Common menu bar links

Wapusk National Park of Canada

2013 Polar Bear Webcam!

Webcam image of polar bears at Cape Churchill Webcam image of polar bears at Cape Churchill
© explore.org

It’s Polar Bear Season in northern Manitoba, and you can check out what’s going on right now in Wapusk National Park! Every autumn, large male polar bears gather at Cape Churchill, along the Hudson Bay coast, waiting for the sea ice to form. Polar bears depend on sea ice as a platform from which to hunt ringed seals, their main food source.

Polar Bears International and explore.org have placed a webcam at Cape Churchill, in Wapusk National Park.

Watch a live feed from the Cape Churchill cam, Wapusk National Park on the explore.org website.

Frontiers North Adventures, authorized commercial tour operator in Wapusk National Park, is also working with Polar Bears International and explore.org to offer two additional webcams from the Cape Churchill area. Check them out at Tundra Buggy Cam and Tundra Buggy Lodge.


Parks Canada is excited to work once again with Polar Bears International and explore.org to offer this window on the polar bears in Wapusk National Park. Like Parks Canada, both of these organizations are dedicated to providing authentic learning experiences about wildlife.

Wapusk National Park – The Bear Facts ... 

Large male polar bears gather at Cape Churchill Large male polar bears gather at Cape Churchill
© Parks Canada
  • Most of the polar bears in the Western Hudson Bay population are born in Wapusk NP, which protects one of the world’s largest known concentrations of polar bear maternity dens, where female bears give birth.
  • Cape Churchill is located on the northern coast of Hudson Bay, within the boundaries of Wapusk NP. This Park measures 11,475 square kilometres (about the same size as the island of Jamaica, the country of Belgium or 2 Prince Edward Islands!)
  • Chances are, you will see only large male polar bears on the Cape Churchill webcam. These big males claim this prime coastal area (where sea ice forms the fastest) pushing out the smaller bears (juveniles and mothers with cubs).
  • The male bears, seen in autumn along coastal areas like Cape Churchill, are experiencing what is called “walking hibernation”, as their metabolism slows down to conserve energy. Once they are back on the ice and able to hunt, their metabolic rate will return to normal.
  • While male bears, non-breeding females and juveniles gather along the coast, waiting for the ice, the pregnant females are in the denning areas, approximately 70 km inland, within Wapusk NP. The cubs are born between the end of November and the beginning of December. Mothers and cubs emerge from the dens in February/March to make the trek to Hudson Bay, where the females begin their hunting season.

Learn more: 

Polar Bears International (PBI) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the worldwide conservation of the polar bear and its habitat through research, education, and action. PBI provides scientific resources and information on polar bears and their habitat to institutions and the general public worldwide.

explore.org is a philanthropic media organization and multi-media arm of The Annenberg Foundation, as part of its Pearls of the Planet initiative, a variety of live feeds that aim to help people fall in love with the world again.

Frontiers North Adventures specializes in authentic adventures in Canada's North providing guests with the opportunity to experience the wildlife, history, and culture of the people of the north. Owners and operators of the world-famous Tundra Buggy® Adventures, Frontiers North offers a variety of wildlife-viewing programs, the most popular being polar bears in Churchill.

Parc national du Canada Wapusk

2013 Caméra Web pour observer les ours polaires

Images d’ours polaires transmises par caméra Web au cap Churchill Images d’ours polaires transmises par caméra Web au cap Churchill
© explore.org

La saison des ours polaires dans le Nord du Manitoba est commencée! Vous ouvez observer ce qui en ce moment même au parc national Wapusk! Chaque automne le long de la côte de la baie d’Hudson, de grands ours polaires mâles se regroupent à cap Churchill et attendent que la glace marine se forme. Les ours polaires dépendent des glaces marines qui leur servent de plate-forme pour la chasse au phoque annelé, leur principale source alimentaire.

Les organisations Polar Bears International et explore.org ont installé une caméra Web à cap Churchill, au parc national Wapusk.

Voyez le vidéo des temps forts de la caméra web "Cape Churchill cam, Wapusk National Park" à explore.org  (anglais seulement).

Frontiers North Adventures, entreprise de voyagistes autorisée au parc national Wapusk, a collaboré avec Polar Bears International et explore.org afin d’offrir deux autres caméras Web à partir du cap Churchill. Découvrez le vidéo à Tundra Buggy Cam et à Tundra Buggy Lodge (anglais seulement).


Parcs Canada est heureux de collaborer encore une fois avec Polar Bears International et explore.org pour vous offrir ce regard sur les ours polaires au parc national Wapusk. Comme c’est le cas pour Parcs Canada, ces deux organismes se consacrent à mettre en place des possibilités d’apprentissages authentiques concernant la faune.

Parc national Wapusk – The Bear Facts (Nos amis les ours)

De grands ours polaires mâles se regroupent à cap Churchill De grands ours polaires mâles se regroupent à cap Churchill
© Parcs Canada
  • La plupart des ours polaires de l’Ouest de la baie d’Hudson sont nés dans le parc national Wapusk qui lui, veille à la protection de l’une des plus grandes concentrations d’aires de mise bas d’ours polaires au monde.
  • Cap Churchill est situé sur la côte nord de la baie d’Hudson, dans les limites du parc national Wapusk. Le parc s’étend sur une superficie de 11 475 kilomètres (soit la même superficie que la Jamaïque, la Belgique ou le double de l’Île-du Prince-Édouard!)
  • Il est tout probable que vous ne verrez que des mâles à la caméra de cap Churchill. Les mâles s’imposent dans cette zone côtière de prédilection (étant donné que c’est là où les glaces marines se forment plus rapidement) et repoussent les plus petits (les jeunes et les mères avec oursons).
  • Les ours mâles que l’on voit à l’automne le long des zones côtières comme à cap Churchill, vivent une période « d’hibernation éveillée » pendant que leur métabolisme ralentit pour conserver de l’énergie. Dès qu’ils sont de retour sur la glace, ils sont capables de chasser, et c’est alors que leur métabolisme se normalise.
  • Pendant que les ours mâles, les femelles non reproductrices et les jeunes se regroupent sur la côte et attendent que la glace se forme, les femelles qui portent des petits se trouvent dans des aires de mise bas situées à 70 kilomètres à l’intérieur des terres dans le parc national Wapusk. Les oursons naissent entre la fin novembre et début décembre. Les mères et leurs petits sortent de leur tanière en février ou mars et se rendent à la baie d’Hudson où les femelles entament leur saison de chasse saison.

Apprendre plus :

Polar Bears International (PBI) est un organisme sans but lucratif qui se consacre à la préservation de l’ours polaire et à son habitat dans le monde entier au moyen de la recherche, de l’éducation et de mesures. PBI offre aux établissements et au grand public du monde entier des ressources scientifiques et des renseignements sur l’ours polaire et son habitat.

explore.org, organisation multimédia philanthropique et volet multimédia de l’Annenberg Foundation, participe à l’initiative Pearls of the Planet en présentant différentes diffusions en direct qui ont pour objectif de contribuer à rétablir l’amour des humains pour leur planète.

Frontiers North Adventures se consacre à offrir aux visiteurs des aventures authentiques dans le Nord du Canada ainsi qu’à leur donner l’occasion de découvrir la faune, l’histoire et la culture des peuples du Nord. Propriétaire et exploitant des Tundra Buggy® Adventures de renommée mondiale, Frontiers North offre une variété de programmes d’observation de la faune, dont le plus populaire est celui des ours polaires à Churchill.