Mountain National Parks Careers

Parks Canada Agency

Waterton Lakes Field Unit, Waterton Park, AB

Finance and Administration Manager II : FI-02
Salary: $62,169 - $84,335 per annum

Waterton Lakes National Park and Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

We are seeking a dynamic individual with good judgment, a sense of responsibility and integrity, who takes responsibility, makes things happen and strives for excellence to work as the Finance and Administration Manager for Waterton Lakes National Park and Bar U Ranch National Historic Site.

In your role as the Finance and Administration Manager, you will be responsible for managing the delivery of financial services and diverse administrative services. Further, you will play a key leadership role with management team colleagues in developing and implementing strategies to achieve objectives related to revenue generation, capital investment (including asset recapitalization), and wise and efficient use of public funds, amongst others. As a management team member, you will also be expected to fully participate in developing solutions and approaches for the range of management issues present in the complex work environment found in Waterton and Bar U Ranch.

This position is based in Waterton, in the southwest corner of Alberta. Waterton was established in 1885 and is Canada’s fourth oldest national park. It is world renowned for its spectacular scenery and diversity of plant and animal life. With Glacier National Park in Montana, Waterton is part of the world’s first international peace park. The Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Waterton Lakes National Park hosts over 400 thousand visitors a year from around the world. The Park is a pillar of Alberta’s internationally recognized tourism offer, and a major driver for the regional economy of southwestern Alberta.

Waterton is situated within a short commuting distance of the communities of Pincher Creek, Mountain View and Cardston, which offer excellent schools and high-quality services. A multitude of recreational and cultural opportunities abound within the Park and the surrounding areas. The cities of Lethbridge and Calgary are quickly accessible by vehicle.

Your responsibilities will include working with colleagues at Bar U Ranch National Historic Site, located 13 km south of Longview, Alberta. The Bar U is a living ranch that commemorates the important role of the ranching industry in Canadian history.

This is a unique opportunity to work as a key member of the Parks Canada management team in Waterton Lakes National Park and Bar U Ranch National Historic Site, two spectacular gems in Canada’s celebrated system of national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.

Open To: Parks Canada Agency considers applications from all individuals who have legal status to work in Canada. Please indicate in your application the reason for which you are entitled to work in Canada: Canadian citizenship, permanent resident status or work permit.

Persons who have received pay in lieu of unfulfilled surplus period, a Transition Support Measure (TSM) or an Educational Allowance and are re-appointed to the Parks Canada Agency are required to reimburse an amount corresponding to the period from the effective date of such reappointment or hiring, to the end of the original period for which the TSM and education allowance was paid. Please contact Rennée Lamontagne, Human Resources Manager, if you are one of these individuals to find out how this applies to your particular situation.

Persons who are in receipt of a Canadian Government Public Service pension and are considering this employment opportunity with the Parks Canada Agency, should contact the PWGSC Public Service Pension Centre (1-800-561-7930) in order to determine the impact of an appointment on their pension benefit entitlements.

Closing Date: Applications must be received electronically on or before 4 PM, February 28, 2014. *Quote selection process number 14-PKS-PWL-OC-003A.

Screening Criteria:
In order to be considered for the position, applicants must clearly indicate in their application how they meet each of the criteria below. Candidates will not be solicited for incomplete or (possibly) missing information. Failure to do so will result in elimination from further consideration.

EDUCATION:
Graduation with a degree from a recognized university with acceptable specialization in accounting, finance, business administration, commerce or economics AND experience related to positions in the FI group PLUS successful completion of these three intermediate accounting and finance courses:
-Intermediate Financial Accounting (Part I)
-Management Accounting
-Finance

OR eligibility for a recognized professional accounting designation (such as CA, CMA or CGA) with experience related to positions in the FI group.

Preference may be given to candidates with a course in accounting. Proof of education must be submitted with your application.

LANGUAGE: English Essential.

