Common menu bar links

Riding Mountain National Park

Kilometer 49 Information Page


Paving set to begin at Km 49 on Highway #10 through Riding Mountain National Park

Paving 
Paving of the Km 49
© Parks Canada

Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba, October 16, 2012 – Paving of the Km 49 realignment site is set to begin on Wednesday, October 17, 2012 (weather dependent). EF Moon Construction has subcontracted Nelson River Construction to complete the paving of approximately one kilometer of Highway #10 in Riding Mountain National Park (RMNP).

In May 2012, funding was announced to assist RMNP in repairing infrastructure damaged by the flooding in 2011. As announced, a portion of these funds were used on the realignment project at Km 49 on Highway #10 through RMNP as that section of the highway has suffered considerable slumping over the years. The realignment project at Km 49 began on July 25, 2012 and after three months is nearly complete.

A large number of construction vehicles will be working in the construction zone, so motorists travelling through RMNP are to watch for and obey all posted warnings, speed limits, flag workers and pilot vehicles. Traffic may be reduced to one lane and be required to use a temporary by-pass lane.

  

Extensive survey on Highway #10 through Riding Mountain National Park

Falling Weight Deflectometer
Falling Weight Deflectometer
© Parks Canada

Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba, September 25, 2012 – With the realignment project at Km 49 on Highway #10 in full swing, Riding Mountain National Park (RMNP) is takin g a pro-active approach regarding possible repairs to the remaining portion of the highway in the future.

RMNP has recently contracted MDH Engineered Solutions Corp. (a wholly owned subsidiary of SNC Lavalin) and Applied Research Associates, Inc. to conduct an extensive survey of the structural capacity and uniformity of the existing pavement and underlying subgrade of approximately 54 km of Highway #10 through the park. The survey will include an intensive review of the park’s construction and maintenance records of the highway, a visual pavement condition survey, Falling Weight Deflectometer (FWD) testing, and coring investigation.

The coring locations with be selected to coincide with the location of the FWD testing and to target high stress areas identified during the visual condition survey and will be at approximately 500 m intervals on Highway #10. The core samples will extend through the asphalt, base/subbase layers and into the natural subgrade. The information obtained from the coring investigation will be used in conjunction with the existing pavement reports and the FWD testing to provide an overall indication of the structure characteristics of the existing pavement which will be crucial in forecasting what will need to be done in regards to future repairs to Highway #10.

FWD testing will take place from September 27 – September 29, while core sampling will be taking place October 22 – October 26. All work will be done during daylight hours. SNC Lavalin will provide all traffic and safety control throughout the highway survey to protect workers and ensure public safety is maintained. Traffic may be reduced to one lane during the coring investigation and motorists travelling through RMNP are to watch for and obey all posted warnings, speed limits, flag workers and pilot vehicles in the survey zone.

Temporary speed limit change in the southern section of the Km 49 construction zone on Highway #10

Looking south September 4 Looking south September 4
© Parks Canada

Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba, September 5, 2012 – Due to the limited use of the Hilton Trail Head disposal site at the present time, the speed limit in the southern section of the Km 49 construction zone will be changed from 60km/hr to 80km/hr for the foreseeable future.

The area between the Hilton Trail Head and the Agassiz Tower parking lot will be an 80km/hr enforced speed zone until use of the Hilton Trail Head disposal area is required again. The construction zone from the Agassiz Tower parking lot to the northern construction border at Crawford Creek Trail Head will remain 60km/hr and flag personnel will continue to direct traffic in that section of the construction zone.

Once the Hilton Trail Head disposal site is required again the public will be notified of any changes to the speed limit in the affected area. Motorists travelling through RMNP are to watch for and obey all posted warnings, speed limits, flag workers and pilot vehicles in the construction zone.

