Common menu bar links

Parks on Fire

Born From Fire

In order to maximize the functionality of this page, please enable JavaScript and download the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.

Audio Podcast 3: Born from Fire

Narrator:
Fire Communications Officer, Kim Weir

Hi, I’m Kim Weir, and this is Parks on Fire. Episode 3: Born From Fire

You are standing in a fire-adapted ecosystem. For thousands of years, fires set by lightening and aboriginal people were common on this landscape. Fire played a leading role in shaping the look and the life in this valley bottom.

Local aboriginal elders have shared their traditional knowledge with Parks Canada’s Greg Deagle.

Greg Deagle:
Parks Canada

Aboriginal people used fire in very focused, intentional ways. Instead of a general acceptance of the value of fire suppression, the traditional attitude was that free running fire was a problem only if it actually threatened people, or drove away game.

Narrator:
Fire Communications Officer, Kim Weir


Many ecosystems have evolved with fire and depend on it for renewal. By suppressing fire, we are losing the diverse types of vegetation it sustains, and important habitat for plants and animals. These effects are far-reaching, for they affect not only parks, but surrounding lands as well.

Fire specialist Dave Smith explains.

Dave Smith:
Fire-Vegetation Specialist

We have this tremendous tool that we have, and that’s a series of old photographs that were taken almost 100 years ago. And the reason I say it’s a great tool is because it showed us what our forests looked like before we started getting into suppression. And what it shows us is that in the valley bottoms, or in what we call the montane, there’s really not a lot of forest. As a matter of fact there was lots of what we call open savannah. In other words, we had lots of grasslands with small copse of trees, large Douglas firs, a little bit of Pine, lots of Aspen, but a lot of open countryside. Now with the advent of suppression, of course, we have allowed the encroachment of trees, of Douglas fir – smaller Douglas fir- of Spruce, of Pine, to the detriment of the biodiversity in the valley bottom.

Narrator:
Fire Communications Officer, Kim Weir


Today, Parks Canada recognizes the important ecological role of fire, and aims to restore fire to the landscape wherever safe and possible.
One of the ways we do this is through prescribed burning. Had you been standing here in June 1998, you would have been surrounded by a planned, low-intensity burn.

Dave Smith:
Fire-Vegetation Specialist


The goal of an area like the Jackladder area was to open up the forest. In other works what we call a crown replacing or a stand replacing fire. We want to kill all the trees, and open up the area to create the grasslands that once existed here.

Narrator:
Fire Communications Officer, Kim Weir


Fire stimulates new plant growth and contributes to a favourable mixture of habitats for a variety of animal species.

Dave Smith:
Fire-Vegetation Specialist 


We’ve been very fortunate to see what we predicted would happen did indeed happen. In other words, by having this crown replacing burn in the Jackladder area, we’ve opened up whole new areas, allowing new growth of grasses and forbs…in other words animal food. The result of which is we’re now seeing a lot more elk expanding their habitat and the result of which is not only more food, but less pressure and less overgrazing in the areas that existed before we burned.

Narrator:
Fire Communications Officer, Kim Weir


Despite the important role fire plays in maintaining habitat for a variety of animals, some people are concerned that fire harms wildlife.

Dave Smith:
Fire-Vegetation Specialist


The species that live in Jasper National Park have lived here for thousands of years. We do live in, and they have always lived in, a fire adapted ecosystem. So they too have actually adapted. Most animals do not die in a wildfire - most animals have ways to get away. Some animals (small animals) will dig underground, a lot of animals will just move away from where the fire is – move to safe areas down by the water/ into the water. And we find that very, very few animal species actually perish in a fire. What we do see though, which is quite interesting, is a lot of wildlife – especially carnivores – will wait until right after a fire so that they can move into an area. Grizzly Bears - we saw on the Syncline fire Grizzly Bears waiting until the fire was over. As soon as the fire was over, they were able to get in and take advantage of new areas that were open, to dig out roots and to go after new vegetation.