EXPERIENCE:
-In managing the delivery of financial services such as general accounting services, financial planning, forecasting and reporting functions, in a computerized environment using Systems Applications and Products (SAP) applications including accounts payable, revenues and distribution, assets management, funds management and controlling modules.
-In providing advice, guidance and interpretation of financial policies and regulations.
-In preparing and analyzing financial, results based, management reports.
-In conducting financial analyses, budgeting and costing exercises.
-In managing staff.

CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT:
-Security Screening: Obtain and maintain reliability status.
-Possession and maintenance of a valid driver’s license.
-Willingness to work varied hours, weekends and holidays, if required.
-Willingness to travel.
-Willingness to wear a Parks Canada uniform.

Important Information:
-Living accommodation may be available.
-Position located in Waterton Park, AB
-Interviews will be held in Waterton Park. Various communication methods may be used.

For further information, please contact Ifan Thomas, phone: 403/859-5116.

How to Apply: In order to be considered, your application must be received at Waterton Lakes Field Unit, Human Resources on or before 4:00 PM, February 28, 2014 MST. Please forward your application (resume, covering letter, names of two, recent work-related, references) quoting the selection process number 14-PKS-PWL-OC-003A in email subject line to: Human Resources: Waterton.hr@pc.gc.ca

Do not send as a link to websites or external sources. We thank all those who apply and advise that only those selected for further consideration will be contacted.

The results of this selection process may be used to fill similar employment opportunities in Parks Canada within the area of competition.

Career Site: For further career information on working for Parks Canada, please visit our careers site. 

Parks Canada is committed to Employment Equity and building strength through diversity. We welcome applications from all qualified candidates and encourage members of the designated groups to apply and to self-identify.

The Parks Canada Agency is established as a separate employer in the Federal Public Service under the Public Service Staff Relations Act. Persons appointed to the Agency continue to be part of the Public Service. The Parks Canada Agency operates under its own human resources framework outside of the Public Service Employment Act and in line with values of fairness, competence and respect, and its operating principles.

Ces renseignements sont également offerts en français.


STATEMENT OF QUALIFICATIONS

PARKS CANADA AGENCY
WATERTON LAKES FIELD UNIT - WATERTON PARK, ALBERTA
FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION MANAGER II : FI-02

Screening Criteria:
In order to be considered for the position, applicants must clearly indicate in their application how they meet each of the criteria below. Candidates will not be solicited for incomplete or (possibly) missing information. Failure to do so will result in elimination from further consideration.

LANGUAGE: English Essential.

EDUCATION: Graduation with a degree from a recognized university with acceptable specialization in accounting, finance, business administration, commerce or economics AND experience related to positions in the FI group PLUS successful completion of these three intermediate accounting and finance courses:
-Intermediate Financial Accounting (Part I)
-Management Accounting
-Finance

OR eligibility for a recognized professional accounting designation (such as CA, CMA or CGA) with experience related to positions in the FI group.

Preference may be given to candidates with a course in accounting. Proof of education must be submitted with your application.

EXPERIENCE:
-In managing the delivery of financial services such as general accounting services, financial planning, forecasting and reporting functions, in a computerized environment using Systems Applications and Products (SAP) applications including accounts payable, revenues and distribution, assets management, funds management and controlling modules.
-In providing advice, guidance and interpretation of financial policies and regulations.
-In preparing and analyzing financial, results based, management reports.
-In conducting financial analyses, budgeting and costing exercises.
-In managing staff.

Rating Criteria:
Candidates who meet the screening criteria will be rated against the criteria below and may also be rated against experience.

KNOWLEDGE:
-Of Parks Canada Mandate and the operating principles and priorities of the Parks Canada Agency.
-Of general accounting principles and practices.
-Of budgeting and forecasting practices.

ABILITY TO:
-Manage staff and provide leadership in financial matters to the Field Unit Management Team.
-Develop financial strategies and to develop strategies to mitigate financial risk.
-Communicate effectively both orally and in writing.
-Analyse and evaluate
-Plan and organize, prioritize work of section and field unit level activities.

