Common menu bar links

Riding Mountain National Park

Weather

The climate of Riding Mountain National Park is characteristic of the continental climate of the Canadian prairies. The summers are warm due to prevailing air masses from the south and southwest. Winters are characterized by cold fronts moving from the north and northwest. Turbulence generated by the Manitoba Escarpment, combined with the abundance of lakes and other wetlands, contributes to increased convective cloud and shower activity in the warmer months.

The warmest months are July and August respectively. Mean daily temperatures peak in July at 15.6°C (60°F). The corresponding mean daily maximum and minimum temperatures for July are 8.3 and 23.9°C (47 and 75°F). Therefore, although daytime temperatures may be hot, evenings generally are quite cool. January is the coldest month in the year with a mean daily temperature of -20.6°C (-6°F). Mean daily maximum and minimum temperatures for January are -13.8 and -27.3°C (7 and -17°F).

Riding Mountain National Park at Wasagaming has an average growing season of 72 days. Considerable variability in growing seasons may occur in the park from one year to the next.

Mean annual total precipitation is 47.6 cm (18.75 inches). Summer rainstorms are usually of short duration with relatively high storm precipitation levels. Thunderstorms are common. In winter, snowfalls tend to be of longer duration, greater frequency and lower storm precipitation totals than summer rainstorms. Rainfall may occur during winter months. Most rainfall occurs in June, July and August respectively. Most snowfall occurs in December and March.

In southern Manitoba and southeastern Saskatchewan there are two prevailing wind directions, northwest and southeast. Wasagaming shows a similar trend, but with lighter winds than those occurring in rural areas around the park. This is a result of the higher frictional effects of the rolling topography and the influence of the forest cover. In general, the park has considerable variation in mean wind speeds from month to month and from one direction to another. In December, January and February mean wind speeds are lightest. In these months, however, occasional high winds may be recorded making travel of any kind very hazardous.

Humid days are not as frequent in Riding Mountain National Park as they are on the prairies. Some park visitors, however, will find the weather too hot and humid for at least 10 percent of the time during the month of July.

Local Forecasts

Weather forecast for Wasagaming

Forecasts are available for the following areas around the park:

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Météo

Le climat du parc national du Mont-Riding est typique du climat continental des Prairies canadiennes. Les étés sont chauds en raison des masses d'air dominantes du sud et du sud-ouest. Les hivers se caractérisent par le passage de fronts froids, en provenance du nord ou du nord-ouest. La turbulence provoquée par l'escarpement du Manitoba, accentuée par l'abondance de lacs et de régions humides, contribue à la formation de nuages de convection et favorise le temps pluvieux en été.

Les mois les plus chauds sont juillet et août respectivement. C'est en juillet que les températures quotidiennes moyennes atteignent leur sommet, à 15,6 °C (60 °F). Les températures minimales et maximales pour juillet sont, en moyenne, de 8,3 et de 23,9 °C (47 et 75 °F). Ainsi, même s'il fait chaud le jour, le temps est généralement plutôt frais en soirée. Janvier est le mois le plus froid de l'année : la température quotidienne moyenne est de - 20,6 °C (-6°F), tandis que les températures maximales et minimales pour ce mois sont en moyenne de -13,8 et -27,3 °C (7 et -17°F).

Dans le parc national du Mont-Riding, à Wasagaming, la saison de croissance est en moyenne de 72 jours. D'une année à l'autre, la durée de cette période peut varier grandement.

En moyenne, les précipitations annuelles totalisent 47,6 cm (18,75 po). En été, les pluies d'orage sont habituellement de courte durée et entraînent des précipitations relativement importantes. Les orages sont courants. L'hiver, la durée et la fréquence des chutes de neige sont habituellement plus marquées que dans le cas des pluies estivales, mais les précipitations sont moins abondantes. Il peut y avoir de la pluie pendant les mois d'hiver. Les précipitations sous forme de pluie sont les plus abondantes en juin, en juillet et en août, respectivement. La plupart de la neige tombe en décembre et en mars.

Dans le sud du Manitoba et dans le sud-est de la Saskatchewan, les vents dominants sont du nord-ouest et du sud-est. On observe la même tendance à Wasagaming, mais les vents sont plus légers que ceux soufflant dans les régions rurales entourant le parc. Ce phénomène est attribuable à l'effet de friction provoqué par le relief vallonné ainsi qu'à la présence des forêts. En général, dans le parc, la vitesse moyenne des vents varie considérablement d'un mois à l'autre, et selon la direction dans laquelle ils soufflent. C'est en décembre, en janvier et en février que la vitesse moyenne des vents est la plus faible. Au cours de ces mois, toutefois, on peut parfois enregistrer des vents violents qui peuvent rendre les déplacements très dangereux.

Les journées orageuses ne sont pas aussi fréquentes dans le parc national du Mont-Riding que dans les prairies. Toutefois, en juillet, certains visiteurs du parc trouveront le temps trop chaud et humide pendant au moins dix pour cent du temps.

Prévisions locales

Prévisions météo pour Wasagaming.

On peut obtenir les prévisions pour les régions suivantes: