Common menu bar links

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada

The Species of the Cedar-Hemlock Forest

Western Redcedar (Thuja plicata)
Western redcedar can be found throughout the British Columbia's West coast
Western redcedar is easy to identify with its unique bark and "scaly" needles.
©Parks Canada / A. Curtis / F-10

Western redcedar was known as the tree of life to many First Nations of this coast. The wood splits easily and resists rot so it was, and still is, an excellent choice for building homes, canoes, totem poles, and many other things. In the wet climate of this park for example, our boardwalks are made from cedar to help them last longer.
Because it can grow in shade, a western redcedar seedling can grow to maturity even in a forest where other full-grown trees are already established. Western Hemlock also tolerates shade. This means that if a cedar-hemlock forest is left mostly undisturbed then other types of trees that need more sun to grow won't have much of a chance, and the forest will remain and replenish itself as a cedar-hemlock forest.The stringy bark, and the scaly needles of this tree are the best clues for identifying it.
A number of these trees have dead tops that look like the tines of a fork. Stressed by strong winds, heavy rainfall, low nutrient conditions and a high water table, these redcedars develop twisted trunks and multiple, gray-weathered crowns. Many of them are hundreds of years old, justly earning their silvered and wizened appearance.


Western Hemlock (Tsuga heterophylla)
Western Hemlock
Look at the needles to identify this tree as they are blunt-tipped, soft, flat, and shiny.
©Parks Canada / F-11

To find a western hemlock look for a tree with needles that are blunt-tipped, soft, flat, and shiny. The needles should also be yellowish green on top, whitish underneath, and not all the same length. In young trees the bark is reddish-brown and scaly, and in older trees it is thick and furrowed. If you can see the top of a young hemlock tree, it should be drooping to one side.

This tree can crow in shade, but its branches are so thick that hardly any other plants can grow beneath it. What you often do find growing beneath this tree are other western hemlock seedling waiting for their parent tree to die so they can have their turn in the sun. Hemlocks don't grow very stong root systems so they often do get blown down by the wind. When one or more trees are blown down a small clearing is created until the next generation of trees grows to maturity.

Hemlock trees contain a substance called tannin. Tannin released from decaying hemlock trees makes the streams in the rainforest tea-colored.


Amabilis Fir (Abies amabilis)
Amabilis fir or
This is one of the few true firs (Abies) found in the Parks.
©Parks Canada / F-11

Amabilis fir is sometimes called the silver fir, or the lovely fir.

The needles of this tree are similar to the needles of western hemlock but there are some differences. Most of the needles will be notched at the tip, more closely spaced than hemlock needles, and they will form flatter bunches. The bark is a pale grey color that begins smooth with resin blisters, and becomes scaly as the tree ages.

In this park this tree is not as common as the western redcedar or western hemlock since its more choosy about where it grows. It can tolerate shade, but it doesn't like too much water. It wants moist conditions, but the soil must also be well drained and deep.


Western Yew (Taxus brevifolia)
Western yew
Western Yew produces berries that are poisonous to humans.
©Parks Canada

Mixed in with such giants as the western hemlock, the western redcedar, and the amabilis fir the western yew is easy to overlook. Straggly looking, and shrub-like, it never grows to the size of those giants, and loggers often considered it a "trash tree".

That all changed though when taxol, an anti cancer drug was found in its bark. Now the western yew is considered valuable. This sudden popularity is not necessarily good for the yew tree though, since they are slow growing trees that will probably suffer from over harvesting.

Yew trees don't produce cones, they produce individual seeds surrounded in a bright red fleshy cup. These may looks like red huckleberries, but don't eat them. Birds can eat these without harm, but they are poisonous to humans.


Old Man's Beard (Usnea longissima)
Old Man's Beard hangs from rainforest branches
Linches, such as Old man's beard, are fungi with algae growing inside of them.
©Parks Canada /M. Hobson / G-4 / 1986

Old man's beard hangs from many of the branches in this forest. This pale yellowish-green plant is a lichen, which is a combination of a fungus and an algae. The fungus gives the plant shape and a way to absorb water, while the algae provides energy through photosynthesis.


