Common menu bar links

Bears in the Mountain National Parks

Conservation

Across Boundaries

 Researchers use telemetry to track their movements over great distances.
Wildlife roam freely across park boundaries. Researchers use telemetry to track their movements over great distances.

As part of a community of protected areas, the Canadian mountain national parks have benefited from experience gained in other places and from the fresh thinking of knowledgeable people who share an interest in these special places. To achieve our bear conservation goals, we must look across boundaries—geographical, political, organizational—and involve people in finding solutions to challenges large and small, by learning and doing, and working together. 

“Strengthening connections among people and reducing fragmentation in the landscape will become increasingly important as a strategy for adapting to future pressures.” - 2010 Banff National Park of Canada Management Plan


Canadian Pacific Railroad

 Human caused grizzly bear mortalities in the Mountain National Parks between 1990 and 2010 © Parks CanadaFigure 1. Relative amounts of human caused grizzly bear mortalities in the Mountain National Parks between 1990 and 2010. Data are shown as percent of total (n=52) by causal factor see parks report: Bertch and Gibeau 2010 for full details.
© Parks Canada

Canadian Pacific Railway and Parks Canada are working together to reduce the probability of grizzly bear (Ursus arctos)/train collisions. Based on records kept for the past 20 years, grizzly bears are killed most commonly on railroads in Canada's mountain national parks (Banff, Yoho, Jasper, Waterton Lakes, Mt. Revelstoke and Glacier). Although train-grizzly bear kills are only slightly more common than vehicle kills (Figure 1), park roads out distance railroads by 4 to1. This has lead biologists and railroad employees to ask why railroads are so dangerous for bears.

For more than 20 years, both organizations have collected baseline data to increase their understanding of the problem. They have tracked the number and causes of deaths for grizzly bears and other species since the 1990s. The early stages of data collection revealed bears were consuming grain leaked from hopper cars.

Designed to measure the amount of grain spilled on the tracks, the first grain monitoring project began in 2006. In 2007 a maintenance overhaul of the federal grain hopper car fleet began. In the past four years, this program has upgraded more than 5,000 grain cars. As a result, grain spill has decreased by 61% between 2008 and 2010 in Banff and Yoho national parks (Figure 2). Canadian Pacific is continuing its work to reduce grain spill through continued repair and grain car inspection. Maintenance employees are also working to clean spills when they occur with a vacuum truck.

 Figure 2. The median grams of grain spilled per day on one linear foot of the Canadian Pacific Railroad through Banff and Yoho ational Parks, estimated as grams per day for each year. Grain was collected during the entire year from ten locations every four days. See parks report: Dorsey 2011 for full details and methods.
© Parks Canada

Despite these improvements, numerous bears have learned to forage along the tracks and use the railroad to travel within the park. In 2009, Parks Canada biologists began measuring the amount of time bears spent on the railroad to estimate the effectiveness of future mitigations designed to deter bears from the tracks. They found bears spent the most time on the tracks in early spring when little other food was available. Bears were found to use the railroad the most in locations with higher grain accumulations; but this was not where they were most commonly struck by trains. A graduate student from Montana State University used this information to identify risky zones for bears. The same student also identified railroad design features correlated with mortality risk.

Railway Bear Conflict Mitigation Symposium, Banff National Park 2011
Parks Canada and Canadian Pacific host the Railway Bear Conflict Mitigation Symposium in Banff National Park in 2011

Based on what Parks Canada and Canadian Pacific have learned so far, they have committed to further understanding the root causes of bear-train collisions and developing solutions to discourage bears from using high mortality risk zones. A number of promising solutions will be tested this summer, including a spike mat aimed at passively deterring bears from moving on or across the railroad. Other solutions and exclusionary fencing are also under development. These solutions will be tested and refined for implementation implemented if proven effective. Parks Canada and Canadian Pacific are working to test the efficacy and safety of proposed mitigations. Much work is needed to devise solutions that will not cause derailment, present other safety hazards for rail operations, people and wildlife. These solutions are components of a larger joint research plan and mitigation strategy. A final strategy will be finalized in October 2011, after international and academic expert review.


What YOU Can Do

You can be part of Parks Canada’s conservation team, whether you spend time in the parks, or enjoy and value them from afar. The best thing you can do to help bears is to learn about them, their habits, challenges, and the type of world they need to survive. Being knowledgeable about what it takes to keep bears on the “big picture” landscape will help you make informed decisions about how your actions can help or hinder these fascinating animals.

Help bears by:

  • becoming a Parks Canada steward—love our protected places, learn about them, let others know why these places matter
  • learning all you can about bears—take in an interpretive talk, or visit your local zoo
  • doing your homework before stepping into bear country and following bear-safe guidelines
  • supporting habitat restoration initiatives within protected places
  • backing the efforts of our wildlife specialists, Bear Guardians and park staff by adhering to park rules, regulations, warnings, closures, and recommendations while in the parks

Here’s how others are helping to protect bears:

Canadian Pacific Railway  is working with Parks Canada to reduce the probability of grizzly bear deaths due to train collisions. A $1 million joint research program is generating cutting-edge solutions to an age-old problem.

