Common menu bar links

Riding Mountain National Park

Government of Canada Funding Addresses 2011 Flood Damage at Riding Mountain National Park

Special Funding Supports Repairs to Infrastructure and Roadways

Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba, May 22, 2012 – On behalf of the Honourable Peter Kent, Canada’s Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, Mr. Robert Sopuck, Member of Parliament for Dauphin-Swan River – Marquette, today announced special funding to help repair some of the damage done by the devastating flood in 2011 in Riding Mountain National Park.

MP Robert Sopuck Flood Funding Announcement MP Robert Sopuck Flood Funding Announcement
© Parks Canada

“Even at its elevation, Riding Mountain National Park was not immune to flooding in 2011 and experienced the worst flooding it has seen in over 35 years,” said Mr. Sopuck. “Thanks to this funding, we will be able to restore some of the infrastructure damaged by the devastating flooding and improve safety and enhance the visitor experience.”


Flooding on Highway #19 Flooding on Highway #19
© Parks Canada

The Government of Canada has committed a total of $5.7 million in flood funding to assist in repairing damaged infrastructure throughout the park. Approximately $1.4 million was designated for the 2011/2012 operating year and has been spent addressing numerous infrastructures damages due to the flood. An additional $4.3 million has been provided in 2012/2013 for a number of projects throughout the Park.


Sliding at Km 49 Sliding at Km 49
© Parks Canada

Included in this work will be the realignment of Km 49 on Highway #10 running through the park. This section of highway experienced severe erosion and cracking, which caused a 200 metre section of pavement to drop by almost 350 millimetres (13.5 inches). With the geotechnical investigations complete, the engineering and design are currently underway and construction is expected to begin this summer.

“Continued improvement of national park infrastructure is vital for both the safety and enjoyment of our visitors,” said Minister Kent. “Riding Mountain National Park is a sterling example of this Government’s continued commitment to provide visitors an opportunity to explore and discover the cultural, historical, and ecological diversity of this incredible national park.”

Parks Canada works to ensure that Canada’s historic and natural heritage is presented and protected for the enjoyment, education and appreciation of all Canadians, today and in the future. Through a network of 42 national parks, 167 national historic sites, and four national marine conservation areas, Parks Canada invites Canadians, and people from around the world, to experience Canada’s treasured natural and historic places.

For more information on Highway #10 construction and the realignment of Km 49 in Riding Mountain National Park, please visit www.parkscanada.gc.ca/riding.

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Les fonds versés par le gouvernement du Canada serviront à réparer les dommages causés par l’inondation de 2011 au parc national du Mont-Riding

Ce financement spécial appuie la restauration des infrastructures et des routes

Parc national du Mont-Riding, Manitoba, le 22 mai 2012 – Au nom de l’honorable Peter Kent, ministre de l’Environnement du Canada et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, M. Robert Sopuck, député de Dauphin-Swan River – Marquette, a annoncé aujourd’hui l’octroi d’un financement pour aider à réparer certains des dommages causés par l’inondation dévastatrice au parc national du Mont-Riding en 2011.

MP Robert Sopuck Flood Funding Announcement Annonce du financement d’innondation de M. Robert Sopuck, Membre du Parlement
© Parcs Canada

« Malgré son élévation, le parc national du Mont-Riding n’était pas immunisé contre l’inondation en 2011 et a subi la pire inondation depuis plus de 35 ans, a indiqué M. Sopuck. Grâce à ce financement, nous pourrons restaurer certaines des infrastructures qui ont été endommagées par l’inondation dévastatrice et améliorer la sécurité, ainsi que l’expérience des visiteurs. »


Flooding on Highway #19 Innondation sur l’autoroute 19
© Parcs Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à verser 5,7 millions de dollars pour réparer les infrastructures du parc qui ont été endommagées par l’inondation. Environ 1,4 million de dollars ont été engagés de l’exercice 2011-2012, et dépensés pour réparer de nombreux dommages aux infrastructures causées par l’inondation. Des fonds supplémentaires de 4,3 millions de dollars ont été alloués à de nombreux projets dans le parc en 2012-2013.


Sliding at Km 49 Glissement de terrain au km 49
© Parcs Canada

Ce travail comprendra le retraçage du kilomètre 49 de la route no 10, qui traverse le parc. Cette partie de la route a été durement touchée par l’érosion et des fissures, qui ont entraîné un affaissement de 350 millimètres (13,5 pouces) d’un tronçon de 200 mètres de la chaussée. Les études géotechniques terminées, on a amorcé les travaux d’ingénierie et de conception, et on devrait commencer la construction à l’été.

« L’amélioration continue des infrastructures de parcs nationaux est essentielle pour la sécurité et le plaisir de nos visiteurs, a déclaré le ministre Kent. Le parc national du Mont-Riding est un excellent exemple de l’engagement du gouvernement à continuer de donner aux visiteurs l’occasion d’explorer et de découvrir la diversité culturelle, historique et écologique de ce parc national incroyable. »

Parcs Canada a pour mandat d'assurer à jamais la mise en valeur et la protection du patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada dans l'intérêt de toute la population canadienne, tant pour son agrément que pour l'enrichissement de ses connaissances. Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens ainsi que les visiteurs du monde entier à profiter de son réseau de 42 parcs nationaux, de 167 lieux historiques nationaux et de quatre aires marines nationales de conservation pour découvrir les sites naturels et historiques exceptionnels du pays.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la construction de la route no 10 ou le nouveau tracé du kilomètre 49 au parc national du Mont-Riding, veuillez vous rendre à www.parcscanada.gc.ca/riding.