Bracket Fungus
Bracket Fungus or
Bracket Fungus recycles the dying/dead trees, returning nutrients to the soil.
©Parks Canada

Bracket fungus, also called shelf fungus, grows out of the trunks of dead or "wounded trees." The part of the fungus that you can see looks like half a frisbee stuck to the tree. The part of the fungus that you can't see is much bigger and is made up of thousands of filaments called hyphae. This network of filaments is known as the mycelium and can be spread through entire trees, fallen logs, and acres of soil.

Fungi decompose dead or dying organic matter, returning nutrients to the soil to be recycled.


Deer fern (Blechnum spicant)
Deer fern Deer fern grows on the ground and stumps and occasionally trees.
©Parks Canada / F-6

Deer ferns grow in clumps. Each clump will have two types of fronds, wide evergreen ones that spread out horizontally, and narrower brownish ones that grow up vertically each spring, then wither in the fall.


Red Huckleberry (Vaccinium parvifolium)
Red Huckleberry can be found on old rotting logs and stumps
The fruit of red huckleberry was traditionally harvested by the Nuu-chah-nulth.
©Parks Canada / S. Kraseman / F-99 / 1974

Red huckleberry is often found in partial shade at forest edges, or in small clearings. It prefers soils rich in decaying wood, and will grow out of old stumps and logs.
It's berries are delicious, and were eaten by the First Nations of this coast.


Step Moss (Hylocomium splendens)
Step Moss
Step Moss grows a new "step" every year!
©Parks Canada

Step moss grows a new step each year. New growth buds up out of the middle of the previous year's branches. This way the new growth "steps" over the old growth, over other mosses, over twigs, and over anything else that gets in its way. This aggressive tactic keeps it at least one step ahead of any competition.


Common Raven (Corvus corax)
Common raven
Ravens mimic many sounds and are known for their intelligence.
©Parks Canada

You will probably hear a raven before you see one. Their most common call is a low and croaking, but they can make many other sounds including: gurgling noises, a sharp "tock", and near imitations of the wind, a cat's meow, and the human voice.

Besides their skill with sound they are also extraordinary flyers. They love dives, somersaults, upside-down flying and other tricks.

Ravens are considered among the most intelligent of all birds, and the First Nations had many stories of Raven the trickster.

Though ravens and crows are both colored all black, ravens are significantly larger than crows and their throat and forehead feathers are more tousled.


Banana Slug (Ariolimax columbianus)
A banana slug slimes its way up a mossy slope
Banana slug can reach up to 25cm (10 inches)!
©Parks Canada

If you saw something about 12-25 cm (4-10 inches) long, colored bright yellow with black spots, that was squishing along through the forest, wouldn't you think it was an escaped banana? Well, you'd be wrong. In this park it would more likely be a banana slug. Not all banana slugs grow as big as 25 cm, but they can; they are the second largest slug in the world.

Slugs are famous for their slime. To a slug, slime is very useful stuff.

  • It keeps their skin moist so the slug can breathe through it.
  • It makes the slug taste awful so that other creatures will leave it alone.
  • It also helps a slug to move by coating leaves and twigs so that the slug can glide easily over them.
    Banana Slugs live in moist forests along the Pacific Coast of North America from California to Alaska. They are decomposers, which means they chew up leaves, animal droppings and dead plant material; recycling it into soil.
Marbled Murrelet (Brachyramphus marmoratus)
A Marbled Murrelet floating on the ocean
Marbled murrelet nest inland in old growth rainforest but feed in the ocean.
©Parks Canada / W. McIntyre / B-12 / 1975

These seabirds are small and chunky, about the size of a starling. They have webbed feed, sharp black bills, and pointed wings. With these small wings the marbled murrelet can fly, but what it does best is swim. It dives and swims using its wings for power and its feet to steer, as it chases and catches fish. Like most diving seabirds, marbled murrelets live at sea, spending their days feeding close to shore and then moving several kilometers offshore at night. Diving seabirds usually nest in colonies along seacoasts, but not the marbled murrelet. It flies inland to nest in the canopy of old-growth forests.

