears to scramble over fence posts along the highway, exposing them to dangerous highway traffic.


Remote camera image of a black bear using a highway wildlife underpass in Banff National Park
HighwayWilding.org

 

Black bear climbing over wildlife fencing along the Trans-Canada Highway in Banff National Park

J. Shepherd

Social Behaviour

Black bears are generally solitary outside of the mating season, with the exception of mothers with offspring. Black bears are more timid than grizzly bears and will most often defend themselves from threats such as other bears, wolves and humans by climbing trees.

These bears have quite the vocabulary, and use a variety of grunts, hums and vocalizations to communicate with each other. Some researchers, having overheard these conversations, say they can be surprisingly “human-like”. [audio clip?] Both black and grizzly bears also use scent-marking and rub trees to express their sentiments to other bears.

Les ours dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

La gestion des ours

L’ours noir

Territoire historique | Situation présente | Dangers principaux | Biologie | Habitat | Comportement social 

 
Une ourse noire accompagnée de ses oursons dans le parc national Kootenay 
J. Williams

Territoire historique

En Amérique du Nord, l’ours noir (Ursus americanus) errait jadis dans les forêts de la majeure partie du continent, de la côte Est jusqu’à la côte Ouest, de l’Alaska au Mexique.

Situation présente 

De nos jours, l’ours noir est encore présent dans environ 60 % de son aire de répartition historique. Il se rencontre dans la plupart des régions non urbaines de la Colombie-Britannique et partout en Alberta, sauf dans l’extrémité sud-est de la province. Les ours noirs ont évolué dans les écosystèmes forestiers. Par conséquent, leur profil de répartition actuel est grandement influencé par la superficie du couvert forestier intact qui leur est accessible. Des estimations démographiques très générales laissent entrevoir qu’il pourrait y avoir jusqu’à 600 000 ours noirs en Amérique du Nord, dont plus de 380 000 au Canada. En raison de cet effectif relativement important, l’ours noir n’est pas une espèce en péril au Canada.
Dans les quatre parcs nationaux contigus des montagnes, les estimations pour chaque parc sont les suivantes :

  • Parc national Banff : 20-40
  • Parc national Jasper : 90
  • Parc national Yoho : 20-50
  • Parc national Kootenay : 30-50

Dangers principaux

L’ours noir craint les gros prédateurs, dont le grizzli, les autres ours noirs et le loup. Sa plus grande menace? L’activité humaine. La fragmentation de l’habitat, l’accoutumance ainsi que les collisions routières et ferroviaires nuisent grandement à l’espèce dans les parcs des montagnes.


Un ours noir tué par un véhicule 

H. Morrison

Biologie

Par comparaison avec de nombreux autres animaux des parcs des montagnes, l’ours noir présente un faible taux de reproduction. L’espèce n’atteint la maturité sexuelle qu’à l’âge de trois ou quatre ans. Les femelles peuvent mettre bas tous les deux ou trois ans. Les portées peuvent compter jusqu’à cinq oursons, mais elles en comptent généralement deux.

L’accouplement a lieu en juin et en juillet. Si la femelle parvient à trouver de la nourriture de bonne qualité pendant l’été, l’embryon s’implantera dans l’utérus à l’automne, à l’issue d’un processus appelé implantation retardée. Les ours des parcs des montagnes peinent à trouver suffisamment de nourriture pendant les années d’abondance. Pour survivre, ils doivent à tout prix trouver un habitat sûr où ils auront accès au plus grand volume possible de nourriture naturelle. Si la femelle a accumulé des réserves de graisse suffisantes pour survivre à l’hiver, les oursons naissent dans la tanière à la fin de janvier ou en février. Ils pèsent environ 300 g à la naissance et peuvent gagner jusqu’à 2 kg avant d’émerger de la tanière à la mi-avril ou au début de mai.

Les petits demeurent généralement avec leur mère pendant au moins un an, selon le degré de tolérance de Maman. Les ours qui atteignent l’âge adulte peuvent vivre de 20 à 30 ans. Cependant, la plupart d’entre eux meurent bien plus jeunes.


Une ourse noire avec sa progéniture 

Habitat

L’ours noir se sent à l’aise dans un environnement forestier, où il peut trouver refuge et grimper à des arbres lorsqu’il est menacé. Dans les parcs des montagnes, il a dû s’adapter à la présence des humains. Vous êtes susceptible de voir des ours noirs dans la zone montagnarde, c’est-à-dire dans le fond des vallées, le long des routes ou près des campings, où les clairières de la forêt favorisent la croissance de la végétation.


