Common menu bar links

Wapusk National Park of Canada

Parks Canada Plans Public Consultation on the Use of Firearms in Northern National Parks

Sheldon Kowalchuk
Resource Conservation Manager
Wapusk National Park & Manitoba North National Historic Sites

Parks Canada is proposing amendments to the National Parks Wildlife Regulations to allow certain categories of park users to carry and use firearms for self-protection and the protection of others from bears in the Northern National Parks and Northern National Park Reserves. In order to solicit feedback from interested parties who may be affected or have an interest in these regulations, Parks Canada will be consulting with people across Canada on the National Parks Wildlife Regulations during the summer and fall of 2010.

Parks Canada has established criteria for obtaining a firearms permit if you are member of a designated group (e.g. person holding a guiding license, researcher, bear monitor, member of a Canadian Forces sovereignty operation) to allow a firearm to be used for protection from bears. Other topics that will be covered during consultation include Parks Canada’s commitment to land claim agreements, impact benefit agreements or, in the case of Wapusk NP, the Park Establishment Agreement.

Information on how and where you can obtain more information and provide feedback on the National Parks Wildlife Regulations will be forthcoming. For more information, please contact Wapusk National Park at wapusk.np@pc.gc.ca or call 204-675-8863.

Parks Canada Staff bear monitoring at Prince of Wales Fort
Staff member Kevin Burke, bear monitoring at Prince of Wales Fort
© Parks Canada

Parc national du Canada Wapusk

Parcs Canada prépare des consultations publiques sur l’utilisation d’armes à feu dans les parcs nationaux du Nord

Sheldon Kowalchuk
Gestionnaire, Conservation des ressources
Parc national Wapusk et lieux historiques nationaux du Nord du Manitoba

Parcs Canada propose des modifications au Règlement sur la faune des parcs nationaux du Canada afin de permettre à certains utilisateurs du parc de porter et d’utiliser des armes à feu pour se protéger et protéger les autres des ours se trouvant dans les parcs nationaux et les réserves de parc national du Nord. Pour recueillir des commentaires des parties concernées, Parcs Canada procèdera à des consultations auprès du public dans tout le pays, au cours de l’été et de l’automne 2010.

Parcs Canada a établi des critères pour l’obtention d’un permis d’armes à feu visant les membres d’un groupe particulier (p. ex. titulaire d’une licence de pourvoirie, chercheur, surveillant des ours, membre des opérations de souveraineté des Forces canadiennes) afin d’autoriser l’utilisation d’armes à feu pour se protéger des ours. Lors des consultations, les autres sujets de discussion seront l’engagement de Parcs Canada par rapport aux ententes relatives aux revendications territoriales, aux ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages ou, dans le cas du parc national Wapusk, à l’entente sur la création du parc.

On communiquera prochainement de l’information au public pour expliquer comment s’informer sur le Règlement sur la faune des parcs nationaux du Canada et faire parvenir ses commentaires. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le parc national Wapusk, wapusk.np@pc.gc.ca ou composer le 204-675-8863. 

Kevin Burke, membre du personnel, faisant la surveillance d’ours polaires à FPG Kevin Burke, membre du personnel, faisant la surveillance d’ours polaires à FPG
© Parcs Canada