Because it requires old growth to nest, the marbled murrelet is in a precarious situation. The disappearance of old growth forest on the pacific coast due to logging and development has helped to push this species toward extinction. It is also threatened at sea by oil spills, pollution, gill-netting, seining, and loss of its feeding area by recreational boating and near-shore development.


Black Bear (Ursus americanus)
A young black bear crossing the highway
Help wildlife by using binoculars and staying a distance of 100m (100 yards) away.
©Parks Canada / A-13

First, if you see any bear in this park, it's a black bear. Even if it is looks brown, chocolate-brown, or perhaps cinnamon, it is a black bear. There are no grizzly bears on Vancouver island.Second, if you do see a bear, don't run from it, but don't get any closer to it either. It's important to remember that the park is not a zoo, and there are no fences between you and the wild animals. Back away from any black bears that you see and leave them in peace. These are creatures you don't want to bother. Black bears are often seen crossing the highway, or beside it, at dawn and dusk. If you are driving the highway at that time, watch for a chance to see them, and watch that you don't hit them.


Pacific Tree Frog (Hyla regilla)
Pacific tree frog clinging to a rail
Pacific tree frog can be heard throughout the cedar-hemlock forest with its distinct song.
©Parks Canada / C. Fysh / C-2 / 1984

The most commonly heard frog in this park is the Pacific Tree Frog. In the spring its repeated two note call "kreck-ek kreck-ek" carries throughout the forest. Though they only grow to approximately 5 cm long their call can be heard from at least a kilometer away. Hollywood also uses the Pacific Tree Frog's call in movies to give that "authentic outdoor nighttime sound."

This frog has adhesive pads on its toes that help it climb. With these little suction cups it can cling to almost any surface.

Frogs and other amphibians are very sensitive to changes in water quality and so are considered "indicator species." The health of amphibian populations directly reflects the health of their environment. All over the world populations of amphibians are declining; scientists suspect this is because of acid rain falling into ponds and lakes.


Winter Wren (Troglodytes troglodytes)

Winter Wren
This tiny bird searches for insects around the forest floor.
©Parks Canada / B-24

Winter wrens look like little brown Ping-Pong balls with jaunty upward pointing tails, but when they open their beaks and sing, out comes an incredible song. For such a small bird, their song is surprisingly loud and long. Rapidly rising and falling through many complex notes and trills, their song can last more than seven seconds.

If you do hear their song don't look up in the tree branches for this bird; look down. This bird flits from bush to bush, and runs along the ground like a mouse with wings.

Réserve de parc national du Canada Pacific Rim

Les espèces de la pruches et de thuyas

Cèdre rouge de l'Ouest (Thuja plicata)
On trouve le thuya géant un peu partout sur la côte ouest de la Colombie-Britannique
Le thuya géant est facile à distinguer grâce à son écorce unique et à ces aiguilles « écailleuses ».
©Parcs Canada / A. Curtis / F-10

Le cèdre rouge de l'Ouest (ou thuya géant) était connu comme l'arbre de vie par un grand nombre des Premières Nations sur cette côte. Le bois de cet arbre se fend facilement et ne pourrit pas. Il était et demeure un excellent choix pour construire des maisons, des canots, des totems et bien d'autres choses. Par exemple, dans le climat humide du parc, nos promenades de bois sont en cèdre afin de durer plus longtemps.

Puisqu'il peut pousser à l'ombre, un semis de cèdre rouge de l'Ouest peut atteindre sa maturité même dans la forêt où d'autres arbres sont déjà établis. La pruche occidentale tolère également l'ombre. Dans une forêt de cèdre et de pruche qui n'est presque pas perturbée, les autres types d'arbres qui ont besoin de plus de lumière ont du mal à pousser. La forêt reste donc une forêt de cèdre et de pruche au fil des ans.

L'écorce fibreuse et les aiguilles écailleuses de cet arbre constituent les meilleurs indices pour l'identifier.

La cime de certains cèdres rouges est morte et ressemble aux dents d'une fourchette. Stressés par les vents puissants, la forte pluie, la pauvreté des substances nutritives et la haute nappe phréatique, ces arbres développent des troncs tordus et plusieurs couronnes grises et abîmées. Un grand nombre d'entre eux sont plusieurs fois centenaires et méritent leur apparence de vieux sage.


