Common menu bar links

Kootenay National Park

Management Plan 2010-2015

Kootenay National Park Management Plan 2010

Kootenay National Park Management Plan 2010 - 2015 (PDF, 1.8 MB)
Management Plan Highlights (PDF, 483 KB)
Public Input (PDF, 452 KB)

The 2010 management plan replaces the 2000 version, and provides a road map for how Parks Canada will deliver its integrated mandate of protection, experience, and education in Kootenay National Park for the next 10-15 years.

Public interest in the management plan review was strong, coming from across the country and across the world. By the end of the two-stage program comments from dozens of organizations and thousands of individuals had been read and considered by the planning team. This feedback led to a final plan that allows each park to fulfil its potential within Canada’s system of protected areas, and continue to be a place where generations of Canadians can connect with each other and with the landscape.

Note: Information about the Highway 93 South Area Plan can be found here.


Implementation Report 2014

Implementation Report 2014 (PDF, 1 MB)

This annual report highlights progress and accomplishments for the 2014 calendar year. It provides an opportunity for Canadians to review and provide feedback on the progress and priorities established for the implementation of the Kootenay National Park Management Plan. The park management plan is the guide to how the national objectives of Parks Canada are delivered through on the ground initiatives in Kootenay. These initiatives support the goals of Canada’s National Conservation Plan by taking action to conserve Canada’s lands and waters, restore Canada’s ecosystems, and connect Canadians to nature. Highlights are presented for each of the fi ve key strategies outlined in the park management plan.

Previous Reports
Implementation Report 2013 (PDF, 8.2 MB)
Year in Review 2011 (PDF, 34 KB)
Priorities and Achievements 2011 (PDF, 248 KB)


State of the Park Report 2008

State of the Park Report 2008 (PDF, 701 KB)

The Kootenay National Park State of the Park Report (2008) is the Parks Canada Agency's first effort to comprehensively evaluate of the state of the three key elements of Parks Canada's mandate: resource protection; visitor experience; and public education. The primary purposes of the report are to:

  • provide an analysis of the state of the park regarding ecological integrity and cultural resources, visitor experience and public education;
  • report on the results of management actions in respect to reource protection, visitor experience, and public education;
  • provide key input to park management planning and serve as a tool for decsion-making with respect to issues associated with each of the mandate elements and their relations; and
  • communciate the state of the mandate elements to stakeholders and the public.  


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parc national Kootenay

Plan directeur 2010-2015

Plan directeur Parc national Kootenay 2010-2015

Plan directeur du parc national Kootenay 2010-2015 (PDF, 1,7 Mo)
Points saillants du plan directeur (PDF, 494 Ko)
Commentaires du public (PDF, 500 Ko)

Le plan directeur de 2010 remplace la version de 2000 et renferme une feuille de route expliquant comment Parcs Canada s’y prendra pour exécuter de manière intégrée son mandat de protection, d’enrichissement de l’expérience du visiteur et d’éducation dans le parc national Kootenay pendant les 10 à 15 prochaines années.

Le plan directeur a suscité un vif intérêt, au Canada comme ailleurs. À l’issue du programme en deux étapes, les équipes de planification avaient lu et examiné les commentaires de dizaines d’organismes et de milliers de particuliers. Ces commentaires ont mené à l’élaboration de la version définitive des plans, qui permet à chaque parc d’atteindre son potentiel dans le réseau d’aires protégées du Canada et de demeurer un endroit où des générations de citoyens peuvent nouer des liens entre eux et communier avec le paysage.

Note: Pour en savoir davantage sur le Résumé du plan sectoriel pour la route 93 Sud, cliquez ici.


Rapport sur la mise en oeuvre 2014

Rapport sur la mise en oeuvre 2014 (1.7 Mo)

Le présent rapport annuel fait état des progrès accomplis et souligne nos réalisations pendant l’année 2014. Il permet aux Canadiens de constater les progrès accomplis, de prendre connaissance des priorités fi xées relativement à la mise en oeuvre du plan directeur du parc national Kootenay, et de formuler des commentaires à cet égard. Le plan directeur décrit comment nous donnons suite sur place, dans le parc national Kootenay, aux objectifs fi xés par Parcs Canada à l’échelle nationale. Ces initiatives appuient les objectifs énoncés dans le Plan de conservation national du Canada grâce à des mesures concrètes pour conserver les terres et les eaux du pays, pour restaurer les écosystèmes du Canada et pour rapprocher les Canadiens de la nature. Les points saillants sont présentés pour chacune des cinq stratégies clés énoncées dans le plan directeur du parc.

Rapports précédents
Rapport sur la mise en oeuvre 2013 (PDF, 7,6 Mo)
Examen rétrospectif 2011 (PDF, 34 Ko)
Mesures prioritaires du plan directeur et réalisations 2011 (PDF, 320 Ko)


Rapport sur l`état du parc 2008

Rapport sur l`état du parc (PDF 809 Ko)

Le Rapport sur l’état du parc national du Canada Kootenay (2008) représente le premier effort de l’Agence Parcs Canada de présenter une évaluation approfondie de l’état des trois volets clés de son mandat : la protection des ressources, l’expérience du visiteur et l’éducation du public. Les principaux objectifs du rapport sont les suivants :

  • présenter une analyse de l’état du parc concernant l’intégrité écologique, les ressources culturelles, l’expérience du visiteur et l’éducation du public;
  • rendre compte des résultats des mesures de gestion relatives à la protection des ressources, à l’expérience du visiteur et à l’éducation du public;
  • apporter une contribution indispensable à la planification de la gestion du parc et servir d’outil à la prise de décisions sur les enjeux liés à chacun des volets du mandat et à leurs liens d’interdépendance;
  • communiquer l’état des volets du mandat aux intervenants et au public.


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).