Mountain National Parks Careers

Maintenance Worker II
GL-MAN-03

Seasonal Indeterminate Employment Opportunity 
Highway Service Centre, Jasper Operating Area
Salary: $21.15 to $22.99 per hour

Summary of Duties:
Provides general maintenance, repair and labour services to support grounds, roads and facilities maintenance; construction and installations; and other general maintenance and repair requirements for the Parks Canada Agency.

Area of Consideration: Persons working or residing in a 150 km radius of Jasper, AB

Parks Canada Agency considers applications from all individuals who have legal status to work in Canada. Please indicate in your application the reason for which you are entitled to work in Canada: Canadian citizenship, permanent resident status or work permit.

Quote Selection Process Number: 2014-CAP-HSC-RM-014

Closing Date: April 24, 2014

Language: English Essential

Your application should clearly demonstrate that you meet all the requirements for the position and must include:

  • Your résumé;
  • Your cover letter demonstrating clearly how you meet the requirements of the position;
  • Indicating your preferred official language for correspondence and assessment;
  • Copy of your driver’s license and driver’s abstract.

Applicants must clearly demonstrate in their cover letter how they meet the Education and Experience factors listed in the Statement of Qualifications (see below). Applicants must list both of these factors in their cover letter, and then write one or two paragraphs for each demonstrating how they meet these factors by providing concrete examples. Please note that it is not sufficient to only state that these factors are met or to provide a listing of current or past responsibilities. Resumes will be used as a secondary source to validate the experience described in the cover letter.

Failure to clearly demonstrate in your cover letter how you meet the Education and Experience factors found on the Statement of Qualifications (see below), may result in the rejection of your application.

Normally, applicants will not be solicited for incomplete or possible missing information.

General Enquiries: April Chruszcz, A/Human Resources Advisor, at 250-837-7531 or mrg.hr-rh@pc.gc.ca

Submit your application to:
Human Resources

By e-mail: mrg.hr-rh@pc.gc.ca
OR
By fax: 250-837-7563 


STATEMENT OF QUALIFICATIONS

Language Requirement:
English Essential

Education: Successful completion of secondary school according to provincial standards; or an acceptable combination of education, training and experience.

Experience:

  • In grounds maintenance;
  • In the operation of power tools;
  • In landscaping;
  • In road maintenance

Occupational Certification:
Valid class 5 driver’s license *A copy must be submitted with your application.
Note: Candidates with a class three driver's licence may receive extra credits in the assessment portion of the selection process

Knowledge:

  • Parks Canada’s mandate
  • Safety and WHMIS procedures

Abilities:

  • Operate vehicles and work related equipment in a safe and efficient manner
  • Inspect vehicles and equipment and implement minor maintenance to acceptable standards
  • Communicate orally

Personal Suitability / Leadership Attributes: 

  • Effective interpersonal relationships
  • Judgement
  • Motivation
  • Dependability

Conditions of Employment:

  • Security Screening: Obtain and maintain Reliability Status.
  • Maintenance of valid driver’s license.

Operational Requirements:

  • Willingness to wear identifier clothing and safety equipment;
  • Willingness to travel and/or work in a variety of weather conditions and terrain for extended periods of time;
  • Willingness to work irregular hours, overtime, weekends and/or statutory holidays, provincial/territorial holidays.

Persons who have received pay in lieu of unfulfilled surplus period, a Transition Support Measure (TSM) or an Educational Allowance and are re-appointed to the Parks Canada Agency are required to reimburse an amount corresponding to the period from the effective date of such reappointment or hiring, to the end of the original period for which the TSM and education allowance was paid. Please contact Marie-Claude Asselin, Human Resources Advisor if you are one of these individuals to find out how this applies to your particular situation.

Persons who are in receipt of a Canadian Government Public Service pension and are considering this employment opportunity with the Parks Canada Agency, should contact the PWGSC Public Service Pension Centre (1-800-561-7930) in order to determine the impact of an appointment on their pension benefit entitlements.

