Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada

Beach Clean-ups

Barge full of garbage
Broken Group Island Clean-up – what a haul!
© Parks Canada

The Pacific Ocean brings many things to the west coast shores—storms, waves and marine debris. Marine debris such as plastic water bottles, polystyrene foam, and fish floats often wash ashore the beaches of Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. All three units, Long Beach, the Broken Group Islands and the West Coast Trail have lengthy shorelines for marine debris to wash up on.

While finding marine debris is a common occurrence in the park, the tsunami that swept the coast of Japan in the 2011 earthquake, forced more debris into the ocean. It is estimated that 1.5 million tonnes of it may reach west coast shores.

Parks Canada is currently working closely with various federal and provincial bodies on a plan for handling the tsunami debris. In the meantime, the park continues to host regular beach clean-ups to help Mother Nature! Please contact the park for details.

Did you know?

Commonly Found Marine Debris

Plastic water bottles, polystyrene foam, rubber strap ties, shoes, plastic rope bits, fish nets, large plastic containers and floats, are some of the most commonly found marine debris on our shores.

Effects on Marine Wildlife

Small pieces of plastic and polystyrene break into small pieces and can be ingested by wildlife such as fish, turtles, and birds. Harmful to wildlife, these substances can eventually enter our food chain. Abandoned fish nets can entangle both wildlife and people.

You can help!

  • Bring a bag along on your beach walks and pick up debris as you go. Drop off what you have collected at designated collection sites. Look for the “Marine Debris Collection Area” signs located at most trailheads. 
  • Rally your friends and family and join a park organized beach clean-up.
  • Host your own clean-up. Contact the park with your details.
  • Remember the four “Rs”: Reduce, Recycle, Re-use, and Recover.

Réserve de parc national du Canada Pacific Rim

Nettoyage des plages

Barge plein d'ordures
Nettoyage de l’archipel Broken Group – quelle collecte!
© Parcs Canada

L’océan Pacifique apporte une foule de choses sur le littoral de la côte Ouest : tempêtes, vagues et débris marins. Les débris tels que bouteilles d’eau, mousse de polystyrène et radeaux pour la pêche sont souvent rejetés sur les plages de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. Les trois secteurs, soit la plage Long, l’archipel Broken Group et le sentier de la Côte-Ouest ont tous un long littoral.

On trouve souvent des débris marins dans le parc, mais le tsunami qui a balayé la côté du Japon en 2011 a déversé encore plus de débris dans l’océan. On estime que 1,5 million de tonnes pourraient être rejetées sur la côte Ouest.

Parcs Canada travaille de près avec divers organismes fédéraux et provinciaux à un plan de gestion des débris du tsunami. Entre-temps, le parc continue d’organiser régulièrement des nettoyages des plages pour aide Dame nature! Veuillez communiquer avec le parc pour plus de détails.

Le saviez-vous?

Débris marins courants

Bouteilles d’eau en plastique, mousse de polystyrène, attaches de fixations en caoutchouc, chaussures, bouts de corde en plastique, filets de pêche, grands contenants en plastique et radeaux : voilà certains des débris marins qu’on trouve le plus souvent sur nos côtes.

Effets sur la faune marine

Les morceaux de plastique et de mousse de polystyrène se brisent en plus petits morceaux et peuvent être ingérés par les poissons, les tortues et les oiseaux. Ces substances sont nocives pour la faune et peuvent aboutir dans notre chaîne alimentaire. Les filets de pêche abandonnés peuvent piéger les animaux et les gens.

Vous pouvez aider!

  • Emportez un sac avec vous quand vous marchez sur la plage et ramassez les débris. Déposez ce que vous avez ramassé aux endroits de collecte désignés (Aire de collecte des débris marins) au début de la plupart des sentiers.
  • Participez à un nettoyage de la plage organisé par le parc avec vos amis et votre famille.
  • Organisez votre propre nettoyage. Communiquez avec le parc pour fournir les détails.
  • Souvenez-vous des quatre R: Réduire, Recycler, Réutiliser et Récupérer.