Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada

Weather and Climate

Thick fog can roll in at any time of year Listen to the local weather forecast before planning your day
© Parks Canada / D. Salisbury, 1998

This area's weather is dominated by air masses moving eastward over the Pacific Ocean and piling up against the Insular Mountain Range of Vancouver Island. As these air masses are forced up the mountains, they cool and the moisture within them condenses until it is released as precipitation. It is not unusual for this area to receive more than 300 cm (130 in.) of precipitation annually, most of it in the form of rain. This maritime climate with cool summers, mild winters, and abundant moisture results in the longest growing season in British Columbia. The lush coastal temperate rainforest and abundant intertidal life are excellent examples of the influence of the climate on the landscape of Pacific Rim.

While the seasonal weather changes may be subtle compared to the rest of Canada, there are some recognisable patterns on the West Coast.

Ocean swell crashes on the rocks Strong southeasterly winds characterise the beginning of the storm season
© Parks Canada

Summer is characterised by a reduction in the rainfall but an increase in sea fog. Pacific Rim summers are cooler and wetter than summers in Port Alberni, Nanaimo, Victoria. and Vancouver. Average summer temperatures are 14 C. Winds are usually light and predominantly from the west-northwest.

Autumn marks the beginning of the wet season for the National Park: increasing cloud blocks the sun, strong and persistent southeasterly winds bring frequent and severe storms and temperatures drop.

A blanket of snow covers Wickaninnish Bay
Snow is a rare occurrence and usually doesn't "stick" around for more than a couple of days
© Parks Canada / S. May

Winter intensifies the wet autumn pattern. Average temperatures for the season are 6 C. Rainfall is heavy; the community of Ucluelet, during unusual typhoon-like storms, has received as much as 49 cm (19 in.) of rain in one day! Although there are occasional wet snowfalls, snow is infrequent along this coast and several winters may pass without it. Frost is experienced each winter, but it is seldom severe. Normally temperatures remain above freezing unless cold Arctic highs move in bringing calm, sunny weather.

Sunshine dries out the cedar boardwalk near the Wickaninnish Centre
Spring comes early on the West Coast
© Parks Canada / B. Campbell

Spring is evident by late February - early March. The incidence and severity of storms decrease as North Pacific weather patterns stabilise. Precipitation decreases, clouds dissipate giving way to sunshine and temperatures rise.

Current local weather forecasts

Réserve de parc national du Canada Pacific Rim

La météo et le climat

Un brouillard épais peut survenir en tout temps de l'année
Écoutez les prévisions météorologiques locales avant de planifier votre journée
© Parcs Canada / D. Salisbury, 1998

La situation météorologique dominante consiste en un déplacement d'air venant du large de l'océan Pacifique et se dirigeant vers l'est. Les masses d'air s'accumulent contre la chaîne Insulaire de l'île de Vancouver. En s'élevant le long des montagnes, elles se rafraîchissent et l'humidité se condense pour donner lieu à des précipitations. Il n'est pas rare que cette région reçoive plus de 300 cm (130 po) de précipitations par année, la plus grande partie sous forme de pluie. Le climat maritime est caractérisé par des étés frais et des hivers doux et l'humidité abondante entraîne la plus longue saison de croissance en Colombie-Britannique. La forêt pluviale côtière luxuriante et la vie intertidale abondante constituent d'excellents exemples de l'influence du climat sur le paysage de la réserve Pacific Rim.

Bien que les variations saisonnières sur la côte ouest puissent être subtiles par rapport au reste du Canada, elles sont tout de même perceptibles et cycliques.

L'été est caractérisé par une diminution de la pluie mais par une augmentation du brouillard. Il est plus frais et pluvieux dans la réserve de parc national qu'à Port Alberni, Nanaimo, Victoria et Vancouver. La température moyenne en été est de 14 °C. Les vents, habituellement légers, soufflent principalement en direction ouest-nord-ouest.

Les vagues se brisent sur les rochers
Des vents forts du sud-est marquent le début de la saison des tempêtes
© Parcs Canada

L'automne marque le début de la saison pluvieuse dans le parc. L'amoncellement de nuages bloque la lumière solaire et les vents du sud-est, puissants et constants, apportent souvent de violentes tempêtes et une chute de la température.

L'hiver accentue la situation automnale. Le thermomètre se maintient en moyenne à 6 °C. Les précipitations sont abondantes; le village d'Ucluelet a déjà reçu 49 cm (19 po) de pluie en un jour, alors que sévissaient une tempête semblable à un typhon! Il y a parfois des chutes de neige humide, mais il est plutôt rare de voir de la neige le long de cette côte; en fait, plusieurs hivers peuvent s'écouler sans qu'il neige. Il gèle tous les hivers, mais ce sont rarement de fortes gelées La température se maintient habituellement au-dessus du point de congélation à moins qu'un anticyclone froid n'apporte un temps calme et ensoleillé.

Un manteau de neige recouvre la baie Wickaninnish La neige est rare et ne reste généralement pas plus que quelques jours.
© Parcs Canada / B. Campbell

Le printemps s'installe entre fin février et début mars. La fréquence et la puissance des tempêtes diminuent au fur et à mesure que les conditions atmosphériques du Pacifique Nord se stabilisent. La température s'élève car les précipitations s'atténuent et les nuages se dispersent.

Dernier bulletin météorologique local