Portage La Prairie’s EF Moon awarded the construction contract at Km 49

Looking down the centre line Looking down the centre line
© Parks Canada

Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba, July 31, 2012 – July 25, 2012, was day one of a three month project at Km 49 for the construction company EF Moon as their subcontractor began removing trees at the site of a new 800 metre stretch of highway through Riding Mountain National Park. After some initial delays the tree removal should be completed before the end of the week and a small EF Moon crew has begun work at the areas already cleared with the full crew to arrive at the site once the tree removal is complete.

“I am very pleased that the construction has begun,” said Robert Sopuck, Member of Parliament for Dauphin-Swan River-Marquette. “This important measure will enhance the safety of the driving public and visitors to Riding Mountain National Park.”

EF Moon, a second generation, family run construction company from Portage La Prairie, Manitoba was the successful bidder on a project involving the realignment of Km 49 on Highway #10 through RMNP. Founded in 1962 they are celebrating 50 years in the industry. The company’s headquarters are in Portage La Prairie however they have completed a number of projects throughout southern Manitoba including the Brandon Dyke Project, Whiteshell Laboratories – (AECL) Pinawa, and the Transcona Walking Path in Winnipeg to name a few. Their mission statement is simple, “To create a positive work environment for all employees and to provide high quality, professional heavy construction services safely and efficiently to all our customers; no matter how big or small.” They plan to bring this ethic with them as they embark on the project at Km 49.

Once the tree removal is complete and construction begins the full crew of 15 – 20 workers will be working from 7:00am – 7:00pm daily provided the weather cooperates. “Most of the workers will be our own staff and we will also be trying to fill some spots with area residents. Our Sub-Contractors on site will be Kulish Logging (Dauphin) for the clearing of trees, Nelson River Const. (Winnipeg) for the milling and recycling of the existing asphalt and placing of the new asphalt and Alternative Landscaping (Brandon and Onanole) will be doing our erosion control,” explains Todd Turner, EF Moon General Manager. The staff from EF Moon will be staying in Dauphin for the duration of the project which will be a welcome boost to the local economy of the city of just over 8,000 residents.

EF Moon has already begun to mobilize its’ fleet to the construction site holding area. “In all there will be around 15 pieces of equipment on the site but that number will most likely change from day to day as the scope of work changes,” according to Turner. After some initial delays the workers at Moon are excited to see the tree removal begin and are ready to get to work.

The construction zone extends 12km south on Highway #10 from the north park boundary to Hilton Trail Head. With construction expected to last until early October, motorists are to watch for and obey all posted warnings, speed limits, flag workers and pilot vehicles. Traffic in this area will also be affected in both directions and travelers should be prepared to expect delays.

Construction set to begin at Km 49 on Highway #10

View north from construction start point September 4 (Construction commence) View north from construction start point September 4 (Construction commence)
© Parks Canada

Riding Mountain National Park (RMNP), Manitoba, July 3, 2012 – In May 2012, funding was announced to assist Riding Mountain National Park in repairing infrastructure damaged by the flooding in 2011. As announced, a portion of these funds will be used on the realignment project at Km 49 on Highway #10 through Riding Mountain National Park. Construction is set to begin shortly.

The construction company EF Moon from Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, plans to mobilize part of the construction fleet this week in order to be ready for next week’s construction start date. Once work commences, the construction zone will extend 12 kilometres south on Highway #10 from the north park boundary to Hilton Trail Head. Every precaution will be taken to ensure traveller safety and limit inconvenience, however visitors travelling on Highway #10 should expect some travel delays in the area of construction.

Over the course of the past month, the construction area has seen lots of behind the scenes activity. In accordance with the Parks mandate to “protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage”, a number of surveys were completed to identify any species at risk or artifacts of historical or cultural significance in the construction area. During May and June, site visits and surveys were conducted by both archaeologists and biologists. The biological survey findings resulted in ruling out the use of one area for placing construction material as it was found to have golden wing warblers, a species at risk. An additional nest sweep of the remainder of the construction zone will be completed before construction begins next week. In addition, throughout the construction process steps will be taken to minimize impacts to the environment, and the site will be closely monitored by park staff to ensure these steps are being followed.