PERSONAL SUITABILITY:
An Effective Leader Who:
-Exercises Sound Judgment
-Personally Connects With People
-Makes Things Happen
-Takes Responsibility

CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT:
-Security Screening: Obtain and maintain reliability status.
-Possession and maintenance of a valid driver’s license.
-Willingness to work varied hours, weekends and holidays, if required.
-Willingness to travel.
-Willingness to wear a Parks Canada uniform.

Ces renseignements sont également offerts en français.

Parcs nationaux des montagnes carrières

Agence Parcs Canada

Unité des Lacs-Waterton, Parc Waterton, Alberta

Gestionnaire, Finances et Administration II  :  FI-02
Salaire:  De 62 169 $ à 84 335 $ par année

Parc national des Lacs-Waterton et lieu historique national du Ranch Bar U

Nous recherchons une personne dynamique qui a un bon jugement et un sens des responsabilités, est intègre, prend ses responsabilité, fait aboutir les choses et vise l’excellence pour remplir les fonctions de gestionnaire, Finances et administration pour le parc national des Lacs-Waterton et le lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U.

À titre de gestionnaire, Finances et administration, vous serez chargé de gérer la prestation des services financiers et de divers services administratifs. Vous jouerez également un rôle de leader auprès de vos collègues de l’équipe de direction dans l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de stratégies visant à atteindre des objectifs en matière de production de recettes, de dépenses en immobilisations (y compris la restructuration d’éléments d’actif) et d’utilisation judicieuse et efficace des fonds publics, entre autres. En tant que membre de l’équipe de direction, vous devrez également participer pleinement à la mise au point de solutions et d’approches se rapportant à toute la gamme de questions de gestion associées à l’environnement de travail complexe à Waterton et au Ranch-Bar U.

Le candidat travaillera à Waterton, dans le coin sud-ouest de l’Alberta. Waterton a été établi en 1885 et est le quatrième plus vieux parc national au Canada. Il est renommé dans le monde entier pour ses paysages spectaculaires et sa diversité végétale et animale. Il forme avec le parc national Glacier au le premier parc international de la paix. Le Parc international de la paix Waterton-Glacier est un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

Le parc national des Lacs-Waterton accueille chaque année plus de 400 000 visiteurs du monde entier. C’est un pilier de l’offre touristique mondiale de l’Alberta et un des moteurs de l’économie régionale du sud-ouest de la province.

Waterton est situé assez près des communautés de Pincher Creek, Mountain View et Cardston, qui ont d’excellents services et des écoles de grande qualité. Le parc et les alentours offrent une foule d’activités récréatives et culturelles. Les villes de Lethbridge et de Calgary sont accessibles rapidement par la route.

Vous serez chargé de travailler avec des collègues du lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U, sur le Cowboy Trail, à 13 km au sud de Longview, en Alberta. Le ranch est exploité et commémore l’histoire et l’importance de l’élevage du bétail au Canada.

Cet emploi représente une occasion unique de travailler avec l’équipe de Parcs Canada du parc national des Lacs-Waterton et du lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U, deux trésors du réseau des parcs et lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Admissibilité : L’Agence Parcs Canada prendra en considération la candidature de toutes les personnes qui sont habilitées par la loi à travailler au Canada. Veuillez indiquer dans votre demande ce qui vous donne ce droit : citoyenneté canadienne, statut de résident permanent ou permis de travail.

Les personnes qui touche une rémunération en remplacement de leur période excédentaire, d'une mesure de soutien à la transition (MST) ou d'une indemnité d’études et qui sont renommé à l’Agence Parcs Canada doivent rembourser une somme équivalente au traitement qu'il ou elle a touché pendant la période allant de la date de sa nouvelle nomination, ou de son embauche, à la fin de la période pour laquelle il ou elle a touché la MST ou l'indemnité d'études. Veuillez contacter Rennée Lamontagne, Gestionnaire en ressources humaines, si vous êtes une de ces personnes, pour voir comment ceci s’applique à votre situation.

