Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Boating

The opportunity to explore dozens of different sheltered coves and bays makes the islands a boater's paradise. A few boating tips will not only help you to maximise the enjoyment of your trip and increase your safety, but also ensure that the ecological integrity of the national park is protected.

Sailing vessel at anchor in the Broken Group Islands (Effingham Bay) Use your anchor light at night.
© Parks Canada / D. Vedova, 2002

Weather

Strong winds can funnel through Loudoun, Imperial Eagle and other channels. Winds tend to rise in the late morning and drop in the evening. Travel through these passages by kayak, canoe and small craft is not recommended. During fair weather, winds blow predictably from the west and northwest. Winds are from the southeast just before and during adverse weather. However, there are always exceptions to wind and weather patterns. Wind-generated waves, especially those influenced by currents, can make for extremely rough or hazardous paddling and small craft handling. Boaters should plan on moderate to severe chop in Coaster Channel during the middle of the day, particularly when it is hot and sunny.

Heavy wind, rain, fog, and strong tidal currents here can be extremely dangerous. Trip preparation in and around the islands is very important. Knowledge of navigation, boat handling, wilderness survival, weather patterns and signs, is essential for travel and camping in the area.

Strong winds, combined with open ocean swell, can make for dynamic sailing conditions It is essential to check the current weather forecast throughout your trip
© Parks Canada / S. May, 2001

Navigation

It is strongly recommended that all boaters carry a marine VHF Radio and Canadian Hydrographic Service Chart # 3670. This chart is essential, as it provides detailed information necessary for all boaters including campsites, points of interest, etc. Those departing from Ucluelet or Bamfield also require Chart # 3671, the whole of Barkley Sound. All boaters should be able to plot a course by chart and compass and pilot their vessel to allow safe travel in fog.

Marine Safety

File a trip plan with a responsible person. Boaters need to be familiar with emergency and rescue procedures that relate to the type of boating you are conducting before your trip starts. In ocean swells, all boaters should avoid surge channels, sea caves and submerged rocks ("rocks awash").

Fog and high winds can rapidly make a pleasant boating experience hazardous. All boaters need to obtain an up-to-date marine weather forecast before setting out. Coastal weather can deteriorate very quickly, and fog is common during warm summer months. Tides vary daily, and the potential for being stranded on mud flats, or being caught in dangerous tidal currents dictates that all boaters carry and be competent in using up-to-date tide and current tables, a compass, and appropriate marine charts. Lifejackets must be worn. Motorized vessels must keep a close watch and slow down when in the proximity of smaller craft, kayaks, canoes, and sailboats.

Parks Canada Rescue Vessel From May to October park wardens patrol the Broken Group Islands, West Coat Trail and the Long Beach Unit
© Parks Canada / B. Brittain, 2002

Communications

  • Cellular phones work on many of the beaches (Check with your carrier to see if they have coverage in this area)
  • The Rescue Co-ordination Centre will respond to diver distress and boating accidents.

Safety and Low Impact

  • Skippers should also possess the skill, knowledge and experience to operate vessels according to Collision Regulations.

Safety when Travelling

  • Be alert! 5,000 kayakers paddle here each summer. Many are novices with children on board.
  • Heavy fog is frequent in summer and many boats are running on GPS without the benefit of radar. Kayaks abound.
  • Deadheads and logs are common.
  • Rocks awash in the middle of many channels.
  • Reduce speed in narrow passages, when near paddlers, and where vessels are anchored.

Safety on Shore

  • Hike safely, help is far away. Islands are deceptively hard to circumnavigate. Cliffs, surge channels and impassable undergrowth are present on many islands. Carry a flashlight, clothing, matches, knife etc on hikes.
  • Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning (PSP) may occur at any time. Eating shellfish is not advised, and may result in serious illness.
  • All surface water is subject to coliform contamination from wildlife.
  • Falling trees and branches are a hazard - be alert.
Low tide on Clarke Islands If you plan on hiking the islands remember the beach may be submerged at high tide
© Parks Canada / D. Salisbury. 2002

Low Impact at Anchor

  • Keep bilge clean, don't pump oily water overboard.
  • Use bilge sorbants in place of detergents.
  • Don't pump sewage, human waste contains disease.
  • Don't pump grey water.
  • Use environmentally safe cleaners like baking soda, vinegar, olive oil, and hydrogen peroxide.
  • Bring garbage home.
  • Carefully manage fuel, even small spills are toxic to marine life.

Low Impact while Running

  • Follow wildlife viewing guidelines.
  • Consider the impacts of your wake when planing.
  • Reduce speed if approaching wildlife.

Etiquette

  • Avoid use of generators, compressors or loud music.
  • Small picnic fires are only permitted below the high tide line.
  • Do not visit Indian Reservations without a letter of permission from the the appropriate First Nation .
  • Boaters are asked to refrain from tying up to the reserve wharf on the southeast side of Nettle Island.

Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Nautisme

La possibilité d'explorer des dizaines d'anses et de baies abritées font de l'archipel un véritable paradis. Quelques conseils vous aideront à profiter au maximum de votre excursion en toute sécurité et à protéger l'intégrité écologique du parc.

Voilier ancré dans l'archipel Broken Group (baie Effingham) Servez-vous de votre feu de mouillage la nuit.
© Parcs Canada / D. Vedova, 2002

Conditions météorologiques

Des vents forts peuvent s'engouffrer dans les chenaux Loudoun, Imperial Eagle et autres. Le vent a tendance à se lever en fin de matinée et à tomber le soir. Il n'est pas recommandé de traverser ces passages en kayak, canot ou petite embarcation. Par beau temps, le vent souffle généralement de l'ouest et du nord-ouest. Les vents du sud-est donnent lieu à des tempêtes. Il y a cependant toujours des exceptions. Les vagues dues au vent, particulièrement celles influencées par les courants, peuvent rendre le canotage et la navigation de petite embarcation extrêmement difficiles ou dangereux. Les plaisanciers devraient prévoir des eaux moyennement à fortement agitées dans le chenal Coaster au milieu de la journée, particulièrement lorsqu'il fait beau et chaud.

