Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada

The Species of the Rocky Shore

Lichens
Lichen can be found on the rocks in the
This unique plant is half algae, half fungi!
©Parks Canada / G-4

What are all the gray, green, orange and black "paint" splotches on the rocks in the splash zone of the beach? They're various species of lichen! These unique plants-half-algae, half-fungi-slowly dissolve rock, creating soil that will allow more complex plants to grow in the area.

Some lichens are fragile and crumbly when dry, but are very slippery when wet; so for their safety and yours, avoid stepping on them if you can.


Sea Palm (Postelsia palmaeformis)
Sea palm anchored to the rocky shore
Sea palm survive in the "impact zone" by anchoring to rocks
©Parks Canada / M. Hobson, 1982 / I-4

Your eyes haven't tricked you if you see palm trees at the edge of the sea; but when you do see them, beware. This brown algae grows only on rocks where the surf action is violent; it's as resilient as rubber, bouncing back after each smashing wave.

Unfortunately humans aren't made of rubber and can't survive what the sea palm can survive. When tidepooling, always watch the waves, and stay well out of their reach. Surge channels, sea caves, and rocky headlands can be extremely dangerous areas.


Gooseneck Barnacles (Pollicipes polymerus)
: A cluster of Gooseneck barnacles clinging to rocks
Gooseneck barnacles can be found on surf-swept rock
©Parks Canada / M. Reid, 1991

Gooseneck barnacles cluster together on surf-swept rocks, spreading their feathery feet with each wave, attempting to capture plankton in the watery turmoil.

These barnacles, like sea palms, live in areas with strong surf. If you explore where these are growing, watch out! Pay close attention to the waves; they are unpredictable. Mixed in with moderate waves can be larger waves known as rogue waves. Rogue waves have swept people to their death from the rocks in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada.


California Mussel (Mytilus californiamus)
California Mussels cover the rocks in the mid tide zone
California mussels are anchored to rocks via "bysall threads"
©Parks Canada / B. Campbell, 1978 / E-17

Mussels dominate the mid-tide zone, covering the rocks. They grow on top of other species, and they grow on top of each other. Each mussel anchors to whatever is handy with cables of protein called byssal threads. After every storm they survive, they attach new cables, ensuring they won't be swept away by the next storm.

Look closely in a mussel bed; discover a community of worms, crabs, snails, acorn barnacles and more, all living between their shells and threads.

Mussels were a traditional food source for the coastal First Nations peoples, but naturally-occurring plankton containing toxins can make eating mussels deadly. Paralytic shellfish poisoning can occur in any bivalve or hinge-shelled animals. Only eat bivalves from areas approved by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans.


Ocher Starfish (Pisaster ochraceus)
Ocher starfish
Mussels are the favourite food of the voracious ocher star
©Parks Canada / J.Bennett, 1978 / E-28

Ocher starfish aren't fish at all, they're spiny-skinned creatures called echinoderms. They are the most abundant type of starfish in the intertidal zone and come in three colors: purple, brown and yellow.

These voracious predators prefer mussels above all other food. The hungry starfish will surround a mussel with all five of its arms, slowly pull open the mussel, and then... the starfish will extrude part of its own stomach through its mouth to digest the mussel within its own shell.


Acorn Barnacles (Balanus glandula)
Acorn barnacles exposed during a low tide
Acorn Barnacles close up and wait for the tides to rise
©Parks Canada

It's high tide and you're underwater. Picture yourself standing on your head fanning the water with 12 hairy legs. Using this technique, the wily barnacle captures plankton in the water. When the tide falls, the barnacle seals itself within its white shell fortress.

When exploring, listen carefully; can you hear them clicking their trap doors tighter to conserve body moisture?


Surfgrass (Phyllospadix sp.)
Surfgrass exposed at a low tide
Surfgrass is a flowering plant that is found in almost all open coast communities.
©Parks Canada / W. McIntyre, 1978 / K-3

Surfgrass is a flowering plant that is found in almost all open coast communities. Its numerous long strands provide excellent food and shelter for many other plants and animal species. Numerous creatures can be seen scurrying and swimming for shade and cover when strands of surfgrass are gently brushed aside.


