Wapusk National Park of Canada

Polar bears in Wapusk National Park Polar bears in Wapusk National Park
© Murray Gillespie

State of the Park Report 2011 - Executive Summary

In an effort to make this information available to you in a timely manner, this report is currently only available in PDF format. Should you require an alternate format or a hard copy please contact us by emailing: wapusk.np@pc.gc.ca

 Wapusk National Park - State of the Park Report 2011 (PDF, 1.3 MB)
Wapusk National Park State of the Park Report 2011 Wapusk National Park State of the Park Report 2011
© Parks Canada

The purpose of a State of the Park Report (SoPR) is to report to Canadians on the current state of the national park. This SoPR describes the current health of Wapusk National Park (Wapusk). It is an assessment of the park based on research and monitoring, and includes Aboriginal and local traditional user perspectives on their relationship with the park. The assessment includes an overview of how well the Parks Canada Agency is protecting ecological and cultural resources, facilitating visitor experience opportunities, and enhancing public appreciation and understanding. In addition, this report highlights park achievements and corporate performance and identifies key issues.

This is the first SoPR for Wapusk National Park. This report offers an opportunity to examine the successes and challenges of park management decisions that were taken in the Wapusk National Park Management Plan (Parks Canada 2007a). The SoPR provides a context piece for both Aboriginal and traditional local use, in addition to an overview of First Nations and local perspectives related to the health of the land and their relationship with Parks Canada. With its comprehensive overview of the state of the park, the report is a key tool in the upcoming review of the park’s management plan that will commence in 2011. [Please note that review of the Wapusk NP Management Plan has been deferred. Management plans are now required to be reviewed every ten years - instead of five years - under the Budget Measures Implementation Act, 2012.]

Located on the western shores of Hudson Bay in northeast Manitoba, Wapusk National Park lies in the transition zone between taiga and tundra. Wapusk is Cree for “white bear”, the park’s iconic species. A ten-member cooperative management board that consists of representatives from the Government of Canada, Province of Manitoba, Town of Churchill, York Factory First Nation and Fox Lake Cree Nation makes recommendations to the Federal Minister responsible for Parks Canada on matters related to planning, management and operation of the park.

Rating for Wapusk National Park in Achieving Parks Canada Agency’s 2007-08 Corporate Plan Expectations. Exceeded -0%, Met all - 11%, Mostly met - 22%, Somewhat met - 11%, Not met - 0%, Not rated - 56% Figure 1. Rating for Wapusk National Park in Achieving Parks Canada Agency’s 2007-08 Corporate Plan Expectations
© Parks Canada

The State of the Park Summary (Table 1) provides an overview of the report with the ‘state of’ indicators for resource conservation, visitor experience, and public appreciation and understanding. Due to insufficient information, the condition and trends could not be ranked for many of the indicators. Many park monitoring programs are in their early stages or have not yet been established, which limits the ability to report on the state of the park. A review of the ecological integrity monitoring program including the identification of priority indicators and measures is planned for the future which will reflect updated direction from Parks Canada.

Wapusk has worked to meet Parks Canada Agency’s performance expectations, set out in the 2007-2008 corporate plan (Parks Canada 2007b). The park operated under interim management guidelines from 1996 to 2007 and baseline information is only now being developed. Many performance expectations are not rated (Figure 1) due to the relatively recent establishment of the park.

In addition to the Agency’s overall performance expectations, performance goals and actions specific to Wapusk were outlined in the 2007 park management plan. Good progress in meeting these expectations has occurred.

A summary of key issues is presented at the end of the report, based on the assessments in each of the preceding sections. The key issues are:

  • expanding habitat impacts by lesser snow geese affects other wildlife;
  • the changing arctic climate; and
  • expensive and challenging access for visitor opportunities and local users.