Le vent fort, la pluie, le brouillard et les forts courants des marées peuvent être extrêmement dangereux. Il est très important de préparer son excursion aux îles et autour de celles-ci. Il est également essentiel pour se déplacer et camper dans la région de posséder les connaissances nécessaires en navigation, survie en milieu sauvage, et conditions atmosphériques.

Les vents forts et la forte houle peuvent rendre la navigation difficile Il est essentiel de consulter les prévisions météorologiques tout au long de votre excursion.
© Parcs Canada / S. May, 2001

Navigation

On recommande fortement à tous les plaisanciers d'emporter une radio maritime VHF et la carte 3670 du Service hydrographique du Canada. Cette carte est essentielle car elle fournit aux plaisanciers les renseignements détaillés nécessaires, notamment sur les terrains de camping, les points d'intérêt, etc. Ceux qui partent d'Ucluelet ou de Bamfield ont également besoin de la carte 3671 (toute la baie Barclay). Tous les plaisanciers devraient être en mesure d'établir un parcours et de piloter leur embarcation au compas afin de naviguer en toute sécurité dans le brouillard.

Sécurité maritime

Donnez un plan de voyage à une personne fiable. Les plaisanciers doivent connaître les procédures d'urgence et de sauvetage se rapportant à leur type d'embarcation avant de partir. En présence de houle, tous les plaisanciers doivent éviter les chenaux de refoulement, les cavernes marines et les rochers submergés.

Le brouillard et le vent fort peuvent rapidement transformer une excursion plaisante en situation dangereuse. Tous les plaisanciers doivent obtenir des bulletins météorologiques destinés à la navigation maritime avant de partir. Le temps sur la côte peut changer très rapidement et le brouillard est courant l'été. Les marées changent tous les jours et tous les plaisanciers doivent emporter et savoir utiliser des tables de marées et de courants à jour, un compas et des cartes marines afin d'éviter de rester coincés dans des vasières ou d'affronter des courants de marées dangereux. Le porte de veste de sauvetage est obligatoire. Les embarcations motorisées doivent ralentir à proximité des plus petites embarcations, kayaks, canots et voiliers.

Navire de sauvetage de Parcs Canada De mai à octobre, les gardes de parc patrouillent l'archipel Broken Group, le sentier de la Côte-Ouest et le secteur de la plage Long
© Parcs Canada / B. Brittain, 2002

Communications

  • Les cellulaires fonctionnent sur de nombreuses plages (vérifiez la couverture auprès de votre fournisseur.)
  • Le Centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage (related links/ Centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage) répondra aux plongeurs en détresse et aux accidents de navigation.

Sécurité et écologie

  • Les skippers devraient également posséder les compétences, les connaissances et l'expérience requises pour commander des embarcations selon le Règlement sur les abordages.

Sécurité en route

  • Soyez vigilant! 5 000 kayakistes pagaient ici tous les étés. Un grand nombre sont débutants et ont des enfants à bord.
  • Le brouillard est fréquent l'été et de nombreuses embarcations se servent d'un GPS et n'ont pas de radar. Il y a beaucoup de kayaks.
  • Les billes canards et autres sont courantes.
  • Des rochers affleurent au milieu de tout un nombre de chenaux.
  • Ralentissez dans les passages étroits, près des pagayeurs et là où des embarcations sont ancrées.

Sécurité sur le rivage

  • Marchez en toute sécurité; il n'y a pas de secours à proximité. Contrairement aux apparences, il est difficile de contourner les îles. Les randonneurs peuvent se heurter à des falaises, à des chenaux de refoulement et à des sous-bois infranchissables. Emportez une lampe de poche, des vêtements supplémentaires, des allumettes, un couteau, etc.
  • L'empoisonnement marin paralysant peut se produire en tout temps. Il est déconseillé de manger des mollusques et des crustacés en raison des risques graves pour la santé.
  • Toute l'eau de surface peut contenir des coliformes, une forme de contamination provenant de la faune.
  • Les arbres et les branches qui tombent constituent un danger - soyez vigilant.
Marée basse aux îles Clarke Si vous prévoyez faire de la randonnée dans les îles, n'oubliez pas que la plage peut être submergée à marée haute
© Parcs Canada / D. Salisbury, 2002

Écologie à l'ancre

  • Gardez le bouchain propre, ne pompez pas d'eau huileuse à la mer.
  • Servez-vous de sorbant au lieu de détergent.
  • Ne pompez pas de matières de vidange, elles sont porteuses de maladie.
  • Ne pompez pas d'eaux ménagères.
  • Utilisez des nettoyants sûrs pour l'environnement tels que bicarbonate de sodium, vinaigre, huile d'olive et peroxyde d'hydrogène.
  • Rapportez tous vos déchets.
  • Manipulez soigneusement votre carburant, même les petits déversements sont toxiques pour la faune et la flore marine.

Écologie en route

  • Suivez les directives d'observation de la faune.
  • Considérez l'incidence de votre sillage.
  • Ralentissez en présence d'animaux.

Étiquette

  • Faites le moins de bruit possible. N'utilisez ni génératrice ni stéréo ni compresseur d'air.
  • Faites le moins de feu possible et toujours au-dessous de la ligne de marée haute.
  • Ne visitez pas de réserves indiennes sans lettre de permission de la Première nation appropriée.
  • On demande aux plaisanciers de ne pas amarrer au quai de la réserve sur le côté sud-est de l'île Nettle.