Giant Green Anemone (Anthopleura xanthogrammica)
Giant green anemones anchored to the rocky shore
Giant green anemones are active predators in the tidepool
©Parks Canada / B. Campbell, 1979 / E-5

This isn't a green flower, it's an active predator. Attaching itself to the rock, when small creatures brush past its tentacles, microscopic barbs shoot out into the prey, paralyze it, then draw it back into the anemone's mouth. To gently exploring fingers, the barbs make the tentacles feel sticky.

These delicate creatures may be older than you. In captivity they have been known to live at least 30 years. When exploring, watch out for white giant green anemone. In caves, where little sunlight reaches the anemone, the microscopic green algae that normally inhabit their body and colour their tissue, are absent.


Aggregate anemone (Anthopleura elegantissima)
Aggregate Anemones can be found carpeting entire rocks!
Aggregate Anemones reproduce via cloning
©Parks Canada / E-5

Aggregating anemones most often reproduce by cloning. One anemone will separate itself into two "daughters"; in turn the "daughters" will repeat the process of splitting themselves, forming 4 individuals from one original. This repeats itself over and over again.. Doing this, a colony of aggregating anemones can form extensive colonies carpeting entire rocks.

Any anemone within the reach of the opposing colony will be stung by them. For this reason a space will develop between the two colonies, a no anemone battle zone.


Tidepool Sculpin (Oligocottus maculosus)
Tidepool sculpins are common residents
Tidepool sculpins have the ability to change colour to match their surroundings
©Parks Canada / D-9

A master of disguise, the tidepool sculpin changes colour to match its tidepool, or buries itself in sand with only its large eyes protruding. From wherever it is hiding, it will lunge out, using its large mouth and darting movements to snap up food.

Each sculpin picks a particular tidepool as home and if they are ever swept from it, they use their sense of smell to find their way back to their tidepool.


Coralline Algae (Lithothamnion & Corallline)
Coralline Algae branching out in the tidepool
Coralline Algae looks like a coral but is actually a plant
©Parks Canada / J. Bennett, 1978 / I-5
This algae can form either a pink "paint" layer or tiny branching structures in tidepools.

Although they resemble corals, which are animals, the presence of chlorophyll for food manufacture confirms that they are in fact plants.


Lined Chitons (Tonicella lineata)
Lined Chiton glued to the rocks
A Lined chiton is glued to the rocks while grazing on coralline algae
©Parks Canada / H. Holmes, 1989 / E-15

Chitons resemble half a tiny football glued to the rock. They have eight interlocking butterfly shaped shells to provide flexible protection. This particular species is named for the alternating light and dark zigzag lines on its shell.

Probably the most beautiful chiton in this area, its bright pink lines help it blend in with its favourite food source: pink coralline algae. The chiton scrapes away at the rock encrusting algae with a strap-like tongue bearing tiny teeth harder than some steel.


Black Oystercatcher (Haematopus bachmani)
A black oyster catcher in search of a meal
Its black body and long orange bill make the black oyster catcher easy to identify
©Parks Canada / H. Hobson, 1985/ B-10-a

This bird may look like a crow with a carrot for a beak, but that distinctive beak comes in very handy. Despite the strong protective shell of most mollusks, (e.g. oysters and mussels) the oystercatcher can:

  • shatter shells with repeated hammering;
  • dart in quickly to sever a bivalves's mussels before it has a chance to close its shell;
  • chisel chitons and limpets from rocks,
  • probe the sand and mud for worms and crabs.

These birds nest on the ground just above the high-tide line on treeless rocky islets but apparently only a few select sites provide all the right conditions for survival. They inhabit the same areas year after year, and will often re-use the same nest sites.

In an effort to ensure the long-term protection of oystercatchers in the Broken Group Islands, park staff monitor the number and location of active nest sites in Barkley Sound, as they have done since 1970.


Harlequin Duck (Histrionicus histrionicus)
A pair of male Harlequin ducks floating on the water
In summer Harlequin ducks can be found feeding in white water rivers!
©Parks Canada / A. Dorst

For most of the year, Pacific harlequin ducks inhabit exposed rocky sea coasts from Alaska to Oregon using their stubby bills to pry invertebrates such as snails, limpets, crabs, chitons, and mussels from the rocks.

In summer however, they migrate inland to nest along turbulent mountain streams. Some Pacific harlequins spend their winter in this national park and their summers in Jasper National Park of Canada.

