Common menu bar links

Mount Revelstoke National Park

Wolverine: legendary enigma

Wolverine - Gulo Gulo Wolverine - Gulo Gulo / © Parks Canada

The wolverine is an enduring symbol of deep wilderness, dogged determination and fierce independence. Their lives may be best described as wandering from valley bottom to alpine tundra in a continual search for food.

Wolverines are Blue-listed as a species of special concern by the government of British Columbia and are under federal reassessment by the national Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). Wolverines have a low-reproductive rate, require large home ranges and are sensitive to human activities and habitat fragmentation created by development1.

 


Identification | Range | Reproduction | PopulationDiet | Identifying Wolverine Tracks | Conservation Concerns | Current Research | Past Research | How You Can Help

Identification

The wolverine is the largest member of the weasel family. The wolverine is often mistaken for a small bear or large hoary marmot. Close in size to a medium dog, males weigh between 12 and 16 kg, while females are usually smaller. They have a rich, chocolate brown coat with blonde stripes down the sides. Individuals have unique silvery markings on their broad face.

Range

Backcountry skier Backcountry skier 
© Parks Canada - Jordy Shepherd

Wolverines cover a phenomenal amount of territory, often going right over mountains instead of taking the easy way around. Males have home ranges of 230 to 1580 km2, while females, especially those with young, maintain a much smaller home range, generally 50 to 400 km2 1. In the Columbia Mountains, backcountry skiers are known to spy their tracks traversing mountain ridge tops, high passes and deep, remote valleys.

In North America, wolverines range as far south as California, but south of the boreal forest, they are typically found only in the most rugged mountain ranges, including Canada's Rocky and Columbia Mountains1.


Reproduction

Wolverines mate between April and September, but embryo implantation is delayed many months and young are typically born between late March and mid April. Reproduction rates are low (2-3 kits) and females do not bear young every year1. In addition, poor nutrition caused by scarce food and increased stress from disturbances may stop a female from bringing a pregnancy to term (Persson 2005).

Come late winter, pregnant females move to higher elevations to den among large snow covered boulders or talus slopes (Krebs and Lewis 2000).

Population

wolverine © Parks Canada

If you see a wolverine, consider yourself lucky, for they are few and far between. While we don’t presently have a population estimate for Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks, research from a study in the 1990s indicates the population in the Northern Selkirk Mountains to be approximately 1 wolverine for every 167 km2 (Krebs and Lewis 2000). Of this area, Glacier is 1349 km2 and Mount Revelstoke is 260 km2.

Diet

The wolverines' appetite is legendary. Their scientific name, Gulo gulo, comes from the Latin word for glutton, but really they eat no more than any other animal their size. It's just that they aren't particularly picky eaters. Once thought to be almost exclusively eaters of carrion, we now know they are accomplished predators. They will kill caribou and goats, animals several times their size; they also prey on small mammals such as marmots, porcupine, ground squirrels and being omnivore, will eat roots and berries1. Much of their diet consists of large mammals that were previously killed by predators or avalanches1.

Identifying Wolverine Tracks

  • Wolverine track sequences are usually in sets of three prints, about the size of a large dog. Look closely at the middle print - it's actually made by two paws.

  • Tracks may also be in sets of 4 (like lynx or wolf) or 2 (like fisher and marten).

  • All five toes and claws are usually visible. Only four toes register for lynx (no claws) and wolf (claws visible) tracks.
Front print

FRONT- 5th toe on front doesn't always show. Height: ~ 12 cm (~ 4.5")

Back print




BACK - heel pad doesn't show on rear track. Height: ~ 10 cm (~ 3.5")

Track Patterns

Tracks Walk /  © Parks Canada / B. Bertch
Tracks 3 track /  © Parks Canada / B. Bertch
Tracks Bound pattern: pine marten on left and wolverine on right / © Parks Canada / B. Bertch

Conservation Concerns

Wolverines in western Canada, including the Mountain Parks, have been recommended as a Species of Special Concern by the national Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). This ranking reflects their low numbers and slow capacity to recover from population declines1. Both Alberta and British Columbia provincial governments recognize wolverine as a species that may be at risk and require special management considerations.
Canada's Mountain National Parks play an important role in providing valuable habitat for the wolverine. But, because wolverines require a large home range, the ones that call these parks home only spend a portion of their lives within the park boundaries.

