Yoho National Park

Top 10 Conservation Stories

National parks protect some of Canada’s most diverse and spectacular natural environments. The breathtaking scenery and inspiring natural surroundings in national parks provide the perfect setting for tuning into nature, learning about it, appreciating it, respecting it and pledging to protect it.

In order to ensure Yoho National Park remains healthy and unimpaired for future generations, Parks Canada is working to maintain or restore its ecological health. Here are some of our success stories.

Protecting and presenting the Burgess Shale
Monitoring wildlife populations behind the lens
Youth education
Conducting a cutthroat trout inventory
Lake O'Hara: a place for people, a place for nature
Caring for the Earth’s most precious resource
Restoring the natural role of fire
Restoring aquatic connectivity 
Partnering to eliminate rail-related causes of grizzly bear mortality 
Monitoring wildlife on the Trans-Canada Highway

Protecting and Presenting the Burgess Shale 

 A Burgess Shale fossil
© Parks Canada

The Burgess Shale, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is regarded as one of the most significant fossil finds in the world and is uniquely important for understanding evolutionary biology and 500-million-year-old Cambrian life forms. To protect and promote this non-renewable resource, a management framework was developed to control and monitor site access, foster scientific research and provide opportunities for visitor experience and learning. Proactive site protection, including new fencing, remote surveillance cameras and intrusion alarms, has minimized theft and vandalism. To enhance public learning, new signage was installed at trailheads and fossil sites in 2008, and in 2009, a Parks Canada guided-hike program to the Burgess Shale fossil beds was launched. Scientific research is ongoing on the fossils held on behalf of Parks Canada and Canadians at the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) and exciting new discoveries continue to be made. In 2011, the ROM and Parks Canada announced the launch of the Burgess Shale online exhibition, as part of the Virtual Museum of Canada. The website provides, for the first time ever, an immersive journey into the world of the bizarre prehistoric creatures that formed the foundation for all animal life on Earth half a billion years ago.

Monitoring Wildlife Populations Behind the Lens

 The elusive wolverine
© Parks Canada

As part of a carnivore monitoring project, motion-activated cameras are capturing wildlife images in various locales in Yoho National Park. These hands-free cameras are mounted on trees or encased in rock cairns to monitor wildlife use in both frontcountry and remote backcountry locations. Each time something passes the camera’s infrared beam, an image is captured. Compared with traditional wildlife research techniques like radio-collaring, the “camera trap” is non-invasive and relatively inexpensive. Tracking carnivore populations over the long-term may provide insight into why carnivores are present in some areas of the park and absent in others. This type of information can reveal potential ecological problems in the park that require attention. In the near future, Canadians and visitors from around the world will have the opportunity to view and learn stories behind these “wild images” on the Kootenay National Park web site.

Youth Education

 Engaging youth
© Parks Canada

An important part of Parks Canada's mandate is to encourage environmental stewardship. A flagship example of this is the work done by Parks Canada wildlife staff and co-op students who delivered environmental education presentations to students in the Rocky Mountain School District since the late 1990s. Topics have included wolves, elk, wolverine, birds, bighorn sheep, badgers, rubber boas, ecosystems, and Parks Canada restoration projects, to name a few. Audiences have ranged from Kindergarten to Grade 7 classes in Golden, Invermere, Edgewater, Canal Flats, and Kimberley, and have even extended beyond the school system to include other interest groups. In the last five years, more than a thousand wildlife “stewards” have taken part in over 60 presentations.

Conducting a Cutthroat Trout Inventory

 Cutthroat trout
© Parks Canada

Westslope cutthroat trout are native to the Mountain National Parks and are declining significantly throughout their range in British Columbia. Recently listed as a species of Special Concern under Canada’s Species at Risk Act, in Yoho, the species appears to be locally extirpated in its historic range. However, as a result of past stocking in areas outside their historic range, they occur in lakes in the O’Hara Valley. An education campaign was launched in 2008 to encourage voluntary catch and release of cutthroat trout in Lake O’Hara to ensure healthy future populations. In 2009, the Westslope cutthroat trout possession limit in all of Yoho National Park was lowered to zero from two fish to protect this pure, localized population. Aquatic ecosystems are more than just homes for fish and by studying what happens away from terra firma, gives park managers a fuller idea about the overall health of the park’s ecosystem. 