Harlequin ducks occur in two separate populations: one on the Pacific Ocean, and one on the Atlantic Ocean. The Atlantic population is low enough to be considered of special concern. In British Columbia and Alberta, harlequin ducks are not endangered, but there is growing concern over declining populations and human impact.

Parks Canada is involved in banding harlequin ducks as part of an international program throughout western Canada and the United States. It's an effort to gain knowledge of the habits and habitats of these unique birds, with the goal of protecting them throughout their summer and winter ranges.

Réserve de parc national du Canada Pacific Rim

Les Espèces Du Littoral Rocheux

Lichens
Haut de la page
Les roches situées dans la zone d'éclaboussement sont recouvertes de lichen
Cette plante unique est composée d'algues et de champignons!
©Parcs Canada / G-4

Que sont toutes les taches de « peinture » grise, verte, orange et noire sur les rochers dans la zone d'éclaboussement de la plage? Ce sont diverses espèces de lichen! Ces plantes bien particulières - mi-algues, mi-champignons - dissolvent la roche et créent un sol qui permettra à des plantes plus complexes de pousser dans la région.

Certains lichens sont fragiles et friables lorsqu'ils sont secs, mais glissants quand ils sont mouillés. Évitez donc de marcher dessus, pour votre sécurité et leur survie.

Postelsia palmiforme (Postelsia palmaeformis)
Le postelsia palmiforme est ancré au rivage rocheux
En s'enracinant aux roches, le postelsia palmiforme survit dans la « zone d'impact ».
©Parcs Canada / M. Hobson, 1982 / I-4

Non, ce n'est pas un mirage, vous voyez bien des « palmiers ». Mais faites attention. Cette algue brune ne pousse que sur les rochers lorsque les vagues sont violentes; elle est très résistante et rebondit comme du caoutchouc après chaque vague fracassante.

Malheureusement, les humains ne sont pas faits en caoutchouc et ne peuvent pas survivre là où vit le postelsia palmiforme. Lorsque vous explorez les cuvettes de marée (ou bâches), surveillez toujours les vagues et tenez-vous loin de leur portée. Les chenaux de refoulement, les grottes marines et les promontoires rocheux peuvent être des endroits extrêmement dangereux.

Pouce-pied (Pollicipes polymerus)
Une grappe de pouce-pied se cramponnant à la roche
On trouve les pouce-pied sur les rochers balayés par les vagues
©Parcs Canada / M. Reid, 1991

Les pouce-pied se regroupent sur les rochers balayés par les vagues et étirent leur pied duveteux pour essayer de saisir du plancton dans les eaux tourbillonnantes.

Tout comme le postelsia palmiforme, le pouce-pied vit là où les vagues déferlent. Faites très attention quand vous explorez leur habitat! Surveillez les vagues : elles sont imprévisibles. Les vagues modérées peuvent cacher de plus grosses vagues appelées fausses lames. Les fausses lames ont fait périr des gens en les emportant des rochers de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim du Canada.

Moule de Californie (Mytilus californiamus)
Haut de la page
Les moules de la Californie recouvrent les rochers de la zone de demi-marée
Les moules de la Californie s'accrochent à la roche à l'aide de byssus (faisceau de fils soyeux sécrétés par une glande).
©Parcs Canada / B. Campbell, 1978 / E-17

Les moules dominent dans la zone de demi-marée et couvrent les rochers. Elles se développent sur d'autres espèces et les unes sur les autres. Chaque moule s'ancre là où elle peut à l'aide de faisceaux de fils soyeux de protéine appelés byssus. Après chaque tempête, elle fixe de nouveaux fils pour ne pas être arrachée la prochaine fois.

Examinez de près une moulière; découvrez une communauté de vers, de crabes, d'escargots, de grosses balanes et d'autres créatures vivant toutes entre leurs coquilles et leurs fils.

Les moules étaient un aliment traditionnel des Premières nations sur la côte, mais le plancton naturel qui contient des toxines peut en faire un aliment fatal. L'empoisonnement marin paralysant peut se produire dans tout mollusque bivalve ou à coquille à charnière. Ne mangez que ceux qui viennent de régions approuvées par Pêches et Océans Canada.

