Common menu bar links

Yoho National Park

Burgess Shale - Discover 505 million year old fossils
Burgess Shale - HomeBurgess Shale - LearnBurgess Shale - VisitBurgess Shale - FAQsBurgess Shale - GalleryBurgess Shale - PressBurgess Shale - LinksBurgess Shale - Contact Guided Hikes Interactive Exhibits How to get here

Guided Hikes

Hike to the world’s most significant fossils! Join a Parks Canada Heritage Interpreter and explore the remains of an ancient sea in the sky.

Parks Canada’s Heritage Interpreters offer guided hikes to the world famous Burgess Shale fossil beds. Hold 505 million year old fossils in your hand and learn about these creatures and the surrounding mountains through activities and storytelling. Book early as these popular hikes fill up fast and are limited to a maximum of 12 people per hike.

1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783) or visit www.reservations.parkscanada.gc.ca to create an account and make your reservation online.  

Reservations for 2015 open on January 2, 2015.

Walcott QuarryMount Stephen Fossil Bed | Stanley Glacier | Reservations | Map


Walcott Quarry: Classic Expedition 

View of Emerald Lake from Walcott Quarry © Parks Canada
View of Emerald Lake from the Burgess Shale hike to the Walcott Quarry
© Parks Canada

This classic journey begins at spectacular Takakkaw Falls in Yoho National Park, British Columbia. As you hike through stunning mountain landscapes, you’ll learn about the bizarre Burgess Shale creatures and how they came to be fossilized at the top of the mountains. With a maximum group of 12 people, there is plenty of opportunity to ask questions about geology or the local plants and animals. This challenging 10.5 hour, 21 km (13 mile) round trip hike is worth the effort.

Length: This rugged 21 kilometre (13 mile) round-trip hike takes about 10.5 hours to complete. Elevation gain is 825 metres (2710 feet). This hike is the equivalent of climbing up and down all of the stairs in a 234 story building over 21 km (13 miles). Ensure you are prepared for this level of difficulty and all weather conditions, including heavy rains and snow.

Schedule: Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday from July 10 to Sept 2, 2015. Then Friday, Saturday, Sunday from Sept 4-20, 2015. Meet at 7:00am.

Time zones in British Columbia: When travelling east from Vancouver, the time changes from the Pacific Time Zone to the Mountain Time Zone, at Glacier National Park’s eastern boundary. Please note that all hike times are in the Mountain Daylight Time Zone.

Meeting place: Takakkaw Falls parking lot, 14km (9 miles) east of Field, B.C. (see map)

*Cost: Adults $70.00 17-64 years
**Youth $35.00 8-16 years
Seniors $59.50 65+ years

*A non-refundable reservation fee of $11.00 will be charged for each online reservation and $13.50 charged for each phone reservation.
**Children under 8 are not recommended due to trip length and difficulty. Youth from 8-16 must be accompanied by an adult. Parent or guardian of participants 17-19 years of age must sign a waiver at the trailhead.
*Groups that reserve all 12 available spaces at the same time for the same hike receive a 10% discount.
* Fees are under review and are subject to change without notice

 


Mount Stephen Fossil Bed: Stone Bugs Galore

Mount Stephen fossil bed © Parks Canada View from the Mount Stephen fossil bed on a Burgess Shale hike © Parks Canada

Hike to the site where railway workers reported finding ‘stone bugs’ in the 1880s and learn about the bizarre Burgess Shale creatures and how they came to be fossilized at the top of the mountains. With a maximum group of 12 people, there is plenty of opportunity to ask questions about geology or the local plants and animals. This short but challenging 7 hour, 8 km (5 miles) round trip will take you to a 505 million year old treasure frozen in time.

Length: The hike is a difficult 8-kilometre (5 mile) round-trip that takes about 7 hours to complete. Elevation gain is 795 metres (2610 feet). This hike is the equivalent of climbing all the stairs up and down again in a 234 story building over an 8 km (5 mile) distance. Ensure you are prepared for this level of difficulty and all weather conditions, including heavy rains and snow.

Schedule: Fridays June 12, 19, 26 and July 3 only, plus Saturday, Sunday, Monday from June 13 to Sept 21, 2015. Meet at 7:00 a.m.

Time zones in British Columbia: When travelling east from Vancouver, the time changes from the Pacific Time Zone to the Mountain Time Zone, at Glacier National Park’s eastern boundary. Please note that all hike times are in the Mountain Daylight Time Zone.