The realignment of Km 49 is the first step in Parks Canada’s commitment in mitigating the condition of Highway #10. Riding Mountain National Park recognizes the importance of highway as a major thoroughfare and a vital link to many communities surrounding the park and plans to explore options for future projects aiming at improving the remaining sections of the highway. The original construction of the highway has seen a number of modifications over the years. The most recent major modifications occurred in the late 70s and early 80s with the intention of creating a scenic parkway for visitors to enjoy, however the highway was not designed to accommodate heavy truck traffic. In addition, both the size and the number of vehicles on the highway have increased dramatically with the closure of the railroad and the centralization of various suppliers and manufacturers, only adding to the deterioration of the highway.

With a number of trailheads, popular destinations like Cairns Cabin, and beautiful campgrounds such as Moon Lake spurring off Highway #10, it has been an integral component of visitor experience in Riding Mountain National Park for decades. Park staff are striving to find ways to upgrade this crucial artery running through the heart of the park, and while this work proceeds, they continue to maintain this important highway.

Parks Canada works to ensure that Canada’s historic and natural heritage is presented and protected for the enjoyment, education and appreciation of all Canadians, today and in the future.

Government of Canada Funding Addresses 2011 Flood Damage at Riding Mountain National Park

Special Funding Supports Repairs to Infrastructure and Roadways

Slumping at Km 49 Slumping at Km 49
© Parks Canada

Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba, May 22, 2012 – On behalf of the Honourable Peter Kent, Canada’s Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, Mr. Robert Sopuck, Member of Parliament for Dauphin-Swan River – Marquette, today announced special funding to help repair some of the damage done by the devastating flood in 2011 in Riding Mountain National Park.

“Even at its elevation, Riding Mountain National Park was not immune to flooding in 2011 and experienced the worst flooding it has seen in over 35 years,” said Mr. Sopuck. “Thanks to this funding, we will be able to restore some of the infrastructure damaged and improve safety and enhance the visitor experience.”

The Government of Canada has committed a total of $5.7 million in flood funding to assist in repairing damaged infrastructure throughout the park. Approximately $1.4 million was designated for the 2011/2012 operating year and has been spent addressing roadway, trail and culvert damage due to the flood. An additional $4.3 million has been provided in 2012/2013 for a number of projects throughout the Park. Included in this work will be the realignment of km 49 on Highway #10 running through the park.

This section of highway experienced severe erosion and cracking, which caused a 200 metre section of pavement to drop by almost 350 millimetres (13.5 inches). With the geotechnical investigations complete, the engineering and design are currently underway and construction is expected to begin this summer.

“Continued improvement of national park infrastructure is vital for both the safety and enjoyment of our visitors,” said Minister Kent. “Riding Mountain National Park is a sterling example of this Government’s continued commitment to provide visitors an opportunity to explore and discover the cultural, historical, and ecological diversity of this incredible national park.”

Parks Canada works to ensure that Canada’s historic and natural heritage is presented and protected for the enjoyment, education and appreciation of all Canadians, today and in the future. Through a network of 43 national parks, 167 national historic sites, and four national marine conservation areas, Parks Canada invites Canadians, and people from around the world, to experience Canada’s treasured natural and historic places.


 

For additional information, please see the accompanying backgrounder at www.parkscanada.gc.ca under Media Room.

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Communiqué: kilomètre 49 de la route no 10


Le pavage commencera bientôt au km 49 de la route 10 dans le parc national du Mont-Riding

Paving
Le pavage commencera bientôt au km 49
© Parcs Canada

Parc national du Mont-Riding, Manitoba, le 16 octobre 2012 – Les travaux de pavage du site de retraçage du km 49 devraient être amorcés le mercredi 17 octobre 2012 (si le temps le permet). L’entreprise EF Moon Construction a retenu le sous-traitant Nelson River Construction pour le pavage d’environ un kilomètre de la route 10 dans le parc national du Mont-Riding (PNMR).

