Common menu bar links

Mount Revelstoke National Park

Meadows in the Sky Parkway

The Meadows in the Sky Parkway The Meadows in the Sky Parkway
© Parks Canada / Karen Best 
Historic fire observation tower Mount Revelstoke's historic firetower crowns the summit
© Parks Canada / Rob Buchanan

Mount Revelstoke National Park offers you the extraordinary experience of driving a good paved road from an elevation of 470 metres on the Trans Canada Highway, to 1500 metres at Balsam Lake.

Winding 26 kilometres uphill, the Meadows in the Sky Parkway takes you through forests of cedar and hemlock, spruce and fir to the renowned subalpine wildflower meadows of Mount Revelstoke National Park.

During the brief snow-free season (usually early July to late September), the Summit Shuttle Bus transports visitors between the parking area at Balsam Lake and the summit area, from 10:00 am to 5:30 pm during peak season, and from 10:00 - 4:45 during shoulder seasons. The summit offers rare mountain-top hiking, strolling, picnicking and photography opportunities. A historic firetower crowns the summit.

Easy strolls as well as longer hikes begin at the Balsam Lake parking area and the summit. To prevent damage to this mountain-top environment, you are asked to stay on the system of marked trails only. The subalpine vegetation of the Meadows area is extremely fragile and the growing season is very short.

Please note that the Parkway is a narrow mountain road with 16 switchbacks. Trailers and motorcoaches are not permitted. Trailer parking is available .5 km up the Parkway from the Trans-Canada Highway interchange (watch for signs indicating the Nels Nelsen Historic Area).

A map showing the roadside viewpoints on the Meadows in the Sky Parkway A map of the Meadows in the Sky Parkway viewpoints
© Parks Canada

 Visitor looking at the view from the summit of Mount Revelstoke
Incredible views from the summit of Mount Revelstoke
© Parks Canada / Jacolyn Daniluck

Parc national Mont-Revelstoke

Promenade des Prés-dans-le-ciel

Promenade des Prés-dans-le-ciel Promenade des Prés-dans-le-ciel
© Parcs Canada / Karen Best
Le tour d'observation de feu historique couronne le sommet du montagne Le tour d'observation de feu historique couronne le sommet du montagne
© Parcs Canada / Rob Buchanan

La promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel, route sinueuse qui décrit une ascension de 26 kilomètres depuis la ville de Revelstoke, vous fait traverser des forêts de thuyas, de pruches, d'épinettes et de sapins pour vous conduire jusqu'aux célèbres prairies de fleurs sauvages subalpines du mont Revelstoke.

Pendant la brève période où il n'y a pas de neige (habituellement du début de juillet à la fin de septembre), une navette transporte les visiteurs entre le lac Balsam et le sommet, de 10h à 17 h 30 durant la haute saison et de 10h à 16h:45 durant la basse saison. Le sommet offre tout ce qu'il faut pour combler l'amateur de randonnée le promeneur, le pique-niqueur et le photographe. Le sommet est couronné avec un tour d'observation historique.

Des promenades faciles ainsi que des randonnées plus longues débutent à partir du stationnement du lac Balsam et du sommet. Pour éviter de nuire à l'environnement, nous vous demandons de ne pas quitter les sentiers balisés. La flore subalpine des Prés est extrêmement fragile et la saison de croissance, très courte.

Veuillez noter que la promenade est une route de montagne étroite qui comporte 16 lacets. Les remorques et les autocars y sont interdits. Il y a un stationnement pour remorques à un demi-kilomètre de la promenade, et celui-ci est accessible depuis la Transcanadienne (remarquez les panneaux annonçant l'aire historique Nels Nelsen).

Un carte avec les belvédères de la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel Les belvédères de la promenade des Prés-dans-le-Ciel
© Parcs Canada

Un visiteur au sommet du Mont-Revelstoke
Le sommet du Mont-Revelstoke
© Parcs Canada / Jacolyn Daniluck