Lake O’Hara: A place for people, a place for nature

 Grizzly bear at McArthur Pass
© Parks Canada

Lake O’Hara is a favourite spot for both people and grizzlies. But a serious encounter between hikers and a grizzly bear at the Odaray Plateau in 1992 highlighted the need to devise a plan to allow the two groups to coexist in harmony. This led to a five-year research project and a new human-wildlife management approach for the area. Research identified key grizzly bear habitat and an important wildlife corridor. In 1999, Parks Canada modified closures and rerouted some trail sections in McArthur Pass to better integrate visitor use with these important ecological areas. Today, users of the Odaray-Highline Trail are encouraged to self-register and voluntarily limit trail use during periods of peak bear activity. On-going evaluation of these management actions will help us adapt our approaches to ensure the protection of wildlife and habitat, while maintaining visitor opportunities across the greater landscape.

Caring for the Earth’s most precious resource

 Field, B.C. wastewater treatment plant
© Parks Canada

Responsible water use is something Parks Canada takes seriously. In 2004, the Field wastewater treatment plant was replaced at a cost of $3.2 million, and the results are encouraging. Designed to meet Parks Canada's leadership targets for effluent quality, the most stringent effluent targets economically achievable in North America with current technology, the water treatment plant is an excellent example of caring for the environment by tending to crucial infrastructure. Since 1998, water consumption in Field has decreased by 84%, as a result of an extensive capital project replacing both the water distribution system and wastewater collection system, the installation of water meters and full cost-recovery of the water utility. Taking care of the world’s most precious resource today will go a long way to ensuring the long-term enjoyment of Yoho National Park tomorrow.

Restoring the natural role of fire

 Hoodoo Creek prescribed burn
© Parks Canada

In 2004, Yoho National Park's first large-scale prescribed fire was completed in the west end of the park. Along with meeting important ecological goals including improved forest health and forage for animals ranging from rodents to grizzly bears, the 1414-hectare Hoodoo Creek prescribed burn created a fuel break along the southwestern boundary of the park. This protective guard set the stage for two prescribed fires planned for 2011– Ottertail and Mt. King– west of the community of Field, British Columbia. In addition to creating fuel breaks in the Kicking Horse Valley to reduce the risk of future wildfires, prescribed burns aim to mimic the historic fire cycle in Yoho National Park, while improving resistance to future pine beetle outbreaks by increasing forest diversity. This multi-year approach reveals the scope and logistical complexities required to achieve today’s progressive fire management program. Other protective measures, such as recent forest thinning to reduce forest fuels near the community of Field, British Columbia, Emerald Lake Lodge, and Twin Falls Chalet National Historic Site, reflect the first priority of Parks Canada's fire management program: the safety of people, facilities and surrounding lands. As a world leader in fire management Parks Canada knows the short-term inconveniences of fire such as impaired views and smoke are far outweighed by the long-term benefits of improved forest health, restoration of natural processes and protection from catastrophic wildfire.

Restoring aquatic connectivity

 Aquatic restoration at work
© Parks Canada

Imagine—you’re trying to get from Point A to Point B and there’s something in your way. For humans, this could mean changing plans or taking another route. Fish don’t have this luxury. A recent inventory of culverts along park roadways in the mountain national parks found that the majority were blocking or partially blocking fish movement. Parks Canada is using Action on the Ground funding to help give fish and other aquatic species in Yoho National Park a fin up by restoring aquatic connectivity with culvert repairs. Culvert restorations restore fish access to important habitats for spawning, rearing, feeding and overwintering. Restoration work is planned for Boulder Creek and Monarch Creek in 2011-2012. While not as majestic as the large carnivores like cougars and wolves, fish play an important part in overall health of Yoho National Park.

Partnering to eliminate rail-related causes of grizzly bear mortality

Bears and people have shared the Rocky Mountain landscape for thousands of years. But within the last hundred years, our human presence has grown rapidly within and around the mountain parks.

While the railway plays a significant role in Yoho National Park, its presence, like roads and other infrastructure, complicate the dynamic between nature and development, challenging a bear’s ability to secure the space and habitat they require to make a living. But there is renewed optimism for reducing the risks to grizzly bears and other animals in the park.