En mai 2012, l’octroi d’une aide financière a été annoncé afin de réparer les infrastructures endommagées par les inondations de 2011 au PNMR. Tel qu’il a été annoncé, une partie de ces fonds a été utilisé pour le projet de retraçage du kilomètre 49 de la route 10 dans le PNMR, étant donné que cette partie de la route s’est affaissée considérable au fil du temps. Le projet de retraçage du km 49 a été amorcé le 25 juillet 2012 et, trois mois plus tard, il est presque terminé.

Il y aura un grand nombre de véhicules de construction dans la zone de construction, alors on demande aux automobilistes voyageant dans le PNMR d’être attentifs à tous les panneaux d’avertissement et de limite de vitesse ainsi qu’aux signaleurs et aux véhicules d’escorte. La circulation pourrait être réduite à une voie et les automobilistes pourraient devoir utiliser une voie d’évitement temporaire.

Étude d’envergure sur la route 10 dans le parc national du Mont-Riding

Déflectomètre à la masse tombante Déflectomètre à la masse tombante
© Parcs Canada

Parc national du Mont-Riding, Manitoba, le 25 septembre 2012 – Le projet de retraçage du kilomètre 49 de la route 10 bat son plein, et les responsables du parc national du Mont-Riding (PNMR) ont adopté une approche proactive concernant des réparations possibles à la partie restante de la route.

Le PNMR a récemment conclu un contrat avec MDH Engineered Solutions Corp. (filiale en propriété exclusive de SNC Lavalin) et Applied Research Associates, Inc. afin d’effectuer une étude d’envergure de la capacité structurelle et de l’uniformité du revêtement existant et de la plate-forme sous-jacente sur environ 54 km de la route 10 dans le parc. L’étude comprendra un examen approfondi des documents du parc liés à la construction et à l’entretien de la route, un examen visuel de l’état du revêtement de chaussée, des essais à l’aide d’un déflectomètre à la masse tombante (DMT), et une enquête de carottage.

Les sites de carottage seront sélectionnés pour correspondre aux sites d’essais à l’aide d’un DMT afin de cibler des zones soumises à de fortes contraintes déterminées lors de l’examen visuel à intervalles d’environ 500 m sur la route 10. Les échantillons de carotte iront de l’asphalte à la plate-forme naturelle, en passant par les couches de base et de fondation. Les renseignements obtenus du carottage seront utilisés conjointement avec les rapports sur le revêtement existant et les essais à l’aide d’un DMT pour fournir une indication globale des caractéristiques de la structure de ce revêtement, ce qui sera crucial pour prévoir les réparations futures de la route 10.

DMT seront en cours du 27 Septembre au 29 Septembre, et les prélèvements d’échantillons seront en cours du 22 au 26 Octobre. Tous les travaux se dérouleront pendant le jour. SNC Lavalin s’occupera du contrôle de la circulation et de la sécurité au cours de l’étude afin de protéger les travailleurs et de maintenir la sécurité du public. La circulation pourrait être réduite à une voie pendant l’enquête de carottage et on demande aux automobilistes voyageant dans le PNMR d’être attentifs à tous les panneaux d’avertissement et de limite de vitesse dans la zone de l’étude ainsi qu’aux signaleurs et aux véhicules d’escorte.

Nouvelle limite de vitesse temporaire dans la section sud du chantier de construction du km 49 – Route 10 du parc national du Mont-Riding

Looking south September 4 Vue vers le sud, le 4 septembre
© Parcs Canada

Parc national du Mont-Riding (Manitoba), 4 septembre 2012 – Comme le site d’immersion du point de départ du sentier Hilton est peu utilisé à l’heure actuelle, la limite de vitesse dans la section sud du chantier de construction du km 49 passera temporairement de 60 km/h à 80 km/h.

