Common menu bar links

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

The Long Beach Challenge: Your adventure just got better

two women running on Long Beach
© Parks Canada

What is the Long Beach Challenge?

COMING SOON! Make your summer sensational by challenging yourself to a scenic walk, jog or run along 9.5km of Pacific Rim National Park Reserve’s longest beach. Long Beach Challenge (LBC) participants will cover the natural splendour of the park’s wild coastline between Long Beach and Kwisitis Visitor Centre.

The ABCs of the LBC:

A-cquire a Challenge Time Card

Purchase a Challenge Time Card at either the Pacific Rim Visitor Centre or the Kwisitis Visitor Centre and you’re ready to roll. Loop it through your shoelace or keep it in your pocket – it's up to you. The system will detect your card as you pass the start and finish lines then record and publish your time online through the interactive display at the Kwisitis Visitor Centre.

B-e aware and be prepared

Tides and weather can dramatically affect the Challenge, so come prepared for rain or shine and pay attention to your surroundings. The Challenge is best at low tide when the beaches are wide and the creek is low. The creek becomes deeper and swifter during heavy rain and high tide. Consult a tide table and plan to ford the creek at a tide below 2.5 metres (7ft). And of course, make sure you have enough water, snacks and clothing to keep you comfortable for the 9.5km trek.

C-reate memories

An adventure is always more fun when in good company. Challenge your friends and family and enjoy a day of pure adventure together! Don’t forget to take a selfie and share it on our Facebook or Twitter channels with the hashtag #LongBeachChallenge.

Participants can choose where to begin their challenge: the Long Beach parking area between trail 1 and 2 or the Kwisitis Visitor Centre. A course map and way-finding signs are available to help you along the route, and are a great source of interesting information about the natural and cultural heritage of the area.

So with sand dunes, creek crossings and rainforest beaches to explore, what are you waiting for?

Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Le Défi Long Beach : votre aventure, encore meilleure

deux femmes en courant sur la plage Long
© Parcs Canada

Qu’est-ce que le Défi Long Beach?

Vivez un super automne en relevant le défi : marchez, joggez ou courez sur 9,5 km de la plage la plus longue de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. Les participants pourront admirer la splendeur naturelle de la côte du parc entre la Long Beach et le centre d’accueil Kwisitis.

L’abc du Défi

A-chetez une carte de pointage Défi

Achetez une carte de pointage au centre d’accueil Pacific Rim ou au centre d’accueil Kwisitis et vous êtes prêt à partir. Faites-la passer dans votre lacet de chaussure ou gardez-la dans votre poche, à vous de décider. Le système détectera votre carte lorsque vous franchirez la ligne de départ et celle d’arrivée. Votre temps sera ensuite publié en ligne à l’exposition interactive au centre d’accueil Kwisitis.

B-ravez le temps en étant préparé

Les marées et le temps peuvent avoir un effet considérable sur le Défi, alors soyez prêt et portez attention à ce qui vous entoure. Il est préférable de participer au Défi à marée basse lorsque les plages sont plus larges et le ruisseau est bas. Le ruisseau est plus profond et plus rapide par forte pluie et à marée haute. Consultez une table des marées et prévoyez traverser le ruisseau lorsque la marée est de moins de 2,5 m. Veillez aussi bien sûr à avoir assez d’eau, de collations et de vêtements pour être à l’aise le long des 9,5 km.

C-réez des souvenirs

Une aventure est toujours plus amusante en bonne compagnie. Mettez vos amis et votre famille au défi et vivez une aventure ensemble! N’oubliez pas de prendre une autophoto et de l’afficher sur notre page Facebook ou Twitter avec le mot-clic #défilongbeach.

Les participants peuvent décider de leur point de départ : stationnement de la Long Beach entre le sentier 1 et 2 ou centre d’accueil Kwisitis. Une carte du parcours et des panneaux indicateurs vous aident le long du trajet et contiennent des renseignements très intéressants sur le patrimoine naturel et culturel de la région.

Dunes sableuses, ruisseau à traverser et plages de la forêt pluviale : qu’attendez-vous? Relevez le Défi Long Beach!