Wapusk National Park of Canada

Wapusk National Park Management Board meets at Broad River

David Britton
Acting Superintendent, Wapusk National Park and Manitoba North National Historic Sites

Wapusk News - Volume 4, Number 2, Fall 2011

The Wapusk Management Board meeting at the Broad River Compound The Wapusk Management Board meeting at the Broad River Compound, clockwise from left Darryl Hedman (Province of Manitoba), Karyne Jolicoeur-Funk (Parks Canada), Nancy Spence (Parks Canada), Marlene Bilenduke (Town of Churchill), Sheldon Kowalchuk (Parks Canada), Lorraine Brandson (Town of Churchill), Dave Wotton (Federal Government), Darcy Wastesicoot (York Factory First Nation), David Britton (Parks Canada).
© Murray Gillespie

From August 11th to 13th this year, the Wapusk National Park Management Board met for the first time inside Wapusk National Park (NP). The Management Board was created when the park was established in 1996. Its purpose is to ensure that the communities and government jurisdictions that supported the creation of the park continue to have ongoing input into its management by providing advice to the minister responsible for Parks Canada. The Board is made up of representatives from the Town of Churchill, York Factory First Nation, Fox Lake Cree Nation, the Province of Manitoba and the Federal Government.

The meeting took place at the Parks Canada multi-use fenced compound located on the banks of the Broad River, about six kilometres from the Hudson Bay coast in Wapusk NP. Built in 2010, the compound consists of a cabin and shed with a water/ wastewater facility, surrounded by a protective fence to keep the occupants secure from polar bears. The facility provides park staff and researchers with a safe base of operations while working in the national park. While use of the cabin facilities is reserved for park management purposes, the fenced compound offers new possibilities for safe camping for visitors to Wapusk NP. A similar compound was also built further south in the park, near the mouth of the Owl River.

This was the Board’s first opportunity to see the facilities at Broad River. Having them experience the multi-use compound first-hand was important because of its potential to offer new visitor opportunities and contribute to increased visitation to the park. The Board spent part of the meeting discussing possible future visitor activities such as canoeing, dogsledding and hiking. The Board also discussed the next steps in the process that will lead to the review of the Wapusk NP Management Plan during 2012 and received updates from Parks Canada staff on the research and visitor activities that took place in the park during the 2011 operating season.

While staying at Broad River, the Board was able to experience the land and its wildlife both on foot and by canoe. Highlights for the Board members included two fairly close observations of wolves near the compound, a couple of very distant polar bears and a very enjoyable hike from the compound towards the Hudson Bay coast that included observations of shorebirds and swans, fox and wolf dens and a polar bear day bed.

The Wapusk Management Board

Wapusk National Park is managed by a 10-member board made up of representatives of Canada, Manitoba, the Town of Churchill, York Factory First Nation and Fox Lake Cree Nation. The Board advises the Minister responsible for Parks Canada on the planning, management and operation of the park. The work of the Board reflects the philosophy, expressed in Wapusk’s Park Establishment Agreement, that people are Keepers of the Land.

The Broad River multi-use compound The Broad River multi-use compound
© Parks Canada

Parc national du Canada Wapusk

Le Conseil de gestion du parc national Wapusk se réunit au camp de la rivière Broad

David Britton
Directeur par intérim, Parc national Wapusk et Lieux historiques nationaux du Nord du Manitoba

Échos de Wapusk - Volume 4, Numéro 2, automne 2011

Réunion du Conseil de gestion du PN Wapusk au camp de la rivière Broad Réunion du Conseil de gestion du PN Wapusk au camp de la rivière Broad, dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre à partir de la gauche : Darryl Hedman (province du Manitoba), Karyne Jolicoeur-Funk (Parcs Canada), Nancy Spence (Parcs Canada), Marlene Bilenduke(ville de Churchill), Sheldon Kowalchuk (Parcs Canada), Lorraine Brandson (ville de Churchill), Dave Wotton (gouvernement fédéral), Darcy Wastesicoot (Première nation York Factory), David Britton (Parcs Canada).
© Murray Gillespie

Du 11 au 13 août dernier, le Conseil de gestion du parc national Wapusk s’est réuni pour la première fois à l’intérieur du parc national (PN) Wapusk. Le Conseil de gestion a été créé au moment où le parc a été établi en 1996. Son but est d’assurer que les collectivités et les autorités locales qui ont appuyé la création du parc continuent de collaborer à sa gestion en fournissant des conseils au ministre responsable de Parcs Canada. Le Conseil se compose de représentants de la ville de Churchill, de la Première nation York Factory, de la Nation crie du lac Fox, de la province du Manitoba et du gouvernement fédéral.

La réunion s’est déroulée au camp clôturé de Parcs Canada situé sur les rives de la rivière Broad, à environ six kilomètres de la côte de la baie d’Hudson dans le PN Wapusk. Construit en 2010, le camp comporte une cabane et un refuge avec une installation pour l’eau et les eaux usées, et il est entouré d’une clôture protectrice pour que les occupants soient à l’abri des ours blancs. Ce camp offre aux employés et aux chercheurs du parc une base opérationnelle en lieu sûr pendant qu’ils travaillent dans le parc national. Alors que l’utilisation de la cabane est réservée à la gestion du parc, le camp offre de nouvelles possibilités de camping en toute sécurité aux visiteurs du PN Wapusk. Un camp analogue a été construit plus au sud du parc, à proximité de l’embouchure de la rivière Owl.

C’est la première fois que le Conseil avait l’occasion de découvrir le camp de la rivière Broad. Cette expérience directe du camp clôturé est importante en raison des nouvelles possibilités qui s’offrent aux visiteurs et de sa contribution à la multiplication des visites dans le parc. Le Conseil a passé une partie de la réunion à discuter des futures activités possibles des visiteurs comme le canotage, le traîneaux à chiens et les randonnées pédestres. Le Conseil a également discuté des étapes suivantes du processus qui aboutira à l’examen du Plan de gestion du PN Wapusk au cours de 2012 et a bénéficié de mises à jour de la part des employés de Parcs Canada sur les activités des chercheurs et des visiteurs qui se sont déroulées durant la saison 2011.

Pendant son séjour à Broad River, le Conseil a pu découvrir le paysage et sa faune à pied et en canot. Au nombre des points saillants pour les membres du Conseil, mentionnons deux observations de loups à proximité du complexe, deux ours blancs à une distance plus respectable et une randonnée fort agréable depuis le camp vers la côte de la baie d’Hudson qui leur a permis d’observer des oiseaux de rivage ainsi que des cygnes, des tanières de renard et de loup et le lit d’un ours blanc.

Conseil de gestion de Wapusk

Le parc national Wapusk est géré par un conseil de gestion composé de 10 membres représentant le Canada, le Manitoba, la ville de Churchill, la Première nation de York Factory et la Nation des Cris de Fox Lake. Le Conseil donne des avis au ministre responsable  de Parcs Canada sur la planification, la gestion et le fonctionnement du parc. Le travail du Conseil traduit la philosophie, exprimée dans l’entente relative à l’établissement du parc national Wapusk, selon laquelle les humains sont les gardiens de la terre.

Camp de la rivière Broad Camp de la rivière Broad
© Parcs Canada