Alberta Sustainable Resource Development  provides in-depth information on the characteristics, history, behaviour and management of black and grizzly bears in the province.

British Columbia Grizzly Bear Conservation Strategy  
The province of British Columbia supports one of the largest populations of black bears and the second largest population of grizzly bears in North America.

Two dollar coin © Royal Canadian Mint Canadian two dollar coin
© Royal Canadian Mint. All rights reserved.

Polar Bears International  
Polar bears are Canada's third bear species and live in the circumpolar north far from the mountain national parks. Polar bears and the Arctic ecosystem on which they rely remind us there are no boundaries with respect to climate change.

Wapusk National Park  protects one of the world's largest known polar bear maternity denning sites. Did you know Wapusk means “White Bear” in Cree?

Les ours dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Conservation

Au-delà des frontières

Les chercheurs ont recours à la télémesure
La faune erre librement à l’intérieur et au-delà des limites des parcs. Les chercheurs ont recours à la télémesure pour suivre leurs déplacements sur de grandes distances.

En tant que membres d’une communauté d’aires protégées, les parcs nationaux des Rocheuses tirent parti de l’expérience acquise ailleurs et des idées innovatrices de spécialistes qui partagent le même intérêt pour ces joyaux de notre patrimoine. Pour atteindre nos objectifs de conservation des ours, nous devons examiner ce qui se passe au-delà de nos frontières – géographiques, politiques et organisationnelles – et solliciter l’aide de partenaires pour trouver des solutions aux petits et aux grands défis, en apprenant, en agissant et en travaillant de manière concertée.

« Les mesures destinées à renforcer les liens unissant la population et à réduire la fragmentation du paysage gagneront en importance comme stratégie d’adaptation aux pressions à venir. » - Plan directeur du parc national du Canada Banff 2010


Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique

 Mortalité de cause humaine chez les grizzlis des parcs nationaux des montagnes entre 1990 et 2010 © Parcs CanadaFigure 1. Mortalité de cause humaine chez les grizzlis des parcs nationaux des montagnes entre 1990 et 2010. Les données indiquent le pourcentage du total (n=52) par facteur causal. Voir le rapport des parcs (Bertch et Gibeau, 2010) pour des détails plus complets.
© Parcs Canada

Le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CFCP) et Parcs Canada ont uni leurs efforts pour réduire les risques de collisions ferroviaires avec des grizzlis (Ursus arctos). Les données recueillies dans les 20 dernières années révèlent que les grizzlis sont le plus souvent tués sur la voie ferrée dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes du Canada (les parcs Banff, Yoho et Jasper ainsi que les parcs des Lacs-Waterton, du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers). Même si la mortalité attribuable aux trains n'est que légèrement supérieure à celle qui est due aux véhicules (figure 1), les routes sont quatre fois plus nombreuses que les voies ferrées dans les parcs. Ce constat a amené les biologistes et les cheminots à se demander pourquoi le chemin de fer représentait une telle menace pour les ours.

Pendant plus de 20 ans, les deux organismes ont recueilli des données de référence pour mieux comprendre le problème. Depuis les années 1990, ils consignent des renseignements sur les grizzlis et les autres animaux qui meurent sur la voie ferrée ainsi que sur les causes sous-jacentes de ces collisions. Cette opération de collecte de données a vite révélé que les ours venaient manger du grain tombé des wagons-trémies.

Le premier projet de surveillance du grain, qui a vu le jour en 2006, visait à mesurer la quantité de grain déversée sur la voie ferrée. L'année suivante, le CFCP a entrepris une révision générale des wagons de grain appartenant à l'État. Dans les quatre dernières années, ce programme a permis d'améliorer plus de 5 000 wagons. Du coup, les déversements de grain ont été réduits de 61 % de 2008 à 2010 dans les parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho (figure 2). Le CFCP continue de travailler à réduire les déversements de grain en exécutant un programme d'inspection et de réparation continue de ses wagons. En outre, les employés affectés à l'entretien enlèvent les accumulations de grain sur la voie ferrée avec un camion à réservoir aspirateur.