Despite their fearsome reputation, the wolverine is susceptible to a number of threats including: disturbance in winter by backcountry skiers, heliskiers and snowmobilers (Krebs et al. 2007); human activity that may result in den abandonment (Magoun and Copeland 1998); decline in food sources such as Mountain Caribou1 and predator species that provide carrion for wolverine1; habitat loss and fragmentation1; mortality caused by the harvesting of pelts1; road and railway strikes1 and climate change impacts on habitat (Copeland et al. 2010).

Wolverines are a wide-ranging, low-density species that are important indicators of ecosystem health1. Protected within the boundaries of the national parks, they still face threats such as reduced landscape connectivity caused by transportation corridors and human disturbance in the form of recreation near den sites1. Denning females leave their young alone for up to several days while they search for food during the late winter1. The young are helpless and vulnerable, so mothers ensure they are in a secure den, safe from potential predators. Unwittingly, backcountry recreationalists may risk disturbing a female with kits, forcing her to find a new den and move her young. Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks are subject to increasing winter recreation pressure and increasing traffic flows along the existing transportation corridor. These factors may be affecting the range, connectivity and genetic diversity of the wolverine population.

research station
Researchers and a wolverine at a research station in Glacier National Park / © Parks Canada

Current Research

Wolverine hair samples  Wolverine hair samples /© Parks Canada

Currently, Parks Canada is collecting wolverine DNA from hair samples in Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks to determine the presence and behaviour of wolverine in relation to the Trans Canada Highway (TCH) and railway lines. This will help determine the potential need for and placement of crossing structures if the highway is expanded. It will also help determine where restrictions in gene flow may be occurring across wolverine range. The hair samples from wolverine are collected on barbed wire at baited stations. This is a genetic sampling technique used to collect data on wolverine occurrence, distribution and genetics. Each sampling site has a remote camera that helps confirm animal visits to the site and acts as an additional method of detection. This kind of research was established by biologists conducting wolverine research in the Rocky Mountains (www.albertawolverine.com and www.wolverinewatch.org).

Past Research

A wolverine research project was conducted in the North Columbia Mountains in the mid-1990’s (Krebs and Lewis, 2000; Krebs et al. 2004; Krebs et al. 2007) by the Columbia Basin Fish and Wildlife Compensation Program in collaboration with Parks Canada, the Ministry of Forests and the Habitat Conservation Trust Fund. This project determined home range size, mortality causes, habitat use and population estimates. The study area was centred north of Glacier National Park and included the Trans Canada Highway corridor. During the project, one collared wolverine was killed on the railway and one on the highway. The Trans Canada Highway corridor is thought to form a partial barrier to wolverine distribution. Wolverines in the study area were also found to be sensitive to recreational pressure (Krebs et al. 2007).

How You Can Help

When in the backcountry, observe all wildlife tracks closely. Not only does this help you to learn more about the behaviour of wildlife, but this increased awareness can also help you to avoid causing undue stress on sensitive species like wolverine. Remember, never follow tracks toward an animal and if you suspect you are near a wolverine den site, please leave the area immediately and notify park staff on your return. Common den sites may be identified by several sets of tracks leading to and from a hole in the snow. Please do not approach dens.

Any wolverine tracks you observe provide useful information for park biologists currently investigating wolverine distribution and ecology in the parks. Note your position, date and time; if you have a GPS unit, please record the UTM co-ordinates, describe if the tracks are fresh or snow covered, the estimated size and spacing of the tracks, and if you are able, take a photo.

Please return your observations to:

In person: to park visitor centres or warden offices

Email: Revglacier.Reception@pc.gc.ca

Phone: 250.837.7500 or 250.837.7553

Related links:

More information on wolverine research projects in the Columbia Mountains:

  • J. P. Copeland, K. S. McKelvey, K. B. Aubry, A. Landa, J. Persson, R. M. Inman, J. Krebs, E. Lofroth, H. Golden, J. R. Squires, A. Magoun, M. K. Schwartz, J. Wilmot, C. L. Copeland, R. E. Yates, I. Kojola and R. May. 2010. The bioclimatic envelope of the wolverine (Gulo gulo): do climatic constraints limit its geographic distribution? Canadian Journal of Zoology 88:233-246.

