Common menu bar links

Yoho National Park

Spiral Tunnels

Steam train spiralling over itself.
Steam train spiralling over itself.
© Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies NA71-5409

Background

When British Columbia joined Confederation in 1871, it was on the condition that Prime Minister John A. Macdonald would build a railway to link the province to the rest of the country. Building a railway across such a large continent was a major undertaking and one of the most serious obstacles was the Rocky Mountains. Several passes were considered for the route and despite its rugged terrain, Kicking Horse Pass was chosen because of its proximity to the US border and its shorter distance to the Pacific Coast. This choice was so significant to the history of Canada that Kicking Horse Pass was designated as a National Historic Site in 1971.

The Big Hill

Main track with spur line to the right.
Main track with spur line to the right.
© Parks Canada

The steep grade in Kicking Horse Pass posed a serious challenge. Under government pressure to complete the railway, and given the engineering challenges that came along with the geography, Canadian Pacific was not in a position to carve a gradual descent. A solution was reached, which temporarily allowed a grade of 4.5%. The first train to attempt the hill in 1884 derailed, tragically killing three workers. In an effort to improve safety, three spur lines were created to divert such runaway trains on what became known as the “Big Hill”. Switches were left set for the spurs and were not reset to the main line until switchmen knew the oncoming train was in control. Descending the Big Hill was challenging, but uphill trains had their problems too. Extra locomotives were needed to push the trains up the hill, causing delays and requiring extra workers. Although the mountains were a complication for CP, they were an inspiration to the many tourists who started to arrive by train. In an effort to preserve the landscape and encourage tourism, CP prompted the creation of Mount Stephen Dominion Reserve in 1886. The park was renamed Yoho in 1901.

Schwitzer’s Solution

The solution for a more gradual grade came from J.E.Schwitzer, one of the railway’s Assistant Chief Engineers. He modeled the Spiral Tunnels after a system used in Switzerland. In 1909 the Spiral Tunnels were completed and after 25 years of use, the Big Hill grade was abandoned. With a gentler grade, descents became safer and slower, spur lines and rear pushers were no longer necessary, and scheduling delays and operating costs were reduced. Although the Spiral Tunnels were a great improvement for the grade, rockfall, mudslides and avalanches are some of the challenges we still face today in this area where nature reigns supreme.

How the Spiral Tunnels Work

Dotted lines are the Spiral Tunnels.
Dotted lines are the Spiral Tunnels.
© Parks Canada

An eastbound train leaving Field climbs a moderate hill, goes through two short, straight tunnels on Mt. Stephen, under the Trans-Canada Highway, across the Kicking Horse River and into the Lower Spiral Tunnel in Mt. Ogden. It spirals to the left up inside the mountain for 891-m and emerges 15-m higher. The train then crosses back over the Kicking Horse River, under the highway a second time and into the 991-m tunnel in Cathedral Mountain. The train spirals to the right, emerging 17-m higher and continues to the top of Kicking Horse Pass.

See Them for Yourself

There are two viewpoints where you can safely watch trains and learn more about the Spiral Tunnels and Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site of Canada. On average, 25 to 30 trains pass through the Spiral Tunnels daily, though not on a regular schedule.

  • From the viewpoint 7.4 km east of Field on the Trans-Canada Highway, you can see the Lower Spiral Tunnel in Mt. Ogden.
  • The Upper Spiral Tunnel in Cathedral Mountain can be seen from the pull-off 2.3 km up the Yoho Valley Road.

Experience the Past

  • Hike the 1.2-km Walk in The Past Trail. It leads to an old spur line and an abandoned locomotive used during the Spiral Tunnels’ construction. On the way to the trailhead, don’t miss the old bake oven used by CPR construction crews.
  • As you drive on the Trans-Canada Highway, near the Spiral Tunnels viewpoint, you’re following the path once known as the Big Hill. Imagine what it would be like over a hundred years ago, to be an Engineer facing this hill in a steam train with heavy freight behind you.

Parc national Yoho

Tunnels en spirale

La locomotive d'un train à vapeur croise le wagon de queue à sa sortie du tunnel inférieur.
La locomotive d'un train à vapeur croise le wagon de queue à sa sortie du tunnel inférieur.
© Musée Whyte des Rocheuses canadiennes, NA71-5409

Contexte

Lorsque la Colombie-Britannique se joint à la Confédération en 1871, c’est à la condition que le premier ministre John A. Macdonald fasse construire une voie ferrée reliant la province au reste du pays. Il s’agit d’un énorme projet étant donné la taille du continent, surtout pour l’époque, et les Rocheuses constituent l’un des principaux obstacles à franchir. Plusieurs tracés sont envisagés, et il est décidé que la voie ferrée passera par le col Kicking Horse, malgré le relief accidenté qu’on y trouve, en raison de sa proximité avec la frontière américaine et du fait qu’il se trouve plus près de la côte du Pacifique. Ce choix est si important dans l’histoire du Canada que le col Kicking Horse est plus tard désigné lieu historique national, en 1971.