Meeting place: Yoho Visitor Centre (see map)

*Cost: Adult $55.00 17-64 years
**Youth $27.50 8-16 years
Seniors $46.75 65+ years 

*A non-refundable reservation fee of $11.00 will be charged for each online reservation and $13.50 charged for each phone reservation.
*Children under 8 are not recommended due to trip length and difficulty. Youth from 8-16 must be accompanied by an adult. Parent or guardian of participants 17-19 years of age must sign a waiver at the trailhead.
*Groups that reserve all 12 available spaces at the same time for the same hike receive a 10% discount.
*Fees are under review and are subject to change without notice

 


Stanley Glacier: Kootenay Fossils Revealed
(Kootenay National Park)

Join a Parks Canada Heritage Interpreter for a family-friendly guided hike to one of Kootenay National Park’s recently discovered Burgess Shale fossil sites. Beginning in an expansive fire swept forest with lodgepole pines and a profusion of wildflowers, this 10 km return (6.3 mile) hike crosses a turquoise river, passes by waterfalls and gives close-up views of the Stanley Glacier. Hidden at the base of Mount Stanley are trilobites, hyolithids, brachiopods, sponges and algaes. Hold a piece of earth’s history in your hand and make a fossil rubbing to take home. You’ll even learn about the “Stan animal,” a 505 million year old predator recently discovered here!

View from the Stanley Glacier Trail
View from the Stanley Glacier Trail © Parks Canada

Length: This hike is a moderately difficult 10 km (6.3 mile) round trip that takes approximately 7.5 hours to complete. Elevation gain is 450 metres (1500 ft). It is the equivalent to climbing all the stairs up and down again in a 130 story building over 10 km (6.3 miles) in distance.

Schedule: Every Saturday, Sunday, Monday from June 13 to Sept. 21, 2015. Meet at 8:00 a.m.

Time zones in British Columbia: When travelling east from Vancouver, the time changes from the Pacific Time Zone to the Mountain Time Zone, at Glacier National Park’s eastern boundary. Please note that all hike times are in the Mountain Daylight Time Zone.

Meeting place: The Stanley Glacier parking lot: 15 km (9.3 miles) south of Castle Junction on Highway 93 South in Kootenay National Park. It is 95 km (59 miles) north of Radium Hot Springs, 45 km (28 miles) southwest of Banff and 40 km (25 miles) southeast of Lake Louise.

*Cost: Adult $55.00 17-64 years
**Youth $27.50 8-16 years
Seniors $46.75 65+ years
**Children 7 and under are free (1 child per paying adult)

*A non refundable reservation fee of $11.00 will be charged for each online reservation and $13.50 charged for each phone reservation.
*All fees subject to change without notice.
*Groups that reserve all 12 available spaces at the same time for the same hike receive a 10% discount.
**Children under seven may attend at parent’s discretion; hike not suitable for strollers. Children and youth up to 16 years of age must be accompanied by an adult. Parent or guardian of participants 17-19 years of age must sign a waiver at the trailhead.


Reservations

Reservations are required and available starting January 2, 2015. A non-refundable reservation fee of $11.00 will be charged for each online reservation and $13.50 charged for each phone reservation. All fees are collected at time of booking. A confirmation letter will be e-mailed to verify the reservation once payment is finalized.

Reservations:  Go to www.reservations.parkscanada.gc.ca to create an account and make your reservation online or call 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783) and have the following info ready:

  • Dates & hike requested
  • Names and ages of participants
  • Emergency contact & medical info
  • MasterCard, Visa or AmEx number

Changes and Cancellations:

  • Cancellations with a full refund of hiking fees may be made by 10 a.m. five days before the scheduled hike. 
  • Cancellations made less than 5 days before the scheduled hike will receive 50% of their prepaid hiking fees (minus the non-refundable reservation and cancellation fees). 
  • Online reservation changes and cancellations are subject to a fee of $11.00 per transaction and changes and cancellations by phone are subject to a fee of $13.50 per transaction. 
  • Due to high demand, Parks Canada requests that booking modifications be made with as much advance notice as possible. Parks Canada reserves the right to retain hiking fees in the case of no-shows.

Standby Hikers: Visitors wishing to join a Burgess Shale hike on a standby basis may do so by arriving at the hike meeting location prior to the start of the hike, although there is no guarantee that a place will be available. Open spots will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

If you are unable to reserve for the date you prefer, you may be interested in guided hikes offered by the Burgess Shale Geoscience Foundation.

If you would like to book a custom Burgess Shale guided hike, please contact Parks Canada staff at 250-343-6783 after May 1, 2015.