  • J.A. Krebs and D. Lewis. 2000. Wolverine ecology and habitat use in the North Columbia Mountains: Progress Report. 1999. Proceedings of a Conference on the Biology and Management of Species and Habitats at Risk, Kamloops, B.C., 15-19 Feb, 1999. Volume Two. BC Ministry of Environment, Lands and Parks, Victoria BC and University College of the Cariboo, Kamloops, BC. 520 pp.

  • J. Krebs, Lofroth, E., Copeland J., Banci, V., Cooley, D., Golden, H., Magoun, A., Mulders, R. and B. Shults. 2004. Synthesis of survival rates and causes of mortality in North American wolverines. Journal of Wildlife Management 68(3): 493-502.

  • Krebs, J., E. C. Lofroth, and I. Parfitt. 2007. Multiscale habitat use by wolverines in British Columbia, Canada. Journal of Wildlife Management 71: 2180–2192.

  • Lofroth, E. C., and J. Krebs. 2007. The abundance and distribution of wolverines in British Columbia, Canada. Journal of Wildlife Management 71: 2159–2169.

  • Magoun, A.J., and J.P. Copeland. 1998. Characteristics of wolverine reproductive den sites. Journal of Wildlife Management 62:1313-1320.

  • Persson, J. 2005. Female wolverine reproduction: reproductive costs and winter food availability. Canadian Journal of Zoology 83:1453–1459

  • Ruggiero, L. F., McKelvey, K. S., Aubry, K. B., Copeland, J. P., Pletscher, D. H. and M.G. Hornocker. 2007. Wolverine Conservation and Management. The Journal of Wildlife Management. 71: 2145–2146.

  • COSEWIC 2003. COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the wolverine Gulo gulo in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vi + 41 pp.

1Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), 2003.

Parc national du Mont-Revelstoke

Le carcajou, énigme légendaire

Carcajou - Gulo Gulo Carcajou - Gulo Gulo / © Parks Canada

Symbole de nos étendues sauvages, le carcajou est un bel exemple de détermination inébranlable et d’indépendance farouche. Il passe sa vie à errer entre le fond des vallées et la toundra alpine dans une perpétuelle quête de nourriture.

Le carcajou a été inscrit sur la liste bleue des espèces préoccupantes du gouvernement de la Colombie Britannique. Il fait également l’objet d’une nouvelle évaluation à l’échelon fédéral par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Le carcajou se caractérise par un faible taux de reproduction. Il a besoin d’un vaste territoire, et il est sensible à l’activité humaine ainsi qu’à la fragmentation de l’habitat causée par l’aménagement1.


Identification | Aire de répartition | Reproduction | Population | Régime alimentaire | Identification des pistes de carcajou | Préoccupations relatives à la conservation du carcajou | Recherches actuelles | Recherches antérieures | Ce que vous pouvez faire | Transmettez vos données d’observation | Liens connexes

Identification

Le carcajou est le plus gros animal de la famille des mustélidés. Souvent confondu avec un petit ours ou une grosse marmotte des Rocheuses, il est à peu près de la grosseur d’un chien de taille moyenne. Le mâle pèse de 12 à 16 kg, tandis que la femelle est généralement plus petite . L’espèce porte une épaisse fourrure brun foncé traversée de rayures blondes sur les flancs. Chaque individu se distingue par un motif particulier de marques argentées sur une face large.

Aire de répartition

Ski de Randonnée Ski de Randonnée
© Parks Canada - Jordy Shepherd

Le carcajou parcourt des distances phénoménales. Il lui arrive souvent de grimper des montagnes plutôt que d’en faire le tour. Le territoire des mâles varie de 230 à 1 580 km2, tandis que celui des femelles, surtout celles qui ont des petits, est beaucoup plus petit, de 50 à 400 km2 en général1. Dans la chaîne Columbia, les skieurs de l’arrière-pays peuvent suivre des pistes de carcajou qui traversent des crêtes de montagne, des cols élevés et des vallées profondes et reculées.