Pruche occidentale (Tsuga heterophylla)
Pruche occidentale
On reconnaît cet arbre par ses aiguilles épointées, souples, plates et luisantes.
©Parcs Canada / F-11

Pour trouver une pruche occidentale, cherchez un arbre dont les aiguilles sont émoussées, douces, plates et luisantes. Celles-ci doivent également être vert jaunâtre au sommet, blanchâtres en-dessous et de longueur différente. Chez les jeunes arbres, l'écorce est rougeâtre et écailleuse et chez les arbres plus matures, elle est épaisse et cannelée. La cime d'une jeune pruche penche généralement d'un côté.

Cet arbre peut pousser à l'ombre mais ses branches sont si épaisses que presque aucune autre plante ne peut pousser sous lui. Par contre, on trouve souvent des semis de pruche occidentale qui attendent que leur « parent » meure pour prendre leur place au soleil. Les pruches ne développent pas de système radiculaire très puissant et elles sont donc souvent abattues par le vent, ce qui forme ainsi une clairière jusqu'à ce que la prochaine génération d'arbres atteigne sa maturité.

Les pruches contiennent une substance appelée tanin. Le tanin libéré des pruches en décomposition colore les cours d'eau de la forêt pluviale.


Sapin gracieux (Abies amabilis)
Sapin gracieux
Il s'agit de l'une des rares espèces de sapin (Abies) que l'on trouve dans la réserve de parc.
©Parcs Canada / F-11

Le sapin gracieux porte bien son nom. Ses aiguilles ressemblent à celles de la pruche occidentale mais la plupart sont entaillées au bout et plus serrées et forment des groupes plus plats. L'écorce est gris pâle, lisse et marquée de bulles de résine lorsque l'arbre est jeune, puis elle devient écailleuse.

Cet arbre n'est pas aussi commun dans ce parc que le cèdre rouge de l'Ouest ou la pruche occidentale car il est plus exigeant. Il peut tolérer l'ombre mais n'aime pas un excès d'eau. Il a besoin d'humidité mais également d'un sol bien drainé et profond.


If occidental (Taxus brevifolia)
If occidental
L'if occidental produit des fruits qui sont toxiques pour l'être humain.
©Parcs Canada

Il est facile de ne pas remarquer l'if occidental lorsqu'il est en compagnie de géants tels que la pruche occidentale, le cèdre rouge de l'Ouest et le sapin gracieux. Cet arbre épars qui ressemble à un arbuste ne devient jamais aussi grand que ses compagnons et les bûcherons le considèrent souvent comme un arbre qui ne vaut rien.

Toutefois, depuis qu'on a découvert dans son écorce du paclitaxel (Taxol), une drogue utilisée contre le cancer, l'if occidental est considéré comme précieux, ce qui n'est pas nécessairement une bonne chose car l'if pousse lentement et souffrira probablement d'une surexploitation.

Les ifs ne produisent pas de pommes, mais plutôt des graines individuelles entourées d'une coupe charnue rouge vif. Elles ont l'air appétissantes, mais ne les mangez pas : elles sont toxiques pour les humains. Les oiseaux pour leur part s'en régalent.


Mousse d'Espagne (Usnea longissima)
De la mousse d'Espagne pend des branches d'arbres de la forêt pluviale
Les lichens, comme la mousse d'Espagne, sont des champignons dans les tissus desquels poussent des algues.
©Parcs Canada /M. Hobson / G-4 / 1986

La mousse d'Espagne pend des branches un peu partout dans la forêt. Cette plante vert jaunâtre est un lichen, soit un mélange de champignon et d'algue. Le champignon donne à la plante sa forme et un moyen d'absorber l'eau, tandis que l'algue lui procure de l'énergie par photosynthèse.


Ganoderme de la pruche
Ganoderme de la pruche
Le ganoderme de la pruche recycle les éléments nutritifs que contiennent les arbres morts et en putréfaction.
©Parcs Canada

Le ganoderme de la pruche pousse sur le tronc des arbres morts ou « blessés ». La partie visible du champignon ressemble à la moitié d'un disque volant. La partie invisible est beaucoup plus grande et comporte des milliers de filaments appelés hyphes. Ce réseau de filaments compose le mycélium qui peut se propager dans des arbres, des branches abattues et des acres de sol.

