Mountain National Parks Careers

Revenue Clerk – CR 03

Lake Louise, Yoho & Kootenay Field Unit
Type of Employment: Term (Approximately Early July to Late September)
Location: Field, BC
Salary: From $40,909 to $44,130 per year

Summary of Duties: Provides clerical, administrative/operational support, and receptionist services in support of field unit, service centre or National Office.

Area of Consideration: Persons who work or reside within a 150km radius of Lake Louise, Alberta.

Parks Canada Agency considers applications from individuals who have legal status to work in Canada. Please indicate in your application the reason for which you are entitled to work in Canada: Canadian citizenship, permanent resident status, or work permit.

Quote Selection Process Number: 2014-PKS-LLYK-RM-018(E)

Submit your application by email to: llyk.hr@pc.gc.ca

Closing Date: Applications must be received on or before April 8, 2014

Your application should clearly demonstrate that you meet all the requirements for the position and must include: 

  • your résumé; 
  • your cover letter
  • your preferred official language for correspondence and assessment; 
  • your completed Education and Experience Questionnaire (see below).

Applicants must clearly demonstrate in the Education and Experience Questionnaire how they meet the education and experience factors listed in the statement of qualifications (see below). Résumés will be used as a secondary source to validate the experience described in the questionnaire.

Failure to clearly demonstrate in the Education and Experience Questionnaire how you meet the education and experience factors found on the statement of qualifications (see below), may result in the rejection of your application.

Normally, applicants will not be solicited for incomplete or possible missing information.

General Enquiries:

Anna Cholo
Visitor Service Operations Manager
Lake Louise, Yoho & Kootenay Field Unit
250-343-6115 or anna.cholo@pc.gc.ca

STATEMENT OF QUALIFICATIONS

Language Requirement: 

  • English Essential

Education: 

  • Successful completion of secondary school according to provincial standards.

Experience: 

  • Revenue remittance and accounting processes including balancing transactions and foreign exchange; 
  • Using computer applications including email, Excel and Microsoft Word; 
  • Office procedures including maintenance and creation of filing systems.

Knowledge: 

  • Parks Canada, its mandate and objectives; 
  • Revenue handling transactions and balancing.

Abilities: 

  • Communicate both orally and in writing; 
  • Analyze and evaluate problems and make recommendations; 
  • Contribute and work within a team environment; 
  • Work with minimal supervision.

Personal Suitability/Leadership Attributes: 

  • Takes responsibility; 
  • Exercises sound judgment; 
  • Demonstrates integrity; 
  • Makes things happen.

Conditions of Employment: 

  • Obtain and maintain a reliability status security clearance; 
  • Possession and maintenance of a valid class 5 Driver’s Licence.

Operational Requirements: 

  • Willingness to wear identifier clothing and personal safety equipment; 
  • Willingness to work shift work, weekends, holidays, overtime and in various weather conditions.
***********************

Education and Experience Questionnaire

Instructions  

When completing this questionnaire, you must provide complete and thorough details of your education and experience as they relate to the requirements of the Revenue Clerk position. You must follow the format as outlined. 

  • Be sure to include education, work and volunteer experience, accomplishments and any background information that represents the qualifications outlined for this competition. Provide specific dates for all education, work experience, volunteer experience, accomplishments and background information. 
  • Do not assume that the screening board has any previous knowledge of your background, qualifications or work history. You must be specific and provide concrete examples/details, as applications will be screened only on the information provided. Note that responses to the questionnaire must be linked to your resume.

Please note: Failure to provide the Education and Experience Questionnaire will result in your application being screened out of the competition. Candidates will not be solicited for incomplete or possibly missing information. Please ensure your answers are clear and concise.

Question #1 

  • Clearly demonstrate how you meet the education requirement by providing a copy of your Secondary School diploma OR give the name of your Secondary School, the town and province and the year that you graduated from Secondary School.

Question #2 (one or two paragraphs, single spaced) 

  • Clearly describe details that demonstrate your experience in revenue remittance and accounting processes including balancing transactions and foreign exchange.

Question #3 (one or two paragraphs, single spaced) 

  • Clearly describe details that demonstrate your experience using computer applications including email, Excel and Microsoft Word.

Question #4 (one or two paragraphs, single spaced) 

  • Clearly describe details that demonstrate your experience with office procedures including maintenance and creation of filing systems.

***********************

Persons who have received pay in lieu of unfulfilled surplus period, a Transition Support Measure (TSM) or an Educational Allowance and are re-appointed to the Parks Canada Agency are required to reimburse an amount corresponding to the period from the effective date of such reappointment or hiring, to the end of the original period for which the TSM and education allowance was paid. Please contact Suzy Whitty, A/ Human Resources Manager, if you are one of these individuals to find out how this applies to your particular situation.