Parks Canada is committed to the principles of diversity and employment equity under the Employment Equity Act, and strives to ensure that our workforce reflects the diverse nature of Canadian society. We encourage women, Aboriginal peoples, persons with disabilities and members of a visible minority group to self-identify in their cover letter.

The Public Service of Canada is committed to developing inclusive, barrier-free selection and appointment processes and work environments. If contacted in relation to this process, please advise the organization's representative of your need for accommodation measures which must be taken to enable you to be assessed in a fair and equitable manner.

In accordance with paragraph 8(2)(a) of the Privacy Act, information or material, whether provided directly by the candidate or otherwise obtained by the selection board, used during the selection process for the purpose of assessing a candidate may be used as part of the selection review and recourse processes. Such relevant information may be provided to third parties, such as other candidates or their representatives, who have a legitimate reason to be aware of that information.

Ces renseignements sont également offerts en français.

Parcs nationaux des montagnes carrières

Préposé(e) à l'entretien II
GL-MAN-03

Opportunité d’emploi, poste saisonnier indéterminé
Lieu de travail : Centre de services routiers, Aire des opérations de Jasper
Salaire : taux horaire de 21,15 $ à 22,99$


Sommaire des tâches : Fournir des services généraux d’entretien, de réparation et de main-d’œuvre en vue d’assurer des travaux d’entretien des terrains, des installations et des routes; des travaux de construction et les installations; et d’autres travaux généraux d’entretien et de réparation pour l’Agence Parcs Canada.

Zone de sélection : Les personnes qui travaillent ou qui résident dans un rayon de 150 km de Jasper, Alberta.

L’Agence Parcs Canada prendra en considération les candidatures des personnes habilitées par la loi à travailler au Canada. Veuillez préciser dans votre demande ce qui vous autorise à travailler au Canada : citoyenneté canadienne, statut de résident permanent ou permis de travail.

Numéro du processus de sélection : 2014-CAP-HSC-RM-014

Date de clôture : 24 Avril 2014

Exigences Linguistiques : Anglais essentiel

Votre demande doit démontrer clairement que vous rencontrez chacune des exigences et doit inclure les éléments suivants :

  • Votre curriculum vitae;
  • Votre lettre de présentation démontrant clairement comment vous rencontrez les exigences du poste;
  • Indiquer votre langue officielle de préférence pour toute correspondance et pour votre évaluation;
  • Une copie de votre permis de conduire et de votre dossier de conduite.

Les candidats doivent clairement démontrer dans leur lettre de présentation qu’ils possèdent les qualifications essentielles au niveau des études et de l’expérience qui sont énumérées dans l’énoncé de qualités (voir ci-dessous). Les candidats doivent reprendre chacune de ces qualifications dans leur lettre de présentation et rédiger un ou deux paragraphes afin de démontrer qu’ils les possèdent par des exemples concrets. Veuillez noter qu’il ne suffit pas d’affirmer que vous possédez les qualifications requises ou d’énumérer vos tâches actuelles ou passées. Le curriculum vitæ sera utilisé comme source secondaire pour valider l’expérience décrite dans la lettre de présentation.

Tout manquement à démontrer clairement dans votre lettre de présentation que vous rencontrez les qualifications d’étude et d’expérience, qui sont énumérées dans l’énoncé de qualités (voir ci-dessous), pourrait entrainer un rejet de votre candidature.

Règle générale, on ne communiquera pas avec les candidats pour clarifier des informations incomplètes ou manquantes.

Renseignements généraux :
April Chruszcz, conseillère en ressources humaines, tél. : 250-837-7531 ou mrg.hr-rh@pc.gc.ca

Soumettre votre demande à :
Ressources humaines

Par courriel à mrg.hr-rh@pc.gc.ca
OU
Par télécopieur au 250-837-7563


ÉNONCÉ DE QUALITÉS

Exigences linguistiques :
Anglais essentiel

Études : Diplôme d’études secondaires obtenu conformément aux normes provinciales ou combinaison acceptable d’études, de formation et d’expérience.