En Amérique du Nord, l’aire de répartition du carcajou s’étend jusqu’en Californie. Au sud de la forêt boréale, cependant, l’espèce ne se rencontre généralement que dans les chaînes de montagnes les plus sauvages, notamment dans les Rocheuses et la chaîne Columbia1.

Reproduction

Les carcajous s’accouplent entre les mois d’avril et de septembre, mais l’implantation de l’embryon est retardée de plusieurs mois, et les bébés naissent ordinairement entre la fin de mars et la mi-avril. Les taux de reproduction sont faibles (de deux à trois petits), et les femelles n’ont pas l’habitude de mettre bas tous les ans1. Par suite de la malnutrition associée à la rareté des sources de nourriture et du stress causé par les perturbations, les femelles ne sont pas toujours en mesure de mener leur gestation à terme (Persson, 2005).

À la fin de l’hiver, les femelles gravides s’isolent en altitude pour mettre bas entre de gros rochers couverts de neige ou près de talus d’éboulis (Krebs et Lewis, 2000).

Population

carcajou © Parks Canada

Si vous voyez un carcajou, considérez-vous comme chanceux : ils sont peu nombreux. Nous n’avons à l’heure actuelle aucune estimation de l’effectif pour les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Une étude menée dans les années 1990 indique que la densité de population de la partie nord de la chaîne Selkirk était d’environ un individu par tranche de 167 km2 (Krebs et Lewis, 2000). Le parc national des Glaciers occupe 1 349 km2 de ce territoire, et le parc national du Mont-Revelstoke, 260 km2.

Régime alimentaire

L’espèce est célèbre pour son appétit légendaire. Son nom scientifique, Gulo gulo, nous vient du latin et signifie glouton. En réalité, cette bête ne mange pas plus que les autres animaux de sa taille. Elle doit plutôt sa réputation au fait qu’elle n’a pas l’habitude de faire la fine bouche. Les chercheurs pensaient autrefois que l’espèce se nourrissait presque exclusivement de charogne, mais nous savons maintenant qu’il s’agit d’un prédateur accompli. Le carcajou peut abattre des caribous et des chèvres – des animaux qui font plusieurs fois sa propre taille –, et il chasse aussi de petits mammifères tels que la marmotte, le porc-épic et le spermophile. Comme il est omnivore, il mange aussi des racines et des baies1. Son régime alimentaire se compose en bonne partie de gros mammifères tués par des prédateurs ou par des avalanches1.

Identification des pistes de carcajou

  • Les pistes du carcajou sont habituellement composées de séries de trois empreintes de la taille de celles d’un gros chien. Si vous regardez de près l’empreinte du centre, vous verrez qu’elle a en fait été laissée par deux pattes.

  • Il peut également arriver que les empreintes soient disposées en groupes de quatre (comme celles du lynx ou du loup) ou en groupes de deux (comme celles du pékan ou de la martre)

  • On peut normalement voir la trace des cinq doigts et griffes du carcajou; les empreintes ne comportant que quatre doigts appartiennent au lynx (s’il n’y a pas de traces de griffes) ou au loup (si les traces de griffes sont visibles).
Avant

AVANT– Le cinquième orteil avant n’est pas toujours visible. Hauteur : ~ 12 cm

Arrière




ARRIÈRE – Le coussin du talon est invisible à l’arrière. Hauteur : ~ 10 cm

Motifs créés par les empreintes

les empreintes Marche 
© Parcs Canada - B. Bertch
les empreintes Séries de trois empreintes 
© Parcs Canada - B. Bertch
les empreintes Bonds : Pistes de martre à la gauche et pistes de carcajou à la droite
© Parks Canada - B. Bertch

Préoccupations relatives à la conservation du carcajou

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a recommandé que les populations de carcajous de l’Ouest canadien, y compris celles des parcs des montagnes, soient inscrites à la liste des espèces préoccupantes. Ce statut reflète leur faible effectif et la lenteur avec laquelle elles se remettent de déclins démographiques1. Les gouvernements de l’Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique considèrent tous deux le carcajou comme une espèce en péril qui doit faire l’objet de mesures de gestion spéciales.

