Kootenay National Park

From Cactus to Glacier

Kootenay Valley Viewpoint, Kootenay National Park of Canada Kootenay Valley Viewpoint, Kootenay National Park © Parks Canada / John Pitcher

Kootenay National Park (1,406 km 2 ) is one of 44 national parks in Canada. Together, they celebrate and protect the diversity of the nation's great landscapes. Kootenay National Park represents the south-western region of the Canadian Rocky Mountains.

From glacier-clad peaks along the Continental Divide to semi-arid grasslands of the Rocky Mountain Trench, where cactus grows, Kootenay National Park is noted for its diversity of landscapes, ecology and climate. Natural features characteristic of the Rocky Mountains include sedimentary rocks and thrust-faulted mountains, landscapes sculptured by glaciers and water, and plants and animals typical of alpine, subalpine and montane ecological zones.

For thousands of years, the area which is now Kootenay National Park was part of the traditional lands identified by the Ktunaxa (Kootenay) and Kinbasket (Shuswap) First Nations people. Archaeological evidence suggests the mountains were used primarily as seasonal hunting grounds. Groups also travelled across the mountains periodically to hunt bison on the plains east of the Rockies. Some sites are considered sacred.

Kootenay National Park was established in 1920 as part of an agreement between the provincial and federal governments to build the Banff-Windermere Highway – the first motor road across the Canadian Rockies. A strip of land five miles (eight kilometres) wide on each side of the highway was set aside as a national park. The completion of the highway in 1922 expanded the new age of motor tourism in the Canadian Rockies and established a commercial link between the Windermere Valley and Calgary.

The 94 km Banff-Windermere Highway (93 South) takes you through the park along the Vermilion and Kootenay rivers and through the narrow gorge of Sinclair Canyon to the famous Radium Hot Springs. Many use the highway simply as a scenic route to reach the Windermere Valley, beyond the park's southern boundary. But those who take the time to stop along the way discover some of Kootenay's quiet, colourful secrets...

...such as the vibrant new forests growing up in the wake of the forest fires at Vermilion Pass and Mount Shanks, the blue glacial waters and white dolomite walls of Marble Canyon, the rust-coloured mineral pools and ochre beds of the Paint Pots, the shaggy white mountain goats (the park's wildlife symbol) on the crags and slopes of Mount Wardle, the panoramic overlook at Kootenay Valley Viewpoint, the little green gem of Olive Lake nestled in Sinclair Pass, and the iron rich cliffs of the Redwall Fault – an impressive park entrance for visitors from the south.

The character of Kootenay National Park is defined by its ecosystem – the dynamic interaction of its native species and natural processes. Preserving the natural state of the park requires maintaining the integrity of its ecosystem. The ecological integrity of Kootenay National Park is threatened by a variety of human impacts such as development, fire suppression, introduction of non-native plants, habitat fragmentation and human/wildlife conflicts. Parks Canada is taking a number of actions to restore and maintain the ecological integrity of national parks.

Kootenay National Park of Canada offers opportunities to experience the Rocky Mountains, learn about their natural and cultural heritage, and connect with nature. National parks belong to the people of Canada. As such, we all share in the responsibility for their stewardship. An understanding and respect for the land and its people will help ensure the ecological and cultural integrity of these special places are maintained for future generations.

Welcome to the Kootenay National Park website. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit the real park for yourself!

Parc national Kootenay

Cactus et glaciers

Belvédère de la vallée de la Kootenay, parc national du Canada Kootenay
Belvédère de la vallée de la Kootenay, parc national Kootenay
© Parcs Canada / John Pitcher

Le parc national Kootenay (1 406 km2) figure parmi les 44 parcs nationaux du Canada. Ces parcs illustrent et protègent la diversité des paysages de notre pays. Le parc national Kootenay représente la région sud-ouest des Rocheuses canadiennes.

Ce parc aux paysages, aux milieux écologiques et au climat variés comprend des pics coiffés de glaciers le long de la Ligne de partage des eaux et, dans le sillon des Rocheuses, des prairies semi-arides où l'on trouve des cactus. Parmi les particularités naturelles du parc on compte roches sédimentaires, montagnes aux failles chevauchantes, paysages sculptés par les glaciers et l'eau et animaux et plantes typiques des zones écologiques alpines, subalpines et montagnardes.

Pendant des milliers d'années, la région qui est maintenant le parc national Kootenay, fit partie des terres traditionnelles des membres des Premières nations Ktunaxa (Kootenay) et Kinbasket (Shuswap). Des fouilles archéologiques donnent à penser que les montagnes faisaient partie du territoire de chasse saisonnier de ces peuples autochtones. Certains groupes traversaient périodiquement les montagnes pour aller faire la chasse au bison dans les plaines situées à l'est des Rocheuses. Certains sites sont considérés comme étant sacrés.

Le parc national Kootenay fut établi en 1920, lorsqu'à la suite d'une entente entre les gouvernements provincial et fédéral, on a construit l'autoroute Banff - Windermere, la première route carrossable à travers les Rocheuses canadiennes. Une bande de huit kilomètres de chaque côté de l'autoroute fut réservée pour créer un parc national. Lorsqu'en 1922 l'autoroute fut terminée, elle servit de lien commercial entre la vallée Windermere et Calgary, et un nouveau chapitre de l'histoire du tourisme en automobile commença.

L'autoroute Banff - Windermere (93 Sud) est d'une longueur de 94 km. Elle longe la rivière Vermilion et le fleuve Kootenay et conduit par la gorge étroite du canyon Sinclair jusqu'aux célèbres sources thermales de Radium Hot Springs. Cette route panoramique mène dans la vallée Windermere, aux confins sud du parc. Ceux qui prennent le temps de s'arrêter, pourront découvrir les merveilleux secrets de Kootenay...

... tels que les jeunes forêts saines qui poussent à la suite des incendies du col Vermilion et du mont Shanks, les eaux glaciaires bleues et les blanches parois de dolomite du canyon Marble, les bassins minéraux et les lits d'ocre des Paint Pots (pots de peinture), les chèvres de montagne à poil long (symbole de la faune du parc) sur les pentes et rochers escarpés du mont Wardle, la vue panoramique depuis le belvédère de la vallée Kootenay, le lac Olive, enchâssé comme un joyau vert dans le col Sinclair et les escarpements ferrugineux de la faille Redwall qui montent la garde à l'entrée sud du parc.

Le caractère du parc national Kootenay est défini par son écosystème - l'interaction dynamique entre ses espèces indigènes et des processus naturels. Pour protéger l'état naturel du parc, il faut maintenir l'intégrité de son écosystème. L'intégrité écologique du parc national Kootenay est menacée par une série d'impacts humains, comme l'aménagement, la suppression du feu, l'introduction de plantes non indigènes, la fragmentation de l'habitat et les affrontements entre êtres humains et animaux sauvages. Parcs Canada a adopté une gamme de mesures afin de restaurer et maintenir l'intégrité écologique des parc nationaux.

Le parc national du Canada Kootenay offre l'occasion de découvrir les Rocheuses, d'en apprendre sur leur patrimoine naturel et culturel et de communier avec la nature. Les parcs nationaux appartiennent au peuple canadien. Chacun de nous est donc responsable de leur gérance. La connaissance et le respect de la terre et de son peuple aideront à assurer l'intégrité écologique et culturelle de ces endroits spéciaux qui doivent être protégés pour les générations futures.

Bienvenue au site web du parc national Kootenay. Nous espérons que vous aurez la chance de venir visiter le parc en personne!