What should I bring?
Comments from visitors

Map

Map of the Burgess Shale hikes © Parks Canada 
Printable version (PDF, 4MB)

 


The Burgess Shale - Visit
Guided Hikes | Interactive ExhibitsHow to get here



The Burgess Shale - Discover 505 Million Year Old Fossils
Home | Learn | VisitFAQsGalleryPressLinks | Contact

Parc national Yoho

Schistes argileux de Burgess - découvrez des fossiles de 505 millions d'années
Schistes argileux de Burgess - accueilSchistes argileux de Burgess - apprendreSchistes argileux de Burgess - visiterSchistes argileux de Burgess - FAQsSchistes argileux de Burgess - galerieSchistes argileux de Burgess - mediasSchistes argileux de Burgess - liensSchistes argileux de Burgess - contactez-nous Randonnées guidées Expositions interactives Comment s'y rendre

Randonnées guidées

Faites une randonnée jusqu’aux fossiles les plus importants de la planète! Joignez-vous à un interprète du patrimoine de Parcs Canada pour explorer les vestiges d’une mer ancienne cachée bien haut dans les montagnes.

Les interprètes du patrimoine de Parcs Canada offrent des randonnées guidées jusqu’aux célèbres gisements fossilifères des schistes argileux de Burgess. Tenez dans vos mains des fossiles vieux de 505 millions d’années et familiarisez-vous avec ces créatures et les montagnes environnantes par des activités et des contes. Réservez sans tarder, car ces randonnées sont très courues. La limite est de 12 personnes par randonnée. 

Réservations : Téléphonez au 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783) ou rendez-vous sur le site Web www.reservations.parcscanada.gc.ca pour créer votre compte et pour effectuer votre réservation en ligne.

Les réservations pour la saison touristique 2015 seront acceptées à compter du 2 janvier 2015.

Carrière Walcott | Gisements fossilifères du mont Stephen | Glacier Stanley | Réservations | Carte


Carrière Walcott : Excursion classique

Vue sur le lac Emerald depuis la carrière Walcott © Parcs Canada Vue sur le lac Emerald depuis la carrière Walcott pendant une randonnée guidée
© Parcs Canada

Cette randonnée classique débute aux spectaculaires chutes Takakkaw, dans le parc national Yoho, en Colombie-Britannique. Tout en explorant des paysages de montagne saisissants, vous en apprendrez davantage sur les étranges créatures fossilisées dans les schistes argileux de Burgess, et vous découvrirez comment elles se sont retrouvées au sommet des montagnes. Comme les groupes sont limités à 12 personnes, les participants ont pleinement l’occasion de poser des questions sur la géologie ou les espèces végétales et animales locales. Cette randonnée difficile de 21 km aller-retour (10 heures) vaut bien l’effort que vous y mettrez.

Durée du trajet : Il vous faudra environ dix heures et demie pour parcourir ce sentier au terrain accidenté de 21 km (aller-retour). Gain d’altitude de 825 m. Au cours de cette randonnée, vous monterez et descendrez l’équivalent de 234 étages sur une distance de 21 km. Vous devez être bien préparé pour ce niveau de difficulté et pour toutes sortes de conditions météorologiques, y compris de fortes pluies et de la neige.

Horaire : Le mercredi, le vendredi, le samedi, le dimanche et le lundi du 10 juillet au 2 septembre, puis le vendredi, le samedi et le dimanche du 4 au 20 septembre. Rassemblement à 7 h.

Fuseaux horaires en Colombie-Britannique : Lorsque vous circulez vers l’est en provenance de Vancouver, vous passez du fuseau horaire du Pacifique à celui des Rocheuses en franchissant la limite est du parc national des Glaciers. Toutes les heures de départ des randonnées sont à l’heure des Rocheuses.

Lieu de rassemblement : Aire de stationnement des chutes Takakkaw 14 km à l’est de Field, en C-B (voir la carte)

*Droits : Adultes – 70 $ de 17 à 64 ans 
                **Jeunes – 35 $ de 6 à 16 ans* 
                Aînés – 59,50 $ 65 ans et plus

*Un droit de réservation non remboursable au montant de 11,00 $ par transaction en ligne, et de 13,50 $ par transaction téléphonique sera facturé.
**Les randonnées ne sont pas recommandées aux enfants de moins de 8 ans, en raison de leur longueur et de leur difficulté. Les jeunes de 8 à 16 ans doivent être accompagnés d’un adulte. Dans le cas des participants âgés de 17 à 19 ans, un parent ou un tuteur doit signer un formulaire de renonciation au point de départ du sentier.
*Les groupes qui réservent simultanément toutes les douze places disponibles d’une même randonnée bénéficient d'un rabais de 10 % sur les droits.
* Les prix sont en cours de révision et pourraient changer.