Les parcs nationaux des montagnes du Canada jouent un rôle important en procurant un habitat au carcajou. Cependant, comme l’espèce a besoin d’un vaste territoire pour survivre, les carcajous qui y élisent domicile n’y passent qu’une partie de leur vie.

Malgré sa réputation d’animal redoutable, le carcajou est vulnérable à plusieurs menaces, notamment : les perturbations causées en hiver par les amateurs de ski de randonnée, d’héliski et de motoneige (Krebs et al., 2007); les activités humaines pouvant provoquer l’abandon de la tanière (Magoun et Copeland, 1998); la diminution des sources de nourriture, telles que le caribou des bois1, et des populations de prédateurs qui lui procurent de la charogne1; la disparition et la fragmentation de l’habitat; la mortalité causée par l’exploitation des peaux1; les collisions sur les routes et les voies ferrées1 et les impacts du changement climatique sur l’habitat (Copeland et al., 2010).

Important indicateur de la santé de l’écosystème, le carcajou erre sur un vaste territoire et présente une faible densité de population1. Il est protégé dans les limites des parcs nationaux, mais il doit encore affronter des menaces telles que la présence de couloirs de transport qui fragmentent son habitat et les activités récréatives près des tanières1. À la fin de l’hiver, les femelles qui élèvent des petits doivent quitter leur tanière pendant plusieurs jours à la fois pour chercher de la nourriture1. Les bébés sont vulnérables et sans défense, et les mères doivent donc s’assurer qu’ils sont dans une tanière sûre, à l’abri des prédateurs. Sans le vouloir, les adeptes du plein air qui circulent dans l’arrière-pays dérangent parfois une femelle avec des petits, au point de la forcer à déplacer sa progéniture dans une nouvelle tanière. Les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers accueillent un nombre croissant d’amateurs de loisirs hivernaux et une circulation accrue dans le couloir de transport. Ces facteurs risquent d’influer sur l’aire de répartition, la connectivité et la diversité génétique des populations de carcajous.

Chercheuses et un carcajou
Chercheuses et un carcajou à la station de recherche dans le parc national des Glaciers
© Parcs Canada

Recherches actuelles

Des touffes de poils de carcajo Des touffes de poils de carcajou
© Parcs Canada

À l’heure actuelle, Parcs Canada recueille des touffes de poils de carcajou dans les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers afin d’en faire une analyse de l’ADN. L’objectif consiste à déterminer si l’espèce fréquente les environs de la Transcanadienne et de la voie ferrée et, le cas échéant, de quelle manière elle réagit à la présence de ce couloir de transport. Les données ainsi recueillies nous permettront d’établir s’il y a lieu d’aménager des passages pour animaux dans l’éventualité d’un élargissement à quatre voies de la route et, le cas échéant, à quels endroits il conviendrait de le faire. Elles nous aideront aussi à délimiter les endroits où le flux génétique est restreint dans l’aire de répartition de l’espèce. Les touffes de poils sont prélevées sur des barbelés installés à des points d’appât. Cette technique d’échantillonnage génétique sert à recueillir des données sur la présence des carcajous, leur répartition et leur génétique. Chaque station d’échantillonnage est pourvue d’un appareil photo actionné par le mouvement qui permet de confirmer si des animaux ont visité la station et qui sert de méthode de détection supplémentaire. Ce genre de recherche a été conçu par des biologistes qui menaient une étude sur le carcajou dans les Rocheuses (www.albertawolverine.com – en anglais seulement - et www.wolverinewatch.org – en anglais seulement)

Recherches antérieures

Au milieu des années 1990, les responsables du Columbia Basin Fish and Wildlife Compensation Program ont réalisé un projet de recherche sur le carcajou dans la partie nord de la chaîne Columbia (Krebs et Lewis, 2000; Krebs et al., 2004; Krebs et al., 2007) en collaboration avec Parcs Canada, le ministère des Forêts et le Habitat Conservation Trust Fund. Ce projet a permis de déterminer la superficie du domaine vital de l’espèce, les causes de mortalité, le profil d’occupation de l’habitat et l’effectif estimatif de la population. La zone d’étude se trouvait au nord du parc national des Glaciers et englobait le couloir de la Transcanadienne. Pendant la durée du projet, deux carcajous pourvus d’un collier ont été tués, l’un sur la voie ferrée et l’autre sur la route. Les chercheurs sont d’avis que le couloir de la Transcanadienne forme un obstacle partiel à la répartition de l’espèce. Le projet de recherche a également révélé que les carcajous de la zone d’étude étaient vulnérables aux pressions exercées par les activités récréatives (Krebs et al., 2007).

