Proposed Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan Amendment
for Mount Agassiz

Information Bulletin

PARKS CANADA TO CONSULT ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT
TO RIDING MOUNTAIN NATIONAL PARK MANAGEMENT PLAN

WASAGAMING, MANITOBA, January 24, 2012 – Parks Canada is initiating public consultation on a proposed amendment to the 2007 Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan.

If approved, the amendment will allow Parks Canada to consider proposals for the re-opening of a ski hill operation and possible multi-season recreational activities at the Mount Agassiz Ski Area.

Following the release of the 2007 Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan, new information was brought forward by local and regional stakeholders and partners regarding the status and future of Mount Agassiz. Many people believe that the potential viability of a new ski hill is strong, and that this interest should have received much more consideration.

Parks Canada listened and also gathered information, including an independent feasibility study. It is time to move to the next steps. Parks Canada needs to amend the current management plan prior to giving consideration to any proposals to re-open Mount Agassiz. The current management plan does not allow for this.

The public is welcome to attend a series of public open houses to discuss the proposed amendment, and to learn about the feasibility study findings in late January. More information and opportunity to provide comment is available on the Riding Mountain National Park website (http://www.pc.gc.ca/pn-np/mb/riding/plan/plan8.aspx). All comments will be considered and will inform the plan amendment process.

Parks Canada is Canada’s largest provider of natural and cultural tourism products and its iconic destinations form the cornerstone of the Canadian tourism industry Parks Canada supports tourism industry initiatives that contribute to maintaining its parks’ ecological integrity while helping to build authentic connections to place through meaningful visitor experiences.

Back to Proposed Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan Amendment for Mount Agassiz

Plan directeur du Parc national du Mont-Riding
Modifications proposées pour le Mont Agassiz

Bulletin d'informations

PARCS CANADA LANCE UNE CONSULTATION SUR L’AMENDEMENT PROPOSÉ AU PLAN DIRECTEUR DU PARC NATIONAL DU MONT-RIDING.

Wasagaming, Manitoba, 24 Janvier 2012 – Parcs Canada lance une consultation publique sur l’amendement proposé au Plan Directeur du Parc National du Mont-Riding de 2007.

S’il est approuvé, cet amendement permettra à Parcs Canada d’étudier des propositions pour la réouverture d’une station de ski et de possibles activités de loisir multi-saisonnières au domaine skiable du Mont-Agassiz.

À la suite de la publication du Plan Directeur du Parc National du Mont-Riding 2007, de nouvelles informations ont été apportées par des parties intéressées et des partenaires locaux et régionaux en ce qui concerne le statut et le futur du Mont-Agassiz. De nombreuses personnes pensent que la viabilité potentielle d’une nouvelle station de ski est forte, et que ce sujet aurais du recevoir bien plus de considération.

Parcs Canada a été à l’écoute et a recueilli des informations, incluant une étude de faisabilité indépendante. Il est temps de passer à l’étape suivante. Parcs Canada doit modifier le plan directeur actuel avant de pouvoir prendre en considération des propositions de réouverture du Mont-Agassiz. Le plan directeur actuel n’autorise pas ceci.

Le public est invité à prendre part à une série de sessions d’informations pour discuter de la proposition d’amendement, et pour découvrir les résultats de l’étude de faisabilité réalisée fin Janvier. Des informations complémentaires ainsi que la possibilité de laisser un commentaire sont disponibles sur le site internet du Parc National du Mont-Riding (http://www.pc.gc.ca/fra/pn-np/mb/riding/plan/plan8.aspx).  Tous les commentaires seront étudiés durant le processus de modification du plan.

Parcs Canada est le plus important fournisseur de produits de tourisme naturel et culturel et ses destinations phares sont la clef de voute de l’industrie du tourisme canadienne. Parcs Canada soutient les initiatives de l’industrie du tourisme qui contribuent à maintenir l’intégrité écologique de ses parcs tout en aidant à construire un lien authentique avec ces lieux à travers des expériences de fonds pour les visiteurs.

Retour à Plan directeur du Parc national du Mont-Riding. Modifications proposées pour le Mont Agassiz