Les champignons décomposent la matière organique morte ou en voie de mourir et retourne les substances nutritives dans le sol pour les recycler.


Blechnum commun (Blechnum spicant)
Blechnum commun
Le blechnum commun croît sur le sol, sur les souches et parfois sur les arbres.
©Parcs Canada / F-6

Le blechnum commun pousse en massifs. Chaque massif possède deux types de frondes : de larges frondes sempervirentes qui s'étalent horizontalement et des frondes brunâtres plus étroites qui poussent verticalement au printemps, puis se fanent à l'automne.


Airelle rouge (Vaccinium parvifolium)
L'airelle rouge pousse sur les troncs et les souches en décomposition
Traditionnellement, le peuple Nuu-chah-nulth faisait la récolte du fruit de l'airelle rouge.
©Parcs Canada / S. Kraseman / F-99 / 1974

On trouve souvent l'airelle rouge dans la mi-ombre à la lisière de la forêt ou dans les petites clairières. Elle préfère les sols riches en bois en décomposition et pousse sur de vieilles souches et branches.

Ses baies sont délicieuses et étaient prisées par les Premières nations qui vivaient sur la côte.


Hypne éclatante (Hylocomium splendens)
Hypne éclatante
L'hypne éclatante pousse en escalier et développe une nouvelle « marche » par année!
©Parcs Canada

L'hypne éclatante pousse en escalier et développe une nouvelle « marche » par année. Les nouvelles pousses sortent au milieu des branches de l'année précédente. C'est ainsi qu'elles « marchent » par-dessus les anciennes pousses, d'autres mousses, des brindilles et tout ce qui se trouve sur son passage. Cette tactique agressive lui donne une longueur d'avance sur la concurrence.


Grand corbeau (Corvus corax)
Grand corbeau
Le grand corbeau, connu pour son intelligence, imite de nombreux sons.
©Parcs Canada

Vous entendrez probablement un corbeau avant de le voir. Il croasse le plus souvent, mais peut produire bien d'autres sons : des gloussements, un « toc » sec et des imitations du vent, du miaulement d'un chat et de la voix humaine.

Outre ce talent vocal, c'est un véritable acrobate volant qui adore notamment plonger, faire des culbutes et voler à l'envers.

Le grand corbeau est parmi les oiseaux les plus intelligents. Les Premières nations racontaient tout un nombre d'histoires au sujet de Corbeau le filou.

Bien que les corbeaux et les corneilles soient tous les deux noirs, les corbeaux sont beaucoup plus gros et les plumes sur leur gorge et leur front sont plus ébouriffées.


Limace terrestre (Ariolimax columbianus)
Une limace terrestre laisse une trace gluante sur une pente couverte de mousse
La limace terrestre peut atteindre une longueur de 25 cm (10 pouces)!
©Parcs Canada

Les limaces de ce parc mesurent environ 25 cm (10 pouces) de long et sont jaune vif avec des taches noires. Elles ressemblent à des bananes. Certaines sont moins longues, mais la limace terrestre est la deuxième plus grande espèce de limace du monde.

Les limaces sont connues pour leur mucus, qui leur est très utile :

· il aide à maintenir leur peau hydratée afin qu'elles puissent respirer;
· il leur donne un très mauvais goût pour que les autres créatures les laissent tranquilles;
· il les aide aussi à mieux glisser sur les feuilles et les brindilles.

La limace terrestre vit en Amérique du Nord, dans les forêts humides de la côte du Pacifique, de la Californie et l'Alaska. Elle est un décomposeur, ce qui veut dire qu'elle mange de feuilles, des excréments d'animaux et du matériel végétal mort qui sont ensuite recyclés dans le sol.


