Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada

Wildlife Viewing:

Mount Revelstoke National Park of Canada is home to many mammals including black bear, grizzly bear, mountain caribou, wolverine, mountain goat, moose, pine marten, coyote, a variety of bats, and several species of shrews, voles, and mice. Most of these animals are secretive and widely distributed, so that you would be very lucky to see one.

Mountain caribou are officially listed as "threatened" nationally and their numbers have decreased within the park in recent years. Black bears are commonly seen in spring at the base of Mount Revelstoke or along the Trans Canada Highway and Meadows-in-the-Sky Parkway.

Columbian Ground Squirrel
Columbian ground squirrels can be seen in the meadows at the summit of the mountain.
© Parks Canada / J. Woods / 615-930-0-030, 1984
Steller's Jay
The Steller's Jay, the provincial bird of British Columbia, is commonly seen along the Trans Canada Highway.
© Parks Canada / J. Woods / 615-0840-0-018, 1984

Columbia ground-squirrels are commonly seen at the summit of Mount Revelstoke during July and August. Hoary marmot and pika are commonly seen and heard in the summer on rocky slopes along the trails to Eva, Miller, and Upper Jade lakes. You will hear the scolding calls of American red squirrels along any trail through park forests all year. In winter, you will see the tracks of pine marten, snowshoe hare, and mule deer along the cross-country ski trails at the base of the mountain.

The park is well-known for its birdwatching opportunities. May and June are the best months for variety. July and August are the times to look for high-elevation specialists such as golden eagle, water pipit, and rosy finch. Following are some of the species you may see and some places to look for them:

  • Skunk Cabbage Boardwalk Trail (Steller's Jay, Chestnut-backed Chickadee, Western Tanager, American Dippers, Magnolia Warbler, Black-headed Grosbeak, Rufous Hummingbird, Yellow Warbler, Townsend's Warbler, Common Yellowthroat, Merlin, and several species of Empidonax flycatchers.
  • Meadows-in-the-Sky Parkway. A drive up the Parkway in July will reveal species characteristic of the major life zones, including the grand-slam in chickadees: Black-capped, Mountain, Boreal and Chestnut-backed. Others include: MacGillivray's Warbler, Blue Grouse, Swainson's Thrush, Hermit Thrush, Pine Grosbeak, Red Crossbill, Black and Vaux's Swifts, Three-toed Woodpecker, Olive-sided Flycatcher, Gray Jay, Fox Sparrow, Northern Hawk-Owl, Golden Eagle, White-tailed Ptarmigan, Water Pipit, Rosy Finch.
  • The foot of Mount Revelstoke, in the Nels Nelsen Historic Area, is home to Nashville Warbler, American Redstart, Calliope Hummingbird, Varied Thrush and Western Tanager.

For more information on the wildlife and ecology of Mount Revelstoke National Park, read our Natural Heritage page.

Parc national du Canada Mont-Revelstoke

Observation de la faune

Le parc national du Canada du Mont-Revelstoke abrite de nombreux mammifères, dont l'ours noir, le grizzli, le caribou des Selkirks, le carcajou, la chèvre des Rocheuses, l'orignal, la martre d'Amérique, le coyote, diverses chauves-souris et plusieurs espèces de musaraignes, de campagnols et de souris. Mais la plupart de ces animaux vivent en secret et sont répartis sur un vaste territoire. Il vous faudrait donc bien de la chance pour les apercevoir.

Au Canada, le caribou des Selkirks figure sur la liste des espèces " menacées ", et la taille de sa population dans le parc a diminué au cours des dernières années. On aperçoit couramment des ours noirs au printemps, au pied du mont Revelstoke ou le long de la route transcanadienne et de la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel.

L'écureuil columbien
On peut voir les écureuils columbiens dans les prés au sommet de la montagne.
© Parcs Canada / J. Woods / 615-930-0-030, 1984
Le geai de Steller
Le geai de Steller, l'oiseau provincial de la Colombie-Britannique, est fréquemment vue le longue de la Transcanadienne.
© Parcs Canada / J. Woods / 615-0840-0-018, 1984

Le spermophile du Columbia fréquente en grand nombre de sommet du mont Revelstoke durant les mois de juillet et d'août. On peut souvent voir et entendre la marmotte des rocheuses et le pica durant l'été, sur les pentes rocheuses le long des sentiers menant aux lacs Eva, Miller et Jade Supérieur. Vous entendrez à longueur d'année les cris hargneux de l'écureuil roux, sur les tronçons boisés de tous les sentiers du parc. En hiver, vous apercevrez dans la neige les empreintes de la martre d'Amérique, du lièvre d'Amérique et du cerf mulet le long des pistes de ski de fond, au pied du mont.

Le parc est reconnu comme lieu de prédilection pour l'observation des oiseaux. C'est en mai et en juin que l'on peut observer la plus grande variété d'espèces. En juillet et en août, c'est au tour des spécialistes de la haute altitude, comme l'aigle royal, le pipit spioncelle et le roselin brun, de déployer leurs ailes dans le secteur. Voici quelques-uns des meilleurs endroits:

  • Sentier du Chou puant (geai de Steller, mésange à dos marron, tangara à tête rouge, cincle d'Amérique, paruline à tête cendrée, cardinal à tête noire, colibri roux, paruline jaune, paruline de Townsend, paruline masquée, faucon émerillon et diverses espèces de moucherolles).
  • Promenade des Prés-dans-le-ciel. Un brin de conduite sur la Promenade en juillet vous permet d'observer des espèces caractéristiques des principaux biomes, y compris toute la gamme des mésanges - à tête noire, de Gambel, à tête brune et à dos marron - (paruline des buissons, tétras sombre, grive à dos olive, grive solitaire, durbec des pins, bec-croisé rouge, martinet sombre, martinet de Vaux, pic tridactyle, geai du Canada, moucherolle à côtés olive, bruant fauve, chouette épervière, aigle royal, lagopède à queue blanche, pipit spioncelle, roselin brun).
  • Au pied du mont Revelstoke, près du chalet de ski (paruline à joues grises, paruline flamboyante, colibri calliope et diverses autres parulines).

Pour plus de renseignements sur la faune et l'écologie du parc national du Mont-Revelstoke, veuillez voir notre page sur le Patrimoine naturel .