Persons who are in receipt of a Canadian Government Public Service pension and are considering this employment opportunity with the Parks Canada Agency, should contact the PWGSC Public Service Pension Centre (1-800-561-7930) in order to determine the impact of an appointment on their pension benefit entitlements.

Parks Canada is committed to the principles of diversity and employment equity under the Employment Equity Act, and strives to ensure that our workforce reflects the diverse nature of Canadian society. We encourage women, Aboriginal peoples, persons with disabilities and members of a visible minority group to self-identify in their cover letter.

The Public Service of Canada is committed to developing inclusive, barrier-free selection and appointment processes and work environments. If contacted in relation to this process, please advise the organization's representative of your need for accommodation measures which must be taken to enable you to be assessed in a fair and equitable manner.

In accordance with paragraph 8(2)(a) of the Privacy Act, information or material, whether provided directly by the candidate or otherwise obtained by the selection board, used during the selection process for the purpose of assessing a candidate may be used as part of the selection review and recourse processes. Such relevant information may be provided to third parties, such as other candidates or their representatives, who have a legitimate reason to be aware of that information.

Ces renseignements sont également offerts en français.

Parcs nationaux des montagnes carrières

Commis aux revenus - CR 03

Unité de gestion du secteur de Lake Louise et des parcs nationaux Yoho et Kootenay
Type d’emploi : Durée déterminée (Approximativement du début de juillet à la fin de septembre)
Lieu(x) de travail: Field (Colombie-Britannique)
Salaire: 40,909 $ à 44,130 $

Sommaire des tâches : Fournir des services de soutien administratif et opérationnel ainsi que des services d’accueil au sein d’une unité de gestion ou d’un centre de services, ou au Bureau national.

Zone de sélection : Personnes travaillant ou résidant dans un rayon de 150 km de Lake Louise (Alberta).

L’Agence Parcs Canada examinera les candidatures des personnes habilitées par la loi à travailler au Canada. Veuillez préciser dans votre demande ce qui vous autorise à travailler au Canada : citoyenneté canadienne, statut de résident permanent ou permis de travail.

Numéro du processus de sélection : 2014-PKS-LLYK-RM-018(E)

Soumettre votre demande à : llyk.hr@pc.gc.ca

Date de clôture : Les demandes doivent être reçues au plus tard le 8 avril 2014.

Votre demande doit démontrer clairement que vous rencontrez chacune des exigences et doit inclure les éléments suivants : 

  • Votre curriculum vitæ; 
  • Votre lettre de présentation, dans laquelle vous montrez clairement en quoi vous répondez aux exigences du poste; 
  • Votre langue officielle de préférence pour toute correspondance et pour votre évaluation; 
  • Votre questionnaire sur les études et l’expérience dûment rempli (voir ci-dessous).

Les personnes qui postulent doivent clairement montrer dans leur questionnaire sur les études et l’expérience en quoi elles satisfont aux exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience énumérées dans l’énoncé de qualités (voir ci-dessous). Le curriculum vitæ servira de source secondaire pour valider l’expérience décrite dans le questionnaire.

Si vous omettez de montrer clairement dans le questionnaire sur les études et l’expérience de quelle manière vous répondez aux exigences décrites dans l’énoncé de qualités (voir ci-dessous), votre demande pourrait être rejetée.

En général, Parcs Canada ne prend pas contact avec les personnes qui postulent pour obtenir des précisions ou des renseignements manquants.

Renseignements généraux :

Personne contact
Anna Cholo
Unité de gestion du secteur de Lake Louise et des parcs
nationaux Yoho et Kootenay 250-343-6115 ou anna.cholo@pc.gc.ca

ÉNONCÉ DE QUALITÉS

Exigences linguistiques : Anglais essentiel

Études: Diplôme d’études secondaires conformément aux normes provinciales.

Expérience : 

  • Versement des recettes et processus comptables incluant l’ajustement de transactions et l’échange de devises étrangères; 
  • Utilisation d’applications informatisées incluant courrier électronique, Excel, Word; 
  • Méthode de bureau incluant la création et la mise à jour de système de classement.

Connaissances : 

  • Mandat et objectifs de Parcs Canada; 
  • Transactions et ajustements du traitement des recettes.

Capacités : 

  • Communiquer efficacement, tant de vive voix qu’à l’écrit; 
  • Analyser et évaluer des problèmes et faire des recommandations; 
  • Capacité de contribuer activement et de travailler au sein d’une équipe; 
  • Travailler avec peu de supervision.

Qualités personnelles / Attributs du Leadership : 

  • Assumer ses responsabilités; 
  • Faire preuve de jugement; 
  • Faire preuve d’intégrité; 
  • Faire aboutir les choses.