Gisements fossilifères du mont Stephen : Des insectes en pierre à profusion

Gisements fossilifères du mont Stephen © Parcs Canada Vue des gisements fossilifères du mont Stephen pendant une randonnée guidée © Parcs Canada

Rendez-vous jusqu’à l’endroit où des ouvriers du chemin de fer affirmèrent avoir trouvé des « insectes en pierre » dans les années 1880. Découvrez de quelle manière ces étranges créatures fossilisées dans les schistes argileux de Burgess en vinrent à se retrouver au sommet d’une montagne. Comme les groupes sont limités à 12 personnes, les participants ont pleinement l’occasion de poser des questions sur la géologie ou les espèces végétales et animales locales. Cette randonnée courte mais exigeante de 8 km aller-retour (7 heures) vous ramène 505 millions d’années en arrière pour vous dévoiler un trésor figé dans la pierre.

Durée du trajet : Vous devez prévoir environ sept heures pour effectuer cette randonnée difficile de 8 km (aller-retour). Gain d’altitude de 795 m. Au cours de cette randonnée, vous monterez et descendrez l’équivalent de 234 étages sur une distance de 8 km. Vous devez être bien préparé pour ce niveau de difficulté et pour toutes sortes de conditions météorologiques, y compris de fortes pluies et de la neige.

Horaire : Les vendredis 12, 19 et 26 juin et le vendredi 3 juillet seulement. Le samedi, le dimanche et le lundi du 13 juin au 21 septembre. Rassemblement à 7 h.

Fuseaux horaires en Colombie-Britannique : Lorsque vous circulez vers l’est en provenance de Vancouver, vous passez du fuseau horaire du Pacifique à celui des Rocheuses en franchissant la limite est du parc national des Glaciers. Toutes les heures de départ des randonnées sont à l’heure des Rocheuses.

Lieu de rassemblement : Centre d’accueil du parc national Yoho (voir la carte)

*Droits : Adultes – 55 $ de 17 à 64 ans
                **Jeunes – 27,50 $ de 6 à16 ans 
                Aînés –46,75 $ 65 ans et plus 

*Un droit de réservation non remboursable au montant de 11,00 $ par transaction en ligne, et de 13,50 $ par transaction téléphonique sera facturé.
**Les randonnées ne sont pas recommandées aux enfants de moins de 8 ans en raison de leur longueur et de leur difficulté. Les jeunes de 8 à 16 ans doivent être accompagnés d’un adulte. Dans le cas des participants âgés de 17 à 19 ans, un parent ou un tuteur doit signer un formulaire de renonciation au point de départ du sentier.
* Les prix sont en cours de révision et pourraient changer.
*Les groupes qui réservent simultanément toutes les douze places disponibles d’une même randonnée bénéficient d'un rabais de 10 % sur les droits.


Glacier Stanley : À la découverte des fossiles du
parc national Kootenay

Joignez-vous à un interprète du patrimoine de Parcs Canada pour une randonnée guidée pour toute la famille jusqu’à un gisement fossilifère récemment découvert dans les schistes argileux de Burgess, dans le parc national Kootenay. Cette randonnée de 10 km aller-retour, débute dans une vaste forêt balayée par le feu où les pins tordus latifoliés sont entourés de fleurs sauvages. Le sentier croise une rivière aux eaux turquoise, longe des chutes et permet aux participants de voir de près le glacier Stanley. Au pied du mont Stanley se cachent des trilobites, des hyolithes, des brachiopodes, des éponges et des algues. Servez-vous d’un fossile pour faire une estampe que vous rapporterez à la maison et faites la connaissance de « l’animal du glacier Stan », un prédateur vieux de 505 millions d’années récemment découvert!

View from the Stanley Glacier Trail
Vue du sentier du glacier Stanley  © Parcs Canada

Durée du trajet : Vous devez prévoir environ sept heures et demie pour effectuer cette randonnée modérée difficile de 10 km (aller-retour). Gain d’altitude de 450 m. Au cours de cette randonnée, vous monterez et descendrez l’équivalent de 130 étages sur une distance de 10 km.