In October 2010, Canadian Pacific (CP) and Parks Canada entered into a $1-million joint action plan to mitigate rail-related animal mortality; highlights include continued work on grain hopper car spills, review of railway infrastructure, potential fencing and wildlife crossings, and new research. In the coming weeks, Parks Canada and CP will announce the first initiatives coming from the joint action plan to further mitigate rail-related grizzly bear mortality in Yoho National Park. It is believed that by working together and incorporating innovation and the best science available, a reduction in grizzly bear mortality can be achieved.

Monitoring wildlife on the Trans-Canada Highway

 Wildlife sightings along the Trans-Canada Highway
© Parks Canada

Here’s an interesting map: each dot indicates wildlife sighting along the busy Trans-Canada Highway running through Yoho National Park. A map like this provides vital information on where animals have a natural tendency to want to cross the road, providing invaluable statistics to help park managers determine the design and placement of wildlife crossing structures and fencing in the event of future highway twinning. This work takes dedication: for the last two years, Parks Canada staff have driven the entire highway bimonthly, recording wildlife sightings. These locations are cross-referenced with wildlife mortality databases to pinpoint highway “hot-spots” for wildlife.

Mountain goat monitoring at Mt. Bosworth is a unique aspect of the highway monitoring project in Yoho. Wildlife monitoring along the already-twinned sections of the Trans-Canada Highway in Banff National Park is mainly comprised of montane wildlife species. Here in Yoho, sub-alpine mountain goats pose a challenge: What types of highway crossing structures will they use? What are their migration patterns across the road? Park staff are monitoring goat movement on both sides of the Trans-Canada Highway east and west of the Lake O’Hara turn-off to answer these questions and help reduce the challenges posed by Canada’s main transportation corridor running through the middle of the park.

Parc national Yoho

Pleins feux sur la conservation : Dix meilleures réalisations

Les parcs nationaux protègent des milieux naturels qui figurent parmi les plus spectaculaires et les plus variés au Canada. Leurs paysages saisissants et leur décor naturel inspirant offrent un cadre idéal pour communier avec la nature, mieux la connaître, l’apprécier, la respecter et s’engager à la protéger.

Pour que le parc national Yoho soit légué intacts aux générations à venir, Parcs Canada s’emploie à en préserver et à en rétablir la santé écologique du parc. Voici certaines de nos réalisations à cet égard.  

Protection et mise en valeur des schistes argileux de Burgess
Surveillance des populations fauniques derrière un objectif
Éducation des jeunes
Inventaire de la truite fardée  
Lac O’Hara : Un lieu pour les humains, un lieu pour la nature
Protéger la ressource la plus précieuse de la Terre
Rétablir le rôle naturel du feu
Rétablissement de la connectivité des milieux aquatiques
Un partenariat pour éliminer la mortalité associée à la voie ferrée chez les grizzlis
Surveillance de la faune sur la Transcanadienne

Protection et mise en valeur des schistes argileux de Burgess 

 Schistes argileux de Burgess : un trésor en fossiles anciens
© Parcs Canada

Les schistes argileux de Burgess, un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, abritent l’un des gisements fossilifères les plus importants de la planète. Ils contribuent à une meilleure compréhension de la biologie de l’évolution et font la lumière sur des formes de vie datant du Cambrien, il y a 500 millions d’années. Pour protéger et promouvoir cette ressource non renouvelable, Parcs Canada a conçu un cadre de gestion visant à contrôler et à surveiller l’accès aux fossiles, à favoriser la recherche scientifique et à créer des possibilités d’expérience et d’apprentissage pour les visiteurs. Des mesures proactives de protection des fossiles, notamment l’installation d’une nouvelle clôture, de caméras de surveillance et d’alarmes anti-effraction, ont permis de réduire à un minimum le vol et le vandalisme. Pour favoriser l’apprentissage du public, Parcs Canada a installé des panneaux au point de départ des sentiers et à l’emplacement des gisements fossilifères en 2008. Un an plus tard, il a lancé un programme de randonnées guidées jusqu’aux gisements fossilifères des schistes argileux de Burgess. La recherche scientifique se poursuit sur les fossiles détenus au nom de Parcs Canada et de la population canadienne au Musée royal de l’Ontario, et les chercheurs continuent de faire de nouvelles découvertes palpitantes. En 2011, le Musée royal de l’Ontario et Parcs Canada ont annoncé aujourd’hui le lancement de l’exposition en ligne sur les schistes argileux de Burgess, qui fait partie du Musée virtuel du Canada. Pour la toute première fois, les internautes pourront plonger dans l’univers des étranges créatures préhistoriques qui ont formé la base de toute vie animale sur Terre, il y a un demi-milliard d’années.