Dans le secteur situé entre le point de départ du sentier Hilton et le terrain de stationnement de la tour Agassiz, la vitesse sera limitée à 80 km/h jusqu’à ce que l’on recommence à utiliser régulièrement le site d’immersion situé à cet endroit. Dans le chantier de construction situé entre le terrain de stationnement de la tour Agassiz et la frontière nord, au point de départ du sentier du ruisseau Crawford, la limite de vitesse sera maintenue à 60 km/h, et des signaleurs continueront de diriger la circulation dans ce secteur du chantier de construction.

Lorsqu’on recommencera à utiliser le site d’immersion du point de départ du sentier Hilton, la population sera avisée de tout changement à la limite de vitesse dans le secteur touché. Les automobilistes qui circulent dans le PNMR sont priés de respecter tous les panneaux de signalisation, les limites de vitesse et les consignes des signaleurs et des véhicules d’escorte dans le secteur des travaux routiers.

L’entreprise EF Moon de Portage la Prairie se voit décerner le contrat de construction au km 49 du parc national du Mont-Riding

Looking down the centre line Visant la ligne centrale
© Parcs Canada

Parc national du Mont-Riding (Manitoba), 31 juillet 2012 – Le 25 juillet 2012 a marqué le début d’un contrat de construction de trois mois au km 49 qui a été octroyé à l’entreprise EF Moon. Le sous-traitant de l’entreprise a commencé à enlever les arbres du nouveau segment routier de 800 mètres qui traversera le parc national du Mont-Riding (PNMR). Après quelques retards, les travaux d’enlèvement d’arbres devraient être terminés avant la fin de la semaine. Une petite équipe d’EF Moon a entrepris des travaux dans le secteur qui a déjà été dégagé. L’équipe au complet se mettra à la tâche une fois que tous les arbres auront été enlevés.

« Je suis très heureux de constater que les travaux de construction ont commencé », a déclaré Robert Sopuck, député fédéral de Dauphin-Swan River-Marquette. « Ce projet important permettra d’accroître la sécurité des automobilistes et des visiteurs à l’intérieur du parc national du Mont-Riding. »

EF Moon, une entreprise de construction de Portage la Prairie, au Manitoba, qui appartient à la même famille depuis deux générations, a décroché le contrat de réalignement du km 49 sur la route no 10 qui traverse le PNMR. Fondée en 1962, l’entreprise fête cette année ses 50 ans dans l’industrie. Bien que le siège social d’EF Moon se trouve à Portage la Prairie, cette entreprise a réalisé des projets dans le sud du Manitoba, notamment la digue de Brandon, les laboratoires Whiteshell d’EACL situés à Pinawa et le sentier pédestre Transcona de Winnipeg. L’énoncé de mission de l’entreprise est simple : « Créer un milieu de travail positif pour tous les employés et fournir de façon sécuritaire et efficiente des services de construction lourde professionnels et de grande qualité à tous nos clients, grands et petits. » C’est imprégnée de cet esprit d’éthique que l’entreprise EF Moon réalisera les travaux qui lui ont été confiés au km 49.

Une fois les arbres enlevés, l’équipe complète, composée de 15 à 20 travailleurs, entreprendra les travaux de construction et sera à pied d’œuvre de 7 h à 19 h tous les jours, si les conditions météo le permettent. « La plupart des travailleurs seront des membres de notre effectif, mais nous tenterons également de combler quelques postes en faisant appel à des résidants du secteur. Nos sous-traitants sur place seront Kulish Logging (Dauphin), pour l’enlèvement des arbres, Nelson River Const. (Winnipeg), pour le broyage et le recyclage de l’asphalte existant et la pose du nouveau revêtement, ainsi qu’Alternative Landscaping (Brandon et Onanole), pour la lutte contre l’érosion », a expliqué Todd Turner, directeur général d’EF Moon. Les employés d’EF Moon seront hébergés à Dauphin pendant la durée du projet et contribueront ainsi à revitaliser l’économie de cette ville d’un peu plus de 8 000 habitants.

