Riding Mountain National Park

Management Plan Amendment 2012

pdf-icon Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan Amendment 2012 (PDF 6.4 MB)

Wasagaming, Manitoba, June 15, 2012 – Parks Canada today announced a management plan amendment related to the Mount Agassiz ski area in Riding Mountain National Park was tabled in Parliament.

This management plan amendment will enable proposals to be considered for the redevelopment of a ski hill operation at the Mount Agassiz ski area, with the possibility of multi-season recreational uses. Parks Canada is developing a process to consider proposals to operate Agassiz and expects to launch a Request for Proposals in early 2013. Proposals will need to demonstrate financial sustainability, contributions to visitors discovering and experiencing this unique area, environmental protection, and consistency with Parks Canada legislation and policy requirements.

All ski areas in national parks are guided by Ski Area Management Guidelines. The goals of this policy are to achieve long-term land use certainty that ensures ecological integrity will be maintained or restored; contribute to facilitating memorable national park visitor experiences and educational opportunities; and provide ski area operators with clear parameters for business planning in support of an economically healthy operation.

The Riding Mountain management plan amendment was developed in consultation with the public, interested stakeholders and partners and included public information meetings in Neepawa, McCreary, Russell and Dauphin, Manitoba, as well as an on-line survey and meetings. Through these consultations, Parks Canada heard strong public support expressed for the potential viability of a ski hill operation at Mount Agassiz.

Management plans are the primary accountability documents for the management of protected heritage places under Parks Canada’s care.

Parks Canada works to ensure Canada’s historic and natural heritage is protected. Through a network of 43 national parks, 167 national historic sites, and four national marine conservation areas, Parks Canada invites Canadians and people around the world to engage in personal moments of inspiring discovery at our treasured natural and historic places.

pdf-icon Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan Amendment 2012 (PDF 6.4 MB)


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Plan directeur modification 2012

pdf-icon Parc national du Mont Riding plan directeur modification 2012 (PDF 6.9 Mo)

Wasagaming (Manitoba) le 15 juin 2012 – Parcs Canada a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’une modification au plan directeur relatif à la station de ski du mont Agassiz, situé dans le parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding, a été déposée au Parlement.

La modification au plan directeur permettra l’étude de propositions visant le réaménagement d’une station de ski au mont Agassiz et éventuellement l’offre d’activités récréatives multisaisonnières. Parcs Canada élabore un processus pour étudier les propositions d’exploitation de la station de ski et prévoit lancer une demande de propositions au début 2013. Les propositions devront faire preuve de viabilité financière, d’apport aux visiteurs explorant cette région exceptionnelle, de protection de l’environnement et de conformité aux exigences prévues par les lois et les politiques de Parcs Canada.

Toutes les stations de ski situées dans les parcs nationaux se fondent sur les Lignes directrices pour la gestion des stations de ski. Les objectifs de cette politique consistent à obtenir des garanties à long terme en matière d’utilisation des terres afin d’assurer le maintien ou la restauration de l’intégrité écologique; de contribuer à offrir des expériences mémorables et des activités éducatives aux visiteurs des parcs nationaux, et de fournir aux exploitants des stations de ski des paramètres clairs leur permettant de planifier leurs activités de manière à ce que leur entreprise demeure rentable.

La modification au plan directeur du parc national du Mont-Riding a été mise au point en collaboration avec le public, les intervenants et les partenaires au moyen de séances d’information publique à Neepawa, McCreary, Russell et Dauphin (Manitoba), d’un sondage en ligne et de réunions. Grâce à ce processus de consultations, Parcs Canada a reçu un solide appui du public qui s’est prononcé en faveur de la viabilité éventuelle d’une station de ski au mont Agassiz.

Les plans directeurs sont les principaux documents de responsabilisation dont se sert l’Agence Parcs Canada pour gérer les lieux patrimoniaux placés sous sa garde.

Parcs Canada veille à la protection du patrimoine historique et naturel du Canada et invite les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, de même que le monde entier, à venir vivre des moments de découverte inspirants en explorant les trésors naturels et historiques de son réseau de 43 parcs nationaux, 167 lieux historiques nationaux et quatre aires marines nationales de conservation.

pdf-icon Parc national du Mont Riding plan directeur modification 2012 (PDF 6.9 Mo)


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).