Étoile de mer ocrée (Pisaster ochraceus)
Haut de la page
Étoile de mer sanguine
Les moules sont le plat favori de la vorace étoile de mer ocrée
©Parcs Canada / J.Bennett, 1978 / E-28

L'étoile de mer ocrée est un échinoderme doté de piquants. C'est l'étoile de mer la plus commune dans la zone intertidale. Elle peut être violette, brune ou jaune.

Ce prédateur vorace préfère les moules avant tout. Il entoure la moule de ses cinq bras, l'ouvre lentement... puis expulse une partie de son propre estomac par la bouche afin de digérer la moule dans sa coquille.

Grosses balanes (Balanus glandula)
Haut de la page
Grosses balanes exposées durant la marée basse
Les grosses balanes se ferment et attendent que la marée remonte.
©Parcs Canada

La marée est haute et vous êtes sous l'eau. Imaginez-vous à l'envers, agitant 12 jambes poilues dans les flots. À l'aide de cette technique, cette bernacle astucieuse capture le plancton.

Lorsque la marée se retire, elle s'enferme dans sa forteresse blanche.
Lorsque vous explorez le littoral, écoutez attentivement; entendez-vous les bernacles refermer leur porte encore plus hermétiquement afin de conserver leur humidité?

Zostère marine (Phyllospadix sp.)
Haut de la page
Zostère marine exposée durant la marée basse
La zostère marine est une angiosperme (plante qui produit des fleurs) que l'on trouve dans presque toutes les communautés côtières.
©Parcs Canada / W. McIntyre, 1978 / K-3

La zostère marine est une angiosperme (plante qui produit des fleurs) que l'on retrouve dans presque toutes les communautés des littoraux ouverts. Ses nombreux longs fils procurent un excellent abri et une excellente nourriture à bien d'autres plantes et espèces animales. On peut voir de nombreuses créatures détaler et nager pour trouver de l'ombre ou s'abriter lorsqu'on écarte doucement les fils de la zostère marine.

Grande anémone verte (Anthopleura xanthogrammica)
Haut de la page
De grandes anémones vertes ancrées au rivage rocheux
Les grandes anémones vertes sont d'actifs prédateurs dans les cuvettes de marée.
©Parcs Canada / B. Campbell, 1979 / E-5

Il ne s'agit pas d'une fleur verte, mais d'un prédateur actif. La grande anémone verte se fixe aux rochers et lorsque de petites créatures frôlent ses tentacules, des barbillons microscopiques pénètrent la proie, la paralysent, puis l'amènent dans la bouche de l'anémone. Si on les touche délicatement, les tentacules semblent collants en raison de ces barbillons.

Ces créatures délicates peuvent être plus vieilles que vous. En effet, elles peuvent atteindre au moins trente ans en captivité. Lorsque vous explorez le littoral, essayez de trouver de grandes anémones vertes... blanches. En effet, dans les grottes où elles sont peu exposées à la lumière, les algues vertes microscopiques qui les habitent normalement et colorent leur tissu sont absentes.

Actinies (Anthopleura elegantissima)
Haut de la page
Les actinies peuvent parfois recouvrir des rochers entiers!
Les actinies se reproduisent par clonage.
©Parcs Canada / E-5

Les actinies (ou anémones) se reproduisent le plus souvent par clonage. Une anémone se sépare en deux « filles »; celles-ci se divisent à leur tour et forment quatre individus à partir d'une créature originale. Ce phénomène se répète, ce qui permet à une colonie d'actinies de former de vastes colonies qui tapissent les rochers.

Toute anémone à la portée de la colonie « adverse » sera piquée. C'est pourquoi un espace se crée entre les deux colonies, une sorte de zone de combat où aucune anémone n'est tolérée.

Chabot de bâche (Oligocottus maculosus)
Haut de la page
Le chabot de bâche est un résident commun des cuvettes de la zone intertidale
Le chabot de bâche a la capacité de changer de couleur pour se fondre dans le paysage.
©Parcs Canada / D-9

Maître dans l'art du camouflage, le chabot de bâche change de couleur pour se fondre dans sa cuvette ou s'enfouit dans le sable, où on ne voit plus que ses deux grands yeux qui émergent. De sa cachette, il se jette en avant et saisit la nourriture à l'aide de sa grande bouche avec des mouvements rapides.