Greg Deagle:
Parks Canada


Traditional people set the forest on fire so that they could return the next year to hunt and live. Prescribed burning had a tremendous ecological and economic significance for northwestern Alberta aboriginal groups. Fire was looked upon as a creative force. A local elder once told me when the world began, there was nothing but rocks and fire - there were no trees or grass – the whole world was on fire.

Narrator:
Fire Communications Officer, Kim Weir


You’ve been listening to Parks on Fire, a podcast developed by Parks Canada’s Fire Management Team

Narrator:
This audio program was a production of Parks Canada, an agency of the Government of Canada responsible for Canada’s national parks, national marine conservation areas and many of Canada’s national historic sites. To learn more about Parks Canada, to download more podcasts and to find accessible transcripts of our podcasts please visit the Parks Canada website at www.parkscanada.gc.ca.

The contents of this audio file are the copyright of Parks Canada 2011. This podcast series is also available in French on i-Tunes as well as the Parks Canada’s website. Ce balado est également disponible en français sur i-Tunes de même que le site web de Parcs Canada. Thanks for listening.

Pleins feux sur les parcs

Né du feu

Veuillez activer Javascript dans les préférences de votre fureteur pour visioner le contenu et télécharger Adobe Flash Player.


Balado sonore 3 : Né du feu

Narratrice : 
Agente des communications sur le feu, Kim Weir
 

Bonjour. Je m’appelle Kim Weir, et je vous présente le troisième épisode de la série Pleins feux sur les parcs, « Né du feu ».

Vous vous trouvez dans un écosystème adapté au feu. Pendant des milliers d’années, la foudre et les Autochtones ont régulièrement allumé des feux dans ce secteur. Le feu jouait un rôle essentiel : il façonnait les paysages et régissait la vie dans le creux de cette vallée.

Les sages autochtones de la région ont transmis leurs connaissances traditionnelles à Greg Deagle, de Parcs Canada.

Greg Deagle :
Parcs Canada


Les Autochtones utilisaient le feu de manière intentionnelle et très ciblée. Au lieu d’accepter la valeur de la suppression des incendies, ils laissaient le feu faire son œuvre et le considéraient comme un problème uniquement s’il devenait une menace directe ou s’il faisait fuir le gibier.

Narratrice :
Agente des communications sur le feu, Kim Weir

Un grand nombre d’écosystèmes ont évolué avec le feu et en dépendent pour se renouveler. En réprimant le feu, nous éliminons les divers groupements de végétation qu’il soutient et nous détruisons un habitat important pour les plantes et les animaux. Ces effets ont une large portée. Ce ne sont pas seulement les parcs qui sont touchés, mais les terres environnantes aussi.

Dave Smith, spécialiste du feu, explique la situation.

Dave Smith :
Spécialiste du feu et de la végétation

Nous avons à notre disposition un outil extraordinaire – une série de photos anciennes qui ont été prises il y a près de 100 ans. Si je dis que c’est un outil extraordinaire, c’est parce qu’elles nous montrent ce à quoi ressemblaient nos forêts avant que nous commencions à supprimer systématiquement les incendies. Ce qu’elles nous révèlent, c’est que, dans le fond des vallées, dans ce que nous appelons la zone montagnarde, il y avait très peu de forêt. En fait, il y avait beaucoup de savane. En d’autres mots, nous avions un grand nombre de prairies parsemées de petits fourrés d’arbres, de gros douglas de Menzies, de quelques pins et d’un grand nombre de trembles, au milieu de grandes étendues ouvertes. Avec la politique de suppression des incendies, bien sûr, nous avons permis aux arbres, aux douglas de Menzies, – aux petits douglas de Menzies –, aux épinettes et aux pins d’envahir ces espaces ouverts, au détriment de la biodiversité qui caractérisait le fond des vallées.

Narratrice :
Agente des communications sur le feu, Kim Weir


Aujourd’hui, Parcs Canada reconnaît l’important rôle écologique du feu, et il cherche à réintroduire ce processus naturel dans le paysage quand il peut le faire de manière sécuritaire. Les brûlages dirigés sont un des moyens employés pour y arriver. Si vous aviez été ici en juin 1998, vous auriez été entouré d’un feu prévu de faible intensité.