 
Figure 2. Nombre médian de grammes de grain déversés par jour sur un pied linéaire de voie ferrée du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique dans les parcs nationaux Banff et Yoho, exprimé en tant que nombre estimatif de grammes par jour pour chaque année. Le grain a été prélevé à dix endroits aux quatre jours tout au long de l'année. Voir le rapport des parcs (Dorsey, 2011) pour obtenir des détails plus complets et des renseignements sur les méthodes employées.
© Parcs Canada

Malgré ces améliorations, un grand nombre d'ours ont pris l'habitude de chercher de la nourriture le long de la voie ferrée et se servent de l'emprise ferroviaire comme corridor pour se déplacer dans les parcs. En 2009, les biologistes de Parcs Canada ont commencé à mesurer le temps que les ours passaient sur la voie ferrée, afin d'estimer l'efficacité de toute éventuelle mesure d'atténuation destinée à éloigner les ours du chemin de fer. Ils ont découvert que les ours sont surtout attirés vers la voie ferrée au début du printemps, lorsque les autres sources de nourriture sont rares. Les ours tendent à se concentrer aux endroits où les accumulations de grain sont les plus grandes. Cependant, ce n'est pas à ces endroits qu'ils sont le plus souvent frappés par des trains. Un étudiant de troisième cycle de l'Université de l'État du Montana s'est servi de cette information pour délimiter les zones les plus risquées pour les ours. Il a également cerné les caractéristiques de l'emprise ferroviaire qui étaient associées à un risque de mortalité accru.

symposium sur l’atténuation des conflits ours-voie ferrée dans le parc national Banff en 2011
Parcs Canada et le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique ont accueilli un symposium sur l’atténuation des conflits ours-voie ferrée dans le parc national Banff en 2011.

En s'appuyant sur ce qu'ils ont découvert jusqu'à présent, Parcs Canada et le CFCP se sont engagés à mieux comprendre les causes profondes des collisions ours-trains et à trouver des moyens d'éloigner les ours des zones présentant un risque de mortalité élevé. Plusieurs solutions prometteuses seront mises à l'essai cet été, notamment un tapis clouté visant à dissuader passivement les ours de circuler sur la voie ferrée. D'autres outils, dont une clôture d'exclusion, sont également en voie de conception. Ces solutions seront mises à l'essai, et, si elles se révèlent efficaces, elles seront peaufinées à des fins d'implantation. Parcs Canada et le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique évaluent actuellement l'efficacité et la sûreté des mesures d'atténuation proposées. Il reste encore beaucoup de travail à faire pour concevoir des solutions qui produisent les résultats voulus sans causer de déraillement ni engendrer d'autres risques pour la sécurité des opérations ferroviaires, des personnes et de la faune. Ces solutions s'inscrivent dans une vaste stratégie conjointe de recherche et d'atténuation. Les partenaires mettront la dernière main à la stratégie finale en octobre 2011, à l'issue d'un examen par un groupe international d'universitaires et d'autres experts.


Ce que VOUS pouvez faire

Que vous séjourniez régulièrement dans les parcs ou que vous en profitiez à distance, vous pouvez faire partie de l’équipe de conservation de Parcs Canada. Pour venir en aide aux ours, vous devez d’abord vous renseigner à leur sujet – connaître leurs habitudes, les obstacles à leur survie et le type d’habitat dont ils ont besoin pour survivre. En sachant ce qu’il faut pour assurer la survie des ours dans le paysage élargi, vous serez mieux à même de prendre des décisions éclairées sur la façon dont vos actions influent sur ces animaux fascinants.

Pour venir en aide aux ours :

  • Devenez un intendant de Parcs Canada – renseignez-vous sur nos aires protégées, chérissez-les et faites-en connaître toute la valeur aux autres
  • Renseignez-vous sur les ours – assistez à une causerie d’interprétation ou visitez le zoo de votre région
  • Faites vos devoirs avant de vous aventurer au pays des ours et suivez les consignes de sécurité
  • Appuyez les initiatives de régénération de l’habitat dans les aires protégées
  • Appuyez les efforts de nos spécialistes de la faune, des Gardiens des ours et du personnel de Parcs Canada en respectant les règles, les règlements, les avertissements, les fermetures et les recommandations des parcs pendant votre séjour

Voici certaines mesures prises par d’autres partenaires pour protéger les ours :

Canadian Pacific Railway is working with Parks Canada to reduce the probability of grizzly bear deaths due to train collisions. A $1 million joint research program is generating cutting-edge solutions to an age-old problem.

Alberta Sustainable Resource Development provides in-depth information on the characteristics, history, behaviour and management of black and grizzly bears in the province.

British Columbia Grizzly Bear Conservation Strategy
The province of British Columbia supports one of the largest populations of black bears and the second largest population of grizzly bears in North America.

Two dollar coin © Royal Canadian Mint Canadian two dollar coin
© Royal Canadian Mint. All rights reserved.

Polar Bears International
Polar bears are Canada's third bear species and live in the circumpolar north far from the mountain national parks. Polar bears and the Arctic ecosystem on which they rely remind us there are no boundaries with respect to climate change.

Wapusk National Park protects one of the world's largest known polar bear maternity denning sites. Did you know Wapusk means “White Bear” in Cree?