Conditions d’emploi : 

  • Obtenir et maintenir une cote de sécurité fiabilité; 
  • Détenir et conserver un permis de conduire de classe 5 en règle (les classes L et N ou les permis de conduire par étapes ne sont pas acceptés).

Exigences opérationnelles : 

  • Consentir à porter des vêtements d’identification et de l’équipement de protection individuel; 
  • Consentir à travailler selon un horaire irrégulier, la fin de semaine, les jours fériés, à faire des heures supplémentaires et dans diverses conditions météorologiques.

***********************

Questionnaire sur les études et l’expérience

Directives 

  • En répondant au présent questionnaire, vous devez fournir des renseignements complets et détaillés sur vos études et votre expérience en lien avec les exigences du poste. Vous devez suivre le format présenté. 
  • N’oubliez pas d’inclure vos études, votre expérience de travail et votre expérience de bénévolat, de même que toute réalisation et tout renseignement de fond permettant de préciser vos qualifications. Vous devez fournir des dates précises pour vos études, votre expérience de travail, votre expérience de bénévolat, vos réalisations et vos renseignements de fond. 
  • Ne présumez pas que le comité de sélection connaît vos antécédents, vos qualifications ou votre expérience de travail. Vous devez fournir des détails précis et des exemples concrets, car la présélection se fera uniquement à la lumière de l’information fournie. Les réponses au questionnaire doivent être étayées par le contenu de votre curriculum vitæ.

Remarque : Si vous omettez de soumettre le questionnaire sur les études et l’expérience, votre demande sera rejetée à la présélection. Nous ne communiquerons pas avec vous pour obtenir des précisions ou des renseignements supplémentaires. Vos réponses doivent être claires et concises.

____________________________________________________________________________

Question 1

  • Montrez clairement que vous répondez aux exigences en matière d’études en fournissant une copie de votre diplôme d’études secondaires OU en donnant le nom de votre école secondaire ainsi que la ville, la province et l’année où vous l’avez obtenu.

Question 2 (un ou deux paragraphes, interligne simple) 

  • Fournissez des détails clairs pour attester l’expérience que vous avez acquise dans la remise de recettes et les processus comptables, notamment l’établissement du solde des transactions et les devises étrangères.

Question 3 (un ou deux paragraphes, interligne simple) 

  • Fournissez des détails clairs pour attester l’expérience que vous avez acquise dans l’utilisation d’applications informatiques, notamment la messagerie électronique, Excel et Microsoft Word.

Question 4 (un ou deux paragraphes, interligne simple) 

  • Fournissez des détails clairs pour attester l’expérience que vous avez acquise dans les procédures de bureau, notamment la tenue et la création de systèmes de classement.

*****************************************

Les personnes qui touchent une rémunération en remplacement de leur période excédentaire, d'une mesure de soutien à la transition (MST) ou d'une indemnité d’études et qui sont renommées à l’Agence Parcs Canada doivent rembourser une somme équivalente au traitement qu'il ou elle a touché pendant la période allant de la date de sa nouvelle nomination, ou de son embauche, à la fin de la période pour laquelle il ou elle a touché la MST ou l'indemnité d'études. Veuillez contacter Suzy Whitty, Gestionnaire intérimaire, Ressources humaines, si vous êtes l’une de ces personnes, pour voir comment ceci s’applique à votre situation.

Les personnes recevant une pension provenant de la fonction publique du gouvernement du Canada qui considèrent cette opportunité d’emploi avec l’Agence Parcs Canada, devraient contacter le centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada TPSGC (1-800-561-7930) pour déterminer l’impact d’une nomination sur leur droit de prestation de retraite.

Sous la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi, Parcs Canada s’est engagé à supporter les principes de diversité et d’équité en matière d’emploi et par conséquent s’efforce de se doter d'un effectif compétent qui reflète la diversité de la population canadienne. Nous encourageons les femmes, les personnes autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les membres d’une minorité visible de s’identifier dans leur lettre de présentation.

La fonction publique du Canada s'est aussi engagée à instaurer des processus de sélection et un milieu de travail inclusifs et exempts d'obstacles. Si l'on communique avec vous au sujet de ce processus, veuillez faire part au représentant ou à la représentante de l’organisation, de vos besoins pour lesquels des mesures d'adaptation doivent être prises pour vous permettre une évaluation juste et équitable.

Conformément à l'alinéa 8(2)(a) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les renseignements ou l'information utilisés pendant le processus de sélection pour évaluer un candidat ou une candidate, qu'ils soient fournis par le candidat ou la candidate ou obtenus autrement par le jury de sélection, peuvent servir dans les processus de révision de la sélection et de recours. Ces renseignements peuvent être communiqués à des tiers, par exemple d'autres candidats ou leurs représentants, qui ont des raisons valables de les connaître.

This information is also available in English.