Table 1. State of the Park Summary

Indicator State Rationale
Resource Conservation - Ecological Integrity 
Wetlands 
Not Rated
The condition of the wetlands is not rated as these measures are likely to change as the monitoring program is refined. At present two of four measures related to lesser snow geese are rated as fair; nesting density and extent of habitat degradation, while nest phenology and reproductive success are classified as being in good condition. Permafrost and shrub density and height are currently not rated.
Tundra 
Not Rated
The tundra indicator is not rated as there is only one measure. Further monitoring is required to fully assess the snowpack measure in the tundra indicator.
Forest 
Not Rated
The forest measure of fire is considered to be in good condition following a natural burn cycle with limited suppression. However, as this is the only measure monitored, the condition of the forest indicator is not rated.
Freshwater 
Not Rated
The freshwater indicator is not yet rated as the monitoring program is currently in development. Overall surface area of water in the park and number of lakes has decreased with the greatest change observed in coastal fen regions and small ponds across the park.
Marine 
Fair / Declining 
Ecological thresholds for three of the measures used to assess the health of this indicator have not been established but they are supported by thirty years of statistical analysis. The current condition for the marine indicator is fair based on long-standing research, with a declining trend.
Coastal 
Not Rated
The coastal indicator is not ranked as there is only one measure related to Canada goose productivity.
Species at Risk 
Not Rated
There are four species in the park listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act that were assessed. Information on many of these species is limited therefore further monitoring is required before an assessment can be made.
Resource Conservation - Cultural Resources 
Resource Condition 
Fair / Stable
Overall, buildings and structural remains, and documented objects are in good condition, and the condition of archaeological sites is fair. Landscape and landscape features are not rated; a formal inventory and evaluation of cultural landscapes is required.
Selected Management Practices 
Fair / Improving
The park has a good foundation and preliminary work is complete; however a more comprehensive and robust program, and products need to be developed to improve cultural resource management practices.
Visitor Experience - Trend 
Visits 
Not Rated
Visitation has increased approximately 1.6% over the past five years. Park visitors include clients of the three licensed tour operators, university and high school students, media and participants in unique tourism initiatives. A Visitor Experience Assessment is planned for 2011.
Learning 
Not Rated
Due to the remoteness of the park and low visitor numbers, on-site interpretation is limited (<100 people/year). Learning has not been formally measured.
Enjoyment
Not Rated
Park visitors who have submitted comment forms (i.e., University of Manitoba students) have noted high levels of enjoyment and satisfaction. However, this indicator is not rated as there has not been a formal visitor survey.
Satisfaction
Not Rated
Visitors who have participated in student programs or special visits have expressed very high levels of satisfaction and enjoyment. This indicator is not rated as information has come from limited audiences.
Meaning
Not Rated
Connection to place, the measure for this indicator, is new to Parks Canada and has not yet been measured at Wapusk.
Public Appreciation and Understanding
Appreciation and Understanding
Not Rated
The Visitor Centre, located in Churchill’s train station, is the focal point for outreach efforts. Approximately 7,400 people visit the centre each year as part of their visit to Churchill. Other outreach education initiatives have been reactive, based on invitations to schools or events.
Support
Not Rated
A strategic stakeholder engagement plan is not in place. However, there are diverse opportunities for stakeholder involvement, and the site has excelled in collaborating with researchers and tour operators.

Condition: Good, Fair, Poor, Not Rated; Trend: Improving, Stable, Declining, Not Rated

Note: Refer to the glossary for definitions related to condition and trend.

References:


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parc national du Canada Wapusk

Ours polaires dans le parc national Wapusk Ours polaires dans le parc national Wapusk
© Murray Gillespie

Rapport sur l’état actuel du parc 2011 - Sommaire

Afin de rendre les renseignements disponibles de façon rapide, ce rapport n'est présentement distribué qu'en format PDF. Si vous avez besoin d'un autre format ou d'une copie papier, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à wapusk.np@pc.gc.ca.

 Parc national Wapusk - Rapport sur l’état actuel du parc 2011
(Version PDF, 4,75 Mo)

Rapport sur l’état actuel du parc 2011 Rapport sur l’état actuel du parc 2011
© Parcs Canada

Le but d’un rapport sur l’état actuel d’un parc consiste à rendre compte aux Canadiens de l’état actuel d’un parc national. Le présent rapport décrit l’état actuel du parc national du Canada Wapusk (parc national Wapusk). Il présente une évaluation du parc fondée sur les activités de recherche et de surveillance et il présente le point de vue d’Autochtones et d’utilisateurs traditionnels locaux sur leur relation avec le parc. L’évaluation comprend un aperçu de la qualité des travaux que mène l’Agence Parcs Canada afin de protéger les ressources écologiques et culturelles, de faciliter les possibilités d’expérience pour les visiteurs et d’améliorer l’appréciation et la compréhension du public. De plus, ce rapport met en évidence les réalisations du parc, le rendement de Parcs Canada et les principaux enjeux.