Le chabot choisit une cuvette de marée (ou bâche) particulière pour y vivre; s'il en est délogé, il la retrouve grâce à son odorat.

Algues coralliennes (Lithothamnion & Corallline)
Haut de la page
Algues coralliennes dans une cuvette de marée
Bien que les algues coralliennes ressemblent aux coraux, il s'agit en fait d'une plante.
©Parcs Canada / J. Bennett, 1978 / I-5
Ces algues peuvent former une couche de « peinture » rose ou de minuscules structures ramifiées dans les cuvettes de marée.

Bien qu'elles ressemblent aux coraux, qui sont des animaux, la présence de chlorophylle pour la production d'aliments confirme qu'elles sont bien des plantes.

Chiton rouge ligné (Tonicella lineata)
Haut de la page
Un chiton rouge ligné collé aux rochers
Le chiton rouge ligné se nourrit de la très colorée algue corallienne.
©Parcs Canada / H. Holmes, 1989 / E-15

Le chiton ressemble à la moitié d'un minuscule ballon de football collé au rocher. Il possède huit coquilles coordonnées en forme de papillon qui lui fournissent une protection souple. Cette espèce particulière tire son nom des lignes pâles et foncées qui alternent en zigzag le long de sa coquille.

C'est probablement le plus beau chiton de la région. Ses lignes rose vif l'aident à se fondre avec son aliment préféré : les algues coralliennes roses. Le chiton gratte les algues sur le rocher avec sa langue qui ressemble à une courroie et qui porte de minuscules dents plus dures que certains types d'acier.

Huîtrier de Bachman (Haematopus bachmani)
Haut de la page
Huîtrier de Bachman
L'huîtrier de Bachman se distingue facilement de par son corps noir et son long bec orange.
©Parcs Canada / H. Hobson, 1985/ B-10-a

Cet oiseau ressemble peut-être à une corneille avec un bec en carotte, mais ce dernier est des plus pratiques. En dépit de la coquille dure de la plupart des mollusques (huîtres et moules, par exemple), l'huîtrier de Bachman peut :

  • faire éclater les coquilles en les martelant;
  • séparer rapidement les deux moitiés de la coquille d'une moule avant qu'elle n'ait la chance de se refermer;
  • extirper les chitons et les patelles des rochers;
  • et fouiller dans le sable pour y trouver des vers et des crabes.

Ces oiseaux nichent sur le sol, juste au-dessus de la ligne de marée haute sur les îlots rocheux dénudés, mais apparemment seuls quelques endroits offrent toutes les conditions propices à la survie. Ils habitent les mêmes aires d'année en année et réutilisent souvent les mêmes sites de nidification.
Les employés du parc surveillent le nombre et l'endroit des nids actifs dans le bassin de Barkley depuis 1970 afin d'assurer la protection à long terme des huîtriers dans l'archipel Broken Group.

Arlequin plongeur (Histrionicus histrionicus)
Haut de la page
Deux arlequins plongeurs mâles flottent sur l'eau
En été, on trouve l'arlequin plongeur dans des rapides, en montagnes!
©Parcs Canada / A. Dorst

Pendant la majeure partie de l'année, les arlequins plongeurs du Pacifique habitent les littoraux marins rocheux de l'Alaska à l'Oregon et se servent de leur bec trapu pour déloger des rochers les invertébrés tels que patelles, escargots, crabes, chitons et moules.

Ils émigrent toutefois l'été vers l'intérieur des terres afin de nicher le long des cours d'eau tourbillonnants des montagnes. Certains arlequins plongeurs du Pacifique passent l'hiver dans ce parc national et l'été dans le parc national Jasper du Canada.

Il existe deux populations distinctes d'arlequins plongeurs : une sur la côte du Pacifique et une sur la côte de l'Atlantique. Celle de la côte de l'Atlantique est assez basse pour être considéré préoccupante. En Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta, les arlequins plongeurs ne sont pas en péril, mais on s'inquiète de plus en plus du déclin des populations et de l'incidence des humains.

Parcs Canada bague des arlequins plongeurs dans le cadre d'un programme international dans tout l'ouest du Canada et des États-Unis afin de mieux connaître les habitudes et les habitats de ces oiseaux bien particuliers et de les protéger dans leur aire d'été et leur aire d'hivernage.