Riding Mountain National Park

Bear smart in the park

Reminder to be alert for bears in Riding Mountain National Park

Resource Conservation staff at Riding Mountain National Park (RMNP) would like to remind the public of the possibility of meeting bears in the park. The bear population has been very active lately as they take advantage of this year’s abundant berry crop. The number of encounters between bears and people has risen recently, but fortunately there has been no aggressive behaviour reported to date.

The August long weekend is traditionally the busiest weekend of the year at RMNP. With a lot bears and a lot of people sharing the same area, the chance of humans encountering bears rises. Parks Canada reminds visitors to be “Bear Smart” and alert when travelling to areas where bear activity has been high.

While the number of bear sightings remains high, park staff will be extra vigilant about securing wildlife attractants. Please do your part and don’t leave out food, coolers, garbage or other highly scented items. These items can catch the attention of a curious bear looking for an easy meal.

Visit the RMNP’s website at www.parkscanada.gc.ca/riding for more helpful information about being Bear Smart and about the “Bare Campsite” program. Visitors can obtain information about recent bear sightings and trail closures at the Visitor Centre, or by calling 204-848-7275.

Black Bear Reminder to be alert for bears in Riding Mountain National Park
© Parks Canada

 

  • DO be alert when in areas where bears are likely to be, such as near berry patches and other food sources.
  • DO Travel in groups.
  • DO make noise. Bear bells, conversation and singing will let the bear know where you are. Bears normally leave an area once they’ve sensed a human.
  • DO make your presence known by making noise and waving your arms if you see a bear while hiking.
  • DO keep dogs on a leash and under control. A roaming dog might be perceived as a threat to a bear or its cubs.
  • DO walk away slowly if you surprise a bear nearby.
  • DON’T cook food near your tent or store food inside your tent. Instead, keep food in a secure vehicle or use rope to suspend it between two trees.
  • DON’T climb a tree, but wait in a vehicle or building for the bear to leave an area.

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Sensibilisation aux ours dans le parc

Rappel au public

Le personnel de la conservation des ressources du parc national du Mont-Riding (PNMR) tient à rappeler au public la possibilité de rencontrer des ours dans le parc. La population d’ours a été très active dernièrement alors que les ours profitent de la quantité abondante de baies cette année. Le nombre de rencontres entre les ours et les personnes a augmenté récemment, mais, heureusement, on n’a pas signalé de cas de comportement agressif à ce jour.

Même si le nombre d’observations d’ours demeure élevé, le personnel du parc sera extrêmement vigilant à l’égard de l’enlèvement d’objets qui attirent la faune. Veuillez faire votre part et rangez la nourriture, les glacières, les déchets et les autres objets dégageant de fortes odeurs. Ces articles peuvent attirer l’attention d’un ours curieux qui cherche un repas facile.

Consultez le site Web du PNMR à l’adresse : www.parkscanada.gc.ca/riding pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la sensibilisation aux ours et le programme de camping propre. Les visiteurs peuvent obtenir des renseignements sur les observations d’ours récentes et les fermetures de sentiers au centre d’accueil ou en composant le 204-848-7275.

L'ours noir Rappel au public
© Parcs Canada

  • Soyez vigilant lorsque vous êtes dans des secteurs où on est susceptible de trouver des ours, comme près des champs de baies et d’autres sources de nourriture
  • Déplacez-vous en groupes.
  • Faites du bruit. Les clochettes à ours, les conversations et les chansons laissent savoir aux ours où vous êtes. Habituellement, les ours quittent un secteur après avoir senti la présence d’un humain.
  • Signalez votre présence en faisant du bruit et en agitant les bras si vous voyez un ours durant votre randonnée.
  • Gardez vos chiens en laisse et contrôlez-les. Un chien errant pourrait être perçu comme une menace à un ours ou à ses petits.
  • Éloignez-vous lentement si vous surprenez un ours tout près de vous.
  • Ne faites pas cuire de la nourriture près de votre tente et n’entreposez pas de nourriture dans votre tente. Gardez plutôt votre nourriture dans un véhicule verrouillé ou utilisez une corde pour la suspendre entre deux arbres.
  • Ne grimpez pas dans un arbre; attendez dans un véhicule ou un bâtiment jusqu’à ce que l’ours quitte le secteur.