Common menu bar links

Wapusk National Park of Canada

Partnering with Wapusk National Park

By working in collaboration with respected organisations that share our values, Parks Canada is able to better deliver its promise to Canadians by continuing to be a world leader in the protection and presentation of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage. We believe in sharing leadership and working with our partners to offer unique, inspiring opportunities for Canadians to discover our treasured places and to achieve extraordinary results.

We are proud to be formally collaborating with the following partners:


ArcticNet
Schools on Tundra

ArcticNet is a Network of Centres of Excellence of Canada that brings together scientists and managers in the human health and social sciences with their partners from Inuit organizations, northern communities, federal and provincial agencies and the private sector to study the impacts of climate change and modernization in the Canadian Arctic. Through its Schools on Tundra program, ArcticNet wishes to foster in Canada’s youth a greater understanding of the changes that the sub-arctic is experiencing due to global climate change, to bridge Arctic research with science education in high schools across Canada, and to educate young Canadians about the challenges and career opportunities in Arctic research.

ArcticNet and Parks Canada are partnering to provide experiential programming to participants in the Schools on Tundra program pertaining to the ecological and cultural resources at Wapusk National Park and Prince of Wales Fort National Historic Site, and the surrounding region. Schools on Tundra is hosted at the Churchill Northern Studies Centre, a Parks Canada partner.


Churchill Northern Studies Centre

Churchill Northern Studies Centre (CNSC) is Manitoba’s premier independent, non-profit northern research and education facility. CNSC is mandated to provide logistical support to independent scientific researchers working on a diverse range of topics of interest to northern science, and to serve as an education centre which facilitates a wide range of programming, from general interest courses for the visiting public to university credit courses for students. Together Parks Canada and CNSC are working to provide a greater capacity for research and monitoring and public education relating to the ecological and cultural resources within Wapusk National Park and the surrounding region, for the benefit of Manitobans and Canadians.






Explore

Explore is a philanthropic multimedia organization that documents and features a wide range of topics from around the world — from animal rights, health and human services, and poverty to the environment, education, and spirituality. Explore’s growing library consists of more than 250 original films and 30,000 photographs from around the world which are showcased at film festivals, on over 100 public broadcast and cable channels, and on numerous online destinations including explore.org. Explore is funded by the Annenberg Foundation.

Explore and Parks Canada are partnering to help foster awareness and appreciation for the subarctic-coastal tundra ecosystem and the wildlife that inhabits this region through webcams installed in Wapusk National Park and at Prince of Wales Fort National Historic Site in Churchill, Manitoba, broadcasting live on Explore’s website, explore.org.






Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship

Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship (MCWS), a department of the Government of Manitoba, is committed to delivering programs and services that result in a clean, healthy and diverse natural environment for current and future generations. MCWS wishes to work collaboratively with First Nations and other Aboriginal communities, and many stakeholders, to balance the environmental, social and economic needs of Manitobans.

Parks Canada and Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship have signed a Memorandum of Understanding to support collaboration in areas around Wapusk National Park and the provincial Churchill Wildlife Management Area. The agreement also applies to Riding Mountain National Park and surrounding provincial lands. Parks Canada and MCWS will work cooperatively and collaboratively to provide a greater capacity for ecological monitoring, resource management and public education pertaining to ecological and cultural resources for the benefit of Manitobans and Canadians.

For more information, visit:
Churchill Wildlife Management Area


Polar Bears International

Polar Bears International (PBI) is the world’s leading polar bear conservation group – dedicated to saving polar bears by saving their sea ice habitat. PBI’s focus is on research, education and action. PBI conducts, funds, supports and guides scientific research that will help assure the future survival of polar bears, and is committed to informing and educating individuals, communities, business leaders and policy makers on how to make a difference for the future survival of polar bears.

Parks Canada and Polar Bears International are committed to working together to: research and monitor polar bears and their habitat within Wapusk National Park; deliver public outreach education to Canadians and the world in order to raise awareness and understanding about Wapusk National Park and associated polar bear habitat; and collaborate on issues relating to polar bear tourism.

Parc national du Canada Wapusk

Partenariat avec le parc national Wapusk

La collaboration d’organisations respectées qui partagent ses valeurs permet à l’Agence Parcs Canada de mieux remplir sa promesse faite aux Canadiens tout en demeurant un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la protection et de la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. L’Agence croit au partage du leadership et à la collaboration avec ses partenaires dans le but d’offrir aux Canadiens des occasions uniques et inspirantes de découvrir nos trésors et d’atteindre des résultats extraordinaires.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est fière de s’associer officiellement avec les partenaires suivants :


ArcticNet
« Écoles sur la toundra »


ArcticNet fait partie du Réseau des centres d’excellence du Canada qui regroupe des scientifiques et des gestionnaires en sciences de la santé et en sciences sociales avec leurs partenaires des organisations inuites, des communautés nordiques, d’organismes fédéraux et provinciaux ainsi que du secteur privé, pour étudier les effets des changements climatiques et de la modernisation dans l’Arctique canadien. Au moyen de son programme « Écoles sur la toundra » (anglais seulement), ArcticNet a trois objectifs : faire en sorte que les jeunes canadiens comprennent mieux les modifications causées par le changement climatique mondial dans la région subarctique, établir des ponts entre la recherche menée dans l’Arctique et l’enseignement des sciences dans les écoles secondaires du Canada, et faire découvrir aux jeunes canadiens les difficultés de la recherche dans l’Arctique et les emplois qu’elle offre.