Dave Smith :
Spécialiste du feu et de la végétation

En exécutant un brûlage dirigé dans un endroit comme le secteur Jackladder, nous voulions surtout ouvrir la forêt. C’est ce que nous appelons un brûlage de remplacement du couvert forestier. Nous voulions tuer tous les arbres et ouvrir le secteur pour permettre à la prairie de reprendre sa place.

Narratrice : 
Agente des communications sur le feu, Kim Weir


Le feu stimule la croissance de nouvelles plantes et contribue à un mélange favorable de milieux naturels qui servent d’habitat à toutes sortes d’animaux.

Dave Smith :
Spécialiste du feu et de la végétation


Nous avons la chance de voir que nos prédictions se sont matérialisées. En d’autres mots, ce brûlage de remplacement du couvert forestier dans le secteur Jackladder a permis de dégager de nouveaux espaces pour la croissance de graminées et de plantes à feuilles larges… autrement dit, de la nourriture pour les animaux. Le résultat? Nous voyons maintenant bien plus de wapitis qui agrandissent leur territoire. Il y a non seulement plus de nourriture, mais aussi moins de pression et moins de broutement excessif sur les parcelles de prairie qui existaient avant le brûlage.

Narratrice : 
Agente des communications sur le feu, Kim Weir


Malgré le rôle important que joue le feu dans la préservation de l’habitat des animaux, certaines personnes craignent que le feu ne nuise à la faune.

Dave Smith :
Spécialiste du feu et de la végétation

Les espèces du parc national Jasper vivent ici depuis des milliers d’années. Comme nous, ces animaux vivent dans un écosystème adapté au feu. Et, comme nous, ils se sont adaptés. Très peu d’animaux meurent dans un incendie – la plupart trouvent un moyen d’y échapper. Certains (les petits animaux) creusent un trou sous la terre. Un grand nombre d’animaux s’enfuient tout simplement vers une étendue d’eau. Nous avons découvert qu’il y a en fait très, très peu d’animaux qui périssent dans un feu. Ce que nous observons – et c’est très intéressant –, c’est qu’un grand nombre de mammifères – surtout les carnivores – attendent la fin de l’incendie pour retourner au brûlis. Les grizzlis – nous l’avons vu après l’incendie du chaînon Syncline – les grizzlis attendent que l’incendie passe, et, tout de suite après, ils s’installent dans le brûlis pour profiter des nouvelles parcelles ouvertes, pour déterrer des racines et pour se nourrir de la nouvelle végétation.

Greg Deagle :
Parcs Canada


Les Autochtones mettaient le feu à la forêt pour pouvoir retourner y chasser et y vivre l’année suivante. Les brûlages dirigés avaient une importance écologique et économique énorme pour les groupes autochtones du Nord-Ouest de l’Alberta. Le feu était considéré comme une force créatrice. Un sage de la région m’a déjà dit que, au commencement du monde, il n’y avait que des roches et du feu. Il n’y avait ni arbre, ni herbe – le monde entier était en feu.

Narratrice : 
Agente des communications sur le feu, Kim Weir


Vous écoutiez Pleins feux sur les parcs, un balado produit par l’équipe de gestion du feu de Parcs Canada.

Narrateur:
Cette série de balados est une production de Parcs Canada, l’agence du gouvernement du Canada
responsable des parcs nationaux, des aires marines nationales de conservation et d’un grand nombre de
lieux historiques nationaux du Canada. Pour en savoir plus sur Parcs Canada, télécharger d’autres
balados et accéder à la transcription des balados, visitez le site web de Parcs Canada au
www.parcscanada.gc.ca.

Le contenu de ce fichier balado est assujetti aux droits d’auteur de Parcs Canada 2011. Ce balado est
également disponible en anglais sur i-Tunes de même que sur le site web de Parcs Canada. This broadcast
is also available in English on i-Tunes as well as from Parks Canada’s website. Merci d’être à l’écoute.