Horaire : Le samedi, le dimanche et le lundi du 13 juin au 21 septembre. Rassemblement à 8 h.

Fuseaux horaires en Colombie-Britannique : Lorsque vous circulez vers l’est en provenance de Vancouver, vous passez du fuseau horaire du Pacifique à celui des Rocheuses en franchissant la limite est du parc national des Glaciers. Toutes les heures de départ des randonnées sont à l’heure des Rocheuses.

Lieu de rassemblement : Le terrain de stationnement du glacier Stanley se trouve à 15 km au sud de Castle Junction sur la route 93 Sud, dans le parc national Kootenay. Il est situé à 95 km au nord de Radium Hot Springs, à 45 km au sud-ouest de Banff et à 40 km au sud-est de Lake Louise.

*Droits : Adultes – 55 $ de 17 à 64 ans
               **Jeunes – 27,50 $ de 6 à16 ans**
               Aînés –46,75 $ 65 ans et plus
Gratuit pour les enfants de moins de sept ans (accompagnés d’un adulte payant).**

*Un droit de réservation non remboursable au montant de 11,00 $ par transaction en ligne, et de 13,50 $ par transaction téléphonique sera facturé.
* Les prix pourraient changer sans préavis.
*Les groupes qui réservent simultanément toutes les douze places disponibles d’une même randonnée bénéficient d'un rabais de 10 % sur les droits.
** Les enfants de moins de sept ans peuvent participer à la randonnée à la discrétion des parents. Le type de terrain ne convient pas aux poussettes. Les enfants de 16 ans et moins doivent être accompagnés d’un adulte. Dans le cas des participants âgés de 17 à 19 ans, un parent ou un tuteur doit signer un formulaire de renonciation au point de départ du sentier.


Réservations

Les réservations, obligatoires, seront acceptées dès le 2 janvier 2015. Des droits de réservation non remboursables de 11,00 $ seront ajoutés à chaque réservation faite en ligne, et de 13,50 $ à chaque réservation faite par téléphone. Tous les droits sont exigés au moment de la réservation. Une fois le paiement final effectué, une lettre de confirmation vous sera envoyée par courriel pour que vous puissiez vérifier tous les renseignements.

Réservations : Rendez-vous sur le site Web www.reservations.parcscanada.gc.ca pour créer votre compte et pour effectuer votre réservation en ligne ou composez le 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783) et ayez les renseignements suivants en main :

  • Date et lieu de la randonnée à réserver
  • Nom et âge des participants
  • Personne à contacter en cas d’urgence et renseignements médicaux
  • Numéro de carte MasterCard, Visa ou American Express

Pour annuler ou modifier :

  • Vous pouvez annuler votre réservation et obtenir un remboursement complet si vous le faites avant 10 h cinq jours avant la randonnée. 
  • Les participants qui annulent moins de cinq jours avant la randonnée se voient rembourser 50% des droits prépayés (moins les droits de réservation et d’annulation non remboursables). 
  • Si vous désirez modifier ou annuler votre excursion, vous devrez payer des droits de 11,00 $ par transaction en ligne, et de 13,50 $ par transaction téléphonique. 
  • En raison de la forte demande, nous vous demandons de modifier votre réservation le plus tôt possible. Parcs Canada se réserve le droit de conserver les droits de randonnée versés si vous vous désistez. 

Randonneurs sans réservation : Si vous souhaitez vous joindre à un groupe sans avoir réservé, vous pouvez vous présenter au lieu de rassemblement avant l’heure de départ prévue, mais rien ne garantit que des places seront libres. Les places libres seront attribuées selon l’ordre d’arrivée des randonneurs sans réservation.

S’il vous est impossible d’obtenir une réservation à la date qui vous convient, vous serez peut-être intéressé de participer à l’une des randonnées guidées offertes par la Burgess Shale Geoscience Foundation.

Pour réserver une randonnée guidée taillée sur mesure jusqu’aux schistes argileux de Burgess, veuillez appeler Parcs Canada au 250-343-6783 après le 1er mai 2015.

Ce que vous devez apporter
Commentaires des visiteurs  

 


Carte

Carte de les randonneés de Burgess © Parcs Canada   
Version imprimable (PDF, 4.8 Mo)

 

Les schistes argileux de Burgess - Visitez
Randonnées guidées  |  Expositions interactives  |  Comment s'y rendre


Les schistes argileux de Burgess – Découvrez des fossiles de 505 millions d’années
Accueil | Apprenez | Visitez | FAQ | Galerie | Médias | Liens | Contactez-nous