Surveillance des populations fauniques derrière un objectif 

 Le carcajou, une espèce rarement aperçue
© Parcs Canada

Dans le cadre d’un projet de surveillance des carnivores, des appareils photo actionnés par le mouvement prennent sur le vif des animaux sauvages dans divers secteurs du parc national Yoho. Montés sur des troncs d’arbre ou logés à l’intérieur de cairns de roches, ces appareils « mains libres » surveillent la faune présente dans l’avant-pays et dans des secteurs reculés de l’arrière pays. Chaque fois que les rayons infrarouges captent du mouvement, l’appareil prend une photo. Comparativement aux techniques traditionnelles de recherche sur la faune, par exemple la pose de colliers radioémetteurs, cette technique de « capture » n’est pas intrusive et se révèle relativement peu coûteuse. À long terme, le suivi des populations de carnivores pourrait nous révéler pourquoi ces animaux sont présents dans certains secteurs du parc et non dans d’autres. Ce type d’information peut également mettre en évidence des problèmes écologiques qui nécessitent notre attention. D’ici peu, les visiteurs du Canada et de l’étranger pourront visionner ces « images sur le vif » sur le site Web du parc national Kootenay et découvrir les récits qui se cachent derrière chaque photo.

Éducation des jeunes

 L'engagement avec les jeunes
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada a notamment pour mandat de favoriser l’intendance de l’environnement. Le travail accompli par les spécialistes de la faune de Parcs Canada représente un bel exemple des mesures qui peuvent être prises pour faire honneur à cette obligation. De concert avec des étudiants inscrits à des programmes d’alternance travail-études, cette équipe de Parcs Canada présente des exposés de sensibilisation à l’environnement aux élèves du district scolaire des Rocheuses depuis la fin des années 1990. Les sujets sont variés : le loup, le wapiti, le carcajou, les oiseaux, le mouflon d’Amérique, le blaireau, le boa caoutchouc, les écosystèmes et les projets de remise en état de Parcs Canada, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. Le programme s’adresse aux classes de la maternelle à la 7e année de diverses écoles – Golden, Invermere, Edgewater, Canal Flats et Kimberley. Il s’est étendu au delà du système scolaire pour englober divers autres groupes d’intérêt. Dans les cinq dernières années, une soixantaine d’exposés ont été présentés à plus d’un millier d’« intendants » de la faune.

Inventaire de la truite fardée

 Truite fardée
© Parcs Canada

La truite fardée du versant de l’ouest, un poisson indigène des parcs nationaux des montagnes, connaît un déclin marqué partout dans son aire de répartition en Colombie-Britannique. Elle a récemment été inscrite à titre d’espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada. Dans le parc national Yoho, l’espèce semble être absente de son territoire historique. Malgré tout, à la suite de travaux d’empoissonnement réalisés antérieurement à l’extérieur de son aire de répartition historique, la truite fardée est présente dans des lacs de la vallée du lac O’Hara. Une campagne de sensibilisation a été lancée en 2008 pour encourager les pêcheurs à pratiquer volontairement la remise à l’eau des truites fardées capturées dans le lac O’Hara, afin d’assurer la santé future des populations. En 2009, Parcs Canada a fait passer de deux à zéro la limite de possession de truites fardées du versant de l’ouest partout dans le parc national Yoho, en vue de protéger cette population localisée qui n’a jamais été hybridée. Les écosystèmes aquatiques sont plus qu’un simple habitat pour les poissons. En étudiant ce qui se produit à l’écart de la terre ferme, les gestionnaires du parc ont une meilleure idée de la santé globale de l’écosystème du parc.