Ce que vous pouvez faire

Quand vous circulez dans l’arrière-pays, regardez de près toutes les pistes d’animaux que vous voyez. Non seulement vous en apprendrez davantage sur le comportement de la faune, mais vous pourrez aussi éviter d’imposer un stress indu à des espèces sensibles comme le carcajou. N’oubliez pas : ne suivez jamais des pistes dans la direction prise par l’animal. Si vous pensez être près de la tanière d’un carcajou, quittez le secteur immédiatement et informez-en le personnel du parc à votre retour. Les tanières se reconnaissent généralement à la présence de plusieurs séries d’empreintes en provenance et à destination d’un trou creusé dans la neige. Ne vous approchez jamais des tanières. Les pistes de carcajou que vous observez fournissent des renseignements utiles aux biologistes qui étudient le profil de répartition et l’écologie de l’espèce dans les parcs. Consignez votre position géographique, la date et l’heure. Si vous avez un GPS, enregistrez les coordonnées UTM, précisez si les empreintes sont fraîches ou si elles sont couvertes de neige et inscrivez leur taille estimative et leur espacement. Si possible, prenez-les en photo.

Transmettez vos données d’observation :

En personne : à un centre d’accueil ou à un bureau des gardes

Par courriel : wolverine2012@pc.gc.ca

Par téléphone : 250.837.7500 ou 250.837.7553

Liens connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires concernant les projets de recherche sur le carcajou dans la chaîne Columbia

  • J. P. Copeland, K. S. McKelvey, K. B. Aubry, A. Landa, J. Persson, R. M. Inman, J. Krebs, E. Lofroth, H. Golden, J. R. Squires, A. Magoun, M. K. Schwartz, J. Wilmot, C. L. Copeland, R. E. Yates, I. Kojola and R. May. 2010. The bioclimatic envelope of the wolverine (Gulo gulo): do climatic constraints limit its geographic distribution? Canadian Journal of Zoology 88:233-246.

  • J.A. Krebs and D. Lewis. 2000. Wolverine ecology and habitat use in the North Columbia Mountains: Progress Report. 1999. Proceedings of a Conference on the Biology and Management of Species and Habitats at Risk, Kamloops, B.C., 15-19 Feb, 1999. Volume Two. BC Ministry of Environment, Lands and Parks, Victoria BC and University College of the Cariboo, Kamloops, BC. 520 pp.

  • J. Krebs, Lofroth, E., Copeland J., Banci, V., Cooley, D., Golden, H., Magoun, A., Mulders, R. and B. Shults. 2004. Synthesis of survival rates and causes of mortality in North American wolverines. Journal of Wildlife Management 68(3): 493-502.

  • Krebs, J., E. C. Lofroth, and I. Parfitt. 2007. Multiscale habitat use by wolverines in British Columbia, Canada. Journal of Wildlife Management 71: 2180–2192.

  • Lofroth, E. C., and J. Krebs. 2007. The abundance and distribution of wolverines in British Columbia, Canada. Journal of Wildlife Management 71: 2159–2169.

  • Magoun, A.J., and J.P. Copeland. 1998. Characteristics of wolverine reproductive den sites. Journal of Wildlife Management 62:1313-1320.

  • Persson, J. 2005. Female wolverine reproduction: reproductive costs and winter food availability. Canadian Journal of Zoology 83:1453–1459

  • Ruggiero, L. F., McKelvey, K. S., Aubry, K. B., Copeland, J. P., Pletscher, D. H. and M.G. Hornocker. 2007. Wolverine Conservation and Management. The Journal of Wildlife Management. 71: 2145–2146.

  • COSEWIC 2003. COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the wolverine Gulo gulo in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vi + 41 pp.

1Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), 2003.