Common menu bar links

Wapusk National Park of Canada

Canoeists travel the Owl River in Wapusk National Park Canoeists travel the Owl River in Wapusk National Park
© Parks Canada

New! Owl River canoe excursions in
Wapusk National Park

You could be one of the first visitors to paddle northern Manitoba’s Owl River thanks to an exciting new offer from Parks Canada in Wapusk National Park! Offered for the first time in 2013, canoe excursions on the Owl River are a great new way for Canadians to experience Manitoba’s northernmost national park.

A group of canoeists camp along the Owl River in Wapusk National Park A group of canoeists camp along the Owl River in Wapusk National Park
© Parks Canada

Offered from June 1 to 30, these canoe excursions are a unique blend of wilderness and history, with the chance to see a diverse array of wildlife; take in breathtaking terrain ranging from forested tundra to the treeless Hudson Bay coast; and view archaeological sites that illustrate the human history in the area.

Spanning approximately 100 kilometres, the route traverses the entire breadth of Wapusk National Park and will take approximately four to seven days, depending on conditions, with canoeists camping as they go.

The trip begins at the Herchemer rail stop, where the rail line crosses the river, approximately 30 kilometres west of the park boundary. As they journey towards the coast, the Owl River’s many swifts and class one and two rapids make it an enjoyable and exciting route. Once canoeists reach Parks Canada’s Owl River fenced camp, just five kilometres inland from the Hudson Bay coast, they can arrange for helicopter pick-up (at their own expense).

Parks Canada’s fenced Owl River camp in Wapusk National Park Parks Canada’s fenced Owl River camp in Wapusk National Park
© Parks Canada

For adults (18 and over), canoeing the Owl River will cost $25 per day, and for students (under 18) with school groups, the cost will be $6 per day. There is also a Northern Park Backcountry Excursion/Camping annual pass available ($150 for adults, $30 for students) which would cover canoeing the Owl River.

Though not required, canoeists have the option of having a Parks Canada interpreter accompany them on their journey to interpret the park and enhance their experience, at a cost of $290 per day.

Visitor safety within Wapusk National Park is Park’s Canada’s top concern, and due to the remote nature of this adventure opportunity, some basic rules and requirements for canoeists have been set. These rules are also in place to ensure that visitors can enjoy this new opportunity without negatively impacting on the park’s ecological integrity.

For more information about canoeing the Owl River, please contact Parks Canada’s Churchill office at 204-675-8863 or wapusk.np@pc.gc.ca .

Parc national du Canada Wapusk

Les gens participent a l’excursion en canot sur la rivière Owl dans le parc national Wapusk Les gens participent a l’excursion en canot sur la rivière Owl dans le parc national Wapusk
© Parcs Canada

Nouveau! Excursions en canot sur la rivière Owl dans le parc national Wapusk

Grâce à une nouvelle activité passionnante offerte par Parcs Canada dans le parc national Wapusk, vous pourriez compter parmi les premiers visiteurs à faire du canot sur la rivière Owl dans le nord du Manitoba! Proposées pour la première fois en 2013, les excursions en canot sur la rivière Owl offrent aux Canadiens une nouvelle façon extraordinaire de visiter le parc national le plus septentrional du Manitoba.

Les gens campent à coté de la rivière Owl dans le parc national Wapusk Les gens campent à coté de la rivière Owl dans le parc national Wapusk
© Parcs Canada

Du 1er au 30 juin, il est possible de participer à des excursions en canot offrant une combinaison exceptionnelle de nature sauvage et d’histoire, ainsi que la possibilité d’observer toutes sortes d’espèces d’animaux sauvages, d’admirer des paysages inouïs allant de la toundra arborée à la côte dépourvue d’arbres de la baie d’Hudson, et de voir des sites archéologiques racontant l’histoire humaine de la région.

S’étendant sur quelque 100 kilomètres, le circuit traverse le parc national Wapusk en largeur et exigera de quatre à sept jours de canotage, selon les conditions. Les canoteurs campent en cours de route.

L’excursion commence à la butée d’aiguille Herchemer, à l’endroit où la voie ferrée traverse la rivière, à environ 30 kilomètres à l’ouest de la limite du parc. Tout au long du trajet vers la côte, les canoteurs ont la chance d’affronter de nombreux rapides de catégorie I et II, ce qui garantit un parcours agréable et captivant. À leur arrivée au camp clôturé de Parcs Canada sur la rivière Owl, situé à cinq kilomètres de la côte de la baie d’Hudson, les canoteurs peuvent prendre des dispositions pour repartir en hélicoptère (à leurs frais).

Le camp clôturé de Parcs Canada sur la rivière Owl dans le parc national Wapusk Le camp clôturé de Parcs Canada sur la rivière Owl dans le parc national Wapusk
© Parcs Canada

L’excursion en canot sur la rivière Owl coûtera 25 $ par jour pour les adultes (18 ans et plus) et 6 $ par jour pour les élèves (moins de 18 ans) faisant partie d’un groupe scolaire. On peut aussi se procurer un laissez-passer annuel d’excursion/de camping dans l’arrière-pays des parcs nationaux du Nord (150 $ pour les adultes, 30 $ pour les élèves), qui comprend l’excursion en canot sur la rivière Owl.

Bien que ce ne soit pas exigé, les canoteurs peuvent retenir les services d’un interprète de Parcs Canada pour interpréter le parc pendant l’excursion et ainsi rehausser leur expérience; le coût est de 290 $ par jour.

La sécurité des visiteurs à l’intérieur du parc national Wapusk représente une préoccupation importante de Parcs Canada. Compte tenu du caractère isolé de cette aventure, certaines règles et exigences ont été établies à l’intention des canoteurs. Ces règles visent aussi à assurer que les visiteurs peuvent tirer parti de cette nouvelle possibilité sans nuire à l’intégrité écologique du parc.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les excursions en canot sur la rivière Owl, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Churchill, au 204-675-8863 ou à wapusk.np@pc.gc.ca .