Ce document est le premier rapport sur l’état du parc national Wapusk. Il offre la possibilité d’examiner les réussites et les défis liés aux décisions en matière de gestion du parc prises dans le Plan directeur pour le parc national du Canada Wapusk (Parcs Canada, 2007a). Il offre un cadre contextuel pour les utilisations locales traditionnelles et autochtones, ainsi qu’un aperçu du point de vue des Premières nations et de la population locale sur la santé des terres et leur relation avec Parcs Canada. Puisqu’il présente un aperçu complet de l’état du parc, ce rapport constitue un outil important dans le cadre de l’examen du plan directeur pour le parc, qui débutera en 2011. [Veuillez prendre note que l’examen du plan directeur du PN Wapusk a été reporté. En vertu de la Loi d’exécution du budget de 2012, les plans directeurs doivent maintenant être examinés tous les dix ans plutôt que tous les cinq ans.]

Cote sure la performance du parc dans la réalisation des ses attentes de rendement: Dépassées - 0%, Complêtement atteintes - 11%, Atteintes en grande partie - 11%, Passablement atteintes - 11%, Non-évaluées - 56%, Non atteintes - 0% Figure 1. Cote sure la performance du parc dans la réalisation des ses attentes de rendement (%)
© Parcs Canada

Le parc national Wapusk est situé sur la rive occidentale de la baie d’Hudson, dans le nord est du Manitoba, et il se trouve dans la zone de transition entre la taïga et la toundra. « Wapusk » est un terme de la langue crie qui signifie « ours blanc », l’espèce emblématique du parc (figure 1). Un conseil de gestion coopérative constitué de dix membres, dont des représentants du gouvernement du Canada, de la province du Manitoba, de la ville de Churchill, de la Première nation York Factory et de la Nation crie de Fox Lake, formule, à l’intention du ministre fédéral responsable de Parcs Canada, des recommandations relatives à la planification, à la gestion et à l’exploitation du parc.

Le sommaire de l’état du parc (tableau 1) offre un aperçu du rapport en présentant « l’état » des indicateurs de la conservation des ressources, de l’expérience des visiteurs ainsi que de l’appréciation et de la compréhension du public. Étant donné l’insuffisance de l’information, les conditions et les tendances n’ont pu être cotées pour de nombreux indicateurs. Nombre de programmes de surveillance du parc n’en sont qu’à leurs débuts ou n’ont pas encore été établis, ce qui limite la capacité de production de rapports sur l’état du parc. Un examen du programme de surveillance de l’intégrité écologique, qui comprend l’identification des indicateurs et des mesures prioritaires, est prévu et il tiendra compte des directives à jour de Parcs Canada.

Les responsables du parc national Wapusk se sont efforcés de répondre aux attentes de Parcs Canada en matière de rendement, conformément au Plan d’entreprise pour 2007–2008 (Parcs Canada, 2007b). Le parc a été exploité en vertu de lignes directrices de gestion provisoires de 1996 à 2007, et l’élaboration de l’information de base ne fait que commencer. Nombre d’attentes en matière de rendement ne sont pas cotées (figure 1) en raison du fait que l’établissement du parc est relativement récent.

Outre les attentes de Parcs Canada en matière de rendement général, le plan directeur pour le parc de 2007 décrit les objectifs de rendement et les mesures propres au parc. De bons progrès ont été réalisés dans la satisfaction des attentes.

Un sommaire des principaux enjeux est présenté à la fin du rapport et est fondé sur les évaluations dans chacune des sections qui le précède. Les principaux enjeux sont les suivants :

  • l’augmentation des effets des petites oies des neiges sur l’habitat a des répercussions sur d’autres espèces sauvages;
  • les changements climatiques dans l’Arctique;
  • les possibilités d’accès difficiles et coûteuses pour les visiteurs et les utilisateurs locaux.