EF Moon a déjà commencé à envoyer son équipement sur le chantier de construction. « En tout, il y aura une quinzaine de pièces d’équipement sur place, mais ce chiffre changera d’une journée à l’autre, selon l’évolution des travaux », a ajouté M. Turner. Après quelques retards, les travailleurs d’EF Moon sont très heureux de constater que les travaux d’enlèvement des arbres ont commencé et sont prêts à se mettre à la tâche.

Le secteur des travaux s’étend sur 12 km en direction sud, sur la route no 10, à partir de la frontière nord du parc jusqu’au point de départ du sentier Hilton. Pendant les travaux de construction, qui devraient prendre fin au début du mois d’octobre, les automobilistes sont priés de respecter tous les panneaux de signalisation, les limites de vitesse et les consignes de signaleurs et des véhicules d’escorte. Les travaux dans ce secteur devraient avoir une incidence sur la circulation dans les deux sens, et les automobilistes doivent s’attendre à certains délais.

La construction commencera bientôt au km 49 de la route 10 dans le parc national du Mont-Riding

View north from construction start point September 4 (Construction commence) Vue vers le nord, de la limite de la zone de construction, le 4 septembre
© Parcs Canada

Parc national du Mont-Riding (PNMR), Manitoba, le 3 juillet 2012 – En mai 2012, l’octroi d’une aide financière a été annoncé afin de réparer les infrastructures endommagées par les inondations de 2011 au parc national du Mont-Riding. Tel qu’il a été annoncé, une partie de ces fonds sera utilisée pour le projet de retraçage du kilomètre 49 de la route 10 dans le parc national du Mont-Riding. On amorcera bientôt les travaux de construction.

L’entreprise de construction EF Moon de Portage la Prairie, au Manitoba, prévoit mobiliser une partie du parc de véhicules de construction cette semaine afin d’être prête pour la date de début des travaux de construction la semaine prochaine. Une fois les travaux amorcés, la zone de construction s’étendra sur 12 kilomètres vers le sud de la route 10, de la limite nord du parc au début du sentier Hilton. Toutes les précautions seront prises pour assurer la sécurité des voyageurs et minimiser les inconvénients, mais les visiteurs empruntant la route 10 doivent s’attendre à des ralentissements dans la zone de construction.

Au cours du dernier mois, il y a eu beaucoup d’activité dans les coulisses de la zone de construction. Conformément au mandat de Parcs Canada, qui est de « protéger et de mettre en valeur des exemples d’importance nationale du patrimoine naturel et culturel du pays », un certain nombre de relevés ont été effectués dans la zone de construction afin de déterminer s’il s’y trouvait des espèces en péril ou des artéfacts d’importance historique ou culturelle. En mai et en juin, des archéologues et des biologistes ont effectué des visites et des relevés du site. Les résultats des relevés biologiques ont entrainé le rejet d’une zone pour l’entreposage du matériel de construction, car on y trouvait des parulines à ailes dorées, une espèce en péril. On explorera de nouveau le reste de la zone de construction afin de repérer des nids avant que la construction soit amorcée la semaine prochaine. De plus, au cours du processus de construction, on prendra des mesures pour minimiser les répercussions sur l’environnement et le personnel de Parcs Canada surveillera le site de près pour s’assurer que ces mesures sont suivies.

Le retraçage du kilomètre 49 est la première étape de l’engagement de Parcs Canada à améliorer l’état de la route 10. Le parc national du Mont-Riding reconnaît l’importance de la route qui est une voie importante et un lien essentiel entre les nombreuses collectivités entourant le parc et il prévoit explorer des options visant à améliorer les sections restantes de la route. La construction originale de la route a subi de nombreuses modifications au fil du temps. Les modifications majeures les plus récentes ont été apportées à la fin des années 1970 et au début des années 1980 avec l’intention de créer une route panoramique pour le plaisir des visiteurs, mais la route n’était pas conçue pour accueillir le trafic des camions lourds. De plus, la taille et le nombre des véhicules sur la route ont augmenté considérablement en raison de la fermeture du chemin de fer et de la centralisation de divers fournisseurs et fabricants, ce qui ne fait qu’empirer la détérioration de la route.