Expérience :

  • Dans l’entretien des terrains
  • Dans l’utilisation d’outils électriques et mécaniques
  • En aménagement du paysage
  • Dans l’entretien des routes

Accréditation professionnelle :
Permis de conduire valide de classe 5 avec freins à air. *Soumettre une copie avec votre demande.
Les candidats qui possèdent un permis de conduire de classe 3 pourraient recevoir des points supplémentaires dans l'évaluation de leur candidature pour ce processus de sélection.

Connaissances :

  • Connaissance du mandat de Parcs Canada
  • Procédures de sécurité et SIMDUT

Capacités :

  • Conduire des véhicules et utiliser de l’équipement de travail d’une façon sécuritaire et efficace;
  • Inspecter des véhicules et de l’équipement et assurer un entretien de base dans le respect des normes acceptables;
  • Communiquer de vive voix.

Qualités personnelles / Attributs du Leadership :

  • Tisser des liens personnels avec les autres
  • Jugement
  • Motivation
  • Fiabilité

Conditions d’emploi :

  • Enquête de sécurité : Obtenir et maintenir une cote de fiabilité.
  • Maintenir un permis de conduire en règle.

Exigences opérationelles :

  • Accepter de porter des vêtements identificateurs et de l’équipement de protection.
  • Accepter de voyager ou de travailler pendant de longues périodes dans diverses conditions météorologiques et géographiques.
  • Accepter de travailler selon un horaire irrégulier, de faire des heures supplémentaires, et de travailler durant les fins de semaine et/ou les jours fériés, jours fériés dans les provinces et territoires. 

Les personnes qui touchent une rémunération en remplacement de leur période excédentaire, d'une mesure de soutien à la transition (MST) ou d'une indemnité d’études et qui sont renommées à l’Agence Parcs Canada doivent rembourser une somme équivalente au traitement qu'il ou elle a touché pendant la période allant de la date de sa nouvelle nomination, ou de son embauche, à la fin de la période pour laquelle il ou elle a touché la MST ou l'indemnité d'études. Veuillez contacter April Chruszcz, Conseillère en ressources humaines, si vous êtes l’une de ces personnes, pour voir comment ceci s’applique à votre situation.

Les personnes recevant une pension provenant de la fonction publique du gouvernement du Canada qui considèrent cette opportunité d’emploi avec l’Agence Parcs Canada, devraient contacter le centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada TPSGC (1-800-561-7930) pour déterminer l’impact d’une nomination sur leur droit de prestation de retraite.

Sous la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi, Parcs Canada s’est engagé à supporter les principes de diversité et d’équité en matière d’emploi et par conséquent s’efforce de se doter d'un effectif compétent qui reflète la diversité de la population canadienne. Nous encourageons les femmes, les personnes autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les membres d’une minorité visible de s’identifier dans leur lettre de présentation.

La fonction publique du Canada s'est aussi engagée à instaurer des processus de sélection et un milieu de travail inclusifs et exempts d'obstacles. Si l'on communique avec vous au sujet de ce processus, veuillez faire part au représentant ou à la représentante de l’organisation, de vos besoins pour lesquels des mesures d'adaptation doivent être prises pour vous permettre une évaluation juste et équitable.

Conformément à l'alinéa 8(2)(a) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les renseignements ou l'information utilisés pendant le processus de sélection pour évaluer un candidat ou une candidate, qu'ils soient fournis par le candidat ou la candidate ou obtenus autrement par le jury de sélection, peuvent servir dans les processus de révision de la sélection et de recours. Ces renseignements peuvent être communiqués à des tiers, par exemple d'autres candidats ou leurs représentants, qui ont des raisons valables de les connaître.

This information is also available in English.