ArcticNet et Parcs Canada se sont associés pour offrir aux participants du programme « Écoles sur la toundra » des programmes pratiques en ce qui a trait aux ressources écologiques et culturelles au parc national du Canada Wapusk et au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Prince-de-Galles, et aux environs. Le programme « Écoles sur la toundra » est donné au Centre d’études nordiques de Churchill, qui est un partenaire de Parcs Canada.


Churchill Northern Studies Centre

Le Churchill Northern Studies Centre (CNSC) (anglais seulement) est le principal établissement indépendant et sans but lucratif de recherche et d’enseignement sur le Nord au Manitoba. Le CNSC a pour mandat de fournir un soutien logistique à des chercheurs indépendants qui étudient une vaste gamme de sujets d’intérêt liés aux sciences nordiques, et d’agir à titre de centre d’éducation offrant un large éventail de programmes, que ce soient des cours d’intérêt général pour les visiteurs ou des cours universitaires avec crédits pour les étudiants. Parcs Canada et le CNSC collaborent afin de favoriser la recherche et la surveillance ainsi que l’éducation du public, en ce qui a trait aux ressources écologiques et culturelles du parc national Wapusk et des environs, tout cela au profit de la population manitobaine et canadienne.




Explore

Explore (anglais seulement) est un organisme multimédia philanthropique qui réunit et présente un grand éventail de sujets préoccupant le monde entier, dont les droits des animaux, la santé, les services sociaux, la pauvreté, l’environnement, l’éducation et la spiritualité. La collection croissante d’Explore comprend plus de 250 films originaux et de 30 000 photographies provenant des quatre coins du monde qui sont présentés dans des festivals de film et diffusés sur des chaînes publiques et des chaînes de télévision par câble et de nombreux sites et réseaux en ligne, y compris explore.org. Explore est financé par l’Annenberg Foundation.

Explore et Parcs Canada se sont associés pour sensibiliser le public à l’écosystème de la toundra subarctique et côtière et à la faune qui habite dans cette région, en plus de promouvoir la compréhension de ceux-ci au moyen de cybercaméras installées au parc national Wapusk et au lieu historique national du Fort-Prince-de-Galles, à Churchill, au Manitoba. Ces images sont diffusées en direct sur le site Web d’Explore : explore.org.

Conservation et Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba

Conservation et Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba (CGRHM) (anglais seulement), un ministère du gouvernement du Manitoba, s’engage à assurer la prestation de programmes et de services visant la promotion d’un environnement naturel, sain et diversifié pour les générations actuelles et futures. CGRHM souhaite collaborer avec les Premières nations et d’autres communautés autochtones ainsi que bon nombre d’intervenants en vue de répondre aux besoins des Manitobains sur les plans environnemental, social et économique.

Parcs Canada et CGRHM ont signé un protocole d’entente pour favoriser la collaboration dans les régions entourant le parc national de Wapusk et l’aire de gestion de la faune de Churchill. L’entente s’applique également au parc national du Mont-Riding et aux terres provinciales environnantes. Parcs Canada et CGRHM collaboreront de manière à assurer une surveillance écologique plus rigoureuse, une meilleure gestion des ressources et une sensibilisation accrue de la population à l’égard des ressources écologiques et culturelles dans l’intérêt des Manitobains et des Canadiens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez: l’aire de gestion de la faune de Churchill (anglais seulement)


Polar Bears International

Polar Bears International (PBI) (anglais seulement) est le chef de file mondial en matière de conservation des ours polaires et de préservation de leur habitat, la banquise. PBI concentre ses efforts sur la recherche, l’éducation et l’action. PBI effectue, finance, soutient et orchestre de la recherche scientifique qui aidera à garantir la survie des ours polaires. L’organisme est déterminé à informer et à sensibiliser les individus, les collectivités, les dirigeants d’entreprises et les décideurs politiques sur la façon de changer les choses pour l’avenir et la survie des ours polaires.

Parcs Canada et Polar Bears International sont déterminés à œuvrer ensemble pour faire de la recherche et de la surveillance sur les ours polaires et leur habitat dans le parc national Wapusk; à organiser des activités éducatives pour sensibiliser le public canadien et du monde entier sur le parc national Wapusk et l’habitat des ours polaires qui s’y rattache; et à collaborer dans le dossier des activités touristiques autour des ours polaires.