Mountain National Parks Careers

PARKS CANADA AGENCY
Attendants / GS-MPS-05

Type of Employment - Term, summer 2014 
Miette Hot Springs, Jasper, AB
Salary: $20.54 per hour

Summary of Duties: The Canadian Rockies Hotsprings is searching for qualified candidates to work as Attendants at Miette Hot Springs in Jasper. Duties of the position include, but are not limited to: admission sales and control of revenue; greet and assist guests, provide information about cultural and natural historical concepts, mission, goals and guiding principles: communicate and implement pool policies, safety rules, emergency procedures, and Parks Canada regulations, policies and values; recognize emergency situations and contact local emergency services or law enforcement authorities when required; the upkeep and maintenance of the facilities by cleaning walls, floors, washrooms, and windows, and collecting refuse and litter.

Area of Consideration: Persons eligible to work in Canada and residing within a 350 km radius of Jasper, AB.

The distance between your residence or your employment location and the position location will be determined using data provided by the Natural Resources Canada, Geomatics Canada's website. For information on how to use this website please see: The Atlas of Canada - Toporama

Quote Selection Process Number: 2014-PKS-JNP-ER-004

Closing Date: March 7, 2014 (11:59pm MST)

Language: English (Unilingual), French and English (Bilingual Imperative).

To be considered for Bilingual positions, candidates must be able to: sustain an informal conversation on concrete topics, able to paraphrase when lacking in exact vocabulary, speak with some spontaneity, have concrete vocabulary for less routine work-related topics, can situate facts and events in time (i.e. has good mastery of simple verb tenses), can link sentences together into longer passages, have few difficulties understanding the assessor and can be understood by most people but repetition may sometimes be required.

Your application should clearly demonstrate that you meet all the requirements for the position and must include:

  • your résumé; 
  • your cover letter demonstrating clearly how you meet the requirements of the position; 
  • your preferred official language for correspondence and assessment.

Additional information may be requested after closing date for screening and/or assessment purposes. Applicants must clearly demonstrate in their cover letter how they meet the Education and Experience factors listed in the Statement of Qualifications (see below). Applicants must list both of these factors in their cover letter, and then write one or two paragraphs for each demonstrating how they meet these factors by providing concrete examples. Please note that it is not sufficient to only state that these factors are met or to provide a listing of current or past responsibilities. Resumes will be used as a secondary source to validate the experience described in the cover letter

Failure to clearly demonstrate in your cover letter how you meet the Education and Experience factors found on the Statement of Qualifications (see below), may result in the rejection of your application. 

Normally, applicants will not be solicited for incomplete or possible missing information.

On-site accommodation may be provided.

Submit your application to:
Human Resources, Jasper National Park, Box 10 Jasper, AB. T0E 1E0
Fax: 780-852-6122 
Email: jasper.hr@pc.gc.ca

STATEMENT OF QUALIFICATIONS

Education: Secondary school diploma or Public Service Commission approved alternative.

Language: English (Unilingual), French and English (Bilingual Imperative).

To be considered for Bilingual positions, candidates must be able to: sustain an informal conversation on concrete topics, able to paraphrase when lacking in exact vocabulary, speak with some spontaneity, have concrete vocabulary for less routine work-related topics, can situate facts and events in time (i.e. has good mastery of simple verb tenses), can link sentences together into longer passages, have few difficulties understanding the assessor and can be understood by most people but repetition may sometimes be required.

Experience: 

  • With the use of electronic cash handling systems, including end of day reconciliations:
  • In providing quality guests services;
  • In facility maintenance and cleaning.

Preference may be given to candidates with experience working in an aquatic environment and/or First Aid Certification (valid certificates must be included with application).

Knowledge: 

  • Of safe cash handling procedures and reconciliation processes;
  • Of Jasper National Park, and Miette Hot Springs;
  • Of standard cleaning practices.

Abilities: 

  • To process and admit guests into a recreational aquatic facility;
  • To provide quality customer service;
  • To work within a team environment.

Personal Suitability / Leadership Attributes:

  • Teamwork (works well with other);
  • Takes initiative, demonstrates creativity;
  • Communicates effectively;
  • Is responsible/accountable, and demonstrates integrity.

Conditions of Employment:

  • Maintenance of a valid class 5 driver’s licence;
  • Security Screening: Obtain and maintain Reliability Status;
  • Willingness to wear a uniform and any necessary safety equipment;
  • Willingness to work shift work, weekends, holidays and overtime and in various weather conditions;
  • Willingness to take an active role in emergency situations.

Persons who have received pay in lieu of unfulfilled surplus period, a Transition Support Measure (TSM) or an Educational Allowance and are re-appointed to the Parks Canada Agency are required to reimburse an amount corresponding to the period from the effective date of such reappointment or hiring, to the end of the original period for which the TSM and education allowance was paid. Please contact Human Resources in Jasper if you are one of these individuals to find out how this applies to your particular situation.
Persons who are in receipt of a Canadian Government Public Service pension and are considering this employment opportunity with the Parks Canada Agency, should contact the PWGSC Public Service Pension Centre (1-800-561-7930) in order to determine the impact of an appointment on their pension benefit entitlements.

