Mount Revelstoke National Park

The History of Skiing on Mount Revelstoke

New! Watch Flying Without Wings, featuring the amazing history of ski jumping in Mount Revelstoke National Park using archival footage spanning six decades.


Nels Nelsen jumping at Revelstoke In February 1916, Nels Nelsen broke the world record by jumping 183 feet on the Revelstoke ski jump
© Revelstoke Museum and Archives / Barton / 1916

The Mount Revelstoke Ski Hill site, northeast of Revelstoke and just within Mount Revelstoke National Park, has a history as old as the settlement itself. A local miner introduced "Norwegian Snowshoes" to Revelstoke as early as 1892 and the first ski club was organized the next year.

Skiing developed simultaneously in eastern and western Canada, but from the same source: Norway. Skiing in North America was closely associated with Nordic immigrants who farmed, logged and mined. They formed ski clubs wherever they settled and organized nordic competitions which attracted huge crowds from the very beginning. The Revelstoke ski club was reorganized in 1914 by Sigurd Halverson and Nels Nelsen (world record holder and member of BC Sports Hall of Fame), the same year Mount Revelstoke National Park was established.

Arnfinn Bergman, 1947 Arnfinn Bergmann airborne over Revelstoke, 1947
© Revelstoke Museum and Archives / 1947

Today ski jumping is a spectator sport and few ski hills maintain a jump. But in the earliest years of skiing, jumping was the main emphasis of the sport. From 1915 to the late 1960s, annual ski jumping competitions were held on Mount Revelstoke -- the longest period of any Canadian ski jumping venue. Revelstoke's was the biggest natural ski jump hill in Canada and internationally recognized as one of the best in North America. The length and natural grade of its 600 m hill made possible jumps of over 60 metres -- the longest in Canada. It was also the only hill in Canada where world ski jumping records were set, in 1916, 1921, 1925, 1932 and 1933.

Beginning in the 1930s, the emphasis began to shift to downhill and slalom skiing, but jumping continued as a spectator sport. As late as the early 1960s, the Revelstoke Ski Club and the park improved the jumping facilities, including building the judges' tower that still stands today. The last competition in the park was held in 1971 -- 56 years after the first one. The Mount Revelstoke Ski Hill had closed two years earlier, in favour of a new commercial development outside of park boundaries.

Revelstoke ski jump in the 1950's Revelstoke ski jump, 1950s
© Revelstoke Museum and Archives

The Nels Nelsen Historic Area at the base of Mount Revelstoke allows you to explore this area. The old ski runs are slowly growing in, but the judges' tower is a prominent local landmark. Revelstoke is still a centre for skiing activity: the Columbia Mountains' tremendous snowfalls and spectacular runs provide ski touring opportunities second to none in the world. For more information on ski touring in our national parks, check our Ski Touring page.

Learn More...


Mount Revelstoke ski jump history on skisprungschanzen.com

Parc national du Mont-Revelstoke

L`histoire du ski du Mont-Revelstoke

Nouvelle! Regardez Voler sans ailes, un coup d'oeil sur l'histoire extraordinaire du saut à ski au parc national du Mont-Revelstoke.

Nels Nelsen saut du tremplin à Revelstoke En février, 1916, Nels Nelsen a établi un nouveau record avec un saut de 183 pieds du tremplin à Revelstoke
© Archives et Musée de Revelstoke / Barton / 1916


L'histoire de l'emplacement du centre de ski du Mont-Revelstoke, tout juste à l'intérieur des limites du parc national du Mont-Revelstoke, au nord-est de Revelstoke, remonte aussi loin quà l'époque du peuplement lui-même. Un mineur de la région fit connaître les « raquettes norvégiennes » aux habitants de Revelstoke en 1892 et le premier club de ski fut créé dès l'année suivante.

Sport originaire de la Norvège, le ski a évolué simultanément dans l'Ouest et dans l'Est du Canada. En Amérique du Nord, le ski fut étroitement lié aux immigrants venus des pays nordiques pour travailler dans les domaines de l'agriculture, de la foresterie et de l'exploitation minière. Peu importe où ils s'établissaient, ils formaient des clubs de ski et organisaient des compétitions nordiques qui ont attiré d'énormes foules dès le tout début. Sigurd Halverson et Nels Nelsen (détenteur d'un record du monde et membre du temple de la renommée des sports en Colombie-Britannique) réorganisèrent le club de ski de Revelstoke en 1914, la même année où fut créé le parc national du Mont-Revelstoke.

Arnfinn Bergman, 1947 Arnfinn Bergmann pris l'aire au-dessus de Revelstoke, 1947
© Archives et Musée de Revelstoke / 1947

Aujourd'hui, le saut à ski est devenu un sport de spectacle, et rares sont les centres de ski qui entretiennent toujours un tremplin. Pourtant, dans les premières années du ski, le saut était le principal attrait de ce sport. De 1915 jusqu'à la fin des années 60, des compétitions de saut à ski ont eu lieu chaque année sur le mont Revelstoke; c'est le seul tremplin à avoir été entretenu aussi longtemps dans l'histoire du pays. Le plus grand tremplin naturel au Canada, il était reconnu dans le monde entier comme l'un des meilleurs en Amérique du Nord. La longueur et l'inclinaison naturelle de cette pente de 600 mètres permettaient d'effectuer des sauts de 60 mètres les plus longs au Canada. C'est également la seule pente au pays où l'on a établi des records de saut à ski, soit en 1916, 1921, en 1925, en 1932 et en 1933.

Au cours des années 30, on commença à s'intéresser de plus en plus au ski alpin et au slalom, mais le saut demeura présent comme sport de spectacle. Encore au début des années 60, le club de ski de Revelstoke et le parc amélioraient les installations de l'aire de saut, en y érigeant notamment la tour des juges, qui est toujours en place aujourd'hui. La dernière compétition eut lieu en 1971 56 ans après la première. Le centre de ski du Mont-Revelstoke avait fermé ses portes deux années auparavant, au profit d'un nouveau développement commercial à l'extérieur des limites du parc.

Le tremplin à Revelstoke ca. 1950 Le tremplin à Revelstoke ca. 1950
© Archives et Musée de Revelstoke

L'aire historique Nels Nelsen, au pied du mont Revelstoke, permet de découvrir ce secteur. Les anciennes pistes de ski s'estompent tranquillement, mais la tour des juges constitue un important point de repère dans la région. Revelstoke demeure un lieu de prédilection pour les adeptes du ski : les précipitations phénoménales de neige et les pistes spectaculaires de la chaîne Columbia offrent des possibilités de randonnée en ski surpassées nulle part au monde. Pour en savoir davantage sur la randonnée en ski dans nos parcs nationaux, consultez notre page portant sur la randonnée en ski.

Apprendre Plus...

L'histoire du saut à ski à Mont-Revelstoke à skisprungschanzen.com (en anglais)