Les personnes recevant une pension provenant de la fonction publique du gouvernement du Canada qui considèrent cette opportunité d’emploi avec l’Agence Parcs Canada, devraient contacter le centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada TPSGC (1-800-561-7930) pour déterminer l’impacte d’une nomination sur leur droit de prestation de retraite.

Date de clôture : Les demandes doivent avoir été reçues au plus tard le 28 février 2014 à 16 h (HAR). *Veuillez citer le processus de sélection no 14-PKS-PWL-OC-003A.

Critères de présélection : 
Pour que leur candidature soit prise en considération, les personnes qui postulent doivent clairement indiquer dans leur demande de quelle manière elles satisfont à chacun des critères énoncés ci-dessous. Les demandes incomplètes ou insuffisamment détaillées seront rejetées. Parcs Canada ne prendra pas contact avec elles pour obtenir des précisions ou des renseignements manquants.

Études :
Baccalauréat d’une université reconnue avec une spécialisation acceptable en comptabilité, en finances, en administration des affaires, en commerce ou en économie ET expérience pertinente pour les postes du groupe FI PLUS
avoir terminé avec succès ces trois cours intermédiaires en comptabilité et finances:
-Comptabilité financière intermédiaire (1re partie)
-Comptabilité de gestion
-Finance

OU admissibilité à un titre professionnel comptable reconnu (CA, CMA ou CGA) combiné à une expérience pertinente pour les postes du groupe FI.

La préférence pourrait être accordée aux personnes ayant suivi un cours de comptabilité. Une attestation d’études doit être jointe à la demande d’emploi.

Exigences linguistiques : Anglais essentiel.

Expérience :
-Gestion de la prestation de services financiers tels que comptabilité générale, planification, prévisions et rapports financiers, dans un environnement informatisé utilisant des applications Systems Applications and Products (SAP), notamment les modules suivants : comptes fournisseurs, revenu et distribution, gestion des éléments d’actif, gestion des fonds et contrôle.
-Conseils, orientation et interprétation de politiques et de règlements financiers
-Préparation et analyse de rapports financiers de gestion fondés sur des résultats
-Analyses financières et établissement de budgets et de coûts
-Gestion de personnel

CONDITIONS D’EMPLOI :
-Enquête de sécurité : Obtenir et conserver une cote de fiabilité
-Possession et maintien d’un permis de conduire valide
-Consentement à travailler selon un horaire variable, la fin de semaine et les jours fériés au besoin
-Consentement à voyager
-Consentement à porter un uniforme de Parcs Canada

RENSEIGNEMENTS IMPORTANTS :
-Le logement pourrait être fourni.
-Le lieu de travail se trouve à Waterton Park, en Alberta.
-Les entrevues auront lieu à partir de Waterton Park, en Alberta, mais les candidats pourront utiliser une gamme variée de moyens de communication.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, prière d’appeler : Ifan Thomas – 403-859-5116.

Comment postuler : Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération, votre demande doit avoir été reçue aux Ressources humaines de l’Unité de gestion des Lacs-Waterton au plus tard le 28 fevrier 2014 à 16 h (HAR). Veuillez faire parvenir votre dossier de candidature (curriculum vitæ, lettre de présentation et noms de deux références professionnelles récentes) en prenant soin d’inscrire le processus de sélection no 14-PKS-PWL-OC-003A à la ligne Objet du courriel. Voici l’adresse : Waterton.hr@pc.gc.ca

Ne pas envoyer comme lien vers des sites Web ou des sources externes.

Nous remercions de leur intérêt toutes les personnes qui postulent. Seules les personnes retenues seront contactées.

Les résultats de ce processus pourraient aussi servir à doter des postes semblables au sein de l’Agence Parcs Canada et dans la zone de concours.

Site Web sur les carrières : Pour en savoir davantage sur les possibilités de carrière à Parcs Canada, consultez le site carrieres.