Étant donné qu’un grand nombre de débuts de sentier, de destinations populaires comme la cabane Cairns et de magnifiques terrains de camping comme celui du lac Moon sont accessibles à partir de la route 10, elle fait partie intégrante de l’expérience du visiteur au parc national du Mont-Riding depuis des décennies. Le personnel du parc s’efforce de trouver des moyens d’améliorer cette artère cruciale qui traverse le cœur du parc, et pendant qu’on effectue ces travaux, il continue à entretenir cette route importante.

Parcs Canada a pour mandat d’assurer à jamais la mise en valeur et la protection du patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada dans l’intérêt de toute la population canadienne, tant pour son agrément que pour l’enrichissement de ses connaissances.

Le gouvernement du Canada finance les réparations de dommages causés par l’inondation de 2011 au parc national du Mont-Riding

Ce financement spécial appuie la restauration des infrastructures et des routes

Slumping at Km 49 Affaissement au kilomètre 49
© Parcs Canada

Parc national du Mont-Riding (Manitoba) le 22 mai 2012 – Au nom de l’honorable Peter Kent, ministre canadien de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, M. Robert Sopuck, député de Dauphin-Swan River – Marquette, a annoncé aujourd’hui l’octroi d’un financement pour aider à réparer certains des dommages causés par l’inondation dévastatrice au parc national du Mont-Riding en 2011.

« Malgré son élévation, le parc national du Mont-Riding n’était pas immunisé contre l’inondation en 2011 et a subi la pire inondation depuis plus de 35 ans, a indiqué M. Sopuck. Grâce à ce financement, nous pourrons restaurer certaines des infrastructures qui ont été endommagées et améliorer la sécurité, ainsi que l’expérience des visiteurs. »

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à verser 5,7 millions de dollars pour réparer les infrastructures du parc qui ont été endommagées par l’inondation. Environ 1,4 million de dollars ont été engagés pendant l’exercice 2011-2012, et dépensés pour réparer des dommages aux infrastructures, aux sentieers et aux ponceaux causés par l’inondation. Des fonds supplémentaires de 4,3 millions de dollars ont été alloués à de nombreux projets dans le parc en 2012-2013.

Ces travaux comprendront le retraçage du kilomètre 49 de la route no 10, qui traverse le parc. Cette partie de la route a été durement touchée par l’érosion et des fissures, qui ont entraîné un affaissement de près de 350 millimètres (13,5 pouces) d’un tronçon de 200 mètres de la chaussée. Les études géotechniques terminées, on a amorcé les travaux d’ingénierie et de conception, et on devrait commencer la construction à l’été. « L’amélioration continue des infrastructures de parcs nationaux est essentielle pour la sécurité et le plaisir de nos visiteurs, a déclaré le ministre Kent. Le parc national du Mont-Riding est un excellent exemple de l’engagement du gouvernement à continuer de donner aux visiteurs l’occasion d’explorer et de découvrir la diversité culturelle, historique et écologique de ce parc national incroyable. »

Parcs Canada a pour mandat d'assurer à jamais la mise en valeur et la protection du patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada dans l'intérêt de toute la population canadienne, tant pour son agrément que pour l'enrichissement de ses connaissances. Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens ainsi que les visiteurs du monde entier à profiter de son réseau de 43 parcs nationaux, de 167 lieux historiques nationaux et de quatre aires marines nationales de conservation pour découvrir les sites naturels et historiques exceptionnels du pays.


Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information connexe au site www.parcscanada.gc.ca sous Salle des médias.