Lac O’Hara : Un lieu pour les humains, un lieu pour la nature

 Grizzli au col McArthur
© Parcs Canada

Le lac O’Hara est une destination de prédilection tant pour les humains que pour les grizzlis. Mais un grave affrontement entre des randonneurs et un grizzli au plateau Odaray en 1992 a mis en lumière la nécessité d’adopter un plan pour permettre aux deux groupes de coexister dans l’harmonie. L’incident a donné lieu à un projet de recherche quinquennal et à une nouvelle approche de gestion des interactions humains-animaux dans ce secteur. Les recherches ont permis de délimiter l’habitat du grizzli et de découvrir un important corridor faunique. En 1999, Parcs Canada a modifié ses ordonnances de fermeture et changé le tracé de certains sentiers dans le col McArthur pour mieux intégrer l’activité humaine dans cette zone écologique importante. Aujourd’hui, Parcs Canada encourage les randonneurs du sentier du Haut-Plateau-Odaray à s’inscrire et à éviter le sentier pendant les périodes où les ours sont le plus actifs. À la lumière d’une évaluation continue de ces mesures de gestion, nous pourrons adapter nos approches pour mieux protéger la faune et l’habitat, tout en continuant d’offrir aux visiteurs la possibilité de découvrir ces vastes étendues.

Protéger la ressource la plus précieuse de la Terre

 Station d’épuration des eaux de Field, -C.B.
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada prend au sérieux le concept d’utilisation responsable de l’eau. La station d’épuration des eaux usées de Field a été remplacée au coût de 3,2 millions de dollars en 2004, et les résultats sont encourageants. Conçue de manière à satisfaire aux normes avant-gardistes de Parcs Canada en matière de qualité des effluents – les cibles les plus rigoureuses qu’il soit possible d’atteindre économiquement en Amérique du Nord avec la technologie actuelle –, cette station d’épuration représente un excellent exemple de protection de l’environnement par la mise à niveau de l’infrastructure essentielle. Depuis 1998, la consommation d’eau à Field a baissé de 84 %, par suite d’un important projet d’immobilisations comportant plusieurs volets : remplacement du réseau de distribution d’eau et du réseau de collecte des eaux usées, installation de compteurs d’eau et recouvrement complet des coûts liés aux services d’eau. En prenant soin de la ressource la plus précieuse de la planète aujourd’hui, nous contribuons grandement à assurer aux visiteurs de demain la possibilité de profiter pleinement du parc national Yoho.

Rétablir le rôle naturel du feu

 Brûlage dirigé dans le secteur du ruisseau Hoodoo
© Parcs Canada

En 2004, le premier grand brûlage dirigé du parc national Yoho a été réalisé dans le secteur du ruisseau Hoodoo, à l’extrémité ouest du parc. Cette mesure était assortie d’objectifs écologiques importants, dont le rétablissement de la santé de la forêt et l’amélioration du fourrage de toutes sortes d’espèces, depuis les rongeurs jusqu’aux grizzlis. La parcelle à brûler, une bande de terrain de 1 414 ha longeant la limite sud-ouest du parc, a ainsi été transformée en coupe-feu. Cette ligne d’arrêt a ouvert la voie à deux brûlages dirigés prévus pour 2011 à l’ouest de Field (Colombie-Britannique) – l’un dans la vallée de l’Ottertail et l’autre sur le mont King. Tout en créant des coupe-feu dans la vallée de la Kicking Horse pour réduire les risques d’incendie dans l’avenir, les brûlages dirigés visent à reproduire le cycle de feu historique du parc national Yoho et à diversifier la forêt pour accroître sa résistance aux futures infestations de dendroctone du pin ponderosa. Cette approche pluriannuelle révèle la portée et la complexité logistique du programme contemporain de gestion du feu. D’autres mesures de protection, telles que de récents travaux d’éclaircie forestière pour réduire les accumulations de combustible dans le secteur de Field, au complexe Emerald Lake Lodge et au lieu historique national du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin, témoignent de la priorité du programme de gestion du feu de Parcs Canada : la protection des personnes, des installations et des terres environnantes. En tant que chef de file mondial de la gestion du feu, Parcs Canada sait que les inconvénients à court terme du feu, par exemple la fumée et la réduction de la visibilité, sont largement contrebalancés par les avantages durables que créent l’amélioration de la santé de la forêt, le rétablissement des processus naturels et la protection contre les incendies catastrophiques.