Parcs Canada souscrit à l’équité en matière d’emploi et reconnaît que la diversité contribue à la force de ses effectifs. Nous prendrons en considération les demandes de toutes les personnes qualifiées, et nous encourageons les membres des groupes désignés à postuler et à s’identifier comme tels.

L’Agence Parcs Canada a le statut d’employeur distinct en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique. Les personnes nommées à l’Agence continuent cependant de faire partie de la fonction publique. L’Agence possède son propre cadre de gestion des ressources humaines, qui, sans être assujetti à la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique, se conforme aux valeurs d’équité, de compétence et de respect, de même qu’à ses principes directeurs.

This information is also available in English.


ÉNONCÉ DE QUALITÉS

AGENCE PARCS CANADA
UNITÉ DE GESTION DES LACS-WATERTON - PARC WATERTON, ALBERTA
GESTIONNAIRE, FINANCES ET ADMINISTRATION II : FI-02

Critères de présélection :
Pour que leur candidature soit prise en considération, les personnes qui postulent doivent clairement indiquer dans leur demande de quelle manière elles satisfont à chacun des critères énoncés ci-dessous. Les demandes incomplètes ou insuffisamment détaillées seront rejetées. Parcs Canada ne prendra pas contact avec elles pour obtenir des précisions ou des renseignements manquants.

LANGUE : Anglais essentiel.

ÉTUDES : Baccalauréat d’une université reconnue avec une spécialisation acceptable en comptabilité, en finances, en administration des affaires, en commerce ou en économie ET expérience pertinente pour les postes du groupe FI PLUS avoir terminé avec succès ces trois cours intermédiaires en comptabilité et finances :
-Comptabilité financière intermédiaire (1re partie)
-Comptabilité de gestion
-Finance

OU admissibilité á un titre professionnel comptable reconnu (CA, CMA, ou CGA) combiné à une expérience pertinente pour les postes du groupe FI.

La préférence pourrait être accordée aux personnes ayant suivi un cours de comptabilité.

Une attestation d’études doit être jointe à la demande d’emploi.

EXPÉRIENCE :
-Gestion de la prestation de services financiers tels que comptabilité générale, planification, prévisions et rapports financiers, dans un environnement informatisé utilisant des applications Systems Applications and Products (SAP), notamment les modules suivants : comptes fournisseurs, revenu et distribution, gestion des éléments d’actif, gestion des fonds et contrôle.
-Conseils, orientation et interprétation de politiques et de règlements financiers
-Préparation et analyse de rapports financiers de gestion fondés sur des résultats
-Analyses financières et établissement de budgets et de coûts
-Gestion de personnel

Critères de sélection : 
L’évaluation des personnes retenues à la présélection se fera en fonction des critères énoncés ci-dessous. Il se peut que l’expérience serve aussi de critère d’évaluation.

CONNAISSANCES :
-Du mandat de Parcs Canada et des principes et priorités d’exploitation de l’Agence Parcs Canada
-Des principes et pratiques de comptabilité générale
-Des pratiques d’établissement de budgets et de prévisions

CAPACITÉS : 
-Gérer du personnel et fournir du leadership sur le plan des questions financières à l’équipe de direction de l’Unité de gestion.
-Élaborer des stratégies financières et des stratégies visant à atténuer les risques financiers.
-Communiquer efficacement à l’oral et à l’écrit.
-Analyser et évaluer.
-Planifier et organiser, prioriser le travail de la section et les activités de l’Unité de gestion.

QUALITÉS PERSONNELLES : 
Être un leader efficace qui :
-Fait preuve de jugement
-Établit des rapports personnels avec les gens
-Fait avancer les choses
-Prend responsabilité

CONDITIONS D’EMPLOI : 
-Enquête de sécurité : Obtenir et conserver une cote de fiabilité
-Possession et maintien d’un permis de conduire valide
-Consentement à travailler selon un horaire variable, la fin de semaine et les jours fériés au besoin
-Consentement à voyager
-Consentement à porter un uniforme de Parcs Canada

This information is available in English.