 
Un ours noir dans un arbre

G. Peregoodoff

Nourriture

Aux yeux des ours, il n’y a que la nourriture qui compte. Espèce omnivore, l’ours noir mange aussi bien des plantes que de la viande. Les végétaux sont sa principale source de nourriture et représentent jusqu’à 85 % de son apport alimentaire. À la fin de l’été et en automne, les baies procurent une source de nourriture de toute première importance : les ours s’en gavent jour et nuit en prévision de leur hibernation. L’ours noir a essentiellement le même régime alimentaire que le grizzli, mais, parce que ses griffes sont courtes, il ne dépend pas autant des sources de nourriture dénichées sous la terre – comme les racines et les spermophiles.

Printemps et début de l’été

Fin de l’été et automne

Pissenlits

Shépherdie du Canada

Bourgeons et chatons de peupliers

Camarine noire

Graminées et carex

Raisin d'ours

Trèfle

Airelle à tige mince

Prêle (Equisetum)

Groseilles

Baies de l’été précédent

Bleuets/airelles (à l’ouest de la Ligne de partage des eaux)

Bébés chevreuils, wapitis et orignaux

Cônes de pin blanc d'Amérique

Petits animaux

Salsepareille

Poissons

Champignons

Carcasses d’ongulés tués pendant l’hiver

Insectes

Petits animaux

Poissons

Charogne

Carcasses de wapitis affaiblis ou blessés par le rut



L’ours noir est également un détritivore; il tire parti de toutes les sources de nourriture qu’il trouve sur son chemin : des carcasses, du grain déversé sur la voie ferrée, des fruits et des graines provenant des arrière-cours et des mangeoires, votre barbecue, votre pique-nique ou des déchets. C’est pour cette raison qu’il est extrêmement important de bien gérer les articles susceptibles d’attirer les ours et de ranger la nourriture et les ordures en lieu sûr dans les parcs. Les ours qui prennent goût à la nourriture humaine en viennent à présenter un risque pour la sécurité publique, et il arrive qu’ils doivent être abattus.


Shépherdie du Canada

J. Millen



Un ours noir au pelage cannelle en train de
se nourrir de baies de la shépherdie 
A. Athwal

Espace

Le domaine vital de l’ours noir peut faire jusqu’à 200 km2 et, bien souvent, chevauche celui d’autres ours. Les jeunes femelles choisissent un territoire situé près de celui de leur mère, mais les oursons mâles tendent à s’éloigner et à se disperser. Lorsqu’ils se déplacent, les ours noirs préfèrent s’en tenir à des endroits boisés plutôt qu’à des milieux ouverts.
Au printemps et au début de l’été, lorsque les grizzlis se dispersent en altitude pour profiter des nouvelles pousses vertes, les ours noirs, eux, préfèrent se déplacer à plus faible altitude pour les éviter et pour profiter des baies. Chez l’ours noir, les collisions routières sont la principale cause de mortalité d’origine humaine dans les parcs des montagnes. Dans le parc national Banff, les ours noirs ont pris l’habitude d’emprunter les passages supérieurs et inférieurs pour animaux afin de traverser la Transcanadienne. Cependant, comme ils sont capables de grimper aux arbres, ils arrivent à gravir les poteaux des clôtures routières et s’exposent ainsi à la circulation dangereuse de l’autoroute.


Un ours noir empruntant un passage pour animaux dans le parc national Banff. Image produite par un appareil photo actionné par le mouvement. 
HighwayWilding.org



Un ours noir grimpant sur une clôture routière le long de la Transcanadienne, dans le parc national Banff 

J. Shepherd

Comportement social

Abstraction faite de la période d’accouplement, l’ours noir est généralement un animal solitaire. Les mères accompagnées d’oursons sont l’exception à la règle. Les ours noirs sont plus timides que les grizzlis. Pour échapper aux menaces – qu’il s’agisse d’un autre ours, de loups ou d’humains –, ils grimpent généralement aux arbres.
Les ours possèdent tout un vocabulaire et ont recours à toutes sortes de grognements, de ronronnements et de vocalisations pour communiquer entre eux. Certains chercheurs qui ont entendu ces sons avouent qu’ils ressemblent étrangement à des conversations humaines. L’ours noir et le grizzli ont tous deux recours au marquage odorant et aux arbres frottoirs pour faire connaître leurs sentiments aux autres ours.