Guillemot marbré (Brachyramphus marmoratus)
Un guillemot marbré flotte sur l'océan
Le guillemot marbré construit son nid dans les terres, à l'intérieur d'anciennes forêts pluviales, mais il trouve sa nourriture dans l'océan.
©Parcs Canada / W. McIntyre / B-12 / 1975

Cet oiseau marin est petit et rond, environ de la taille d'un étourneau. Il a les pieds palmés, un bec noir aiguisé et des ailes pointues. Le guillemot marbré peut voler avec ses petites ailes, mais il nage mieux qu'il ne vole. Il plonge et nage, se propulsant avec ses ailes et se dirigeant avec ses pieds pendant qu'il poursuit et attrape le poisson. Comme la plupart des oiseaux de mer plongeurs, le guillemot marbré vit en mer; il passe la journée à se nourrir près du rivage, puis passe la nuit à plusieurs kilomètres du littoral. Les oiseaux de mer plongeurs nichent généralement en colonies le long du littoral, mais pas le guillemot marbré. Il s'envole vers l'intérieur pour nicher dans le couvert des forêts anciennes.
C'est pourquoi il se trouve dans une situation précaire : la disparition de la forêt ancienne sur la côte du Pacifique suite à l'exploitation forestière et au développement a contribué à pousser cette espèce vers sa propre disparition. Le guillemot marbré est également menacé en mer par les déversements pétroliers, la pollution, la pêche au filet maillant et à la senne et la perte de son aire de son aire d'alimentation due à la navigation de plaisance et au développement près du rivage.


Ours noir (Ursus americanus)
Un jeune ours noir traverse la route
On peut aider les animaux sauvages en utilisant des jumelles pour les observer et en demeurant à 100 m (100 verges) d'eux.
©Parcs Canada / A-13

Tout d'abord, si vous voyez un ours dans le parc, il s'agit d'un ours noir. Même s'il est brun, chocolat ou cannelle, c'est un ours noir. Il n'y a pas de grizzli sur l'île de Vancouver.

Deuxièmement, si vous voyez un ours, ne fuyez pas mais ne l'approchez pas non plus. Il est important de se souvenir que le parc n'est pas un zoo et qu'il n'y a aucun obstacle entre la faune et vous. Reculez et laissez l'ours en paix. Les ours ne sont pas des animaux que vous voulez déranger!

On voit souvent des ours noirs traverser la route ou se nourrir à côté de la route, à l'aube et au crépuscule. Si vous conduisez à ce moment de la journée, surveillez leur présence et faites attention de ne pas les heurter.


Rainette du Pacifique (Hyla regilla)
La rainette du Pacifique se cramponne à une rampe
On entend le chant particulier de la rainette du Pacifique partout dans la forêt de pruches et de thuyas.
©Parcs Canada / C. Fysh / C-2 / 1984

La grenouille que l'on entend le plus souvent dans ce parc est la rainette du Pacifique. Au printemps, son cri à deux notes résonne dans la forêt. Elle n'atteint qu'environ 5 cm de long, mais on peut entendre son chant à au moins un kilomètre de distance. Ce sont des rainettes du Pacifique que l'on entend dans les films d'Hollywood, dans les scènes où l'on veut reproduire les sons de la nature la nuit.

La rainette a des coussinets adhésifs sur les orteils qui l'aident à grimper. Elle peut s'accrocher à presque n'importe quelle surface grâce à ces petites ventouses.

Les grenouilles et autres amphibiens sont très sensibles aux changements de la qualité de l'eau et sont considérés comme des espèces indicatrices. En effet, la santé de leurs populations reflète directement la santé de leur environnement. Les populations d'amphibiens sont en déclin partout dans le monde; les scientifiques ont l'impression que c'est à cause des pluies acides qui tombent dans les étangs et les lacs.


Troglodyte mignon (Troglodytes troglodytes)
Troglodyte mignon
Le minuscule troglodyte mignon cherche des insectes près du tapis forestier.
©Parcs Canada / B-24

Le troglodyte mignon ressemble à une petite balle de tennis de table avec une queue coquine dressée mais quand il ouvre le bec et chante, on est des plus surpris. En effet, il chante très fort et très longtemps pour un si petit oiseau. Son chant modulé et complexe peut durer plus de sept secondes.

Si vous l'entendez chanter, ne regardez pas dans les branches pour le trouver, mais plutôt par terre. En effet, cet oiseau voltige de bosquet en bosquet et court sur le sol comme une souris ailée.