Common menu bar links

Mount Revelstoke National Park

How to Get Here

To avoid disappointment, we recommend that visitors planning a trip to Mount Revelstoke National Park during the spring and autumn shoulder seasons (April, May, June, September, October) contact us by phone or e-mail for the latest information on facility openings and closings.

flowers in Mount Revelstoke's meadows The renowned subalpine wildflower meadows of Mount Revelstoke.
© Parks Canada

Access to Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada is by highway. The community of Revelstoke, 0.8 km southwest of the park, is located almost halfway from Calgary, Alberta, to Vancouver, British Columbia. It is serviced by small (charter) aircraft and by commercial bus lines. The Trans Canada Highway (Highway #1) is the point of access for visitors. It runs just inside the park's boundary for 13 km along the southeast perimeter of the park.

From the Trans Canada Highway, most summer visitors drive up the 26 km long Meadows in the Sky Parkway . This winding, paved mountain road leads to the Mount Revelstoke summit, and is the only opportunity in the Canadian national park system for private vehicles to access a mountaintop environment. Parking for summit visitors is located at Balsam Lake, on km 24 of the Meadows-in-the-Sky Parkway. Trailheads for several different hikes are found at Balsam Lake.

A Parks Canada Shuttle Bus takes visitors for the last 2 km between Balsam Lake and the Summit daily throughout the summer. The Parkway is open during the mountain's snowfree months, usually mid-July to mid-October.

Taxi service is available from the City of Revelstoke.

Parc national du Canada Mont-Revelstoke

Comment s'y rendre

Pour éviter toute déception, nous recommandons aux visiteurs de planifier leur séjour au park national du Mont-Revelstoke durant les saisons intermédiaires du printemps et de l'automne (avril, mai, juin, septembre et octobre). Appelez-nous ou envoyez-nous un courriel pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents au sujet des installations qui sont ouvertes et celles qui sont fermées.

flowers in Mount fleurs dans les prés du Mont-Revelstoke
Les célèbres prairies de fleurs sauvages subalpines du mont Revelstoke.
© Parcs Canada

L'accès au parc national du Canada du Mont-Revelstoke se fait par la route. La communauté de Revelstoke, 0,8 km au sud-ouest du parc, se situe à peu près à mi-chemin entre Calgary, en Alberta, et Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Une ligne de petits avions (nolisés) et d'autobus commerciaux dessert la ville. La route Transcanadienne (route no 1) est le point d'accès pour les visiteurs. Elle longe la limite sud-est du parc sur une distance de 13 km.

En été, la plupart des automobilistes qui arrivent de la route Transcanadienne peuvent parcourir la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel longue de 26 km. Cette route asphaltée et sinueuse mène au sommet du mont Revelstoke; c'est la seule du genre dans le réseau des parcs nationaux du Canada à permettre à des véhicules privés d'avoir accès au sommet d'une montagne. Au sommet, le stationnement se trouve au lac Balsam, au km 24 de la promenade. De nombreux sentiers de randonnée partent du lac Balsam.

Tous les jours durant l'été, une navette de Parcs Canada prend les visiteurs au lac Balsam pour franchir le dernier tronçon de 2 km qui mène jusqu'au sommet. La promenade est ouverte lorsque la montagne n'est pas couverte de neige, soit de la mi-juillet à la mi-octobre environ.

Il y a un service de taxis dans la ville de Revelstoke.