Common menu bar links

Proposed Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan Amendment
for Mount Agassiz

Draft Management Plan Amendment

Introduction to the Draft Amended Management Plan

2012

The current management plan for Riding Mountain National Park of Canada and Riding Mountain Park East Gate Registration Complex National Historic Site of Canada was approved in 2007. In accordance with the Canada National Parks Act which requires plans to be reviewed every five years, this management plan has been reviewed and is proposed for amendment. The amendment would enable proposals to be considered for the redevelopment of a ski hill operation at the Mount Agassiz Ski Area.

All sections of the 2007 management plan would remain in force with the exception of two parts. The first part is an amendment to Section 7.9 - Mt. Agassiz Ski Area. This section would be replaced in its entirety with:

Strategic Goal
Continue to foster memorable visitor experience opportunities on the east side of RMNPC. Link these opportunities with others in the region outside the national park and national historic site.

Actions:

a) Consider financially sustainable proposals for the redevelopment of a ski hill operation at the Mt. Agassiz Ski Area, including multi-season recreational activities.

b) If it is determined that a ski hill operation is viable, any redevelopment and use at Mt Agassiz will be guided by the 2006 Ski Area Management Guidelines, Parks Canada's ski area planning process, and national and park-wide direction on new recreational activities. Parks Canada will work with a potential operator to develop site specific guidelines which will outline development limits, parameters and conditions to guide specific redevelopment and use proposals. Based on approved site guidelines, development and use proposals will be advanced by the operator through long-range plans and the application of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.

c) Continue to involve key stakeholder groups and First Nations in discussions about other opportunities for visitor experiences on the east side of RMNPC, and continue to develop an area plan. Implement the area plan as resources are available.

The second part is an addition to Section 13 - Summary of the Environmental Assessment. This amendment provides the required environmental assessment for the above amendment:

“A strategic environmental assessment will be conducted on site guidelines which must be prepared if a ski hill is to be developed. A detailed environmental assessment of a ski area proposed long-range plan for the development and use of the skill hill will be conducted in accordance with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.”

Back to Proposed Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan Amendment for Mount Agassiz

Plan directeur du Parc national du Mont-Riding
Modifications proposées pour le Mont Agassiz

Plan directeur projet de modification du l’ébauche

Introduction à l’ébauche de plan directeur modifié

2012

L’actuel plan directeur du Parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding et du lieu historique national du Canada du Centre-d’Inscription-de-l’Entrée-Est-du-Parc-du-Mont-Riding a été approuvé en 2007. Conformément à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, qui exige que les parcs nationaux revoient leur plan directeur tous les cinq ans, le présent plan a fait l’objet d’un examen au terme duquel il est proposé de le modifier afin de permettre l’étude de propositions visant le réaménagement de la station de ski du mont Agassiz.

Toutes les sections du plan directeur de 2007, sauf deux, resteraient inchangées. La première modification porterait sur la section 7.9 - Station de ski du mont Agassiz, qui serait entièrement remplacée par le texte suivant :

Objectif stratégique
Continuer de favoriser des expériences de séjour mémorables dans la partie est du PNCMR. Établir un lien entre ces expériences et celles offertes ailleurs dans la région, à l’extérieur du parc national et du lieu historique national.

Mesures

a) Étudier les propositions viables sur le plan financier visant le réaménagement de la station de ski du mont Agassiz ainsi que l’offre d’activités récréatives multisaisonnières.

b) S’il est déterminé que la station de ski peut être viable, le réaménagement et l’exploitation des installations du mont Agassiz se feront conformément aux Lignes directrices pour la gestion des stations de ski (2006), au processus de planification des stations de ski utilisé par Parcs Canada et aux orientations concernant les nouvelles activités récréatives établies à l’échelle nationale ou pour l’ensemble du parc. Parcs Canada élaborera de concert avec un exploitant potentiel des lignes directrices propres au site établissant des limites de croissance, des paramètres et des conditions pour orienter l’élaboration de propositions de réaménagement et d’exploitation spécifiques. Ces lignes directrices permettront à l’exploitant d’étayer ses propositions de réaménagement et d’exploitation en établissant des plans à long terme et en démontrant leur conformité aux exigences de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale.

c) Continuer de faire participer les intervenants clés et les Premières nations aux discussions portant sur les autres expériences de séjour pouvant être offertes dans la partie est du PNCMR, poursuivre l’élaboration du plan d’aménagement de la station et mettre ce plan en œuvre au fur et à mesure que les ressources seront disponibles.

La deuxième modification consiste à ajouter à la section 13 - Sommaire de l'évaluation environnementale un passage portant sur les exigences en matière d’évaluation environnementale associées à la première modification :

« Les lignes directrices devant être élaborées si une station de ski était aménagée devront faire l’objet d’une évaluation environnementale stratégique. Le plan à long terme proposé pour le réaménagement et l’exploitation de la station de ski devra faire l’objet d’une évaluation environnementale détaillée conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale. »

Retour à Plan directeur du Parc national du Mont-Riding. Modifications proposées pour le Mont Agassiz