Tableau 1. Sommaire de l’état du parc

Indicateur État Justification
Conservation des ressources - Intégrité écologique
Terres humides
Non coté
L’état des terres humides n’est pas coté puisque ces mesures devraient changer au fil de l’amélioration du programme de surveillance. À l’heure actuelle, deux des quatre mesures associées aux petites oies des neiges sont cotées passables (densité de la nidification et étendue des impacts associés aux oies), tandis que les deux autres mesures (phénologie de la nidification et succès de la reproduction) sont cotées bonnes. Le pergélisol et la densité et la hauteur de la végétation arbustive ne sont pas cotés pour l’instant.
Toundra
Non coté
L’état de la toundra n’est pas coté puisqu’il n’y a qu’une mesure. Une surveillance plus poussée est nécessaire pour évaluer entièrement l’accumulation annuelle de neige.
Forêts
Non coté
La mesure de l’état des forêts par le feu est considérée comme bonne à la suite d’un cycle de brûlage naturel avec mesures de suppression limitées. Cependant, puisqu’il s’agit de la seule mesure surveillée, l’état des forêts n’est pas coté.
Eaux douces
Non coté
L’état de l’eau douce n’est pas encore coté puisque le programme de surveillance est en voie d’élaboration. La superficie totale des plans d’eau douce et le nombre de lacs dans le parc ont diminué, et le changement le plus important a été observé dans les régions de tourbière minérotrophe côtières et dans les petits étangs.
Eaux marines
Passable / En détérioration
Les seuils écologiques pour trois des mesures utilisées pour évaluer l’état des eaux marines n’ont pas été établis, mais ils sont étayés par des analyses statistiques couvrant une période de 30 ans. D’après des recherches de longue date, l’état actuel des eaux marines est passable avec une tendance à la baisse.
Eaux côtières
Non coté
L’état des eaux côtières n’est pas coté puisqu’il n’y a qu’une mesure liée à la productivité de la bernache du Canada.
Espèces en péril
Non coté
Quatre espèces présentes dans le parc et inscrites à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril ont été évaluées. Les renseignements sur nombre de ces espèces sont limités, ce qui signifie qu’une surveillance plus poussée est nécessaire avant la tenue d’une évaluation.
Conservation des ressources – Ressources culturelles
État des ressources
Passable / Stable
La cote globale pour les bâtiments et les vestiges structurels, ainsi que les objets documentés, est bonne, et l’état des sites archéologiques est passable. L’état des paysages et des éléments paysagers n’est pas coté. Un inventaire officiel et une évaluation des paysages culturels sont nécessaires.
Pratiques de gestion choisies
Passable / En amélioration
Le parc a des assises solides, et les travaux préliminaires sont terminés. Cependant, un programme et des produits plus détaillés et plus robustes doivent être élaborés afin d’améliorer les pratiques de gestion des ressources culturelles.
Expérience des visiteurs (Tendance)
Visites
Non coté
Les visites ont augmenté d’environ 1,6 % au cours des cinq dernières années. Les visiteurs du parc incluent les clients des trois voyagistes autorisés, les étudiants participant à des cours d’études secondaires et universitaires, les médias et les participants à des initiatives touristiques uniques. Une évaluation de l’expérience des visiteurs est prévue pour 2011.
Apprentissage
Non coté
Les programmes d’interprétation offerts sur les lieux sont limités en raison de l’éloignement du parc et du nombre limité de visiteurs (moins de 100 par année). L’état de l’apprentissage n’a pas été coté officiellement.
Appréciation
Non coté
Les visiteurs du parc qui ont formulé des commentaires (c. à d. étudiant de l’Université du Manitoba) ont indiqué des niveaux de satisfaction et d’appréciation élevés. Cependant, cet indicateur n’est pas coté puisqu’il n’y a pas eu de sondage officiel effectué auprès des visiteurs.
Satisfaction
Non coté
Les visiteurs qui ont participé à des programmes scolaires ou à des visites spéciales ont indiqué des niveaux de satisfaction et d’appréciation très élevés. Cet indicateur n’est pas coté puisque les renseignements obtenus viennent d’un nombre limité de personnes.
Caractère significatif
Non coté
L’indicateur du lien avec le lieu est un nouvel indicateur à Parcs Canada et n’a pas encore été mesuré dans le parc national Wapusk.
Appréciation et compréhension du public
Appréciation et compréhension du public
Non coté
Le centre d’accueil, situé dans la gare historique de Churchill, est le point focal pour les efforts de sensibilisation. Environ 7 400 personnes visitent ce centre chaque année dans le cadre de leur visite à Churchill. D’autres initiatives d’éducation ont été réactives, d’après les invitations de participation à des événements scolaires ou communautaires.
Soutien
Non coté
Un plan stratégique pour l’engagement des intervenants n’est pas en place, mais il existe de maintes possibilités de participation des intervenants, et le site a fait preuve d’excellence dans la collaboration avec les chercheurs et les organisateurs d’expédition.

État : Bon, Passable, Mauvais, Non coté; Tendance : en amélioration, Stable, En détérioration, Non coté

Remarque : Voir le glossaire pour connaître les définitions liées à l’état et aux tendances.

Références :


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).