La Grande Pente

Voie principale et ligne secondaire (à droite).
Voie principale et ligne secondaire(à droite).
© Parcs Canada

La forte inclinaison du col Kicking Horse pose problème. Pressé par le gouvernement de terminer les travaux malgré les défis d’ingénierie liés au relief, le Canadien Pacifique (CP) ne peut pas aménager une descente progressive. La solution trouvée permet d’obtenir temporairement une pente de 4,5 %. Le premier train à l’emprunter déraille en 1884 et cause la mort tragique de trois employés sur ce tronçon surnommé la « Grande Pente ». Par souci de sécurité, on aménage trois lignes secondaires pour y diriger les trains en détresse. L’aiguillage se fait par défaut vers les lignes secondaires, et les trains ne sont ramenés vers la voie principale que lorsqu’il est clair qu’ils sont sous contrôle. Si descendre la Grande Pente est tout un défi, la gravir n’est pas non plus de tout repos. Il faut ajouter des locomotives pour pousser les trains vers le sommet, ce qui entraîne des retards et nécessite une main-d’œuvre supplémentaire. Les montagnes, véritable casse-tête pour le CP, inspirent par ailleurs les nombreux touristes qui arrivent par train. Voulant préserver le paysage et encourager le tourisme, la compagnie ferroviaire incite le gouvernement à créer la réserve du Dominion du Mont-Stephen, en 1886. Le parc est renommé Yoho en 1901.

La solution de M. Schwitzer

C’est J.E. Schwitzer, mécanicien en chef adjoint, qui trouve comment rendre la pente plus graduelle : il conçoit les tunnels en spirale d’après un système employé en Suisse. Terminés en 1909, les tunnels permettent l’abandon de la Grande Pente après 25 ans de service. La nouvelle voie, moins inclinée, ralentit la descente, améliore la sécurité, rend inutiles les lignes secondaires et les locomotives de poussée arrière, et réduit les retards et les coûts de fonctionnement. Bien que les tunnels en spirale adoucissent grandement la pente, de nombreux problèmes se posent toujours en cet endroit où la nature règne en maître : éboulements, coulées de boue, avalanches, etc.

Parcours des tunnels en spirale

Les lignes pointillées représentent les tunnels en spirale.
Les lignes pointillées représentent les tunnels en spirale.
© Parcs Canada

Les trains qui quittent Field en direction est grimpent une pente modérée, empruntent deux courts tunnels en ligne droite au mont Stephen, passent sous la Transcanadienne, franchissent la rivière Kicking Horse et entrent dans le tunnel en spirale inférieur, au mont Ogden. Ils décrivent une boucle vers la gauche et, 891 m plus loin, ressortent 15 m plus haut. Les trains retraversent ensuite la rivière, repassent sous la route, puis s’engouffrent dans le tunnel de 991 m du mont Cathedral. Après une boucle vers la droite, ils en ressortent 17 m plus haut et poursuivent leur chemin vers le sommet du col Kicking Horse.

Allez les voir de plus près

Deux points de vue permettent d’observer les trains en toute sécurité et d’en apprendre davantage sur les tunnels en spirale et sur le lieu historique national du Canada du Col-Kicking Horse. De 25 à 30 trains, en moyenne, empruntent les tunnels chaque jour selon un horaire variable.

  • Du belvédère situé à 7,4 km à l’est de Field, sur la Transcanadienne, vous pourrez apercevoir le tunnel inférieur, creusé dans le mont Ogden.
  • De la voie d’arrêt située à 2,3 km sur la route de la Vallée-de-la-Yoho, vous pourrez voir le tunnel supérieur, creusé dans le mont Cathedral.

Découvrez l’histoire

  • Explorez le sentier de la Promenade-dans-le-Passé. Ce parcours de 1,2 km vous permettra de découvrir une ancienne ligne secondaire et une locomotive abandonnée utilisée durant la construction des tunnels en spirale. En route vers le point de départ, vous pourrez voir l’ancien four utilisé par les équipes de construction du CP.
  • La Transcanadienne suit le tracé de la Grande Pente. Imaginez-vous à la place des mécaniciens qui ont dû, il y a plus de 100 ans, se mesurer à la montagne aux commandes d’une locomotive à vapeur suivie d’une lourde charge!