Rétablissement de la connectivité des milieux aquatiques

 Travaux de remise en état des milieux aquatiques
© Parcs Canada

Imaginez que vous tentez de passer du point A au point B, mais qu’un obstacle vous bloque le passage. Vous avez le choix de changer vos projets ou de modifier votre itinéraire. Mais les poissons, eux, n’ont pas ce luxe. Un récent inventaire réalisé dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes révèle que la majorité des ponceaux routiers entravent complètement ou partiellement les déplacements des poissons. Grâce à des sommes provenant du fonds Agir sur le terrain, Parcs Canada donne un coup de pouce aux poissons et aux autres espèces aquatiques du parc national Yoho en réparant les ponceaux défectueux pour rétablir la connectivité des milieux aquatiques. Ces travaux de réparation permettent aux poissons d’accéder à un habitat important pour frayer, élever leurs petits, se nourrir et passer l’hiver. Parcs Canada prévoit des travaux de réparation de ce genre au ruisseau Boulder et au ruisseau Monarch pour 2011-2012. Même s’ils ne sont pas aussi majestueux que les gros carnivores comme le couguar et le loup, les poissons jouent un rôle important dans la santé globale du parc national Yoho.

Un partenariat pour éliminer la mortalité associée à la voie ferrée chez les grizzlis

Les ours et les humains cohabitent dans les Rocheuses depuis des millénaires. Mais, au cours du siècle dernier, la présence humaine s’est rapidement intensifiée à l’intérieur et aux environs des parcs des montagnes.

La voie ferrée joue un rôle important dans le parc national Yoho, mais sa présence, tout comme celle des routes et d’autres éléments d’infrastructure, complique la dynamique entre la nature et l’aménagement. De plus, elle compromet les chances des ours d’avoir accès à l’espace et à l’habitat dont ils ont besoin pour survivre. Mais certaines mesures récentes nous permettent d’entrevoir de nouvelles possibilités de réduire les risques pour les grizzlis et les autres animaux du parc.

En octobre 2010, le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CFCP) et Parcs Canada ont dressé un plan d’action conjoint assorti d’un budget de 1 million de dollars pour réduire la mortalité faunique sur la voie ferrée. Ce plan prévoit notamment la poursuite des travaux amorcés en vue d’éliminer les déversements de grain des wagons-trémies, l’examen de l’infrastructure ferroviaire, l’étude d’un éventuel projet d’installation de clôtures et de passages pour animaux et la tenue de nouvelles recherches. Dans les semaines à venir, Parcs Canada et le CFCP annonceront les premières initiatives découlant de ce plan d’action pour réduire la mortalité associée au chemin de fer chez le grizzli du parc national Yoho. Les deux partenaires ont bon espoir que cette concertation, conjuguée à des mesures innovatrices reposant sur les meilleures données scientifiques accessibles, se traduira par une réduction de la mortalité chez le grizzli.

Surveillance de la faune sur la Transcanadienne

 Surveillance de la faune sur la Transcanadienne
© Parcs Canada

Voici une carte intéressante : chaque point indique l’endroit où un animal sauvage a été aperçu le long de la Transcanadienne, dans le parc national Yoho. Les cartes de ce genre donnent des renseignements de toute première importance sur les endroits où les animaux ont naturellement tendance à traverser la route. Elles fournissent des statistiques précieuses qui aideront les gestionnaires du parc à choisir la nature et l’emplacement des clôtures et des passages pour animaux à installer dans le cadre d’un éventuel projet d’élargissement à quatre voies de cette route passante. Ce travail nécessite beaucoup de dévouement : depuis deux ans, le personnel de Parcs Canada traverse le parc d’un bout à l’autre deux fois par mois pour consigner l’emplacement de tous les animaux sauvages observés au bord de la route. Il établit ensuite une correspondance entre ces emplacements et les bases de données sur la mortalité faunique pour cerner les « points chauds » de la route pour la faune.

La surveillance des chèvres de montagne au mont Bosworth est une composante bien particulière du projet de surveillance de la route dans le parc national Yoho. Les travaux de surveillance de la faune effectués sur les tronçons déjà élargis à quatre voies de la Transcanadienne, dans le parc national Banff, visent principalement les espèces de la zone montagnarde. Or, dans le parc national Yoho, les chèvres de montagne de la zone subalpine représentent un défi nouveau. Quels genres de passages pour animaux l’espèce empruntera-t-elle? Où a-t-elle l’habitude de traverser la route? Le personnel du parc surveille les déplacements des chèvres de part et d’autre de la Transcanadienne, à l’est et à l’ouest de la sortie du lac O’Hara, pour répondre à ces questions et surmonter les obstacles créés par la présence, au beau milieu du parc, du principal couloir de transport du Canada.