Parks Canada is committed to the principles of diversity and employment equity under the Employment Equity Act, and strives to ensure that our workforce reflects the diverse nature of Canadian society. We encourage women, Aboriginal peoples, persons with disabilities and members of a visible minority group to self-identify in their cover letter.

The Public Service of Canada is committed to developing inclusive, barrier-free selection and appointment processes and work environments. If contacted in relation to this process, please advise the organization's representative of your need for accommodation measures which must be taken to enable you to be assessed in a fair and equitable manner.

In accordance with paragraph 8(2)(a) of the Privacy Act, information or material, whether provided directly by the candidate or otherwise obtained by the selection board, used during the selection process for the purpose of assessing a candidate may be used as part of the selection review and recourse processes. Such relevant information may be provided to third parties, such as other candidates or their representatives, who have a legitimate reason to be aware of that information.

Ces renseignements sont également offerts en français.

Parcs nationaux des montagnes carrières

AGENCE DE PARCS CANADA
Préposés, Préposées / GS-MPS-05

Type d'emploi : Durée déterminée, été 2014 
Lieu(x) de travail : Source thermales Miette, Jasper 
Salaire : 20,57$/heure

Sommaire des tâches : Les sources thermales des Rocheuses canadiennes cherchent des personnes qualifiées pour travailler à titre de préposés ou de préposées aux sources thermales Miette en Jasper. Entre autres fonctions, il faut vendre les billets d’entrée et assurer le contrôle des recettes; accueillir la clientèle et lui prêter assistance; donner de l’information au sujet de notions historiques culturelles et naturelles, de la mission, des objectifs et des principes directeurs des sources thermales; communiquer et faire appliquer les politiques, les règles de sécurité, les procédures d’urgence liées aux piscines ainsi que les règlements, les politiques et valeurs de Parcs Canada; reconnaître les situations d’urgence et communiquer avec les services d’urgence locaux ou les autorités policières au besoin; voir à l’entretien et au bon ordre des lieux, c’est-à-dire nettoyer les murs, les planchers, les salles de toilette et les fenêtres, et ramasser les déchets et les ordures.

Zone de sélection : Les personnes qui sont autorisées à travailler au Canada et les personnes qui habitent dans un rayon de 350 km de Jasper, Alberta.

La distance entre la résidence ou le lieu de travail et l’emplacement de chaque poste sera déterminée à l’aide des données du site Web de Géomatique Canada (Ressources naturelles Canada). Pour connaître le mode de consultation de ce site Web, rendez-vous à: L'Atlas du Canada - Toporama

Numéro du processus de sélection
: 2014-PKS-JNP-ER-004

Date de clôture : Le 7 mars 2014 (23:59 HAR)

Exigences Linguistiques :
Anglais essentiel (postes unilingues) et bilingue impératif (postes bilingues, nominations impératives).
 
Pour être admissible à des postes bilingues, il faut pouvoir : soutenir une conversation informelle sur des sujets concrets, paraphraser à défaut de connaître le vocabulaire exact, parler avec une certaine spontanéité, posséder un vocabulaire concret pour des sujets moins courants, mais reliés au travail, situer des faits et des événements dans le temps (c.-à-d. avoir une bonne maîtrise des temps de verbe simples), relier des phrases pour former des passages longs, avoir peu de mal à comprendre l’évaluateur et se faire comprendre de la plupart de ses interlocuteurs, même si certaines répétitions sont nécessaires.

Votre demande doit démontrer clairement que vous rencontrez chacune des exigences et doit inclure les éléments suivants :

  • votre curriculum vitae; 
  • votre lettre de présentation démontrant clairement comment vous rencontrez les exigences du poste; 
  • votre langue officielle de préférence pour toute correspondance et pour votre évaluation; 

Une demande d'information additionnelle peut être faite après la date clôture pour des besoins de sélection et/ou d'évaluation. Les candidats doivent clairement démontrer dans leur lettre de présentation qu’ils possèdent les qualifications essentielles au niveau des études et de l’expérience qui sont énumérées dans l’énoncé de qualités (voir ci-dessous). Les candidats doivent reprendre chacune de ces qualifications dans leur lettre de présentation et rédiger un ou deux paragraphes afin de démontrer qu’ils les possèdent par des exemples concrets. Veuillez noter qu’il ne suffit pas d’affirmer que vous possédez les qualifications requises ou d’énumérer vos tâches actuelles ou passées. Le curriculum vitæ sera utilisé comme source secondaire pour valider l’expérience décrite dans la lettre de présentation

Tout manquement à démontrer clairement dans votre lettre de présentation que vous rencontrez les qualifications d’étude et d’expérience, qui sont énumérées dans l’énoncé de qualités (voir ci-dessous), pourrait entrainer un rejet de votre candidature. 

