Common menu bar links

Wapusk National Park of Canada

Research and Monitoring

Research and monitoring Research and monitoring
© Parks Canada

Research and monitoring programs are important tools that can be used to gain an understanding of ecological resources and processes in the park.

Research projects enable scientists to study conditions and species within the park to determine whether they are unique or specific to this landscape or are behaving in a way that has not been documented elsewhere.

Monitoring programs enable scientists and managers through repeated assessment to look at the systems and determine if they are changing over time and whether these changes are related to natural processes or are due to human impact. Monitoring also allows park managers to determine the effectiveness of management actions.

One of the most important aspects of research and monitoring is communicating the results and information to the people outside the science program, to local communities, and to assist in making other researchers aware of the research and monitoring going on in the park.


 Annual Report of Research and Monitoring 2011-2012 (PDF, 4 MB)

Annual Report of Research and Monitoring 2010-2011

The Wapusk National Park Management Plan highlights Parks Canada’s responsibility for maintaining and monitoring ecological integrity in the Park. Collaborations with universities, government agencies and not-for-profit organizations enhance our collective ability to measure the critical issues that may affect ecological integrity in the Park and surrounding area, and to better understand them.

Churchill Northern Studies Centre (CNSC), Parks Canada staff and researchers met in January 2011 in Winnipeg to share scientific research findings and develop ideas for future research priorities in the greater Churchill region. Following this successful symposium, CNSC worked with Parks Canada to produce the 2011 Annual Report of Research & Monitoring for Wapusk National Park. The report, which provides summaries of research being conducted in and around the park, can be found at the following link: Annual Report of Research and Monitoring in the Greater Wapusk Region 2010-2011

Annual Report of Research and Monitoring 2009-2010 (PDF, 3 MB)

 Annual Report of Research and Monitoring 2007-2008 (PDF, 2.43 MB) 

 The Birds of Wapusk National Park. 2009. Occasional Paper No. 1. (PDF, 3.9 MB) 


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parc national du Canada Wapusk

Recherche et surveillance

Recherche et surveillance Recherche et surveillance
© Parcs Canada

Les programmes de recherche et de surveillance sont d’importants outils pouvant être utilisés pour acquérir une meilleure connaissance des ressources et des processus écologiques du parc.

Les projets de recherche permettent aux scientifiques d’étudier les conditions et les espèces présentes dans le parc en vue de déterminer si elles sont uniques ou spécifiques à ce paysage ou si elles présentent des caractéristiques n’ayant jamais été observées ailleurs.

Grâce à des évaluations répétées, les programmes de surveillance permettent aux scientifiques et aux gestionnaires d’établir si les systèmes changent au fil du temps, et si les éventuels changements sont liés à des processus naturels ou à l’activité humaine. La surveillance permet également aux gestionnaires du parc de déterminer l’efficacité des mesures de gestion.

L’un des aspects les plus importants de la recherche et de la surveillance est de communiquer les résultats et les données aux personnes extérieures au programme scientifique, dont les collectivités locales, ainsi que de transmettre à d’autres chercheurs l’information sur la recherche et la surveillance qui ont cours dans le parc.


 Rapport annuel sur la recherche et la surveillance 2011-2012 (Version PDF, 4 Mo)

Rapport annuel sur la recherche et la surveillance 2010-2011

Le plan directeur du parc national Wapusk souligne la responsabilité de Parcs Canada de maintenir et de surveiller l’intégrité écologique du parc. Des collaborations avec des universités, des organismes gouvernementaux et des organisations à but non lucratif améliorent notre capacité collective de mesurer les questions essentielles qui pourraient avoir des répercussions sur l’intégrité écologique du parc et de la région avoisinante, ainsi que de mieux comprendre ces questions.

Les responsables du Centre d’études nordiques de Churchill (CENC), le personnel de Parcs Canada et des chercheurs se sont rencontrés en janvier 2011, à Winnipeg, afin d’échanger des résultats de recherches scientifiques et d’élaborer des idées concernant les priorités en matière de recherche future dans la région de Churchill. À la suite de ce symposium couronné de succès, le CENC a travaillé en collaboration avec Parcs Canada afin de produire le Rapport annuel de 2011 sur la recherche et la surveillance du parc national Wapusk. Le rapport, qui donne des résumés de la recherche menée à l’intérieur ou aux environs du parc, peut être consulté à l’adresse suivante : Rapport annuel sur la recherche et la surveillance 2010-2011 (anglais seulement)

Rapport annuel sur la recherche et la surveillance 2009-2010 (Version PDF, 3,1 Mo)

Rapport annuel sur la recherche et la surveillance 2007-2008 (Version PDF, 2,45 Mo)

 Les oiseaux du parc national Wapusk. 2009. Document hors-série no 1. (Version PDF, 3,3 Mo)


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).