Règle générale, on ne communiquera pas avec les candidats pour clarifier des informations incomplètes ou manquantes.

Le logement sur place est fourni.

Soumettre votre demande à :
Ressources humaines, parc national Jasper, C.P. 10, Jasper (Alberta) T0E 1E0
No de télécopieur : 780-852-6122
Courriel : jasper.hr@pc.gc.ca 
 

ÉNONCÉ DE QUALITÉS

Exigences linguistiques :
Anglais essentiel (postes unilingues) et bilingue impératif (postes bilingues, nominations impératives).

Pour être admissible à des postes bilingues, il faut pouvoir : soutenir une conversation informelle sur des sujets concrets, paraphraser à défaut de connaître le vocabulaire exact, parler avec une certaine spontanéité, posséder un vocabulaire concret pour des sujets moins courants, mais reliés au travail, situer des faits et des événements dans le temps (c.-à-d. avoir une bonne maîtrise des temps de verbe simples), relier des phrases pour former des passages longs, avoir peu de mal à comprendre l’évaluateur et se faire comprendre de la plupart de ses interlocuteurs, même si certaines répétitions sont nécessaires.

Études :
Diplôme d’études secondaires ou équivalent approuvé par la Commission de la fonction publique.

Expérience : 

  • De la manipulation d’argent et du rapprochement de caisse au moyen de systèmes de paiement électronique;
  • De la prestation de service de qualité à la clientèle;
  • De l’entretien et du nettoyage d’installations.

La préférence peut être accordée aux personnes qui ont de l’expérience de travail dans un milieu aquatique et/ou qui possèdent un certificat de secourisme (Il faut joindre à la demande des copies des certificats à jour).

Connaissances : 

  • Des procédures de manipulation d’espèces et du rapprochement de caisse;
  • Du parc national Jasper et des sources thermales Miette;
  • Des pratiques et normes courantes de nettoyage.

Capacités : 

  • D’accueillir des clients dans une installation aquatique et de percevoir les droits d’entrée;
  • De fournir un service de qualité;
  • De travailler en équipe.

Qualités personnelles / Attributs du Leadership :

  • Facilité pour le travail d’équipe (s’entend bien avec les autres);
  • Esprit d’initiative et créativité;
  • Bon communicateur;
  • Sens des responsabilités et intégrité.

Conditions d’emploi :

  • Conserver un permis de conduire de classe 5 en règle (ou l’équivalent provincial);
  • Obtenir et conserver une cote de fiabilité;
  • Consentir à porter un uniforme et de l’équipement de sécurité;
  • Consentir au travail par postes, les fins de semaine, les jours fériés, dans diverses conditions météorologiques et consentir à faire des heures supplémentaires;
  • Consentir à jouer un rôle actif dans des situations d’urgence.

Les personnes qui touchent une rémunération en remplacement de leur période excédentaire, d'une mesure de soutien à la transition (MST) ou d'une indemnité d’études et qui sont renommées à l’Agence Parcs Canada doivent rembourser une somme équivalente au traitement qu'il ou elle a touché pendant la période allant de la date de sa nouvelle nomination, ou de son embauche, à la fin de la période pour laquelle il ou elle a touché la MST ou l'indemnité d'études. Veuillez contacter ressources humaines, parc national Jasper, si vous êtes l’une de ces personnes, pour voir comment ceci s’applique à votre situation.

Les personnes recevant une pension provenant de la fonction publique du gouvernement du Canada qui considèrent cette opportunité d’emploi avec l’Agence Parcs Canada, devraient contacter le centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada TPSGC (1-800-561-7930) pour déterminer l’impact d’une nomination sur leur droit de prestation de retraite.

Sous la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi, Parcs Canada s’est engagé à supporter les principes de diversité et d’équité en matière d’emploi et par conséquent s’efforce de se doter d'un effectif compétent qui reflète la diversité de la population canadienne. Nous encourageons les femmes, les personnes autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les membres d’une minorité visible de s’identifier dans leur lettre de présentation.

La fonction publique du Canada s'est aussi engagée à instaurer des processus de sélection et un milieu de travail inclusifs et exempts d'obstacles. Si l'on communique avec vous au sujet de ce processus, veuillez faire part au représentant ou à la représentante de l’organisation, de vos besoins pour lesquels des mesures d'adaptation doivent être prises pour vous permettre une évaluation juste et équitable.

Conformément à l'alinéa 8(2)(a) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les renseignements ou l'information utilisés pendant le processus de sélection pour évaluer un candidat ou une candidate, qu'ils soient fournis par le candidat ou la candidate ou obtenus autrement par le jury de sélection, peuvent servir dans les processus de révision de la sélection et de recours. Ces renseignements peuvent être communiqués à des tiers, par exemple d'autres candidats ou leurs représentants, qui ont des raisons valables de les connaître.

This information is also available in English.